Now it´s my turn.

Looking at the weather forecast creates a bit of frustration at the moment. On Friday they showed that warmer winds and temperatures above 0C (32F) would come on Monday.  On Saturday it showed that those winds and temperatures would come on Tuesday. Today they show that they will arrive on thursday! I think they just are having a real good time at the weather station, they just give us just enough hope that it will be warm within a couple of days. Just to sort of push it ahead one day for every day that passes🙂🙂🙂 Right now it feels like we´ll never get there at all🙂🙂🙂

It seems Nova finally have learned not to mess with Orvar when she´s indoors. As soon as he comes close she looks at him and walks over to Hector instead🙂🙂 Hector and Nova have become real good friends  now. But I´ve noticed that it´s my time to get challenged by her🙂 She´s really a good dog and does as she´s told, but every now and again she tries my patens. Today for instance she jumped through the barbed wire fence but came back as soon as I called her. Just to jump through it again seconds after.

I thought I should show You some of the tree funguses I saw on our walk today.

I don´t know for how long and many times this was going on, but finally she decided that she wouldn´t come when I called her. I stood just four meters (the same in yards) behind her and called but she didn´t even look at me🙂 I called a bit louder and she walked a few steps in the other direction instead. Finally I shouted as loud as I could and that´s loud🙂 She just didn´t care. When I finally got to her I pushed her so she fell on her side and I didn´t allow her to stand up at first. She tried several times but I just held her down.

This and the one below is the same species, but the one below is over a year old and withered by now.

I can´t say I made a big impression on her at all🙂🙂🙂 I think we had walked five meters (five yards) when she jumped to the other side of the fence again🙂🙂🙂 It might sound hard to do something like that to her, but if she is going to be allowed to walk without a leash later on she must obey when I tell her too. I only have three rules they must obey in any situation and those are: Stay, come and sit. Otherwise I´m kind of lean with rules🙂

It´s the same with these two funguses.

It´s time for something to eat, a cup of warm milk and then I have two newspapers and three comic magazines to read. Channel six shows Chuck today too so I´m not sure I´ll be able to read them all today🙂                                                                                                           Have a great day now!

20 thoughts on “Now it´s my turn.

  1. Hi Christer,
    Bring a leash on your next walk. If she doesn’t listen then she doesn’t get to walk off lead for the next five minutes. Knocking her on her side was a good move, too, but I only use that for serious infringements like trying to fight with another dog or growling and showing dominant behavior towards me. You’ve got to hold the dog down until it stops trying to get up and sometimes that takes more time than you have. With a jack russell terrier it almost always took more time than I had but I did it anyway.🙂
    It’s grey and raining here with possible snow if the temperature drops a little bit. It is what our weather people call a “wintry mix”. It’s what I call messy.
    Love the fungus. Still too much snow here to see any old fungi. Everything is grey, grey, grey.
    Enjoy your day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I always have a leash with me, but thought I should “chock treat” her this time🙂 But as I wrote, she wasn´t to impressed by that treatment🙂🙂

      She is very much terrier in her behavior and we officially declared her a Border collie/ Staffordshire bullterrier miv at the vet station🙂 But I was surprised that she gave up that fast, but that doesn´t mean that she will next time🙂

      Most of the funguses grew high up in the tree, but we really doesn´t have that much snow left now. But it´s grey, grey, grey here too🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer…..i guess nova is still learning! i think she is doing a great job fitting in as well as she has this fast. i can’t even imagine what would happen if i tried to knock teddy over. for one thing, she is built like a cement block. and secondly, i think i would lose! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      This was just to be expected🙂 She must try her boundaries to see how things work in this family. She is doing great fitting in here though. She will try this several times so I just have to be patient🙂

      Yes Teddy is built like a cement block so I doubt I would have been able to knock her over too🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  3. We had a Beagle for 17 years and from the puppy stage she was taking to training. We went to a six week disciplin school and she picked up on everything. Real family pooch. We did so love that dog. It’s why we have cats now. Can’t get attached like before. She was such a good dog.

    • Hi Z&M!
      If Nova would have been here since she was a puppy things would have been very different. Then she would have learned already from the beginning what boundaries she shouldn´t break. But now she´s a teen and has to learn how things works here when she already feels grown up. This is just to be expected and it will happen several more times🙂 She is really smart and she usually does what she´s told though.

      It´s hard to loose ones dog, that´s why I always have more than one so I´ll never be without one.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. TESTING TESTING:)) Snacka om att det är din tur att testas:) Alltså jag beundrar människor som dig Christer! Jag är så himla blödig så jag skulle aldrig klara av att trycka ner en hund (eller annat djur) som du gjorde med Nova. Det är ju annars det enda sättet som de förstår och kan lära sig av. Jag vet precis HUR man ska bete sig men jag klarar det inte mentalt:) Nova har ju uppenbarligen hamnat i ett precis perfekt fungerande hem:)) Så glad jag blir för hennes skull. Att det kommer att fungera helt om bara ett litet tag är jag helt övertygad om:) Kram/Monne

    • Hejsan Monne!🙂🙂🙂 Eftersom jag vet att det är det enda som hjälper så gör jag det. Det gäller bara att låta arg, inte vara det🙂🙂🙂

      Jodå hon kommer att passa in perfekt här i familjen och jag tror att det kommer att gå fort, men hon måste få pröva mig och gränserna ett litet tag först🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

    • Hi Deanna and welcome to my blog🙂
      It is very peaceful here and it is between the dog fights I notice it best🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. As always, amazing photos. The fungi remind me of photos I took of my oldest son when he found an amazing fungus growing out of a tree in the Pocono Mountain area of PA. He was astounded and thought it had to be an animal. I so love your photos. They give me a window into another part of the world which I will never get to see. Thanks for sharing.

    • Hi Nancy!
      I´ve seen that fungus You´re talking about! I saw it in an american blog and I was sure it was some kind of animal on its way in to a hole in the tree🙂🙂🙂 If it is the same kind it´s said to be delicious! But we have nothing like that over here though, just those looking like these I´ve shown in my post.

      That´s the great thing with blogs! I´ve learned so much from other parts of the world that I otherwise never would🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. Well, the trial is over and I can finally catch up on the 599 blog postings waiting for me! Nova is just testing you — be consistent… You’re the Alpha Dog! Love today’s photos of fungi… Enjoy your warm milk and magazines… I’m on a high because Colin Firth got the Oscar!

    • Hi Sharlene!
      So You´re finally free from the trial! Guilty or not?

      Oh yes, she´s testing me alright🙂🙂🙂 She must do so that she knows how much I´ll except🙂

      I heard he got the Oscar! I haven´t seen the film yet so I don´t know if I think he deserves it🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. Vad jag känner igen mig och Penny i det här!
    Penny var ju en liten pest när hon var valp och INGENTING hjälpte. Varken att låtsas arg (det går än idag inte hem hos henne, man måste verkligen vara riktigt förbannad), 5 valpdressyrkurser + några agilety (hon uppträdde perfekt på kurserna, men så fort vi kom hem var hon sitt vanliga busiga jag), att “trycka ner henne” (hon kom upp som från en studsmatta och gjorde direkt om buset) eller att hålla henne och “läsa paragrafer”. Vi gjorde allt utom att slå henne (skulle vi aldrig kunna göra), men hon var vad gänget i SKK (grannen var med i ett arbetsutskott) kallade; Enormt hård och trilsk! Dessutom trodde hon att hon var alfatik för hela området (ända tills hon träffade en Dobermantiken Emma). Allt tills hon löpte första gången, då ÄNTLIGEN förändrades hon.
    Och du ska veta att innan Penny hade vi en strävhårig tax, Brasse som blev 18 år, som var snäll och lydig som ett lamm. Han kunde gå lös överallt, alla gillade honom – även hanhatande hanar – samt gjorde han något bus så behövde man bara höja rösten lite, han lydde direkt!
    Penny har aldrig kommit upp i Brasses klass, men däremot så är hon enormt smart (vilket hon utnyttjar till fullo) och vanvettigt söt (tur för henne) även nu som 16-åring.
    Det är visserligen som jag brukar säga; “Man har den hund man förtjänar!” men med tranke på allt jobb vi har lagt ner på Penny under årens skulle hon ha varit enormt lydig, men…….

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Min första hund, Sickan, påminner en hel del om både er Penny och min Nova🙂🙂 Men den dagen hon lugnade sig blev hon en fantastisk hund och mycket bättre än jag förtjänade🙂🙂🙂

      Nova måste testa gränser först och främst för att hon själv skall lära sig hur det funkar i denna familjen. Men dessutom för att hon är tonåring just nu🙂

      Jag är som du, skulle aldrig slå en hund!!! De fattar ändå inte varför om man skall vara ärlig. Envetenhet och mängder med nej och duktig hund når man mycket längre med!

      Vete katten om man har den hund man förtjänar, så bra är jag inte🙂🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  8. I have never seen such strange things growing as grows in Sweden. Is it the dampness?
    Your rules are the same ones I had for my children. 🙂
    One day Nova will say “I’ve GOT it!”
    I just don’t think I would have the patience to raise another pup…and certainly not a child.🙂 Stay, come and sit. That pretty much works for everyone.🙂
    Hot milk?
    I NEED SLEEP! G’night, Christer!🙂
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      I have no idea why the funguses likes it so much here. But I guess the dampness is one factor in it. Though beautiful they do kill the tree in the long end so the best thing would be if they didn´t appear.

      Small kids and dogs thinks much the same I think🙂 But Nova does already get it, she´s just testing me and how far she can go🙂🙂🙂

      I love milk in all ways, even hot milk🙂 Sleeps like a baby after that🙂

      Have a great day when You wake up🙂
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

