A wonderful morning.

As soon as people woke up smoke started to come up from their chimneys.

The day have started really wonderful today. The sun shines, the sky is clear blue and there´s no wind to speak about. I can see thin high clouds in the distance but I doubt they will hinder the sunshine to reach us down below. It was rather cold though, only -8,4C (17F) but I didn´t need neither gloves nor a cap as long as I was walking in the sunshine.

The air was really clear and lacked the haze we usually have here.

It´s so cold at night that the ice on the pond doesn´t melt anything during the day.

It´s still many weeks until the Portal closes again.

The first Trumpet swans (or as we call them, Song swans) has been sighted not far away from here. But there´s no open water in the lake yet so I doubt that they will come to us until it starts to open up. There´s always a couple of cranes that comes early too every year, but there are no sighting of those yet. But I can feel it in the air, winter is now finally dying away for this time🙂

Bertil decided to follow us this morning too. Teodor preferred to stay indoors.

Nova is very careful when greeting any of the cats now🙂 I like how the light finally changes from the icy blue winter light to the more warm summer light again.

They show Vasaloppet (The Vasa race) on tv right now. It´s the oldest, one of the longest and one of the biggest cross country ski races in the world. It´s around 90km (56 miles) long and around 14 000 people participate in the race. Well they ski it but only the first 100 really has a chance to win the race🙂 The race is done in memory of our king Gutav Vasa when he fled from the danish kings army towards Norway where he had friends. It´s said that he by skis took this way but in the opposite direction than the race is done🙂

Like yesterday we walked down to the creek this morning also.

One of the smaller creeks that gives water to the bigger one. This one is however frozen solid at the moment.

Later research however has shown that he actually didn´t know what skis was🙂🙂🙂 So the most possible way he got that way was by horse and sled. The swedes weren´t that keen to help him fight the danes to be honest, but finally the people from Dalarna helped him and he became our king. Later on when the people of Dalarna disagreed with him he didn´t hesitate to slaughter them all. What a nice guy don´t You think. The old kings never cared about the people they ruled, they only cared about the power they had.

We never entered the forest because they still see the fox with scabies running around here. It looks worse every time they see it.

Just when we were about to turn homewards again a certain cat had to get out on the ice.

I wasn´t especially worried since he only weighs five pounds. But I would have had the chance to get him out of the water if the edge had broken.

Have You ever eaten a semla? A semla is a kind of bread bun with cinnamon and cardamom, filled with almond paste and whipped cream. For swedes it´s tradition to eat Semlor (many semla is called semlor) and it continues all the way to easter. Semlor are so popular that newspapers test all varieties they can find and tells their readers where they can find the best ones in town. You can eat the semla like any other bun, but many of us likes to put it in a deep plate filled with hot milk and eat it with a spoon🙂

Well it´s time to see who´s winning the Vasaloppet and after that there will be more skiing on tv. Both the world championship in cross country skiing and the world championship in Ski biathlon goes on at the moment and we´ll take some more walks in between too🙂         Have a great day now!

28 thoughts on “A wonderful morning.

  1. Hi Christer!
    Good morning🙂
    I’m glad to see that the sun is coming for you.
    Your world is now orange.
    I can not decide which photo I like more today. Maybe the third.
    View Teodor in the river made me nervous! Cats often seems not to have judgment🙂
    Hummm I want to eat this Semla. That looks great!
    Have a nice day, kisses to all
    Didi

    • Hi Didi!
      Yes the long lost sun is finally shining over us🙂 We do need it now after this long, cold and cloudy winter.
      I think I like the fifth photo best, the first one with Bertil standing on the stone.

      Bertil is so light that I never got worried, he only weighs around 2,5 kilos. I was more worried that Nova would decide that she too could stand on that ice🙂🙂

      I eat one or two semlor every year, but there are those that eats one every day until easter (and they usually starts right after New Years eve🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Lovely photos today. I like the last one of the grass (?) plume. The photo right before it is cute with the two dogs, Nova and Hector I assume, walking so companionably down the road. If it’s Nova and Orvar then it is even better.🙂
    Here it is 52F, cloudy and windy as March usually is. It will rain later on today. The huge snow pile in front of my house is all melted away because it gets the sun all day. Everywhere else in the yard is still covered with snow.
    Semlor sound very good. Having them around from New Year’s to Easter could do your diet some considerable damage.🙂
    Enjoy the ski races.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I assume that it is some kind of grass, but it only grows where there´s lots of water.
      I think it´s Hector walking with Nova, the tail looks like his anyway🙂🙂

      It barley reached over 32F here today, but the sun is eating away the snow anyway. But I guess Your snow will disappear real fast now if rain comes.

      I like semlor but not to much of them, but some people sort of gets crazy and eats lots and lots of them🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  3. I love the one with Bertil on the rock, like he’s “King of the Hill!” LOL!
    and the one of Nova and Bertil both licking their lips🙂
    Yesterday we had light snow that just made everything wet and this morning it’s down to 20 some degrees and the high will be in the 30’s….I guess it’s a good day to go out and pick up dog “poop” ….sigh, such excitement!🙂 but I need to have it up before the guys get here on Wednesday to give me estimates for fixing the gutters, roof etc. I don’t want them turning me in for a “poopy” yard!
    When I was younger, I and some friends rented cross-country skis and took off across a golf course. I kept saying how EASY it was! We just sailed across the snow but I wasn’t thinking about the fact that we had the wind to our backs….so when we turned around, it was awful🙂🙂🙂 We were exhausted coming back against the wind and I was SO sunburned! I had forgotten about THAT, it being winter.😦
    Anyway, I only went a couple of times after that. I now only go out into the COLD to poop scoop!🙂🙂🙂🙂🙂
    Have a good day eating that Semlor! It sounds delicious except for the hot milk part. (I’m not a big fan of milk and definitely not HOT milk!🙂
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      Bertil knows very well that he is the king🙂

      It´s hard to get the dog poop here now, the snow have become ice in the sunshine so I have to wait for warmer days till I can remove it🙂

      I´ve never been a fan of using skis myself, but if I should use any kind it is cross country skis🙂 As You say, it´s so easy when the wind is in the back🙂🙂🙂

      I ate a semla a couple of days ago and even if I do like them a lot I think I´ll only have one more this season. But I do like to have them in hot milk🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  4. Wonderful photos of Bertil, do not tell him I said so, though, LOL! Here we say, “Curiosity killed the cat”…..but also that, “Satisfaction brought him back” It is good to hear about the swans and the cranes. I look forward to hearing more about them. The semla sounds truly scrumptious, especially with the hot milk. I tried cross country skiing in Quebec way back when…yikes, I spent most of my time trying to get back up from all the falls I took!! there were no groomed trails, just straight into the woods! Hope the races on tv are fun!

    • Hi Robin!
      We don´t have that saying here, we have something similar but I just can´t remember it now🙂 But I won´t tell him🙂🙂🙂

      I was hoping for some photographs with swans today but I guess it´s just to early yet. I´ll drive by the lake one day to see if something has arrived there yet.

      I´ve never been a fan skiing myself, but I´ve always liked to watch at those races, especially when we beat norwegians (which is very rare now days🙂🙂 )

      Semlor is very nice🙂
      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  5. hi christer….i have my cross country skis in the basement and they didn’t leave there once this winter. i do like to cross country ski but i have to go pretty far out of the city to do so. i’ll have to look up semlas to check them out. i am making kings cakes for all of my friends for mardi gras this week. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      If I had liked to ski this is a perfect place to do so since we have vast open spaces to ski here. Perhaps I should by cross country skis again and try it next winter? I might like it this time and I know my dogs would love running beside me🙂

      I have a couple of recipes to make semlor that I can send to You if You would like to try them.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

      • Maybe you could teach your dogs to pull you on your skis. That would be a great job for Nova.😀

      • Hi Caryn!
        Knowing my dogs they would only pull different ways🙂🙂🙂 But I´ve seen that on tv and it did look like a lot of fun🙂

        Christer.

  6. Idag har jag verkligen känt att det är vår i luften, till och med katterna har varit extra “oroliga” och sprungit ut o in på den innätade altanen:)) Bobo låg säkert en timma och bara sniffade i luften och kisade i solen:) Ha det gott/Monne

  7. Halloj vännen, va härligt att sångsvanen är på gång, då är det på väg åt rätt håll får jag för mig. Här har vi det skönt, sol och äntligen plusgrader så vi åkte på marknad i Ockelbo och fick gå i styv kuling………………..men annars var det bra, hahahaha. Just nu lyssnar vi på Morgan Allings bok- Kriget är slut, och jag tänker väldigt mkt på dig när jag hör den. Är det lite för att du åxå är galen eller, hahahaha.
    Ha det gött.
    Kram LjusneLotta & Co

    • Tjänare Lotta!
      Jo nu känns det att vi snart lämnar vintern bakom oss🙂

      Ja jisses vad det blåste igår, jag satt mest inne och njöt av värmen från köksspisen🙂

      Jag är ju mallen för medelsvennson so det kan ju inte vara den orsaken då🙂🙂🙂 Kanske skall jag ta och läsa den boken🙂

      Ha det gott min vän!
      Christer.

  8. Hi Chis
    Good and warm day for you too : great photos of Bertil the Cat very very nice.
    Here today 23 ° lunch outside with lettuce and asparagus and eggs and then work in progerss all together till six o’ clock : the first days of spring…
    buona serata

    • Hi Adriana!
      It felt warm yesterday even if it really wasn´t🙂 The sun can fool ones mind sometimes🙂

      That lunch sounds delicious! I wouldn´t mind having that temperature either, that is summer temperatures up here🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. Hi Christer, it was lovely looking at your photos with no bad weather. We have had a very rainy (and windy) day here – perfgect day for reading blogs and my newest library book and making soup and later tonight to watch a movie. Sometimes bad weather days are not so bad. Glad you didn’t have to wade into any water to rescue Bertil if he had fallen in. ENjoy the rest of your weekend.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      It was so nice to finally have sunshine a whole day! It felt much warmer than it really was🙂
      Bad weather days can be the best days to be honest, if they don´t come to often that is.

      I wouldn´t been happy if I would have to step down in to that creek. It is rather deep right now and full of mud too🙂 Be he weighs so little that I never was worried🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  10. So, should I look for you in the cross-country race, next year?!?!? The Semlor sounds like something we should get Jaz to work with and come up with her own variation. Let’s start our campaign, now, but not ask until after she’s shared all her King’s cakes with her friends and neighbors… Love the warmth of the photos today and look forward to your spring thaw photos. Enjoy your tea and TV.

    • Hi Sharlene!
      No I think I´ll skip those races🙂🙂 The good thing is that I always can blame it on my two hip implants🙂🙂🙂

      You should know that we swedes are very, very conservative when it comes to our semlor🙂🙂🙂 Many have tried to change just a little and we don´t forget that easily🙂🙂🙂

      Finally the ice blue light is gone and the summer light has come! Makes the mood so much better🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  11. Bertil looks like her coat is camouflage for the next great war against the Danes. She wants her king to be a good king. Deliver lots of cat food in the morning. Bertil is losing her hunting spirit. What a great photo. I had to look twice to find her. Big Bash over here today, friends from the north are in town and Arkansas where they were snowed in for the first time in 14 years. That should be an interesting story. I hope you enjoy your ski shows on TV. I always wait till the Olympics when it really counts.

    • Hi Z&M!
      Bertil do have a perfect camouflage with that color on his fur (Not she, he would be offended if he knew anyone thought that🙂🙂🙂 ) Now days we and the danes are best friends but back then we were in constant war with each other. Denmark lost most of its land to us during those wars.

      But the world championship is just as important for the skiers as the Olympics I think. It´s always a “war” between Sweden and Norway then🙂 Norway is the big nation when it comes to cross country skiing, but we are just behind them fighting to get the top position🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  12. Det var en fin dag igår, men med alldeles för mycket “race” på TV. Först Vasaloppet som vi såg från start till mål (ja, alltså proffsens målgång), sen skidskytte och så ovanpå det 5-milen. Men det tog ju inte slut med det inte! Sen var det rally från Mexico och ovanpå det vår favorit ALLA kategorier; Nascar live från USA. Höll “bara” på från 20.30 till 01.00!
    Mellan dom här racen hann vi bara ut och lufta oss och Penny lite, så idag – när vi har ledigt – så ska vi ta en ordentligt tur ut i naturen. Man kan behöva röra på sig nu när man suttit still en hel dag!

    • Tjänare Susie!
      Jag skippade det mesta av Vasaloppet och en stor del av fem-milen. Så det blev liite tid över till annat också🙂
      Till och från tog vi några småpromenader istället🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

