Winter, has it reached its end now?

Mist is lying over the ground today and the mountain is barley visible. Todays photographs will be a mix from today and yesterday when the sun shined. All lying photographs will get bigger and better if You click on them.

It´s over 0C (32F) during the days now and it looks as if it´s going to stay that way for at least ten days🙂 I do wish that this means we´ll get an early spring here now! Nights will stay cold for yet some time though.

For over ten years we had warm and mild winters here. We got some snow for a week or two and sometimes the temperatures sunk low, but generally the winters were quite nice. Then last winter came and we got so much snow that it was impossible to get away from home sometimes and I almost missed my surgery🙂 This winter was as bad as the one before too. But even if we didn´t get as much snow like the year before we got much lower temperatures instead.

I love lichens and mosses. The cleaner the air is the more lichens there are and we have lots🙂

We haven´t had this cold in over 140 years (that´s how long they have measured temperatures here) and most people are out of fire wood now and are using the fire wood they have saved for the coming winter. I´ve been lucky so far to get more fire logs though, but the pallet I bought last autumn is long gone by now.

Doris the doe is still around and soon she´ll have a young one with her🙂

Doris actually has a couple of names, my neighbors have named her Lotta.

Here is one of her sisters.

I´ll have to cut down half of one of my apple trees this spring. The tree trunk has split in two and one part is now so low that the branches almost are lying on the ground. I´m hoping this weekend will be sunny and somewhat warm so I can do it then. The tree might look a bit strange afterwards but I love those apples and so does Doris the doe🙂 Doris is still hanging around but she keeps her distance when we are out for a walk, Nova is a new dog to her and she might be dangerous. But Doris is still here during nights robbing the bird feeders on seeds🙂 She has also broken a branch on one of my tree peonies just beside the feeders.

Now days we can see wind power plants almost everywhere here and I think that they are so beautiful!

It´s time for something to eat now and I really have to take a look at the fire in the stove. It´s one of those days when it doesn´t want to start properly. I´ve been there several times already poking around in it, but it sort of just sighs and falls asleep again🙂🙂🙂       By the way, do You know that if we translate the swedish name for Batman to english it becomes “The leather patch”🙂🙂🙂 Superman becomes “The Steel man”🙂🙂🙂  Have a great day now!

20 thoughts on “Winter, has it reached its end now?

  1. Hi Christer,
    It has been a long, cold winter and a very snowy one here, as well. I think we have maybe 8 feet of total snow fall this winter. My friend who uses wood to heat his house said he has used up all of what he cut for this winter and is into what he had planned for next winter. He’s going to have to chop a lot of wood this year to make up for it.
    Apparently there was a coyote sitting on my front door step the other night when I came home. It ran off before I saw him but my dog did and was very indignant about it. He prowled around the front of the house, barking, hackles raised and didn’t shut up for over an hour. I didn’t know why he was barking and growling so much until the neighbor came and told me about the coyote. Guess I’m going to have to scope out the area for large predators before I get out of my car.🙂
    Good luck with your fire.

    • Hi Caryn!
      Did You have any problems reaching my blog today! I have and I´m only successful every third time and when I reach it I can´t do anything anyway most of the time!!! I had to try five times before todays blog got posted!

      A Coyote! So exiting! No wonder Your dog got a bit indignant🙂🙂 Doris the doe has just visited the bird feeders here🙂

      It seems winter has been long all over the northern hemisphere this time. I do hope this is the end of it we see now!

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

      • As a matter of fact, I did have a problem getting to your blog. At first I thought it was my wireless which had been giving me some problems lately, but every other site came up okay so I figured it was just your site. Hope it straightens out.

      • Hi caryn!
        It works at the moment and I finally managed to reach Kat´s blog too. I guess it is a Word Press problem then.
        Thanks!
        Christer.

  2. Ja nu hoppas jag verkligen att våren är på G:) Här har töat något alldeles otroligt idag. Så fortsätter det så här är trädgården snö och isfri i nästa vecka:) Passar bra då Görans pappa begravs på onsdag och vi ska ha lite släktingar på kaffe efteråt, det har förhoppningsvis då blivit ok att köra in på gården och att gå på plattgången. Ha det gott/Monne

    • Hejsan Monne!
      Igår hade vi lite sol här och då smalt det undan redigt bra här, men idag var det lite långsammare här. Jag hoppas på att dammen skall tima fram nu så jag får se om någon fisk klarat sig överhuvudtaget.

      Jag hoppas att det töat bort hos er tills dess! Begravningar är jobbiga som de är ändå.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  3. How I love your photos and your narratives. My favorite photo today is the one of one of Doris’ sisters crossing the road. They are all lovely but this one is particularly so. Our groundhog, quite a celebrity here, Punxatawny Phil, says that we will have an early Spring so perhaps that will account for your part of the world also. I, for one, do not look forward to the coming of summer as I do not care for the heat, but today’s 30 degrees F is just fine with me.

    • Hi Nancy!
      That´s my favorite photo of today too🙂
      I never heard if Phil saw his shadow or not, so I´m glad he didn´t🙂🙂

      The summer up here in the north is usually not that hot. We usually have a couple of weeks with temperatures up to 30C, up to 86F, but seldom any higher. Normally it´s around 77F or so. But some summers we barely reaches 68F🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  4. Ja inte är det någon vår på gång här inte! Om vintern håller i sig några veckor till så är det rekord sen någon gång på 1940-talet.
    Vi har ju också massor av rådjur numera (efter det att jägare inplanterade dom), men konstigt nog går dom inte in på vår tomt. Men vi har sett dom i skogen på andra sidan vägen. Och även om jag tycker dom är fina och aldrig skulle kunna jaga dom, så är jag tacksam så länge dom håller sig på den sidan!

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Visst är jägarna duktiga! Skit samma om det medför problem med rådjur nu har de ju något att skjuta🙂🙂🙂

      Vanliga vintrar brukar rådjuren bara äta de nedfallna äpplena här, men denna vintern har Doris beskurit en hel del växter och väl hårt dessutom🙂

      Så ni har det så kallt än! Det är väl det kalla havet som ställer till det för er.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  5. Leather patch is rather cool for Batman. I have found a cartoon I’m trying to scan but for some reason it cuts off the sides so I’m having my wife work with it on her computer. Maybe next Sunday I’ll post it. Very funny. Enjoyed the photos today and love the deer stories. I bet she is having a ball feeding between cottages and farms.

    • Hi Z&M!
      The swedish name for him is actually an old name for a bat, but I doubt that many people knows that. So come to think of it its almost the same name actually🙂🙂🙂
      I hop Your wife can fix the cartoon, I love Your Sunday Funnies!

      Yes Doris the Doe knows how to survive easy🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Chrster.

  6. hi christer….i am suspicious of winter being gone too. we are in the 40’s during the day but down to 12 degrees at night. this just strikes me as the type of year where we might have snow in april. i love seeing the pictures of the deer! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      Yes it is a bit to early in the year to think spring has arrived for sure yet.

      I love our deers, even if they do some damage in the garden. They are worth it🙂
      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. Hi Christer, Where I live, winter has been mild with almost no snow. I actually wanted at least one good snowfall but it hasn’t happened. We get more rain here, which I’m certainly tired of though.
    I love the deer photos too. They are such graceful animals.

    • Hi Terria!
      I especially like the photo with the deer on the road.

      Rain isn´t that fun either in the long run and the dogs gets so dirty too. But I wouldn´t mind warmer winters anyway🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  8. It probably is almost spring for you — but, wait, isn’t that fall on the horizon!?!😎😎 You do have the shortest summers. And, those terrible flies will be coming back, too, won’t they… Well, those are the joys of the rhythm of your world… Enjoy a cup of tea and take the time to enjoy your little family. Come visit when you can.

    • Hi Sharlene!
      But that 1,5 hours of summer we have is fantastic though🙂🙂🙂
      Yes those flies will come but I´ll have my hat with me all the time. But I do hope for a dry and warm spring so most of those ponds and deep holes will dry out. If they do the fly population will disappear🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  9. Oh! I just love the story about Doris! You are so kind to care about her. I know people around here would shoot her and that makes me sick!😦😦😦
    My favorite photo is the one of her sister on the road too.🙂
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      It´s only the younger hunters that wants to hunt for deers, the older ones always let them go and we have a lot of old hunters here🙂🙂
      I wouldn´t mind if we had lots of deers here but since we only have a few I really think we should protect the ones we have.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

