Looking for cranes.

I´ve been home from work today, not because I´m sick but because it was time to make a check up on my latest hip implant surgery. Since the hospital is placed in the opposite direction than my work is there really was no meaning going to work at first and it does take an hour driving there too. So we could get out early in the morning, just when the sun rise on our morning walk.

The clouds almost looks like a hand with five fingers🙂

The swedish weather forecast has promised anything from very warm and sunny to almost snowstorm today🙂 The swedish weather forecasts has actually been so bad that one of the ministers in the government said that they have to shape up, in public🙂 The day started out sunny and nasty cold but clouds came real soon. The cold has stayed but the sun do show itself every now and again. Tomorrow they say it will snow, but only God knows because they have already shown several different weather forecasts today🙂🙂

All lying photographs gets bigger and hopefully better if You click on them.

My doctor was happy to see that everything was great with both my hip implants so now I don´t have to do another check up for five years! I was a bit worried that something might had happened to my implants since I have been falling both outside on the ice and indoors in the stairs a couple of times🙂🙂

Can You see the cranes🙂🙂🙂 I couldn´t then and when the photograph is as small as it is here it´s almost totally impossible🙂 I´ll put a photo that shows the cranes last in todays post🙂

I stopped by the lake to see if I could see any cranes there, but the nights are so cold that the lake still is frozen solid. But I did take a couple of photographs on swans and geese instead. But guess if I got surprised when I realized that I also had gotten three cranes on one photograph🙂🙂🙂 I can honestly say that I didn´t see them when I took the photograph and I almost missed them when looking through what I had cought with my camera🙂🙂

There are actually several Canadian geese out on the ice far away in this photograph.

Song swans.

I found some acorns outside the hospital on my way home and brought three with me home, they had already started to germinate. These acorns doesn´t look like the ones we have on the oaks we normally find here in Sweden, so I´m hoping it is from the Northern Red Oak from the american continent. They do have a lot of them around the hospital You see. The climate around the hospital is however much better than it is here so I´m not sure they will survive if I plant them here. But I´ve never had a Bonsai before so perhaps I´ll try to make one of these into that.

Some kind of Buzzard perhaps?

The little hill with the circle made of stones.

Perovskia wanted to see how big the orchid is and this is it. Cattleya´s seldom gets higher than this.

It´s time to make something to eat and then turn on the tv to see what new ghastly things that might have happened in Japan.                                                                                                 I hope You all will have a great day!

It´s almost hard too see the cranes here too :-) :-) :-)

22 thoughts on “Looking for cranes.

  1. Skönt att det var OK med dig – och det kanske var skönt att slippa åka till jobbet idag!?
    Jag tvungen att åka både till Klintehamn och till Hemse idag. Trots att dom ligger precis 1,4 mil åt varsitt håll, men så är det ju när man bor på landet. Det gjorde dock att jag fick se hur snöfritt det är överallt – utom hos oss!
    Mailade en trädgårdsvän om att vi nog har Gotlands snöigaste tomt och skickade med en bild som bevis – fick ett svar med bild där han skrev att han trodde dom hade det! Han bor nämligen också inne i en liten skog, så deras snö ligger kvar. Och vi som väntar en massa buskar och träd från Holland i slutet på månaden/början på april. Jag hoppas leveransen är försenad!

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Ja inte klagar jag över att inte behöva åka till jobbet🙂 Men jag vaknar ju alltid lika tidigt ändå, så sovmorgon blev det inte🙂🙂

      Jag hade nog satsat ett par kronor att ni hade den snöigaste tomten🙂 Här är det mesta av snön borta nu. Om det bara kunde vara lite varmt på natten med så att all is samlt bort skulle jag bli riktigt nöjd!

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. Hello!
    Christer,
    I’m glad that their implants are where they should be :)) And everything works fine with them!
    The landscape seems to get hotter day by day. Are getting full of colors.
    You can not imagine how good it makes me see your pictures.
    I love them all forever, but today the 3rd is one that makes me want to… embroider !
    Really I like to embroider all their children but … are very difficult.
    I always have trouble understanding what kind of bird are these “boom” and “crane” … the translation is awkward and are not birds that I know.
    Well .. not really matter … I’m glad to see them!
    Have a great day and of course, kisses to all
    Didi

    • Hi Didi!
      I´m rather happy my implants are where they are supposed to too🙂🙂🙂
      But it is actually much colder today than before🙂 It will with a bit of luck become warmer in the weekend though.

      I have tried to translate the name Crane, but all they show on Google is construction engines🙂🙂🙂 But the scientific name is Grus grus. I hope You can find a name in Portuguese with that name. It´s not unknown in Portugal at all. It looks very much like a grey stork.

      I wish You a great day too!
      Christer.

      • Christer,
        I googled for “grus grus” and found the word “Grou” that sounds more familiar to me. At least as a word, they are birds of Europe, Asia, Africa but not in Brazil.

      • Hi Didi!
        I just couldn´t find any other name than crane🙂 I´ll remember Grou for the future if anyone else wonders!

        I know there are Grou´s in North America too. But then again, You have the most fantastic birds in Brazil so I don´t think You´ll miss these ones🙂

        Christer.

    • Hi Robin!
      I was a bit worried about the hip implants since I have been falling around now and again🙂🙂
      They do love their sticks my dogs🙂

      I just wish I really had seen those cranes🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  3. hi christer….great news about the implants. today is st. patrick’s day here and i have been baking soda bread and making corned beef all day. i will give it to all of my friends and then i think we will go out to diner. i get so sick of the stuff i cook sometimes that i don’t feel like eating it. right now i smell like corned beef! i wonder why they have so much trouble forecasting the weather in sweden? the are pretty good here but only for maybe a 5 day projection. today it is very warm here but i see we might be getting snow next week. you never know what you are going to get in march here! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I´m glad nothing happened with those implants all times I´ve been falling here🙂

      That is a problem when cooking a lot! Either one doesn´t feel like eating or one eats way to much🙂 and to be honest, it is nice to go out to eat every now and again too🙂

      It´s so bad with our own weather forecasts that many of us looks at the Norwegian instead🙂 The norwegians have an excellent site on the net that most of us trusts more. They say we will get snow tomorrow, but I haven´t checked that with the norwegian site yet🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

    • Hi Perovskia!
      The plant in itself is rather boring but these new hybrids are amongst the easiest flowers one can have. Remember to give them water once a month in winter and every second week the rest of the year and they´ll survive. But they do need a drought after it has flowered so I don´t water it for two months then🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  4. Hooray! Five years is a great result. Now, just be careful and try not to fall down, again. Nova appears to be surveying her territory and settled down. It’s so nice to see sunny pictures (before the snow you’re not sure is coming!). Enjoy your tea, TV, and the great hip result!

    • Hi Sharlene!
      It is nice not to have to go to the hospital again for five years🙂 At least not because of my hips🙂 But I can´t promise anything about not falling though🙂🙂🙂

      The norwegian site says no snow until late evening tomorrow🙂 and sun on Saturday🙂 Next week they say we might get up to 50F!!! Almost summer temperatures🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  5. Implants OK? Great news. Now if only we could find Kat at Coffee and see how she’s doing. Not a word for over a week. I love those Song Swans. They look angelic high above you in the skies. Nice Photo. The photos today look as if Spring is approaching, at least the birds are trying to tell you something regardless of the weathermen. Our forcaster are just as bad. We are celebrating St Patty’s Day and because Ann doesn’t feel up to it, we will beg off our party plans with friends. Usually same old pub on the beach which has a huge turn out for Irish Whisky Breads or just the Whisky, I’m not sure which. Z&Me

    • Hi Z&M!
      Yes, don´t You remember my surgery one year ago? I got implants (not a prothesis) in my left hip and I already had it in my right hip. Anyway they are both sitting like they should🙂
      Yes I´m a bit worried about Kat! I thought she would be home by now or that her sisters would have left a message otherwise!

      It isn´t fun to celebrate anything if one doesn´t feel up to it, so it´s better to stay home. The pub will most likely be there for another day too🙂

      Have a nice St. Patrick´s anyway!
      Christer.

  6. Hi Christer,
    Beautiful shots today. The dogs look so serene in the sunshine.
    Ana_didi probably has some North American grou wintering over near her. Many of our local species go to South America for winter. They will be coming back north soon.
    I don’t know what your buzzard is. I thought maybe a hawk of some kind but can’t tell from the photo. It is time for the turkey vultures to be coming back here so maybe it is your version of vulture?
    Glad your hip is doing well and you don’t have to go back for a while. Watch your step on the stairs and ice, though.
    Enjoy the day. It’s 60F here and sunny. It will be colder again tomorrow, though. Spring teases at us.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I did wonder where those grou´s spent there winters, but thought that they might stay in the area of Venezuela.
      I thought it was a buzzard of some kind at first, but I think You´re right in guessing at some kind of hawk. We don´t have any vultures here at all except after big storms when they come by mistake🙂 It´s crows, jackdaws and ravens are the ones taking care of that work here.

      They say it will be sunny and warmer here tomorrow but I don´t believe them at all after today🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

    • Hi Nancy!
      That was really nice to hear, so now I know that at least my hips most probably will work without problems. At least if I don´t fall every now and again🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. I’m trying to catch up on leaving my comments! I have been working very long days, coming home, caring for the animals and dropping off to sleep, but finally the weekend is here!
    So glad to hear that your hips are doing fine!
    Sometimes I worry about my knees….but I won’t go to anyone to check them out so I guess I’ll just shut up!
    Love the photos, especially the dog ones!🙂🙂🙂
    Is that your cottage in the first photo!?
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      It was really nice to know that the hip implants shows no signs of problems, especially since it is a experimental method they have used on me. I´m to young to have prothesis, they would break down before I would become 55 years old🙂

      My knees will most probably break down too I´m afraid, the psoriasis I have inside my body (almost nothing on my skin though) is slowly ruining my cartilage. But there´s no use in thinking of that until it happens🙂🙂

      No that cottage is my neighbors home. My cottage is shown some weeks ago I think.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

