And it seems to get worse in Japan.

It´s never a good thing when there´s explosions in a nuclear power plant! We here in Europe knows that very well after the power plant in Tjernobyl exploded some years ago. A radioactive cloud spread all over Europe and especially bad over northern Sweden. People couldn´t eat berries, mushrooms or any meat from wildlife for several years there. I think the levels of radioactive stuff still is higher than usual there but not that high that it´s dangerous to eat anything from the nature.

Do You know that these plants are edible and quite nutritious?

The Japanese authorities says that there isn´t any danger of a nuclear melt down after the explosion in the power plant, but that´s what the Soviet authorities said in the beginning too. I do hope they are right! A nuclear power plant is a dangerous way to boil water, because that´s all it does, boiling water.

There won´t be a lack of water in the pond this spring 🙂

Nova has finally learned that claws are sharp 🙂

But everything is calm and quiet as usual in the little village at the outskirts of the world. I can hear cranes and geese sounding all over the neighborhood, but I can´t see any yet. We were out way to early in the morning to see any and to late when e took our next walk because by then they had already landed on the fields to grab something to eat.

Chewing on sticks is rather nice.

But digging after mice is even better 🙂 She kept on trying to get that mice for over twenty minutes 🙂 It´s definitely terrier in her 🙂

But tomorrow will be warmer they say and then I think I´ll have a better chance to see them during the day. Soon the sky will be filled with all kinds of birds. But I did see and hear the first larches this morning 🙂 So now I definitely believe spring has sprung here 🙂 I have tiny tomato plants growing by my kitchen window and today I´ll sow some more 🙂

It´s time to look at the news again and then some skiing on tv.                                                   Have a great day!

It´s hard too se in this photograph but the stones covered in moss is placed? in a circle! I have never noticed that before and I wonder if it is just luck or if it is man made, perhaps from the Vikings?

 

20 thoughts on “And it seems to get worse in Japan.

  1. Hi Christer,
    Now the Japanese are saying maybe one of the plants is in danger of a meltdown. They aren’t sure. I guess it doesn’t matter how well prepared you think you are, you are never well prepared enough.
    I’m going for man-made on the stone circle. It looks like it’s slightly raised up and the trees are growing around it, not in it. Could be an old burial mound. You could try your hand at some archeology. But probably the local historical society knows what it is.
    It’s amazing how long a terrier will dig for a mouse especially considering that the mouse is probably long gone after 20 minutes. 🙂
    Grey start to the day here but should be getting a bit warmer and maybe even some sun!
    Enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      They have measured radioactive amounts inside the power plant that is 1000 higher than normal, so my guess is that it has already happened.

      It looks man made and I doubt it would be farmers placing the stones that way if they have removed it from the field beside. I think there´s a smaller one just beside this big one too. I used to have a map where all historical remains were marked but I just can´t remember that this was marked on that map. I´ll have to buy a new one so I´ll know for sure. Many times these things aren´t reported because we have a lot of it around here and it only gives people problems if they do report it 🙂 In some places it´s forbidden to even mow the lawn around these old graves 🙂 🙂 🙂 There are lots of old stone age, bronze age and iron age things hidden in cellars around here 🙂 🙂 🙂 I haven´t found anything though and that annoys me 🙂

      Yes they do have the energy terriers 🙂 We went back there and she just continued where she had stopped before 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  2. They are now showing the tsunami hitting the west coast on TV! After leaving your blog I’m going to hurry over to a blog of a woman who lives on a houseboat with her deaf dog on the west coast…I pray they are safe!!! 😦 😦

    Looks like Nova is having a good day!
    – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      In a way I´m happy that no one from that area leaves any comments here. It´s hard enough when I hear about huge fires in the US or Australia where I know some people by now. I do hope that woman is safe! If she´s been lucky her boat just followed the wave in over the land without anything more happening.

      Nova always seems to think every day is good 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

      • apparently she’s fine (and her dog 🙂 )
        she was saying that a Coast Guard Officer was walking the dock and checking everyones lines because they may have more surges, but it sounds like they are fine.
        Thank Goodness!
        (I noticed that I typed deaf dog – I guess I was thinking of Blue, but her lab is blind.)

      • Great!
        I learned today that they have high places in every town that they are supposed to go to if an alarm sounds. Unfortunately it looks like one town didn´t have that and over half the population is gone now.

        Christer.

  3. Your stone circle is an amazing sight. I would say man-made as well. I would love to have access to that circle…must have powerful energies. Love all the photos today, especially Nova chewing on sticks and digging for mice. It is hard to keep one’s mind on everyday things when so much horror in Japan is happening.

    • Hi Robin!
      It sure look handmade and I think it is a smaller one just beside this one. I´ll have to buy one of those maps that shows where these things are placed. But as I wrote to Caryn, people doesn´t always report these things since it usually gives us problems. Especially if something would turn up in a garden 🙂 🙂 If it´s a small thing it might go down in the cellar if it´s a big one, just dig it down again or leave it 🙂

      Super Nova is so filled with energy so she´s usually all around the place 🙂 So it was kind of nice to see her staying at one place for almost twenty minutes digging to get a mouse 🙂 🙂 🙂
      My own problems seems so small when things like this is happening!

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  4. Det är fruktansvärt det som hänt i Japan. Man kan nog aldrig tillfullo förstå hur hemsk en naturkatastrof är innan man varit med om en själv – och det har ju inte jag som tur är. Men det räcker med att vara ute i en båt i en storm eller försöka klöra bil i häftig dimma eller ta sig hem i snöglop för att förstå hur maktlös man är mot “naturen”.

    • Tjänare Susie!
      Ja sätter naturen den sidan till har vi inte mycket att säga till om! Hoppas nu bara att inte den andra reaktorn flyger i luften den med! Det är ju illa nog som det är just nu.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  5. hi christer…..i have been glued to the TV watching all of this horrible damage from the tsunami. california lucked out. today is the st. patrick’s day celebration and parade which mean lots of drunk people dressed in stupid green clothes drinking green beer. all it is is an excuse to get drunk in public. i will stay in all day! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I´ve seen every news program they have showed today. But Swedish Television send all the time from Japan if I want to look on the internet. I read that one man that was taking photographs of the wave in California drowned. What on earth made him think it would be a good idea to stand so close to the water? But I´m glad it didn´t get worse!

      I would stay in all day too if we had St. Patriks day over here 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • It is almost guaranteed that heavy surf, tidal waves and storm surges will attract at least one candidate for the Darwin award.
        Pardon my cynicism but around here hardly a year goes by without some fool being swept off the rocks/sea wall/dock or whatever by a big wave after the media has warned people to stay away from the coast because of unusually high tides and strong waves. Mostly they get saved but sometimes they don’t or someone jumps in to save them and drowns instead.

      • Hi Caryn!
        That´s true 🙂
        We have them here too but I think we are a bit more careful with our lives here 🙂

        Christer.

  6. We were in a sort of shock to view the real live pictures on the news last night of the disaster in Japan. The Earthquake was high enough to shake the land under the nuclear plant. One plans to be near the water and has several Tsunami options covered only to find the center of the Earthquake is central to the plants location. I guess all we can do here is pray for the survivors and pray they don’t get nuked like the one in Russia did. I remember my cousin had to take pills for the rest of her life and we were surprised to learn she gave birth the following year to a healthy baby apparently not disturbed by Mom being exposed to radiation. I have this horrible feeling something man made will do us all in. It will have nothing to do with the universe changing course.

    • Hi Z&M!
      Yes we were! But I´ve always wondered why on earth they have nuclear power plants in a country like Japan where they have earthquakes every day and strong ones too!

      I do hope that child won´t get any problems in the future! Radiation injuries can come much later I´m afraid.

      Yes it is us humans that will destroy ourselves eventually, the climate change is one thing that might brake us in the end.

      Take care!
      Christer.

  7. It’s good that we do not have cable service for our TV reception, which is spotty at best due to using an antenna in the attic. When the events of Sept 11, 2001 happened, a friend had called to give me the news and I found myself glued to the TV night and day for nearly 2 days – even falling asleep with it on. It is so very sad when these tragedies happen, but now I get a summary on the PC and then leave it vs. watching all day. I feel sorry for all those people nevertheless. And indeed are problems are so very small in the wake of these tragedies.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      I do look at every extra news they put in during the day, but doesn´t stay long if nothing new has happened.

      The natural disaster is bad enough but I´m thinking of those that has survived and whose lives will continue, perhaps without a job but still with loans to pay.

      I hope Your day will be a good day!
      Christer.

  8. It is “other worldly” to see your beautiful, peaceful photos, and know that there is inconceivable tragedy elsewhere. I wish that we could all live contentedly in your photographic world.

    Thank you for providing some tranquil and peaceful moments for us. We all need a respite from the sadness that is overwhelming.

    • Hi Suzie and welcome to my blog 🙂

      I´m glad You like my photographs 🙂 This is a truly calm place, perhaps even calmer than my photographs shows 🙂

      Have a great day and welcome back!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

