Slippery roads.

It was to dark when I came home so these photographs aren´t fresh.

The roads are once again icy and slippery but this morning I made it up the slope outside my cottage and almost drove of the road down to a cow patch just two hundred meters from home🙂🙂🙂 I was saved by a thin string of grass and the last remains of the snow the plowman had left🙂 The roads to work was really good though.

We walked together with a neighbor when we were taking our evening walk because if one of us should fall the other one could help or at least call for help🙂🙂 She told me they have spotted two wolves just two kilometers away (a bit less than two miles) by one of the castles. We talked about the beat way to keep the wolves away if they should come near (which I doubt they will and if they would these wolves are two younglings and they are usually just curious) and I told her about something I read in a newspaper.

It was about a young boy (I think he was around 11 years old) that was on his way home after school and suddenly several wolves appeared in front of him. He started think what could possibly scare them away and suddenly he got it. He had been listening to heavy metal on his mobile phone (with headphones). So he unplugged the headphones and turned up the volume to maximum. The animals heard the sound and kept their distance to him all the way home🙂🙂

As You must have understood by now everything worked great in the dog yard today too. My neighbors neither see or hear her all day and it seems as Orvar has calmed down a bit too. He normally barks until 7:30 in the morning and when someone passes by, something he learned from his mother unfortunately. So I hope that he might stop barking now when Nova has arrived, at least calms down rather much.

It´s time for a pot of tea and a couple of sandwiches. The bread turned out delicious and I hope I can make it just the same next time I´ll bake a bread. But since I never uses a recipe I can never be sure I do the same thing next time🙂🙂                                                   Have a great day now!

26 thoughts on “Slippery roads.

    • Hi Robin!
      It keeps me away too🙂 so I must find something else to bring with me🙂 But I doubt I´ll ever come that close to a wolf, but I´ll bring some kind of camera with me where ever I go from now🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  1. Oh I enjoyed looking over Your posts Christer ☺
    it is -30c here again and I too am having the tea
    I did have to venture out to feed the birds and dump out my compost pail but I jumped out and back in very quickly.
    I love your pics of anmals & nature so much
    I especially love the photo of the pine tree a few posts down ☺
    thanks again Christer

    • Hi Rox!
      So cold! We have around +3C here and I hope it will stay so for a while now🙂

      Thank You🙂 I do love pine trees and we have a lot here and some of them looks just fantastic!
      Nice to see You here again!
      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  2. OMG I love that close-up photo. You can see that rich brown of his eye! MY FAV!
    That was a great idea with the music to scare the wolves! LOL!
    It makes me think of the news report where they blared “Barry Manilow” music to make the criminals come out of a home where they had barricaded themselves!
    (Poor Barry Manilow…I loved his music when I was younger!)
    Very good idea to walk with the neighbor! (one less thing for me to worry about, you falling and not able to get up!🙂 )
    I’m at work right now on “break”…in about 1 1/2 hours it’s supposed to be a blizzard here with the worst snowstorm since 1979! It’s windy and snowing right now and I know it will soon change! Wish us luck on the drive home! Blue will be my co-pilot!)
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      That is my favorite too today.
      That is a smart kid🙂 I´m not sure I would think of that if it happened to me. But I think it is a bit unfair to Manilow🙂🙂🙂 I normally never listen to that kind of music, but for a reason I can´t understand I really like his music🙂🙂🙂

      I do wish You luck on Your way home! (but I guess You´re already at home when I read this). I do hope the blizzard isn´t as bad as they say!

      Take it easy on the roads!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    Well .. I would run with the wolves is to hear heavy metal:)
    This reminds me … when I was in college, and arrived very late at home, my boyfriend gave me a whistle. If something happened I could make noise. Perhaps this is a good idea for you. Have a whistle or horn.
    I thought of flags, like those of the boat, I do not know the word and Goo does not help … you know those that are light and noise. But I think there already is an exaggeration of mine:)
    As children, they are being good! I’m happy.
    As the pictures I always love to see Bertil, I love close to Hector and love the picture of her favorite places:)
    kisses
    Didi

    • Hi Didi!🙂🙂🙂
      If I would meet these two wolves I doubt they would be anything but curious, but if they stayed and made this their home I would bring something that can make a lot of noice just in case🙂🙂

      I do like the close-up photo of Hector and since that is my favorite place I like that photo too🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  4. Hoppas att de stackars vargarna får vara ifred ett tag nu, för vargjakten är väl över för den här gången? Så bra om Nova har lugnat ner Orvar så att allt blir till dt bästa:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Hejsan Monne!
      Ja vargjakten är över men man vet aldrig om de är så hatade att tjuvjägare tar över. Men jag hoppas också att de får vara ifred!

      Än är det en bit kvar till att bli bästisar, men morrandet har minskat en hel del🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  5. hi christer..what a smart kid that is. heavy metal would keep me away too! i can’t believe the pups have settled into a routine so fast. smart puppies too! we were supposed to get ice but thankfully it is just rain. glad to hear your bread came out good! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      Yes he is! and I doubt that I would have been that smart myself🙂 I would most probably have tried to come closer so I could feel their fur🙂🙂🙂

      It will stay over 32F here the coming week with mostly sun and some rain and that is perfect🙂 I hope our winter is over for this time now!!

      Sometimes the bread just comes out fantastic without me knowing why🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. Wolves are beautiful creatures, but having lived in the country all my life, I have had fear instilled in me of them. The ones to fear here where I live now are coyotes. They will even rush a person walking their dog and carry it away…if possible. A dear friend of mine had it happen to her little dog while it was being walked in the very early morning hours…her dog made it home alive, but barely. They almost had to have her put to sleep…but she made it.
    Her husband said it was at least three of them that attacked him…he said at first he thought it was a pack of dogs but realized it was coyotes.

    Fresh bread sounds wonderful. No recipe?? 🙂 I can’t do that..well..maybe.
    I’m glad it is working out for the dogs and you. It helps a lot.
    Sound and looks SO cold where you are. It’s cool here and I am complaining!🙂 In the 60’s.
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      Yes they really are beautiful! Dog owners are worried but last year more dogs got killed during hunting by their owners not to mention how many got run over by cars. The hunting has done one good thing, now wolves knows humans are dangerous so they will keep their distance if they can. Thankfully I don´t have to worry about coyotes here.

      It´s actually not that cold here now, the temperatures has been over 32F for some time and it will continue like that for yet another week🙂 I´m so happy🙂🙂 But I doubt well reach trhe 60´s before middle of March🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. Smart kid, but I’m with Jaz, it would drive me away, too! I just knew everyone would settle down and become quite proper friends. Tomorrow, we find out how many more weeks of winter we have — based on Puxatawny Phil, our forecasting Groundhog! We will do anything for a celebration, no? Glad you liked your bread… I often throw a recipe together and am surprised at the result. Unfortunately, I can’t seem to make it a second time… bad memory. Enjoy your tea and take care…

    • Hi Sharlene!
      Is it Groundhog day today! I do hope he won´t see his shadow🙂

      That´s the problem working without a recipe🙂🙂 The bread will never be the same the second time🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

      • Punxsutawney Phil always sees his shadow because there are so many media folks with bright camera lights he can’t really do anything else.🙂
        I have 4 feet of snow cover here. In some places it’s 10 feet or more. My ground hogs are not going to bother digging through all that because they are warm and comfy in their burrows under all the insulating snow, dreaming of eating my garden.🙂 There’s no sun out today so they wouldn’t see their shadows anyway. There would still be 6 weeks of winter because the equinox is 6 weeks away.

      • Hi Caryn!
        poor Phil🙂🙂 I´ve always wondered, do they force the poor animal out of his home every year?

        We don´t have groundhogs here so we don´t have to worry about that anyway🙂🙂🙂

        Have a great day now!
        Christer.

  8. Tror du inte att vargarna hade hållit sig borta även utan hårdrock!?
    Vi människor har ju en viss förmåga att överdriva vargarnas farlighet, men vi hundägare – i alla fall vi med jättesmå hundar (Penny väger 6 kg) – bör väl kanske tänka sig för och inte låta dom springa alltför långt bort från en.
    Här på Gotland har vi än så länge inga vargar, men rätt var det är så är det väl någon “idiot” som tar med sig några och släpper vind för våg. Så gjorde ju jägare, både med rabbisar och med rådjur och båda har ju naturligtvis blivit till en pest!
    Kul att Nova har börjat komma in i flocken, det låter som om det kommer fungera perfekt i framtiden!!!

    • Tjänare Susie!
      Jovisst överdriver vi rejält! Gamla skrönor blir plötsligt dokumenterad verklighet🙂🙂 Det jag vet är dokumenterat är en halvtam varg som faktiskt attakerade (mitten av 1800) folk, men den var ju inte längre rädd för människor, vilda vet jag inte om det finns något dokumenterat att de gjort något. De har mycket mera varg i Italien, Rumänien, bulgarien, Estland och många fler länder och trots att det är barn so vaktar fåren där händer det ingenting!! Men visst skall man hålla koll på sina hundar, även om de är lika stora som mina är.

      Fast jag tror att motståndet mot varg är för stort hos jägarna för att de skulle smuggla in varg till er🙂🙂🙂

      Vi får hålla tummarna att det kommer att gå bra i framtiden också🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  9. Christer, I ‘ll have to spend time catching up to date with your blog, but I do see Nova is part of the clan now. Good for you. I spent 5 days in the hospital because my Nutrafils in the white bloods cells dropped to an amazing 797. They should be well over 2000 closer most doctors think to 4000. So it took that long on an IV to get the fix in and now I am doing fine but will relax tonight, get Zoey back into her routine, then start off again tomorrow morning. Glad I”m out!

    • Hi Z&M!
      It is a bit left until she´s a bit of the clan to be honest. But she´s closing in🙂

      So it dropped that low! I know it can drop fast when one is going through what Your going through. I´m glad that You´re doing fine now!

      Take care now!
      Christer.

  10. Hi Christer, glad you were OK on the icy roads. Many parts of the US are going through rough times not only with lots of snow, but ice as well. But then you have probably heard about that mess on the news. Hope that folks listen and stay off the roads for their own safety and others too. Here on the VA eastern shore there’s no snow or ice, just some rain and very warm and spring-like temperatures today. Hard to believe the temps will drop by 30 degrees overnight. More rain is expected on the weekend. Hope that your warming trend continues. Glad to know Nova is getting used to her new home.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      Me too🙂
      Yes we know all about that bad weather over here and I can´t understand people that gets out in to it when it isn´t an emergency! It´s like some people looks for trouble.

      Over 39F here today and most of the day was sunny🙂 Now I have some daylight when I come home too, the sun doesn´t set until 4:38 pm now🙂

      It´s still a bit left for Nova and I´ll tell You more about it later today.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

