Tick Tock Tick Tock.

I managed to take some photographs when we took our walk when I came home.

My America clock is ticking on the wall in front of me and the sound makes me drowsy. Tick, tock, tick, tock. The heat from the stove is slowly filling my cottage and helps the clock to make me even more drowsy 🙂 It´s snowing outside and there´s nothing much on tv so I think I better find me a book to read or I´ll fall asleep after writing this 🙂

I´m pretty sure I´m going to make my patio in to a green house and I can get great windows cheap so now I “only” have to plan how to do it 🙂 I must get out and measure how wide and high the patio is because I already knows how big the windows are. I will make it work one way or the other 🙂

I will of course be able to sit there chilly autumn days when the sun barley gives any heat, just enough to make the greenhouse pleasant enough. Read a newspaper and have a cup of tea, only thinking of it makes me feel warm inside 🙂 But the greenhouse will mainly be made for growing tomatoes and perhaps some other vegetables that need a longer warm period than we have up here in the north.

Just by telling You all pushes me to really do it 🙂 Otherwise it´s a big risk that I still only would have a greenhouse in my imagination 🙂 But it will take at least a month until I can start building it at all. It´s snowing outside and the temperatures will drop once again. But just by imagining the coming greenhouse the time hopefully will pass faster, normally it feels like February lasts half a year 🙂

It´s time to make a pot of tea and a couple of sandwiches. That will keep me awake until I find something to read 🙂 🙂                                                                                                             Have a great day now!

16 thoughts on “Tick Tock Tick Tock.

  1. Det där med växthus – eller “myshus” – är verkligen något som jag funderat över. Vi var faktiskt inne på att göra en vinterträdgård när vi renoverade vår altan på baksidan, men vi kom på att vi vill inte sitta inne utan utomhus under den varma säsongen.
    Vi har ju också massor av plats inne, så vi behöver inte utvidga huset. Dessutom sår ju inte jag några fröer att tala om, inte heller har jag någon önskan att odla grönsaker – så vi (alltså jag) la ner dom funderingarna.
    Sen förra vintern började jag fundera på ett litet “myshus” tillbyggt på gaveln. Det skulle vara ett sånt som stod på en liten kalkstensmur. Sen kunde man ju tänka sig en bougainvilla samt en vinranka som slingrade sig där inne och ett bord och ett par stolar.
    Alltså, jag vill ha en hus bara för att jag tror att den kan bli väldigt snyggt! Men det kostar ju så vansinnigt mycket så det är inte försvarbart!!

    • Tjänare Susie!
      Jag använder aldrig min uteplats, jag ställer mest krukor och sådder där 🙂 🙂 🙂 Så varför inte göra om det till ett växthus istället?

      Visst vore din idé snygg alltid, men som sagt det kostar rejält. Dessa fönstrena är snygga och kostar inte mycker heller. Nu gäller det ju bara att jag kan sätta upp det snyggt 🙂 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer, we got Snow again too – but nearly not enough to stick around more than the early morning hours (sigh). The greenhouse plan sounds great, especially with the rising food prices we are hearing about here in the U.S. Grenville is hoping to get some winter produce from the greenhouse, but none yet. Tea and a good book sound like a great combination for a snowy day. What types of books do you enjoy reading?

    • Hi Beatrice!
      it´s raining outside at the moment so I guess the roads will be rather exiting tomorrow morning 🙂

      I did have a rather big greenhouse when I had my gardencentre 🙂 🙂 🙂 Well the private greenhouse wasn´t that big but I loved it and I have wanted one here at home since then. But I would have to heat it up if I ever wants winter crops though. Those vegetables would become very, very expensive 🙂 🙂 🙂

      I like to read everything, but SciFi is one of my favorites!

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  3. Christer, how exciting the Greenhouse idea! It will certainly make a big difference in starting seeds earlier. And you could even grow your mangos!!! (LOL)!! The photos of the Terrific Trio are fun!! Looks like they are enjoying each other. Take care, and enjoy your tea and book. Robin.

    • Hi Robin!
      🙂 🙂 It would have been great with a mango though 🙂 🙂 Now I have to make a drawing with the right measurements so I don´t mess things up 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  4. hi christer…..what a great idea. you could keep things growing inside during the winter too? could the dogs lay in there on brutally cold days? i set up growing tables in my garage 3 years ago and only used them one year. it has been too snowy and cold to venture from the house to the garage these last two years. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      No that would cost a fortune to keep warm during winter, but I would be able to start much earlier and perhaps get more than one tomato before it gets to cold here 🙂 🙂 🙂 I suppose they could be there cold days, but I think the doghouse with the radiator and the dog yard is a better place after all.

      It´s a problem when the plants isn´t close. It´s fun one year but then it´s over 🙂 I don´t use my patio at all so I think it´s a good idea to make it to a greenhouse and it is close to the kitchen door 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  5. First, I love how that tree limb frames the photo in the first shot. Very cool.
    I’m nodding my head Yes as I read about your greenhouse. I too will sometimes say things on my blog as a way of forcing myself to actually do it. LOL!
    I think the greenhouse is a wonderful idea. I think this year (maybe) I will plant less flowers and try to grow more vegetables. Last year for the first time my tomatoes did really well…in fact I gave several to my neighbor! Hmmm…maybe I should learn to can!?
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I like that photograph for just the same reason.

      I guess telling things here in the blog sort of forces me to really do it, because there will be questions after a while and I can´t just ignore them 🙂 So I better make a green house this spring 🙂 🙂 🙂

      I´m going to make a vegetable garden this year anyway, but I won´t cut down on sowing trees and bushes 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. Great idea Christer. My mistake was planting to late. We have some spinach, broccoli, cauliflower and scallions trying to come up but it is slow even with soil heaters and lights at night. On the plus side it is almost time to start the summer plants. Tomatos, peppers, eggplants, and some marigolds to ward off some of the insects. We are going through the seed catalog now. Fun on a cold winter evening.

    • Hi Grenville!
      I´m tired of only getting one or two ripe tomatoes a year 🙂 🙂 But it would cost way to much to have soil heaters or any other kind of heat in this climate when it´s just a hobby.

      I´m going to sow my tomato plants in the end of this month since I don´t have a green house yet and don´t know when it will be finished.

      I have most of the seeds I want, but there´s still time to order more 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. When you need to rest then go bed down and answer your bodies call to recharge the batteries. The kid dogs look great playing together. Looks like it’s a real family come together. Eh? I bet you are happy. Enjoy your new windows. I think it’s a fabulous idea. My tomato plants are still green but I’m not sure they will survive this next rush of cold weather. Once maybe, two is surely going to kill them all off. It’s ashame but it has to be tied to Global Warming. Believe it or not, people are buying winter coats down here in the Tropics.

    • Hi Z&M!
      I felt it was way to early though, but I read a book instead and slept like a baby all night 🙂

      Yes it is nice that they can play all together, but there are some things still for her to learn. Like stop when the old boys tells her to, she can make them real angry at her sometimes. But thing are moving on much better than I could hope for anyway.

      So Your tomato plants are still alive! You could take cuttings of them if You like and have them indoors until it´s time to get new plants.
      Winter coats! That´s something I wouldn´t had thought You needed in Florida!
      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  8. It’s wonderful seeing the boys and Nova having a great time in the snow! I’m with the others. Sometimes, we can give ourselves just the push we need by sharing our plans with others. I think you would enjoy a greenhouse and all the good that one would do. I’m a SciFi nut, too, and thoroughly enjoy our new authors as much as my tried and true! Enjoy your tea and let us know the progress of the greenhouse!

    I’m behind on everyone because I was doing some post-op care for a friend of mine — who doesn’t have a computer or the Internet!

    • Hi Sharlene!
      It works so much better now when Nova runs free with them all the time. She´s more relaxed and doesn´t annoy them that much any longer 🙂 It seems she likes to be with Hector most and that´s great because he has always been bullied by his old mother (except for the last two years of her life when she became kind towards most things)

      I do miss my private greenhouse from when I had my gardencentre. It was built in an old fashioned style attached to the house. I grew so many tomatoes there that I couldn´t use them all fresh and made tomato sauce from almost 30 kilos 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Well, I think post-op care is much more important than the internet, we do survive without it after all 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

