The day before tomorrow.

I got home just in time to take some photos in the last daylight yesterday.

My dear friends, today I was one inch away from maybe never writing a single post more in my life. I was on my way home after buying medicine for Hector, he has osteoarthritis in his left front leg. I was driving on the highway when I saw a big Mercedes Benz coming from a smaller road and stopped. Just when I was to close to break the driver started to drive out on the highway and obviously not seeing me at all.

I know my Mazda is little, but not so small that it can´t be seen. The only thing I had the chance to think was that if I would break we would crash so I increased the speed instead. When I looked in the rearview mirror I saw that we were just an inch away from a crash and I also saw a driver looking terrified in the other car🙂🙂 I think it took a minute or two until I got scared myself but by then I was far away from the other driver. I could see that they turned of the highway at the next road and stopped there. I do hope the driver is ok because since nothing did happen I kept on driving homewards.

Today is the day before tomorrow and the day when I´ll bring home Nova. I will buy lots of treats so that all dogs will be spoiled all weekend🙂 It´s not only because she will feel welcome but that my boys will feel that it´s a good thing she comes too. To spoil only her could be the highway to catastrophe because that might make my boys jealous even if I think it just would make them sad to be honest. So there will be lots of treats and lots of walks if the weather allows it and I think it will. It´ll be warm and mostly sunny they say🙂

But since she have had a great life with her current owners I think she will be sad an sorry anyway. It might take a day or two but it will come of that I´m pretty sure.                           It´s time for a cup of tea and a couple of sandwiches and then I´ll get out into the blog world🙂                                                                                                                                                 Have a great day now!

 

26 thoughts on “The day before tomorrow.

  1. OMG!
    I’ve had close calls like that before and it’s left me shaking.
    Those people must not have seen you and then did! Probably scared the Hell out of them and they probably had to pull to the side to get themselves back together!
    I once had a big SUV run a Stop sign and going FAST. I was in my little VW bug back then and I had to turn the steering wheel so hard to the right that I thought I’d flip the car! I too stepped hard on the gas and my Bug darted out of the way just in time!
    I was so glad that I was alone. I was shaking so bad. I kept thinking of what COULD have happened and what if Blue had been with me!
    Stay safe my friend! Watch out for crazy drivers!
    I can’t wait to hear how things go with you and Nova and the boys!!!
    (and the kitties!)🙂 – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      It could have gone so wrong but I didn´t get afraid until long after🙂🙂 I am glad that I didn´t break though because then I would have hit them on the side and the passenger would have gotten badly injured. My speed was around 56 mph, so I wouldn´t have survived I´m afraid. But everything went well and I hope they have learned something out of this!

      It´s those times we have to be happy about, those times it just was very close!
      Watch out for crazy drivers You too!

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  2. OMG, ditto! Christer, we have a similar problem here. I’m sure your driver was startled but it was that driver’s obligation to wait for you to pass. We have drivers in NC, sunny days, no trees to block the view, stop at a side street, there’s NO ONE behind me, and they pull out just before I get to their intersection! There’s no way they can’t have seen you/or me. They just don’t want to be behind another car. What other reason is there? They have miles of safe road, after I pass. I’m so glad you are safe. I felt terrible reading your first few lines. Very scary. Looking forward to Nova becoming a part of the group and I think your treat idea is perfect. Enjoy your tea and blog surfin’…

    • Hi Sharlene!
      I think the driver was in a discussion with a child in the back seat and just didn´t pay any attention on the road at all. But I do know what You mean and those drivers shouldn´t be allowed to have a car at all!!! Or those nut heads that just have to pass on a heavy trafficked road just to get in to the next road ahead!!! It would have taken them ten seconds more to stay behind those few yards!!!

      I do hope my idea works🙂 Everyone must feel lucky about her getting in to the family🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  3. Fy vilken chock det måste ha varit när den andra bilen bara kör ut rakt framför dig:( Vilken himla tur att du hade sinnesnärvaro nog att göra som du gjorde:) Vad spännande att få hem Nova i morgon jag förstår att det blir en massa godsaker:) Önskar er (hela familjen) lycka till:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Hejsan Monne!
      Jo du🙂 Men det var värst efteråt. Jag undrar hur föraren i den andra bilen kände sig? Kunde ha riskerat livet på alla de som satt på den sidan bilen jag kunde kört in i! Får hoppas att personen är mer uppmärksam nästa gång. Känner ju nästan alla i byn där vägen passerar så jag vet vem det var dessutom🙂🙂🙂

      Ja vi får hoppas att godis gör alla glada🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  4. I am very thankful that all is well after that terrible close call. It is good you are a defensive driver. As my father always said to us kids, you have to watch out for the other guy. So now that your heart beat has returned to normal, you can enjoy the anticipation of Nova’s arrival. I know everyone who reads your blog is very excited and happy for you and the boys, and Nova, and of course the kitties, too! Looking forward to seeing photos and reading all about the Grand Arrival!!! Have fun!!! Robin.

    • Hi Robin!
      It could have gone so wrong so I´m really grateful that nothing happened. If we had collided I doubt I would have made it.

      It will be very exiting to get that little lady home with me🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  5. I hate those close calls. Better than nosing into a fired up engine though. I saw on TV here sales of Mercedes and I noticed they climbed up to $61,000 for a four door sedan, not sure engine size but it’s a pretty car to look at. How much are they selling for over there? You would have a better chance getting a Benz with some steel around you than the Mazda. The Mazda will fold down like foil. I’m excited like the rest to see Nova in the mix at your house. Get some close ups of her face, if possible. They will likely all be flying around the woods and snow fields for a time before setttling in for the evening. This is bound to be a fun weekend for you. EnjoyNova!

    • Hi Z&M!
      But it sort of makes one really awake after🙂🙂🙂

      I´m not sure how much one have to pay for a Mercedes, but they do cost way to much to drive here. An US gallon with petrol costs around 7,4 Us dollars here in Sweden and the price on diesel is much the same. Mercedes does drink a lot of petrol or diesel🙂🙂 But if I would crash in a high speed I know I won´t feel anything, I´ll die immediately🙂🙂🙂

      I´m going to have Nova in a leash the first two weeks when we´re out walking in the forest. The home she´s in now has been great for her and I´m pretty sure she will miss it a lot in the beginning (but not in my garden of course). But I´ll try to take some photos anyway!

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. Jisses Christer… så skönt att du var alert! Ibland sitter man ju i sina egna tankar när man kör…. fast inte när man kör en annan väg än vanligt kanske…
    Kunde det varit någon som övningskörde tror du? Då kan det ju ibland bli väldigt fel…
    Skönt att det gick bra i alla fall…
    Så roligt det låter med Nova, hoppas ni får en riktigt lugn o fin weekend😉
    o ha´t himla gôrgôtt
    Nina

    • Tjänare Nina!
      Ja vilken tur att jag faktiskt höll lite koll på mersan! Jag kände igen den och försökte se vem det var som körde🙂🙂

      Tror det var en diskussion inne i bilen så uppmärksamheten mot vägen var inte speciellt bra.

      Hoppas att hon inte blir allt för ledsen över att inte få åka hem igen. Inte lätt för en liten hund att förstå att hon måste flytta.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  7. Oh my God!
    Christer you must have taken a tremendous shock!
    Thank God nothing happened and nobody got hurt.
    And I’m glad you were smart at the wheel🙂
    It’s tomorrow!
    I had an odd thought now … Nova is darling of many people🙂
    What would she think if she knew she goes out on a blog? And people from diferents continents await it with joy?
    Well, do not forget the good things for the cats. The secret of cats is that they accept bribes😉
    Kisses for you being alive, and Nova arrive tomorrow!
    Didi
    Ahh I love the last picture … your little house with light🙂

    • Hi Didi!
      It came long after I have passed the place🙂🙂 When I realized what could have happened🙂

      I think Nova would like being known all over the world🙂🙂 The cats however will most probably run out of the house very quick. They won´t like this at all and they aren´t that nice and cuddly as they look🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  8. Hi Christer,
    What a close call that was. I’ve been in several of those and usually I get really mad and say bad words for a while. One time was so close I knew there was no way I was not going to T-bone this person with my jeep. At the last second she decided to mosey on into the parking lot instead of staying parked across my lane. The jeep just cleared her back bumper with me being surprised not to hear the crunch of steel on steel. I was so upset I turned around and followed her into the lot. I just had to tell her that she scared the crap out of me and we could’ve both been killed. She had no idea what had just happened.
    Looking forward to seeing Nova join the family. Let them play outside for awhile and give lots of treats before you bring them all inside where territory is more intense. The cats will adjust on their own terms. Eventually.🙂 Good luck.
    12 more inches of snow here but now it is sunny and 32 American degrees. Melting! Well, some of it is. At this rate I should see my lawn sometime in May. Well, they say snow is the poor man’s fertilizer so it will be a well-fed lawn.
    Have a great day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      It all happened so fast that I never even thought of any bad words🙂🙂 and I could see in the mirror that the driver knew what almost happened🙂🙂

      Yes I was thinking of first taking a walk and then let them play in the garden. But it will take some time until I let her out of the leash outside the garden though. Thankfully my boys doesn´t seem to understand that this is their territory🙂🙂 Neighboring dogs on the run usually runs straight in to the cottage without my boys reacts at all🙂🙂

      Sunny over here too and the temperature is still very low, but I hope it will be warmer before morning.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  9. hi christer….how smart of you to increase your speed rather than break which is what most people would have done. i am so glad it turned out well. i am so happy nova is coming tomorrow and i think you have thought this out perfectly and are going about it the right way. you are such a good puppy dad. will you pick nova up by yourself? i am guessing the boys will not go with you. i hope it goes smoothly and i can’t wait to hear all about it! drive carefully! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      Even though everything happened fast I did think that if I would break we would hit each other. There was absolutely no time to stop in time.

      I do hope this will work out great, but one never knows what can happen. I picked her up after work by my self. I thought that would be the best thing to do.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  10. I just spent about 30 mnutes catching up on your back posts – and I thoroughly enjoyed myself…. as always! I didn’t leave comments though, but I can hoefully catch up on thse in a little bit. 🙂

    Sorry about not being around in a while, but my old computer has been giving me problems. I’m now on a tiny-screened laptop, and it’s less than ideal for these old eyes, I think.

    • Hi Kate!

      You have been busy with the eventual house and everything and with computer problems it is impossible to keep up in the blog world. I think those small lap tops are difficult to manage at all🙂 The one I bought is has a normal sized screen because I just can´t manage those small ones🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  11. Thank God you are alright! Got a knot in my stomach!!! I’ve had a few close calls in my life, mostly when my husband was driving…but..yours sounds terrifying!
    Please be careful and watch out for other drivers…you never know where their minds are!
    And hugs back!🙂
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      I have to say that it´s very rare these things happens to me and I was lucky this time!
      As You say it´s not enough being a good driver oneself, I must have an eye on the other cars too🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  12. So glad you’re okay, Christer. Thank God for quick reaction times. *hugs*

    I have no doubt you’ll help Nova feel at home.. and I think the boys will be okay with her, too. Look forward to hearing the progress🙂

    • Hi Perovskia!
      Me too🙂 I´m glad I was thinking right when I needed too🙂

      I think Super Nova is a good name on her, she´s full of energy🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  13. p.s. I meant to say that I was so pleased that your new addition will soon be joining you! Lots of pictures please! 🙂 It’s always a great day when a new family member is added! Always!

Leave a Reply

