Daily routines.

It´s slowly getting darker outside and soon it´ll be dark as night outside. But the days has become much longer for us up here in the north. Now the sun goes up at 6:56 am and today it went down at 5:36 pm. If the sky had been clear it would most probably been quite light outside still.

My dogs and I have our daily routines here every day except for the weekends. Every morning we go up just before 5 am and the first thing they do is to run out in to the garden to do their business and I start the water boiler for a cup of tea and to pour in to their dry food. When they get in again I give them their food and I´ll have my breakfast and most likely I read a newspaper or a book for a while. The last fifteen minutes before I go to work I sit down on the floor so we all can socialize a bit, that´s rather nice 🙂

When I come home the first thing we do is to take a walk and when we come home I start with their food again. This is also when Hector gets his medicine and he is always the first one to finish his meal too. When he´s finished he and I walk upstairs and in wintertime I turn on some lights and then he and I sit on my bed and have a long conversation. Well I talk and he grunts now and again while I scratch behind his ears 🙂 🙂 🙂

Orvar and Nova comes up after a while and then I´ll have to scratch them too behind the ears 🙂 🙂 After that I usually write my blog and read Yours, all dogs usually stays in my bed until I´m finished. When I am I go upstairs again to watch some tv and then it´s Orvars turn to have a conversation with me 🙂 Nova prefers to stay with Hector most of the evening though, but when it´s time for me to sleep she usually sleeps by my feet or just beside my head. She doesn´t mind that my head or legs sometimes gets beneath her and makes it uncomfortable for her, she´s kind that way 🙂 🙂 🙂

I´m just about to make a mango and raspberry cobbler now. I wanted to do it already yesterday but time just didn´t go that slow so I had a chance to do one 🙂 I´ve never tried mango and raspberries before but I love both so I think I can´t fail with that mix 🙂 I´ll have custard with it 🙂                                                                                                                       Have a great day now!

 

30 thoughts on “Daily routines.

  1. Låter härligt med djuren. Min hund är inte så pigg på att “prata” så, han vill helst leka. Han är som mest kelig när jag ska titta på tv.
    Som du pratar med dina hundar så pratar jag med mina hästar, speciellt shettisen. Hon verkar förstå vad man säger. Enligt “trädgårdsdraken” Linda har hon labrador ögon.
    Det är skönt att det har blivit ljusare men lite sol och värme vore heller inte dumt.
    Ha det gott!!!!!

    • Hejsan Vittran!
      Nova är lite sådan, inget snack där inte 🙂 Men det kan bero på att hon fortfarande är så ny här.
      Kan tänka mig att det är samma sak med hästar, även om jag inte är så glad i dem vet jag hurdana de är (har passat grannens hästar då och då).

      Jag märker ju inte av solen på dagarna, vi har inga fönster nära på jobbet. Men värmen längtar jag efter!!

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. Stole a photo for this coming Caturday. Great shot of the dog and cat. Almost from a studio. I work with Zoey every evening. She likes to sip water from the spout in the master bath. So I start combing her furs while she drinks. If she stops to take a swipe at me it’s because I hit a nerve. But if I keep my face close to her head she doesn’t mind the pain then but then I can hardly see what I’m combing. My arms are spotted today with little blood spots where she got me good when I tried under her arms. Save that for the vet. She really doesn’t know when she’s got it good.

    • Hi Z&M!
      I wondered if You would do that 🙂 🙂 🙂 I´m honored 🙂

      That´s one of the reasons I don´t have long haired cats any longer 🙂 🙂 But I have to admit that they usually are so quick that it doesn´t even hurt.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  3. Routines like that are the best part of life. Touching base before you leave for the day and a great big greeting when you return. I’m confused. Is that a cattail from this year? They’re only budding in this neck of the woods. Don’t be confusing me, Christer, I’m just a woman … 😎

    I’m still trying to catch up with everyone… May have to learn how to type in my sleep!

    • Hi Sharlene!
      Yes they are 🙂 Sort of gives energy for the rest of the day too 🙂

      No that cat tail is from last summer, but many of them doesn´t let go of the seeds until now so it is photographed yesterday.

      If I miss that much when it comes to blogs as You have had to do I just start again on todays posts. It´s impossible to read all missed posts if I want to have a life too 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  4. Routines with our animals can often be the best part of our day. How I love your photos and am glad you are so generous with them in your postings. My favorite is the one of your lovely dog with the pretty cat.

    • Hi Nancy!
      Yes they really are and it gives energy for the rest of the day too 🙂

      That cat is Teodor and he is Bertil´s brother. None of them are cuddly but Teodor does have his days when I´m allowed to cuddle him some, Never Bertil though 🙂

      If You put the dart over a photograph usually some text will appear that tells what the photo shows.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  5. Christer, fun photos today or orvar and Teodor as it’s been awhile since T has been in the photos since Bertil usually is wandering outdoors with the dogs. Also, your routines of spending time with your dogs and cats was really very nice to read. Do they know how popular they are in your blogs?

    • Hi Beatrice!
      It´s getting warmer so Teodor feels it´s rather nice to get out again 🙂
      Those minutes in the morning makes it easier to meet the new day 🙂

      No I haven´t told them 🙂 They would be totally obnoxious if they knew and Bertil is bad enough as it is 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. Att spendera sån “kvalitétstid” med sina djur är underbart!
    Vet inte hur man ska kunna överleva när inte Penny finns längre. Husse vill nämligen inte ha någon ny hund, han tar så illa vid sig när dom går bort. Dessutom tycker han att det är elakt mot djuret när man börjar bli så pass gammal, man kanske inte orkar med dom och ska då behöva omplacera dom. Nej, då är det bättre att inte skaffa sig någon ny!
    Jag håller inte alls med honom känslomässigt, jag vill inte vara utan djur, men jag förstår vad han menar. Vi har en granne som flyttade till hemmet före jul och han fick ta bort sin alldeles friska och jättegulliga hund för han inte fick bo där.
    Det var en omplaceringshund som fortfarande, efter fem år, var livrädd för andra människor (hade precis börjat acceptera oss lite grann) så grannen ville inte utsätta honom för att flytta hem till någon ny person igen. Usch vad sorgligt det var!

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Visst är det så!
      Det är därför jag alltid har flera hundar i mitt hem 🙂

      Men inte kan ni vara så hiskeligt gamla än? Men jag förstår er granne som inte ville att den stackars hunden skulle omplaceras igen! Det får inte hända för ofta i livet för dem och var den redan så rädd hade det varit tortyr för det stackars djuret.

      Fast det finns ju andra djur sonm tar upp mycket av ens tid om man vill det, so papegojor. Roliga rackare som kräver än mer av sin ägare 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  7. hi christer…..i did not get that email and i was looking forward to it because i thought you would have good advice. when you have time can you send it again. seeing all these roots makes me a bit sick because of my pool and my stream and ponds, not to mention what they are already doing to my patios. i understand routine…..paul and brendan are on a trip and teddy is beside herself. she can’t go to the park because she is too heavy for me to lift and put in the car. she sure is not liking her schedule disrupted. she just looks at me and barks. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I´ll get over to You as soon as possible then and leave a new comment!

      Roots in the right place can be so beautiful but in the wrong they can make such damage on its surroundings.
      The older my boys gets the more important routine is for them. But they don´t mind us not having any routines on weekends though.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  8. dear Christer,
    i love your photos of the pets today! i am very interested in this cobbler you are making, i bought 2 mangoes yesterday at the store and have no idea how to fix them…a recipe would be grand or at least an idea…thank so much in advance

    xoxoxoxoxox

    • Hi Splendid!
      Thank You 🙂
      Well I really don´t follow a recipe when making anything 🙂 But I used a common dough and added some maple syrup in to it (normally I use sugar though). I´ve been told mango doesn´t taste that much when being in the oven, so I suggest that You add some lemon juice (I didn´t have any so I sprinkled some citric acid over the mango instead and it worked great! I love cinnamon too so I always sprinkle that too over the fruit. The rasp berries worked great with the mango too. This I will make again 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. Christer,
    Fern and Gracie have a strange relationship. Fern will lick Gracie for the longest time but when she’s in the mood she’ll whack the dog as she goes by her. Gracie runs from Fern some days while other times she tries to play. My bed is the neutral corner as they both sleep with me and beside each other. Poor Gracie would not move a muscle if Fern stood underneath her.

    Fern harasses Gracie. Poor Gracie will be waiting to get on the bed but Fern will run from side to side to keep Gracie off. They make me laugh.

    • Hi Kat!
      Poor Grace, Fern is really a bully 🙂 🙂
      No one is stopped to get up in the bed here, but as it is now Orvar leaves the bed if Nova jumps up. Hector doesn´t mind at all though, he and Nova is great friends now 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

    • Hi Robin!
      🙂 🙂 🙂
      Thank You! I was locked out of Word Press for a while but I saw Your message in the mail 🙂
      This is so exiting 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  10. hi christer….the roots come from: red maples, birches, fall flowering cherries, and honey locusts. all are very important in their places but i agree with you. it’s better to take the chance and cut some roots.

    • Hi Joyce!
      I think the only tree that would be in the danger zone if cutting their roots are the Cherries. But the rest I think will manage without any problems at all. You really have to do something because those roots will be much bigger with time and it would destroy Your beautiful garden!

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  11. Hello!
    I loved this post 🙂 I love knowing the routine of your day.
    I can not explain why … but I had a delicious sense of peace.
    Ahh, and photos! Teodor and Orvar together are delicious!
    I come see your blog always but have not commented.
    The last days were very busy. And also very hot, will come home without anything …
    Be well y’all
    Didi

    • Hi Didi!
      It´s always peaceful here, except for when I use my angry voice to tell Nova that she´s doing something she shouldn´t do 🙂 🙂

      Some days are just like that, to much to do and to hot, even if it´s very rare that it´s to hot here 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  12. hi christer…..thanks for the advice. is there a particular way i should cut the roots and a special tool? i want to do it soon before everything starts to grow.

    • Hi Joyce!
      I´ve never heard of a special tool for root cutting. I guess big nurseries have huge cutters, but just make the cut as clean as possible. I guess a sharp ax is best though.
      Good Luck!
      Christer.

  13. I LOVE this post!
    I agree with some of the others, that it’s nice to read about your routine and seems so peaceful. I absolutely ADORE the photos of your pets of the steps in front of your cottage. The colors! I love the red of the cottage and the green lower on the door and then your furry family in front! love love love it! You should sell prints! 🙂
    Have a good weekend! – Cindi

    • HI Cindi!
      I live a very peaceful and quiet life here in my cottage 🙂 I moved from the big city because I just couldn´t take all the stress there without being a really unpleasant person.

      I´m thinking of painting the door green like it looks now when I have washed away the algae that grows there now 🙂 I think it looks beautiful 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

