The big tsunami.

I woke up to a cold and snowy landscape.

I guess most of You by now knows about the great Tsunami that hit Japan after an earthquake earlier today. I´ve just seen a film where the tsunami takes everything with its on its way over the land.

Some believe things like this is going to happen because later this month, I think it´s the 19th, the moon will come closer to the earth than it has for a long time. I´m not sure that´s the reason but last time the moon came almost as close the big earthquake close to Thailand and Indonesia happened. Even though that happened far away from this little country high up in the north, it still was traumatic for us swedes. Because when it came to deaths amongst tourists that day it was most swedes that died. Thailand is one of the places most swedes travel to You see.

So I´ll make this short today because it doesn´t feel that important to write about a small village in the outskirts of the world that hardly would notice if the rest of the planet would disappear.                                                                                                                                             I hope all of You will have a nice day.

14 thoughts on “The big tsunami.

  1. Så fruktansvärt det måste vara att vara med om en jordbävning och allt vad det innebär! Tänker på alla de stackare därborta. Trots det tragiska så önskar jag dig en trevlig helg/Monne

    • Hejsan Monne!
      Ja, jag kan ju inte ens föreställa mig hur det var, trots att jag kännde av den starkaste vi haft här. Den skakade ju om lite men inte mer.

      Ha en riktigt trevlig helg du med!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer…..i have been watching the news all day too. there are tsunami warnings all along the west coast of the USA. there has been so much plate activity in this last year it is very scary. when one moves they all do a bit. more snow here today! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      It´s hard to believe that water can do that much damage!

      I think there has been more than usual plate activity these last years and so much stronger to. It´s hard to understand when one lives in a calm place like I do. We have the occasional earthquake here but they are so weak that we mostly don´t even notice them.

      I do hope we won´t get any more snow that stays here this year.
      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  3. We are also watching the west coast for Tsumani activity. One news report said the size of the waves could come inland so far as to plow into a well known trailer resort in L.A. Amazing how it can achieve a feat of hitting both coast lines thousands of miles apart. Hawaii did OK. They were ready. Interesting photos today. I really like the first one.

    • Hi Z&M!
      They said that it depends on how steep the beach is if the wave is going to be strong or weak. I do hope nothing worse happens on the american continent!

      I do like the first photo too🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer. I can understand how you feel, seeing the devastation from the tsunami. However, we would miss you if your corner of the world were to disappear and sometimes, in the face of great tragedy, a place of relief – such as your blog – is most welcome. We had horrific rains yesterday, and significant flooding with some drivers getting stranded – there is always one driver who thinks he (or she) can get through the “puddle” which turns out to be up to the car windows. I don’t think it was as bad in my “little corner” as it was supposed to be, and a friend took me out to dinner, to celebrate learning she did not have Parkinson’s disease. I have never minded rain and find it relaxing (when there is no lightening), but never welcome what it can cause with flooding. So much sadness all around, but respite here in your pages.

    • Hi Nancy!
      The water can get so destructive when it starts to move, but we´ve seen it many times now.

      No flooding here yet but it´s just a matter of time. Soon the warm winds will come and the usual rain and then we´ll get problems all around the country. I don´t mind the lightning as long as it doesn´t fly out via the telephone wires. That always happens here unfortunately and first I see a strong light and then a loud crack comes. I once had a dog that was sleeping where the lightning comes out of the telephone and she never slept there again after that🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  5. Christer-every single person is important and has a place in this world no matter where one is-this is a very sad day for so many-and the earth continues to turn -who knows what tomorrow will bring. Thank you for what you do….Angie

    • Hi Angie!
      So true, but when things like this happens all the problems one might have oneself are rather small.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. It’s horrific for so many peoples. But snows and ice can do a lot of damage and earth changes, too! Water scares me the most, though, because it not only takes everything with it but it has so many dead things floating around that, even if you can get saved, the infection rate is so high. Mostly, though, I am praying for all those families who have lost loved ones in this Tsunami, along with the horrors happening in the rest of the world. Your corner is very important. I agree with the others — it’s an island of calm that restores our souls. Enjoy your peace, tonight. And post, again, soon.

    • Hi Sharlene!
      Like You say, when water starts moving it brings so many other problems with it! But perhaps Japan is the country that can deal with these kinds of problems better than any other. But even if they are prepared for tsunamis this was so big that nothing could stop it.

      I am very glad that I do live in a little village that doesn´t notice if anything happens to the rest of the world🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. As I type this the news is on talking about the Fukushima daiichi power plant…..
    I feel so lucky to live here in the middle of the United States in my tiny little house on top of the hill away from so many dangers. My heart goes out to all those people and I agree with you that my troubles are so insignificant to what these poor people are trying to survive.
    I also agree with the others, your blog is a wonderful escape to come to!🙂🙂🙂
    Thank you! – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I´ve just heard that 10000 thousand people in a village of 17000 people are missing! I saw photos and there´s nothing left at all!

      I´m happy I live far away from everything too! But we do have a problem here, the mountains nearby is filled with uranium that some companies wants to bring up for nuclear power plants. I doubt they ever will get permission and if we most certainly will stop them ourselves, in one way or the other.

      Take care!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

