Fox scabies.

If it´s not tapeworms we don´t want here it is Fox scabies and that´s what we have here now. My neighbor saw one this morning and warned me before I went out in to the forest for our morning walk (I´m home today with fever and headache but the dogs needs to take their walk anyway). The scabies in it self isn´t dangerous to the animal, but it itches so much that the fox scratches itself so much that it looses all fur and damages its skin.

The skin then gets infected with different germs and the fox dies slowly and painfully slowly starving to death. This can naturally hit dogs too and some years ago that meant bathing the dog in a special shampoo (rather disgusting) three times and one had to clean the home so good that no scabies eggs remains. Not the easiest thing to do and many failed. But now days they just give the dogs a shot with medicine and repeat it after ten days. So it´s not that bad for dogs but for the foxes it´s a nightmare. It also hits wolves and I think Lynxes too (but not cats).

So no more walking in the forest until the fox either is caught in a trap and killed or dies by itself within a month or so. I do hope it gets trapped because I really don´t want it to suffer that bad and for such a long time. In a way is fortunate that it is so cold now and for one more week because the scabies can´t survive outside the fox in this cold more than half an hour.

We have new horse owners in our village and this is what I saw this morning.

Since I´m home today and have nothing special to do I´ve sowed a couple of seeds from Golden horn (Xanthoceras sorbifolia). It comes from China and has edible nuts, I ordered it by mistake but I know it will survive here in my climate, if they just germinates of course🙂🙂

No SciFi night at channel six tonight. The only thing coming close to that is Vampire diaries and I don´t like that one, but the new version of the old SciFi series V will start next week and I hope it´s good. Now it´s time for a pot of tea (it´s still early in the day🙂 ) and a sandwich or two. I haven´t even eaten breakfast yet and feels a bit hungry.                           Have a great day now!

22 thoughts on “Fox scabies.

  1. Hi Christer,
    If I were a paranoid conspiracy theorist, I would say that this latest disease is part of the Evil Swedish Parliament’s secret plan to circumvent the Evil EU Environmentalists and eradicate all animals that prey on voters’ pets.🙂🙂🙂
    I like the last photo because of all the interesting textures in the scene. The horse photos bring back pleasant memories of driving a horse and training bike. Super fun! You should ask your new neighbor if he will take you for a ride. In nicer weather, of course. You’ll love it.
    Hope you feel better and find something good to watch on tv.

    • Hi Caryn!🙂🙂🙂 That´s the way it is🙂🙂 It´s a bit scary actually because some people believes that and there has come suggestions to kill all foxes in the area they have found that tape worm! I wonder if they think foxes does nothing in nature? they do eat loads of rodents we don´t want and those rodents can give us deadly diseases too🙂🙂 Like Vole fever and Hare plague.

      I showed a similar photo in sundays blog I think and that photo was taken at the same time, but that photo was a bit better.

      I think I´ll pass on following my neighbor, I´m not that fond of horses🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

      • Well! I’m getting quite the medical education here.
        I had to mine deep into google to come up with a description of Hare Plague that was not an article about a plague of hares.🙂. And just exactly how often does the average person aerosolize vole droppings anyway?
        Hooray for foxes and wolves and all other things that eat rodents. That goes for coyotes, too, I guess.

      • 🙂🙂
        Lets start with the vole droppings🙂 More often than You think actually, for instance if You clean out an old shed where voles has been. It´s enough to move something and then You can get infected. Rather many has gotten it that way. Hare plague can be spread by mosquitos and one person died last year because of that. Nature is more deadly than one can think🙂

        I´m glad for every animal that eats rodents, even if they too can kill us🙂🙂🙂

        Have a great day now!
        Christer.

  2. Love to see horses, no matter what they might be doing. Terrible stuff, these scabies and tapeworms….yuck. Hope all at your house stay healthy and well. As for you, Christer, again with being sick!! I hope it is nothing too long=lasting. Our weather is so glorious today, lots of sun, high 50’s F…..a lot of melting and dripping. Of course it is going to go way down temperature-wise tonight, so a skating rink tomorrow! Take good care now!

    • Hi Robin!
      It did look beautiful when that horse ran by me, even if I´m not a horse fan at all🙂
      I can´t remember when I had this many colds before! I´m a bit tired of it now to be honest🙂🙂 But there are lots of colds and influenza’s going around here now so I´m not surprised that I got one of them🙂

      I would love to have Your weather for a day or two, but the wind has at least changed direction so it´s finally warm in my little home again🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer, hope you are feeling better soon, especially with the weekend here which should be fun and not sick time! Just finished catching up on an earleir post about tapeworms right after reading here about scabies – two not very fun subjects – especially for the poor foxes. Hopefully the boys and Nova will not be affected by any of these. Take good care and feel better – tea and rest should help.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      It´s so typical! I always gets colds when the weekend comes.

      They have checked nine more foxes that has been killed in that same area (Fox hunting season here now) and none had that tapeworm. But it´s just a drop in the ocean, there´s lots of foxes around🙂
      I feel so sorry for those foxes getting scabies, it´s a terrible death for them. I do hope my dogs doesn´t get it even if it´s easy to cure now.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,
    What happens? You got the flu? My recipe is a delicious tea hag🙂
    Lemon peel, ginger, cinnamon, cloves garlic, sweeten with honey, you can even put a little cognac e. .. under the covers with a movie and quite annoying. :))
    I love the taste of this tea.
    Scabies? I believe that these nasty things existed only in tropical countries like mine. Poor foxes: ( And how many care for their children!
    I am delighted with the change in your landscape. What diversity! You know, here things always seem more or less the same.
    The photos 7 and 8 were wonderful:)
    Be well all of you, take care
    Oh yeah, I always notice when you change the blog header. But I always forget to comment on. There are so many issues🙂

    • Hi Didi!
      I think it´s just a common cold I´ve got but I´m already tired of it🙂

      I´ll try Your tea next time, because I don´t have all things here at home now. But I have to say that even if I like garlic it sort of spoils all the other things You put in🙂🙂🙂

      Scabies exists in different varieties all over the world and it is nasty. But some foxes and dogs doesn´t feel the itching even if they are infected. I had a dog that got it once and she didn´t scratch her self at all.

      I think that if I came to Your country I would say just the same about how it looks in Brazil, lots of diversity🙂 We do get home blind sometimes and Your home looks so very different from mine that I wouldn´t see it as You do at all🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  5. I love those little horse and buggy combos. Fun the race in too. I did some of that outside Richmond, Virginia one summer. It’s really hard to care for. The clean up plus the horse is an all afternoon, evening job. But it’s a fun ride. I too hope someone traps the fox. We have had red fox here for the first time since anyone can remember. They are beautiful to look at and I was rather concerned my feral family would be in danger. I don’t think the red fox have bugs like over there but they could have other diseases they can pass to breeds or humans if biten. So the one in my woods disappeared; five were trapped 4 miles from my house; another litter were found and taken in by the County. I wonder if this will happen every winter. Enjoy your sandwiches and good post today Christer.

    • Hi Z&M!
      Trotting is big here in this area and it´s nice to see it here in the village once again. It used to be my neighbor (the one I bought my cottage from) but noiw days he has more spare parts in his body than I have🙂🙂

      Since most of us don´t have chickens any longer we do like our foxes, when they suffer we all feel bad for them. Foxes does take the occasional cat but mostly cats can manage to get away from them. Normally the scabies is the only thing we have to worry about when it comes to foxes otherwise they don´t pass any diseases to us I think (except for that tape worm they found now).

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. Hi Christer,
    it’s been a long time since i left a comment in here,
    when you went to wordpress i commented a few times and have now become ‘subscribed’ to your blog, which means i get your new posts in an email, so i read your posts everyday, but don’t always then have the time to go and write a comment…
    Delighted to hear about Nova, settling in and about her new blue coat.
    Euwwww, scabies and tapeworm, yeuch, not such nice things, but important to know about.lovely photos today, i love the birch trees, i have planted 8 of them myself in our garden, they are so elegant, and such a lovely lace-like shape…
    enjoy your tea etc, here’s hoping the cold goes soon,
    regards
    liz

    • Hi Liz!
      I´m bad in leaving comments myself, but I usually visits all my blog friends.

      Nova settles in better and better every day now. She still has that idea that biting in their legs is fun but I yell at her every time so she has calmed down some🙂
      I do love the birches too🙂 Wouldn´t be the same if they weren´t around🙂 Good luck with Yours!
      I hope the cold leaves soon too, I really long for spring now!

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. Scarcopitis scabies (Mange) is over here also. Back in 2003 i lost almost an entire population of Red fox (Vulpes Vulpes) in the park i worked at. A visitor let their dog run lose and it had mange. Somehow a fox got it and then it spread through the whole park. When i left in 2005 we had just 3 mating pairs left out of 50. I even lost the family that would join me for lunch sometimes. Luckily dogs can be treated but not the wild critters.
    Looks like your neighbor is into harness racing or trotters. We watched a whole afternoon of harness racing last summer, and then stayed for the ‘Tractor Pull Contest’.
    Sorry to hear you have that cold back again. It usually take about two weeks to get the virus out of your system. Our remedy is hot tea with honey, lemon, and cinnamon. Another possibility is some Kosher Penacillian (Chicken Soup with all the grease). And if that fails some good Irish Whiskey🙂
    We hit 74F here today. I’ll try to send you some. Hope you feel better soon.
    Grenville

    • Hi Grenville!
      It´s terrible for the fox when it gets scabies! I think it´s twenty years ago when it hit hard here in Sweden and I didn´t see a fox in years after that. It still comes and goes and it seems some foxes (and dogs) can have it without feeling it and I do hope that their pups inherits that.

      Yes they are harness racers and that´s big here in this area called Skaraborg. I like to look at them when they are training and I actually owned a trotting horse myself long ago. Tractor pull contests isn´t that popular strangely enough.

      It will be lots of tea here this weekend, but instead of lemon I´ll have ginger. I do have a chicken in the freezer, perhaps I should make some soup?

      You almost have summer temperatures!!🙂 We have 14F here this morning🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  8. hi christer! i hope you are feeling better! yikes….more creepy things to worry about. i hope they catch that fox. it was 65 degrees here today and will be 27 tomorrow morning. the weather sure is crazy. and the wind!!! 55 mph gusts! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I feel much the same today and now my stomach´s started to complain too.

      Our foxes has been so big and beautiful so I really hoped they wouldn´t get this. But now it´s here again and I do hope they catch that poor fox soon.

      The wind has finally calmed down here but I envy You Your temperature 14F here this morning.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  9. Skönt att höra att man fixar rävskabb på hundar så enkelt nu för tiden. Det måste ha varit för c:a 20-25 år sen i det stora skabbutbrottet som Brasse fick det!
    Med tanke på bandmasken så känns det väldans skönt att numera bo på en ö långt ut i havet. Saker och ting har lite svårare att ta sig hit -om inte idiotiska jägare/uppfödare bestämmer sig för att “importera” sånt som rabbisar, rådjur och vildsvin med sjukdomar förstås!
    Räv finns det dock gott om, men tydligen inte någon rävskabb – hitintills – vilket är skönt för oss med hundar. Det räcker så gott med dom jäkla blodsugande små odjuren, alltså fästingar som jag bara HATAR! Fins absolut ingen som helst nytta med dom!!

    • Tjänare Susie!
      Ja numera är det ju en barnlek att fixa rävskabb om man jämför med förr. Tror det är 12 år sedan som mina fick det och två sprutor senare så var det borta. Har för mig att den medicinen var helt ny då.

      Ja antingen att jägarna “importerar” något eller att någon köper en insmugglad omaskad hundvalp och tar med sig. Det räcker ju att de bara besöker ön i några minuter och sedan kan det vara kört.

      Visst är natutren underbar🙂🙂🙂 Är det inte det ena så är det det andra🙂 Man har faktiskt kommit fram till att fästingar inte gör någon nytta alls i naturen! Det är knappast nödfallsmat för något djur i våran natur. Det enda man kunde tänka på var att de kunde vara en sorts popuöationskontroll, med andra ord de sprider smitta som kan döda oss andra🙂🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  10. today my favs are #5,8 and 9.
    in 8 are they in front of your village?
    I love the “idea” of having a horse. Several of the girls at work own one or two!
    They say they are alot of work, expensive to own and get sick easily so I won’t ever have one. (unless I suddenly become rich! LOL!)
    Fox scabies! Wow, I guess there are dangers to worry about no matter where one lives!
    Here we worry more about Deer ticks and heartworm from mosquitoes!
    Take care! – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      Well it´s a part of the village anyway🙂 Lots of houses and cottages has fallen apart and disappeared many years ago so now the homes are sort of placed in groups of three with big gaps between them. My friends says this isn´t really a village and I sort of agrees with them🙂

      I´m not that fond of horses to be honest but Your work friends have a point. They do cost a lot to have and if they get sick they cost even more. But they do look beautiful from a distance🙂🙂

      It´s always something but we don´t have that heart worm over here, at least something to be happy about🙂 They have bated the fox trap so we all hope for the fox to get caught in it so it doesn´t have to suffer any more.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

