The first day away.

After trying to have them all in the dog yard an hour yesterday and everything had went well I put them all in the dog yard this morning. I wouldn´t have worried about anything if it wasn´t for Sharlene´s comment yesterday about her ability to climb🙂🙂🙂 Some dogs are really good at climbing up fences and I had no idea if she is one of those🙂

So all I could think of on my way to work was how she climbed out the dog yard and then ran around chasing deers and hares in the area🙂🙂 So I asked if I could leave already at two pm today so I could check that everything worked well here at home. Not that it would have helped a bit that I came home early if she already had climbed out in to the wild🙂🙂🙂

This and the coming photographs are from yesterday when the weather was sunny, nice and almost spring like.

So the first thing I did when I came home was to look in to the dog yard to see if I could see them all and there she stood🙂🙂 I met my neighbor and she told me that they hadn´t see or heard her all day. So it looks as if she was sleeping in the dog house all day while the boys were outside lying by the fence as they usually does. So tomorrow I´ll work a full day as I should and won´t worry about how it goes here at home🙂

Bertil and Teodor has already accepted the little lady when we are outside in the garden or taking a walk. Yesterday Bertil followed us as he always does and he even went to Nova to say hi. Indoors however is another story, There the cats still wants to kill her🙂 and spits and hisses like crazy when she comes to close. It´s much the same with Orvar and Hector. It looks like they really likes her outdoors, but as soon as we gets in they tries to avoid her as much as possible which isn´t easy when she runs around like crazy all the time🙂🙂🙂

Finally I cought one of our foxes with the camera! It´s not the best of quality but I don´t care, I got it🙂🙂

I think this is a female fox, we saw the male early in the morning too and he´s much bigger

It´s grey and misty outside today and the wind is strong and somewhat warm. This is a perfect evening to bake a bread and I´ll start as soon as this post is finished. Today I think I´ll bake a Greek farmhouse bread. I have no real recipe and almost never have to be honest, but it contains plain flour, sifted rye flour, a sourdough powder (rye, salt, oil, malt flour) and I think I´ll put in some rosemary too. It´s a tasty bread that I think is great for breakfast.                                                             Have a great day now!

22 thoughts on “The first day away.

  1. Så skönt att allt hade gått bra i hundgården:) Men det är konstigt att har man börjat att tänka i de banorna ( har hon rymt?) eller som jag brukar tänka (stängde jag verkligen av kaffebryggaren/strykjärnet? Ja, då är det lika bra att åka hem för man kan inte koncentrera sig på något annat;) Hoppas att det snart blir lika positivt inne som ute men det blir det säkert:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Hejsan Monne!
      Visst är det konstigt att det blir så🙂🙂 Man kan bara inte släppa tanken hur man än försöker🙂 Men kaffebryggaren har jag slutat fundera på, numera drar jag ur sladden redan på kvällen innan🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer, I’m happy for you that your new dog is doing so well with the rest of the “family.” And, I love the fox pictures, I’ve never seen one in the wild. I know we have them here in Oregon, but I’ve just never been lucky enough to see one. I have seen coyotes and deer, elk, bear, wolves, and even a bobcat or two though. Plus a lot of other assorted wild creatures. Oregon still has a lot of wilderness, so there are lots of wild creatures around the state.

    • Hi Terria!
      It works great outside but it´s still a bit adjustment left to do indoors🙂 But we´re getting there sooner or later🙂

      I see foxes rather often here, but I never gets them with the camera🙂 But bears are very rare around here and so is the wolves but I would love to see at least a wolf🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  3. I knew she would settle in, but I’m glad you checked. I had a German Shepherd who loved to climb over our chainlink fence, but she knew where her home was and rarely left the front yard. Super Nova was so new at your place, that I wasn’t sure she wouldn’t try to go back where she had been living. Better to be safe, no? Enjoy your bread and tea and have a great working day tomorrow. Come visit and check out my new vlog!

    • Hi Sharlene!
      I didn´t think of that until You wrote it🙂🙂🙂 I knew a Greyhound that was an amazing fence climber once🙂 As You say, Nova doesn´t understand that she lives here yet so she would most probably try to run back from where she came. But after what I could see she had spent all day in the doghouse🙂

      The bread will be ready within ten minutes🙂

      I´ll pop over!
      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer, I have been enjoying all the recent posts reading about Nova and how she is settling in with her new family – you, the boys, Teodor and Bertil – some days seem to be going wellk at least when outdoors. Glad to know you didn’t have any problems with being at work and finding Nova had jumped out. Maybe she enjoyed resting and would save her energy to play when you returned home. Hope all goes well the rest of the week. The bread sounds wonderful and Grenville is baking a fresh loaf today as well. Rosemary is a wonderful herb to add – our favorite!

    • Hi Beatrice!
      There are absolutely no problems outdoors and it seems as if it´s getting a bit better indoors now too. I´ve heard only two or three growling sounds tonight🙂🙂

      To bad that it still gets dark so early here, we have no time to play in the garden before it´s to dark. But we´ve had a tug struggle on the upper floor for half an hour now, so she´s sleeping like a baby at the moment🙂

      The bread smells fantastic so I do hope it tastes just as great🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  5. Wonderful! Glad everyone was present and accounted for. I had a feeling you might come home early; I know I would have. I can imagine it can be hectic in your cottage with a SuperNova bursting all over the place. Once she is used to your routine, it will calm down, I’m sure. Your boys and the cats are troopers…they will soldier on till everyone feels comfortable. Lucky you to capture the fox! Robin.

    • Hi Robin!
      I just couldn´t stay away from home today. I had to know that everything worked out good.
      Since she has been the only dog she thinks that meeting other dogs means playing and now she wants to play all the time🙂 I woke up at three am this morning because she wanted to play🙂🙂🙂

      Finally I caught a fox with the camera. But first it was only a few yards from us but I didn´t have my camera ready then🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. Alltså att du inte tog ledigt för vård av hund, hahaha, jag kan riktigt se dig framför mig hur du virrar runt på jobbet och inte direkt gör nån nytta. Ingen kan våndas som du, men samtidigt förstår jag dig idag. Man vet inte förväg hur det blir. För att oroa dig lite så tror jag att hon följer grabbarna tills hon blir varm i kläderna, haha, sen kommer det nått spektakel ska du se, för inte tror du väl på lugn o ro i paradiset.
    Kram från LjusneLotta som ler i mjugg

    • Tjänare Lotta!
      Jag hittade inte den koden när jag stämplade ut tyvärr🙂🙂🙂

      Oh ja det är bara en tidsfråga innan den här damen hittar på något🙂🙂 Jag håller på att förbereda mig mentalt redan nu🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  7. hi christer! i think this is such good news! i think nova and the rest of the pack are settling in wonderfully! the inside of the house is the real true territory so that will take a bit longer. what is sourdough powder? maybe it is something i need! finally my last 2 loaves have been very sour! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      Yes it really is🙂 The most annoying thing she does towards the old ones is that she wants to play all the time and these old boys are used to sleep as they wish without anyone bothering them🙂🙂

      I know that sourdough powder is used when starting a sourdough over here and I think it is a help when making the starter. I once read that a bread needed that and has continued to use it now and again. But used this way it mostly gives the bread a good texture but not an especially sour taste. I guess You must have it over at Yours too, but if not let me know and I´ll send some over to You!

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  8. Hi Christer,
    Glad all went well on the first day. Sounds like everyone is working out their place in the pack. You have a very understand boss. Mine would’ve said the dog will be just as gone at four o’clock as she was at 2 o’clock so you can’t go home. In her defense, if I had asked a few day’s ahead for a week’s vacation to settle the dog in, I would’ve gotten it. She didn’t mind my being away as long as she was prepared for me to be away.

    Nice photos of the elusive fox. Too bad she moved away before you could get your camera out for a close shot. It’s times like that I wish I had a camera in my head. I could just think “click” and the picture would be captured. Of course it would be perfectly exposed and framed because my brain would make sure of that. ;-D

    Have some great tea and toast with your fresh bread.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I do have a very understanding boss, but most workplaces around here has a lot of farmers working there so they do understand that we sometimes has to go, even if it´s “just” about a dog🙂

      It´s so typical not having the camera ready when a fox finally comes close🙂 But it´s the snow making everything a bit more complicated. The settings are so different with or without snow on the ground. It would have been great to have a camera in the head sometimes as You say🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!

  9. Hi Christer,
    Inside the house is territory already taken, but they’ll be fine. It just takes a bit of time. When I got the two cats, they were 5 years old. Maggie, my dog, was the animal in charge and both cats gave her leeway.

    After Maggie died, I brought home Gracie, all of 12 weeks. Fern, the cat, was now in charge. Gracie doesn’t dare pass her on the stairs and will stand there until I save her. Fern hissed and growled at the intruder, but now they live peacefully together, most times and as long as they know their places.

    • Hi Kat!
      I think the old boys wouldn´t mind her here inside if it wasn´t for her constant wish to play🙂🙂 Otherwise they aren´t especially territorial🙂

      They work great in the dog yard though, she likes to stay in the dog house and they wants to stay in the yard, so no conflict there at all. My neighbors doesn´t see or hear her at all. My cats has accepted her easier though so that´s a relief because I thought they would be hardest to adjust themselves to a new family member.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  10. I’m so glad it all went well! Now you can worry less when at work..but probably you will still worry a bit. Time will fix that!🙂
    Yep, you finally caught the fox! Even at a distance you can tell it’s a fox. We have Kit Fox’ here in our neighborhood but you seldom see them. They flash across the streets every now and then. We have crowded our our possum, fox, skunk, and racoon, but the squirrels are still around. They just have not hit our street YET! But..they will! Cute as they are I rather dread it…as they really are destructive.
    I saw one run across the street one day a few months ago…so they are here.

    We so seldom see Teodor. He must stay closer to the house than Bertil.
    So…sounds like all is going well with the dogs..and that’s great!
    Enjoy your bread! I need to start baking bread again. I used to do it twice a week…I’ve gotten lazy, Christer!🙂
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      I actually relaxed totally today at work. Since things worked so great yesterday I thought that nothing would happen and thankfully I was right🙂 She stays indoors and they outdoors🙂

      We do have squirrels in the forest but I think we have to many dogs on this road and way to many cats, so I think they´ll stay in the forest🙂 But You are so right, they can make so much damage if they want to. But every now and again a Marten, that eats squirrels, moves in and eat them all.

      Teodor is a pretty lazy cat and usually sleeps in the kitchen most of the time🙂🙂 But I´ll take a photo of him next time I see him and have my camera with me🙂

      Sometimes it´s not fun to bake even if the bread is so much tastier. I´ve been lazy this whole winter and I think I´ve only baked four breads in total🙂 But this one got soooo good that I probably will bake one more soon🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  11. LOL!
    I would be the same way! I’m such a worrier!
    Once one of my cats got out through a basement window dryer vent and I didn’t know it.
    But a neighbor called me at work and said my cat was on the front steps pawing at the door! Everyone said that my cat would probably just hang around the house until I got home that night but I had to leave immediately and go get him…and then unfortunately I had to go back to work!
    I’m so glad that your animal family is working out so well!🙂
    Take care! Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I do understand You so well🙂 It´s the going back to work that is so boring though🙂🙂🙂

      So far so good and now I don´t think things will go wrong. I let her run out of the dog yard without a leash and she runs to my cottage directly (it´s on the other side of the gravel road, but she could have run straight out to the forest and bog if she wanted.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

