A new winter coat.

No photographs from today, but we took a rather nice walk down to the creek yesterday afternoon.

It was biting cold when I woke up this morning and I wondered how I would do with little Nova during the day. The old boys loves it when it is this cold and spend all day outside in the dog yard instead of staying in the dog house. Nova stays in the dog house though, but she has very thin fur in comparing with my old boys.

Bertil kept a distance to us at first, not quite sure about Nova without a leash yet.

But then he decided that she wasn´t a threat at all.

We walked in the opposite direction this time.

So I decided to let them all stay in the cottage during the day and went from work an hour earlier than usual, I decided that it was time to buy Super Nova a coat! I decided that I should drive to the store that has fire logs first, because I had only one package left and it will stay cold for the whole week. The store is called Granngården ( that could be translated to Next door farm) and they have everything a farmer or forest owner could need. They also have all kinds of things for dogs and cats too.

The moon was already high in the sky.

When I had fetched as many fire log packages I wanted I walked in to the pet department and bought some big bones for my dogs and found some coats for dogs too! I didn´t know they had that and first I saw some made in felt. Looked good enough but I thought they looked a bit to big. But then I saw three made of something else I think is called 600 denier. I have no idea what it is but it´s water and wind proof and it breathes so that the dog doesn´t get to hot.

Bertil realized that he walked on the wrong side of the creek and shouted all the way.

He didn´t calm down until he understood that I was calling for him to come to the old rotten bridge so he could come over to us🙂

It wasn´t especially cheap but then I saw a tag telling me that it was on 30% discount🙂  So I didn´t need to go to a pet store to find one🙂 I was wondering what they might have done to my home during the day, dogs can do a lot of stuff when they are bored and expected the worst when I opened my front door🙂🙂 But I have to say that it wasn´t that bad after all. They had spread around 1000 little plastic tags In use when I sow seeds and writes the names on🙂🙂🙂 and they had also reached the sacks with dog food and made a hole in the bottom of one of them🙂🙂🙂

All lying photographs gets bigger and better if You click on them.

I can´t say that I think Nova liked the coat but it fits good and tomorrow they´ll be in the dog yard again🙂 She will be sleeping in the dog house with lots of blankets and the boys will stay outside on the ice and snow just like they like it🙂                                                         Now there´s a fire in the stove and soon I´ll make a pot of tea and some sandwiches. I have to mend my jacket because I almost tore off one pocket when I tried to push down all the leashes in it🙂🙂🙂 But after that I think I´ll watch” Chuck” on channel six tonight🙂 Have a great day now!

20 thoughts on “A new winter coat.

  1. Christer,
    Gracie has a coat, a beautiful wool one. Boxers don’t have a whole lot of fur to keep them warm, and she never seems to mind wearing her coat.

    Happy Valentine’s Day, Christer!

    • Hi Kat!
      I think this was the first time Nova ever used a coat and she wasn´t that happy about it inn the beginning🙂🙂 But in the end of our walk it looked as if she didn´t mind that much🙂 I think she´ll like it in the long run though🙂

      Happy Valentines day!
      Christer.

  2. Vilken tur att de inte rivit kåken:) Bra att du fick tag på ett varmt täcke till Nova, kan ju behövas så isande kallt som det varit idag. Ha det gott/Monne

    • Hejsan Monne!
      Ibland blir man glatt överraskad🙂

      Ja det är ett riktigt fint täcke och jag hoppas att hon kommer att gilla det. Det blir ju aldrig så kallt i själva kojan, men hon har inte mycket päls så jag tror verkligen den behövs.

      Ha det gott du med!
      Christer.

  3. hi christer….bertil is just too cute. will we get to see pics of nova in her coat? i bet she will like it when she realizes it is what is keeping her warm! teddy came with her own coat and then some! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      yes he is🙂 It´s a shame he has a personality like a angry badger🙂🙂🙂

      Photos will come, I didn´t bring the camera with me today. I guess she will like it soon and that it just felt unusual today. Yes Teddy and my boys will never have to worry about cold weather🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  4. So . . . ummm . . . what did you buy the cats? Think I’d let you off that hook? Why not wrap Bertil in the scarf Joyce got you. I’m sure he’d be much warmer on his long walks. When do we get to see Nova showing off her new clothes? Enjoy your logs.

    • Hi Z&M!
      I didn´t need to buy them anything since they have lots here at home.
      Do You really want me to kill Bertil the cat?? he would either suffocate in it or die from over heating. As I already have said, it´s a really warm scarf and so long that I can wrap it around my neck several times and still it would touch the floor.

      Photos of Nova comes later today🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  5. First, I must say. I think that the photo of Bertil coming across the bridge is one of my all time favorites! I just love that cat!
    That coat you got for Nova sounds perfect!
    I’ve boughten a few coats and clothes for my dogs but they never seem happy. One winter I got my little Ruby a Woolrich coat that velcro’d under her belly. She was SO cute but then she tumbled over onto her back and laid there like a June bug. She couldn’t get up! She was so mad at me!🙂 So I’ve given up…but she’s never outside for more than a few minutes…none of them are right now.
    Take care! – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I like that photo too🙂
      Nova is definitively not a fan of that coat🙂 She looked like she was going to die this morning when I put it on her🙂🙂🙂 Not even lots of treats could help her to be happier🙂🙂 But it did stay on all day.
      Poor Little Ruby🙂🙂🙂 I can understand why she doesn´t like it though🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. Christer, you say Bertil has the personality of an angry badger, but all of us who read your blog just adore him. He is so intrepid, and I can just hear him yowling because he went the wrong way (although I am sure he thought you and the dogs were the ones who went the wrong way!) I, too, am looking forward to seeing Nova in her new coat. She will be quite the fashionable girl! And I am chuckling about you finding all those plastic planting tags all over the place. They must have had a ball. Maybe you should get a storage bin for the food, you are lucky there was any left!! Happy Valentine’s Day, Christer, and enjoy your evening!

    • Hi Robin!
      He do look cute and nice that little angry cat🙂🙂
      The strange thing is that I have never walked on that side of the creek when he´s been with us, so I have no idea why he had to go there at all🙂

      I´m having some problems to adjust the coat so that it stays right all the time. Either it moves forward towards her head or slides down on one side or both🙂🙂 I think I might have done right this afternoon though. Looks a bit odd on her sometimes🙂🙂

      I do have one of those bins, but Hector is a bit too intelligent and has managed to open that up too🙂🙂🙂 I put all those plastic tags in a big pot and when I was going to put the pot on the table I dropped it on the floor instead so I had to pick them all up one more time🙂 .-)🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. *hi, hi* När man läser inlägget så hör man stackars Bertils skrik och ser “gängets” framfart i huset. Att du vågade ha en matsäck stå framme!? Du kan ju vara glad över att det inte var värre, helt klart. Skulle också gärna se Nova i hennes nya dräkt, misstänker att hon är jättesöt.
    Penny har en hemvirkad (hon är ju minimal) polotröja, men hon har världens snits på att lägga sig på backen och åla sig ur den så den är inte till någon hjälp. Numera slipper hon med ålderns rätt vara ute så länge, dessutom är det ytterst sällan så kallt här på Gotland.
    Brasse, vår förra hund den strävhåriga taxen, han fick en orange tvärrandig polotröja när han fick prostatit, men den var inte populär alls. För det första så såg han inte klok ut i den, som en stoppad korv som vi kallade Sluggo. För det andra så blev han väldigt olydig, han som annars var så snäll. Han bara stod still, vägrade röra på sig – så man fick sätta på snöret och dra runt honom och det kunde man ju inte göra så länge – vilket han förmodligen visste! (Det är kul med djur!)

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Ja du skulle höra honom, lät som om han var jagad av vargar🙂🙂 Jag kan för mitt liv inte förståp vad han skulle göra på den sidan överhuvudtaget🙂

      Oh nej du, den matsäcken stod inte framme🙂 Trots att jag spärrat dörren med en stor stol och dammsugaren lyckades Hector öppna dörren och bita hål i botten av säcken. Inte första gången kan jag berätta🙂 Måste nog skaffa hänglås till den dörren🙂🙂

      Nova ser bara ut som om hon väntade på döden när man sätter på henne dräkten🙂 Inte ens massor med frolic hjälpte i morse, men den satt kvar när jag kom hem i alla fall🙂
      🙂🙂 Kan tänka mig hur Brasse såg ut och hur han kände sig🙂🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  8. Hi Christer,
    I had a Maine Coon Cat that looked a lot like Bertil except with long fur. He had a similar Angry Badger temperament, too. Smokey Joe was his official name but everyone called him Monster Man. He was a frequent user of bad kitty words and completely ungracious and unthankful whenever I saved his little butt from some uncomfortable situation.🙂
    I got my little dog a sweater because he came from Puerto Rico and I thought New England winters might be a little much for him. I was wrong. He loves winter and hates his sweater. I only make him wear it if he is going to be waiting for me in the car on cold days. But he looks so cute in it.
    It’s probably a little late for this suggestion but you might want to put the coat on Nova and leave the three dogs out in the dog yard while you watch what they do from inside. They might get playing and use the coat as a tug toy which would not be good for it or, possibly, for Nova either.
    Enjoy the rest of your day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I guess Your cat was much bigger too, Bertil weighs only five pounds🙂 He is so small so that his brother that also is rather small looks like a giant🙂🙂 Monster Man sounds much like Bertil in his behavior🙂🙂🙂

      It seems Nova spends most of the time inside the dog house and the boys are in the yard trying to avoid her🙂🙂 But that would have been a good advice to follow! Everything worked out great though and the coat was still on when I came home. I never even thought of that to be honest.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  9. Hi Christer, most animals take awhile to get used to something new, even though I’ve never had a pet that needed a coat (indoor cats only). Maybe you should have got some boots for Bertil when he’s out walking. By the way, I was wondering if you ever got another lens for your camera and which model Nikon are you using? Recently I bought a couple of older Nikon lenses that were used on film 35mm SLRs but called Nikon and was told they would work fine on certain Nikon digital SLRs so I am planning to buy one within a few months – body only. Problem is they are so costly, even the used ones, but I plan to buy it new.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      I think it will take a long time until Nova accepts this coat even if she still had it on when I came home🙂 Not even a lot of treats helped to lift her spirits this morning🙂🙂 I´m not even sure she needs the coat to be honest, but I really don´t want her to get cold when it isn´t necessary.

      I decided to wait till summer to get a new lens for my camera. I was planning on getting a new dog in the summer and a camera lens now in winter, but naturally I did just the opposite🙂🙂🙂 I have a D3000 and it sounded interesting with using the lenses that were made for the old cameras! I have to ask around here too! Thanks for the tip!

      Nicon cameras are expensive if You look on what You can do with them comparing with other models, but they do have high quality! I love mine🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

    • Hi Sharlene!
      I wasn´t sure so I thought it best to buy her a coat. Better to be safe than sorry! I´m always happy to find things at a discount🙂🙂

      Bertil is sometimes to smart for his own good🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

