Ashes but not a single word about Japan.

Before going to work. Today the sun went up 6:16 am and down 06:08 pm.

The chimney sweeper was here while I was at work today. Normally I never see a sign of them being here, except for the fact that the stove is very clean 🙂 But today I saw one of my buckets standing just outside my entrance door and it was filled with ash 🙂 I really don´t know why he has done this, normally it stays in his vacuum cleaner and I´ll never see it again. But perhaps the ashes still were to hot after last nights fire? That´s my guess anyway.

It never got especially warm today, the sun shone but thin clouds stopped the heat.

I poured the ashes in the lilac hedge when we were going out on our walk, ash is a good fertilizer in small amounts but it do contain very much lime so many plants doesn´t like it. But I always hope the ashes finally will kill the hedge because I´m so tired of it 🙂 🙂 🙂

Bertil shows clearly that he thinks Nova has come to say Hi in a way ti high speed 🙂

Bertil and Teodor loves to climb up in trees when we are out walking, but this is the first tim I managed to get it on a photograph.

I didn´t see any cranes on my way home after work as I had hoped, but I did see a lot of Canadian geese. I hope I can get my first photo of a crane this thursday because I´ll drive to the lake during the day. Cross Your fingers or hold Your thumbs for good luck so You´ll be able to see a photo of the first cranes here in my blog on Thursday.

When he comes down again the dogs wants to greet him and he really doesn´t like that 🙂

Canadian geese on their way to the lake.

Guess what! I have a sour throat again!! Lots of colds at work so I have probably cought one there. So now I´ll make a cup of tea and put honey in it so I can get rid of this fast! This has been a terrible winter when it comes to colds and cold days!                                                 Have a great day now!

My Cattleya hybrid is slowly opening up now!

 

30 thoughts on “Ashes but not a single word about Japan.

  1. hi christer…that was quite a case of the stink eye the kitty gave the pup! what gorgeous colors in your flower. it is cold and rainy here! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      That look stops most dogs from coming closer 🙂
      It is a beautiful orchid and this is the first time it´s flowering in my home.

      How´s Teddy? I´ve been thinking of her all day.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  2. Vilken underbar orkidé!! Här brukar en sort av gäss komma och landa i stora flockar på vår åker tvärs över vägen, de har dock inte dykt upp ännu. Ha det gott/Monne

    • Hejsan Monne!
      Visst är den fin! Nu hoppas jag ingen hund eller katt knäcker blommorna innan de slagit ut ordentligt 🙂 De knäckte min Ginnalalönn ute häromdagen, tre centimeter tjock!

      Det finns inte sådär jättemånga flyttfåglar än, men kan det bara bli lite varmare så kommer de snart.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

    • Hi Robin!
      I like most photographs today, especially when Bertil stands in front of the tree 🙂

      Orchids are the most easy flowers one can find really (well some anyway 🙂 🙂 ) it´s the only kind of flower I can keep living indoors during winter to be honest 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

    • Hi Nancy!
      I´ve only see the flower when it had almost withered away. They had it for sale 50% off the prize so I bought that one and one more. They almost dies when hail covered them last autumn 🙂 🙂 I doubt the other one will flower now, but perhaps when autumn comes. Many of todays orchid hybrids are the most easy flower to have actually, even easier than cactuses 🙂 These flowers will look good for around a month with a bit of luck.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer
    Bertil today give a show.! Beautiful pictures of him
    About Japan .. no words, just a immense lament.
    Hey what about Teddy? I need to visit Joyce.
    kisses to all
    Didi

    • Hi Didi!
      Joyce left a comment here the other day that Teddy is feeling bad, so I´m hoping that it isn´t anything serious!

      Bertil knows how to look dramatic 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  4. Obviously, Bertil is boss! So glad you got a picture, this time. I’m very tired, today, but did want to pop in… I hope your throat ckears up, quickly, and you’ll feel good, again, soon. Enjoy a nice hot toddy.

    • Hi Sharlene!
      Yes he is the boss, even if his brother is his boss 🙂 🙂 I actually got two photographs while he was climbing different trees, so I´ll save the other one for another day 🙂

      The throat isn´t any worse today anyway 🙂 But I had a very deep voice this morning 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  5. I totally understand how Bertil feels. I don’t like dogs greeting me when I come down out of tree’s either… 🙂
    I could look at pictures of the animals out there playing, all day long…just beautiful!
    Sorry you have a sore throat…but sounds like you know exactly what to do to get rid of it.
    Christer…there is a blog on my sidebar called “Driftwood Ramblings”… she is in South Africa…I think you might like her blog a lot. Check it out and see if I am right…
    Just lots of things she blogs about I think you would like a lot.

    Don’t forget now. Let me know. 🙂
    Have a great day and I will see you again tomorrow!
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      I do understand Bertil too!
      I think it´s five or six people home from work this week due to colds, so I´m still one of the lucky ones 🙂

      I´ll take a look at that blog!

      Wednesdays are blog free for me but I´m back tomorrow 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. Oh, Christer, how can anyone be tired of a lilac bush? I miss mine so much. We used to climb all through them as children. We’d pull off the blossoms and suck the nectar out the back of them. Not a lot of nectar in there, as you might imagine but still there was enough to get a taste.
    Lovely pictures today of the boys and Nova. She hasn’t quite learned the proper approach speed for cats yet?
    Have a great day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      Well I have 50 yards of lilacs in the hedge and two really big Hungarian lilacs in the garden. They do smell wonderful when they flower but they smell really awful when the flowers are withering down 🙂 🙂 Lilacs is weeds of the worst kind and way to difficult to remove 🙂 🙂 We did just the same when I was Young and I still do 🙂

      None of the dogs understand that they should take it easy when finding the cats, but the cats accept it when it comes to the boys. I guess Nova is to new here yet for that.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

      • I still suck the nectar out of lilac when I find them, too. 🙂
        My lilacs were between my house and the neighbor so not too close. Near the house is privet hedge and it smells lovely when it flowers but really awful as the blossoms go by. I guess I can sympathize with you. There’s a new lilac out that flowers more than once and can be trimmed back after the first flowering. Syringa boomerang or something like that. I might give that one a try.

      • Hi Caryn!
        🙂
        So imagine 50 yards of that awful smell 🙂 🙂 But when they flower it is a fantastic smell 🙂

        Have a great day now!
        Christer.

  7. Beautiful orchid, Christer, and a lovely touch of spring-like color after a winter of snow-scapes. Hope the tea and honey heled you feel better. And sometimes we get tired of our hedges too, especially having to trim them cause it’s a major job in the spring.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      Yes it seems to be a beautiful one.
      The tea and honey helped for the moment and I´m just the same way today as yesterday. But I´m not worse anyway 🙂 🙂

      I would like my lilacs if I only had one or two, but I have more than 50 yards of that terrible weed 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  8. LOL! I bought 3 lilac bushes last fall and planted them along the driveway! 🙂
    Love the Bertil! He reminds me of my Ralphie! Ralphie was up in the tree as soon as I let him outside…still trying to get that darn squirrel and barking up a storm! I’m afraid the squirrel might fall someday and Ralphie will get him and get bit….but then again, I’m also afraid that Ralphie will kill him 😦

    Oh, and I LOVE your orchid!

    • Hi Cindi!
      I think lilacs are one of the worst weeds one can have 🙂 🙂 🙂 I just have to much of it in my garden 🙂

      I doubt the squirrel will fall 🙂 but I wonder if Ralphie would be so surprised that he actually wouldn´t do the squirrel anything 🙂 I´ve seen that happen with one of my old dogs many years ago, she always followed hares and one day she actually found one just inches away and the only thing she did was to look at it 🙂 🙂 🙂

      It is a beautiful orchid and so easy to have, much easier than cactuses 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  9. Härlig cattleya med underbar färgkombination!
    Hos mig är syrener det första jag köpte och planterade efter det vi flyttat hit, två stycken – en gul och en blå, men dom är det enda som inte verkar trivas. Först förra sommaren så blommade dom efter det jag hotat dom med att gjorde dom inte det skulle jag gräva upp dom och kasta dom! Och då växer dert syrener nästan vilt här överallt!!

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Visst verkar den fin! Jag har bara sett den när blomman var nästan vissnad. Köpte den då för halva priset plus en till. De är så enkla att ha så inte ens jag dödar dem 🙂 🙂

      Här är syrener ett jäkla ogräs, men det är ju de gamla sorterna som inte är känsliga för något 🙂 Stanken från blommorna när de vissnar blir enorm när man har 50 meter av den. Allt för jobbiga att gräva bort så jag hoppas alltid att ´skiten skall självdö 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  10. That is an absolutely beautiful flower. Can you take a picture of the whole thing? I’d like to see what it looks like.
    Ha – puffy tail. Poor Bertil. Great picture of him in the tree! Does he ever have problems coming down?

    • Hi Perovskia!
      The plant itself is rather ugly, but I´ll try to remember to take a photograph of the whole plant later today. But many of todays orchid hybrids are the most easy plants to have actually, so one can just forget them for weeks or even months and they still looks just as healthy as before 🙂 🙂

      No Bertil and his brother usually comes down within minutes. But it´s nothing poor about Bertil at all 🙂 He knows they don´t dare doing him anything 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  11. hi christer…..teddy has an eye infection. i have to put drops in her eyes three times a day. she squeezes her eyes shut so hard that i have to pry them open. there is certainly nothing easy about her. i have a question for you. when the stink bugs return and are on my plants, can i spray that solution on my plants without hurting the plant? joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      An eye infection is bad enough, but I´m happy it was nothing worse anyway. I´m really glad that my dogs never struggles against me when I have to give them any kind of medicine or the worst thing in life, clean their ears 🙂 🙂 🙂

      You can spray the plants as long as the sun doesn´t shine on them. So it´s best to do it when the sun doesn´t shine or if You can shadow them until the solution dries.

      Have a great day now and thanks for the info on Teddy!
      Christer.

  12. hi christer…so does this mean that the alcohol in the solution will not hurt the plants? could you give me an approximate ratio for how much liquid detergent to rubbing alcohol to water would be? i am arming myself for stink bug season! joyce

    • HI Joyce!
      The alcohol is only in the mixture so that the soap will spread evenly over the pests (if an insect isn´t totally covered it still can breath and continue to become more). So for 1 liter ( around 1 US liquid quarts) I would use 1 tablespoon of alcohol and 1 dl (around 2 cups) of soft soap (or any other liquid detergent). But if one sprays when the sunlight can hit the plants they will get damaged. So best is to do this when it´s cloudy or before after the sun hits the plants.
      Good luck 🙂
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

