Warmer :-)

Z&M! This is my cottage🙂

It felt like a spring day when we got out on our walk this morning. It was over 4c (39F) and it had rained some during the night. Now it´s even warmer and it sort of gives hope for a spring and summer this year after all🙂🙂🙂

Look how nice the little shed reflexes on the icy road🙂

The following photographs are from yesterdays walk. We managed to walk by the portal for the first time in over a month. Most lying photographs will get bigger and better if You click on them.

But nothing good without evil within itself, the roads are once again almost impossible to walk on🙂🙂🙂 I think it took longer time to walk to the forest, where the roads still are great to walk on, than the walk in the forest did🙂 I must find an old kick sled for next winter so the walks will get less risky to do. I think both Orvar and Hector would love to pull it too🙂🙂🙂

I did´t think I was going to be able to walk here yet for many weeks, but the ice crust was thick enough to carry me too!!

It will stay rather warm for a couple of days now, so with a bit of luck the thick ice sheet on the roads will melt down so that the gravel beneath reaches the surface so the tires gets a better grip. As it looks and feels now I will have problems tomorrow morning again. But I thought the best thing to do is to spread ashes on the road just before I´ll drive to work. It´s no use doing it now because the meltwater will just bring the ashes with it during the day.

It´s time to make a pot of tea and then I´ll watch some skiing on tv. I´ll try to take a couple of more walks today if possible, if it isn´t possible we´ll just jump over the fence to the big field and throw some snowballs, that would both Orvar and Hector love🙂🙂           Have a great day now!

The deers have been very nervous and stressed since the lynx was here, but I guess the lynx is gone because now they are very unwilling to walk away when I open my door🙂

 

18 thoughts on “Warmer :-)

  1. Vyerna känns igen även här. I morse när jag skulle gå till brevlådan för att se om GP hade kommit så såg vägen ut precis som hos dig. Igår morse däremot låg det 2,5 dm nysnö som vi var sysselsatta med i tre timmar (växthus taket inkluderat!)
    Bambina har det tufft nu. Det är alldeles hemskt att tänka sig hur dessa fyrfotingar har det i snön. Fåglarna kan man åtminstone mata.
    Ha det gott Christer och ge dig inte iväg på glashala vägar! Var rädd om dig!/Anja

    • Tjänare Anja!
      Vi hade väl fått lite mindre snö än er igår och allt är borta nu. Här matas det rådjur också. Grannen ger ensilage och säd och jag köper gamla äpplen billigt i Kvänum och slänger ut i trädgården. Visst beskär de en hel del här, men det är det värt🙂

      Med tanke på hur varmt det är och skall bli tror jag kanske att vägarna utanför byn kommer att vara hyfsade i morgon. Om inte vänder jag hemåt igen🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. Oh be careful on all that ICE!
    I would much rather have more snow than ALL that ICE! It really scares me. I have several hills I have to take to get to work or else I have to take the Interstate and the Highway has all those big Semi-trucks!!!
    Is a kick-sled one of those things where you stand on it and kick along as the dogs pull it? Like they do in Alaska? If so, that sounds FUN!
    That’s a great photo of your cottage! Is it 1 or 2 rooms deep? (My house is just one room deep across) and then do you have rooms upstairs or is it like a loft? I just love seeing different homes! Yours looks so perfect, surrounded by the land and wildlife!
    Take care out on your icy walks today! – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      Now I don´t have to worry about the ice on the village roads anyway, they have just been here with a lorry pouring out gravel on the road. How the roads outside the village is like is another story though🙂🙂🙂

      No a kick sled is like a chair with skids at the bottom. But my neighbor lets her dog pull it🙂🙂

      I have one room, kitchen and bathroom at the bottom floor and two rooms at the upper floor. Well one of the rooms is divided by the chimney so I could say three rooms, but all rooms are very small also the room at the bottom floor.

      I´m not sure it´s perfect but I love living here🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Icy roads look pretty bleak! I love Doris the Doe, what a great name. Have a great snowball fetching game with the boys. I envy your “warm” temps…we are having heavy snowfall today here in Upstate New York, and the temp is supposed to fall to 2 degrees F tonight. Yikes!! Good luck getting to work tomorrow! Robin.

    • Hi Robin!
      There will be no problem with icy roads in the village tomorrow anyway, they have put gravel on all roads (including the little one outside my cottage) today🙂
      We were out throwing a lid like a frisbee but the boys got really tired trying to run in this wet heavy snow, so they quit rather early🙂🙂🙂

      It will stay warm here for a couple of days they say and I hope most ice will melt then.
      I thought Doris was a good name on her🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  4. hi christer…..i think you need ice skates. those roads look horrible. your cottage is so pretty and looks so nice with all the snow. hope you make it to work tomorrow. we are getting really really cold here again! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      Thankfully they have put a lot of gravel on the village roads today, so I´ll be able to leave the village anyway🙂 But I really don´t know how the bigger roads are like🙂

      I do like my little cottage and this year I really need to paint it🙂

      I hope You don´t get it too cold!
      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    Love little Doris!
    It’s relatively warm here as well. Above freezing so the icicles are dripping all over the place. I should go out and move some more snow but I think I’ll pass. I’ve had enough. When I saw the picture of your road, it looked like meltwater coming down but then I realized it was ice. Not so good. Would your two boys pull the kicksled together or would they run off in opposite directions?
    Have a great day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      She is cute our little Doris🙂

      It got so warm so quick that we didn´t get any icicles this time🙂 I do hope most of the ice on the roads melts before the cold air floats down from the arctic again!

      It did look like flowing water🙂 But now most of it is covered with gravel🙂

      I´m not sure what would happen if they were allowed to pull a kick sled🙂 If they are anything like their old grandma it will end in catastrophe🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. Hi Christer,
    I had already a face and a voice to put with the name so now I have a home. Thanks for putting up pictures of your cottage.

    Your snow stays much nicer than the snow around here with all your fields, smaller roads and less traffic. It is still pretty!

    Enjoy your Sunday!!

    • Hi Kat!
      I just came back from Your blog right now🙂

      There are only two more cottages after mine so here´s no traffic to mess with the snow and make it dirty. It will stay this white until it disappears.

      Z&M have the habit of asking if every red shed I show photos of might be my cottage🙂🙂🙂 So I thought it was best to show how it really looks🙂🙂
      My Sunday is unfortunately soon over, I´ll just look at Midsummer Murders before I go to bed🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. Thank you, lovely shot of the cottage, a two story, still can’t see the garage but this is an excellent shot and it has a warm feeling to it. So does the one with the deer. I love that photo. Again how lucky you live in the wilderness. I see those icy roads and your temps have to be lower than zero. You definitely have to survive arctic weather conditions so I wouldn’t fret about a higher power bill. It might be saving your life. Great photos today Christer. Enjoy your drive to work tomorrow. We have Martin Luther King’s holiday so don’t start in until Tuesday.

    • Hi Z&M!
      It´s more a one and a half story cottage and the garage is on the other side of the road. The third photo shows the garage and Dog yard/ doghouse/ woodshed.

      My bill isn´t especially high to be honest, especially when I compare with friends. But it was three times as high as usual and that sort of annoyed me🙂🙂

      The roads were actually really good this morning! I got really surprised to be honest🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  8. Definitely need skates! I love your little cottage, too, and it’s twice as enchanting with Doris nearby… We were up to 55F today which is quite a jump from the 22F we were yesterday. I’m sure the ground is heaving like crazy. This week is supposed to be warmer, too, in the forties and then back down to colder winter temps. Enjoy your tea and stay cozy. Don’t want you falling down, either. So much ice!

    • Hi Sharlene!
      Can´t use skates now after they poured gravel all over our roads yesterday🙂

      It´s a cosy little cottage and I love living here. Doris and her friends are more than welcome but I think since I give them apples all day they really don´t have to cut down my bushes so hard as they do🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

