If it isn´t one thing it´s another :-)

I´m so tired today and I have nothing to blame but myself 🙂 I had bought oxen crossbones to my dogs the other day and gave them to my dogs yesterday morning. They love this and it helps them clean their teeth. Bones from oxen are really big so they had sawn them in to smaller pieces that weighed around 1kg (around two pound). Unfortunately that made the bones more fragile and pretty soon every floor were covered in small pieces of bone.

I didn´t think especially much of it to be honest, I just brought my brush and wiped it of the floor. I did however think a lot about it later in the night. They all got diarrhea and when they weren´t out in the garden they throw up loads of small bone fragments all over the place. When all finally calmed down my own stomach started to argue with me. I had bought lots of bananas the other day and when I eat to many of those my stomach gives up. But I love bananas and usually forgets about any problems until I´ve eaten to many again 🙂 🙂 🙂

Lying photographs will get bigger and better if You click on them.

But the day is beautiful, the sun shines and the wind is absent. Nasty cold though but that´s no bigger problem. Even though the sun doesn´t heat up the air outside especially much it does give a lot of heat through the windows. It´s now so warm inside my little cottage that I don´t have to have a fire in the stove at the moment 🙂

The moss on the stone was sparkling in the sun, but nothing of that shows on the photograph.

We have so many Ravens now days that they actually has become a problem. One might not believe it but they kill small lambs and calfs. They start by chopping out their victims eyes and when they are defenseless they do the rest.

Tonight it´s the swedish part of the Eurovision song contest again. It has been so lousy these two times it has been shown that I think I won´t look at it this evening. I think it´s best to make it an early evening instead and hoping for a quiet night without any disturbance 🙂                                                                                                                                     Have a great day now!

This is the Blackbird The Beatles sings about. Blackbird singing in the dead of night.

Why don´t listen to the Beatles song? Blackbird, it will open up in a new window.

16 thoughts on “If it isn´t one thing it´s another :-)

  1. Usch ja, det är väldigt otäckt det där med lammen. Inget man vill tänka på en sån här vacker dag – fast väldans kallt det, jag håller med!
    Nyss sådde jag alla mina frön, eller rättare sagt 8 sorter av 9 som jag fått. Den nionde var gräslök och det har jag en jätterugge av, så den skippar jag. Min gubbe har fixat en växtbelysning och så har jag ställt dom på en bänk i gästrummet. Hoppas nu att det funkar. Jag är ju urusel på att dra upp frön, så man vet aldrig. OK, dom brukar komma upp, växa till sig och se fina ut – sen dör plantorna!

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Visst är det en otroligt vacker dag, trots kylan 🙂
      Nej det där med korparna är riktigt otrevligt. De har faktiskt samma problem med en papegoja på Nya Zeeland, Kean. Det hade länge vetats om av jordbrukare där men naturligtvis trodde inte myndigheterna på dem. Inte förrän man lyckades filma det. Annars sägs det vara en riktigt rolig och lekful papegoja.

      Jag brukar bara hålla mig till fröer som måste sås ute för jag är ganska så värdelös med att hålla dem vid liv inne 🙂 🙂 Men denna gången har jag lyckats att beställa flera sorter som behöver värme, men de flesta får vänta ännu en månad innan jag sätter igång med dem 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. OK, first. Love the photos as always but #2 and #9 are my favorites of course.
    Second, if the bones are breaking into pieces, you don’t mean slivers do you? I’m sure you don’t but you know me, always worrying. The only bones I give the dogs are those femur cow bones and I only let Blue have one at my work while he’s kenneled by himself and the same for my terriers. The little ones never get bones because they would get into a pack fight. All other types of bones worry me with the possiblity of splintering.
    Third, I JUST learned about the raven/calf thing! I like to listen to books on CD’s as I drive to work and I recently rented “Squirrel seeks Chipmunk” by David Serdaris not realizing it was based on Aesop fables. I thought it was just a collection of cute animals stories with a bit of a dark comic twist. Needless to say, the story about the Silly sheep and her sweet little lamb by her side, chatting with the Crow caught me totally off guard! I was driving and so upset and surprised! I should have known, having listened to a horrible orphaned bear story the day before! That’s what I get for hoping for the best! My personality can not handle these kind of tales because they haunt me for days. I know that “it” is out there but I’d rather be oblivious to it.
    Sorry about the long comment! LOL! I’ve been off the computer for a few days- busy at work while sick! 🙂
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      No not slivers, more like small pebbles so no risk of cutting their stomachs. I wonder if these were smoked otherwise they never break up like this. I normally boil fresh bones from oxen and they never break down like this. I´ll keep away from these in the future anyway 🙂 🙂 We have a saying here: Never give a dog a bone from any animal whose name starts with a F (naturally in swedish then 🙂 ) Fläsk (pork), Får (sheep) Fågel (bird) or Fisk (fish).

      Nature is cruel even if most people don´t think so. It´s only because we are in the top of the food chain that we never realizes that 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  3. Me again!
    I wanted to post something about your blog on my blog….
    would it be OK for me to post a couple of your photos?
    Mostly likely one of Bertil and maybe one of the dogs on one of your daily walks?
    🙂 ? – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I would be honored if You would like to do that 🙂 I wish I could have taken some photographs just minutes ago when Nova tried to play with Teodor, she wasn´t especially successful 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Christer.

  4. Stackare, vilken jäkla natt! Hoppas verkligen att du och dina vänner får det lugnare i natt:) Hoppas att jag kan övertala min käre make att strunta i schlagerfestivalen i kväll och se på en film eller vad som helst bara jag slipper se skiten:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Hejsan Monne!
      Ja den hoppas jag slippa igen 🙂 🙂 🙂
      Ja det mesta är nog bättre än schlagerfestivalen 🙂 QX galan går på fyran hörde jag precis, fast det är väl egentligen samma sak då 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  5. hi christer…..my vet tells me never to give teddy bones. as much as dogs love them, they are dangerous and the marrow is too fatty and gives them diarrhea. i am sure you know what a frog is but just don’t know the english word. it is a floral frog and you place water in it and each hole holds a flower. there are metal frogs too. they are used in the bottom of vases to hold flowers in place. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      When I give them bones I usually cooks them first to get rid of most the fat in the marrow, but I didn´t think of it this time and got punished 🙂 🙂 But they are all ok now thankfully 🙂

      I had never heard that name on that thing before so I wondered if You had written the wrong word for it 🙂 🙂 🙂 But yes I have seen them before, I´ve even sold them in my gardencentre 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. Whew! Bad doggie bones, that’s a problem. Glad too Bertil didn’t eat any. Although my feral cats love to chew on chicken bones. I hear it’s bad for them and then, on the other hand, they are seeking something in the marrow that does them good not bad. So is that a black bird in the last photo? I thought they were much bigger. I’m rather amazed. Enjoy your cozy cottage.

    • Hi Z&M!
      I think Bertil might have tried to eat some of that bone if the dogs had allowed him 🙂 🙂 But no more bones for anyone for a long time 🙂

      I´ve always wondered how wild animals can eat bones from birds when dogs can´t!

      Blackbirds aren´t especially big but much bigger than sparrows. I think we chose the Blackbird to be our national bird some years ago and I do love to hear its song every spring, just before the sun goes down or just when the first daylight comes 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

