It´s time to start sowing.

All photos today was taken at December 1st.

I got surprised this morning! The roads were actually in great condition and there were ice on them only in a few spots. Two days of warm winds and some rain have made a great difference and it will stay warm tomorrow too and then I hope the last of the ice disappears. But if they hadn´t poured out a lot of gravel on the village roads yesterday (including the one outside my cottage) I don´t think that I had managed to get to work this morning either🙂

But I was prepared this morning. I had saved a lot of ashes from the stove and I had found the big bag with peat (and one with potting soil)  outside and let it defrost inside for two days. But even if I had no use of the peat and soil on the road I will have it here inside instead. For us that sows our own perennials, bushes and trees it´s high time to start now. As I´ve told You before, most of the plants that grows in my climate has to go through a winter before they can germinate (some of them can need many winters to be honest). When writing winter I mean they need temperatures that are below 5C (41F) for at least a month.

I have already sown five Black Walnuts and now I´ll continue with PawPaw and Goji berries. Goji berries is seen as one of the best berries there is, filled with vitamins and antioxidants. There are lots of other things to but I´ll tell You about those later. But I have to tell You about something else that has germinated. Do You remember when I wrote about those flat peaches and nectarines? I saved some of those kernels and yesterday two of them had started to germinate in my fridge. One had a rather long thin root so that I planted in a pot, but the other one has to stay cool for yet a week I think. One had rotten but there´s still two that has shown no sign of wanting to germinate at all🙂

It´s time to make some tea and perhaps a sandwich or two. There´s a fire in the stove and the heat is slowly spreading in my little cottage🙂                                                                         Have a great day now!

18 thoughts on “It´s time to start sowing.

  1. hi christer! congrats on getting those to germinate. i hope they continue to do well. we are getting warm weather tomorrow with an ice storm. the ground is frozen so warm weather and rain is not good right now. you photos are fantastic once again. i never tire of seeing them. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      It would be fun if I could make them survive in pots for several years, because I doubt they´ll make it with our way to long winters.

      We almost never have those ice storms You have. I´ve seen spectacular photographs after big ice storms on Your continent🙂

      Have a great day now!

  2. Vad kul att kärnorna har grott;)) Spännande värre! Här har det också töat rejält så när vi kom hem från Varberg var hela plattgången isfri:) Hoppas nu att det smälter mer så att vägen in och gården blir helt isfri innan det fryser igen. Ha det gott/Monne

    • Hejsan Monne!
      Visst är det roligt, nu skall de bara överleva resten också🙂🙂

      ja jag hoppas att det mesta av isen smälter ned på även våra vägar här innan kylan kommer igen🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

    • Hi Robin!
      I´ve had several smaller mango trees, but the air gets to dry in winter and they get all sorts of pest and then usually dies after a while. I had a Papaya when I had my gardencentre that got really big🙂
      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  3. Who gets to eat that last lonely apple in the last photo? You should ship it to Joyce for all the cooking she’s done for you last year. I see in these photos the beginning of a long winter. Scenes reminiscent of my home in Virginia. I used to love the go sledding on the Bucknell Hill then drag my sled back home only to stop briefly and enjoy what the house looked like with snow coming down. Lovely shots today. Enjoy your dinner.

    • Hi Z&M!
      Well that apple is long gone since the photo was taken december 1st and I think it would be rude of me to send Joyce a frozen and almost rotten apple🙂🙂🙂

      Sledding is the only thing I have liked with winter🙂 Had lots of fun with that when I grew up🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  4. Christer, I was enjoying all the photos of snow and fog (if that’s what it was) and then saw the last shot of snow (or frost) on that lone fruit and that was my favorite shot for today. Glad the roads have cleared up enough. We will be getting some rain here the next frew days, but possibly some snow flurries by the weekend – yeah!

    • Hi Beatrice!
      I think that´s my favorite too! I love the fog when it comes in over the fields but the apple photo is much better🙂

      It´s really nice driving on the roads now! Almost all ice is gone but now the temperature is falling again so it might be a bit slippery tomorrow morning.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    Well, those germinating plants should make you feel a little like spring is somewhere up ahead. And I’ll bet that Doris the doe got that last frosty apple.
    We are due for a mix of snow and rain the next couple of days. I don’t know where I’ll put the snow either since we’ve had so much. 62 days until spring. Doesn’t seem that long when you say it but…
    Have a great day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      Yes I guess it was Doris the doe that took that little apple🙂
      It does give hope of a spring anyway🙂 I wish it only were 62 days left until spring, but I´m afraid we´ll get a late spring this year too.

      No more snow until Saturday they say. Now when most of it is gone I really don´t feel that we need more over here🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. It’s always something, isn’t it? I have to get the fruite trees pruned and the gardens turned. But, I love it so I shouldn’t complain… Love the pictures today but they made me very cold. Brrrr. Enjoy your tea and cottage warmth…

    • Hi Sharlene!
      I like to prune the apple trees and take some twigs inside so they start to flower in my kitchen🙂

      I took those photos when we had the coldest period over here🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. Goji berries! How cool is that?! Yes, they’re known to be quite healthy and growing your own sounds sweeter than buying them from the store (as I do). I love watching things sprout and eventually grow (reminds me of life) so that’s really neat to read about, especially in the midst of winter for you! Thanks for sharing!

    • Hi hyo and welcome to my blog!
      I have never eaten them, so I think I´ll have to buy a package and try them. But they are awfully expensive to be honest🙂

      I usually thinks the germinating period is the funniest🙂 Just to see if I´m able to get them started🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  8. I am just so thankful for the warm weather here…I get cold just looking at your beautiful pictures.. Looking at them is about all I want to do.🙂
    Those dogs agains the white background is just beautiful, Christer!
    Stay warm!
    Wait, where is Bertil??

    • Hi Mona!
      I wish I could say the same, but I will have to walk around in this cold weather for yet some months I´m afraid🙂

      Bertil was at home, but now when the snow has melted down he has started to follow us again. I´ll be able to take some photos of him on Saturday or Sunday I hope🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

