Electricity bills.

I got the electricity bill for december month yesterday and I didn´t like it much🙂🙂🙂 To be honest, it isn´t especially high when comparing with my work friends, not even half of what they🙂🙂🙂 Normally I pay around 600 swedish kronor/month (that would be around 87 US dollars) but in December the bill had tripled! Well to be honest, they have never recorded a winter colder than this one ever, so I shouldn´t be surprised to be honest. But guess if I´m happy to have my fire heated stove🙂🙂🙂

But since I don´t like to pay the electricity company more money that I really need to I lowered the thermostat on the radiators this morning, so it is a bit chilly at the moment until the heat from the stove starts to spread in my little cottage. Naturally this is one of those days when the fire just don´t want to burn properly, it just sort of glows away🙂🙂

We stop working at 3 pm on fridays and since we had done what we could at 2:30 pm I went home already by then. So it was still some daylight left when I came home and I could take some photos on our walk. But since they all became very blue once again I made them black and white🙂

It´s SciFi night at channel six tonight, to be honest it´s more fantasy and SciFi night, so I better stop here so I can make some tea and perhaps a sandwich or two with meatballs, cheese, spotted sausages and something we call Skagenröra (it contains mayo, shrimps, crab-fish, lumpfish roe and different spices). Perhaps not the healthiest of things to eat, but very very tasty🙂                                                                                                                       Have a great day now!

20 thoughts on “Electricity bills.

  1. Yes, I would say that is NOT heart healthy foods. I very rarely eat fast food anymore but today a friend and I ate at Dominoes who introduced a new sausage sandwich from Chicago. It was delicious and I will dearly pay for it by increasing the miles I exercise in the morning. But that’s life. You want that feel good feeling the God’s promised mankind. Over here though anything “feel good” is against the law. The last picture? Is that your overheated Cottage by the Lake? Enjoy paying that bill.

    • Hi Z&M!
      I don´t eat these things more than a couple of times a year, so today I felt like spoiling myself🙂

      No that last photo shows my neighbors wood shed🙂🙂 The one above shows a neighboring cottage on the other side of a smaller field.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    I hate to get my gas and electric bill. It never makes any sense. The month I use a lot of electricity (or think I have) the bill is lower than normal and the month that I think I was not using so much the bill is back up again. My friends say it’s because the rate changes depending on the phase of the moon or something.
    I was thinking about your redberried elderberry bush again. Do you give it extra care in the spring to make up for the fact that it was stupid and tried to grow now? If you do then perhaps it has “learned”, in a plant-like fashion, that it will get extra goodies in spring if it tries to grow now. If you don’t then I guess it is simply a stubborn plant that insists it is growing somewhere else.
    I notice that the willow tips are brightening up here and we certainly have not had the kinds of temperatures that would make sap rise.
    Enjoy Sci-Fi night and your unhealthy food. Remember what Julia Child said; “Everything in moderation, including moderation.”🙂

    • Hi Caryn!
      I, thankfully, have a fixed rate so no surprises here because of the moon🙂🙂🙂 I knew that the bill would be bigger, but not three times bigger🙂 Well I´ll survive🙂

      No I never give it extra care except for in the driest summer months when I occasionally gives it extra water. So it´s just stubborn🙂 or they are I should write because I have two of them. I think that it is all years before this and last year when we had really warm winters that never have forced them to learn to change their behaviors. Their relatives out in the forest still looks like they should even though they too must realize that days are getting longer now.

      She was so right Julia Child🙂
      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  3. hi christer…..ugh, bills! any kind of all are awful! i keep my heat at 50 degrees all winter. my kids say you can see your breath in my house. i am always cooking so much that i get very hot so i enjoy a cold house in winter. it is impossible to keep it cooled with A/C in the summer. does the skagenrora go on the sandwiches or is it eaten on the side? joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I have the radiators at 59F now and that is really enough. The stove makes it so much warmer when it finally starts to give heat to my cottage too🙂

      You can use Skagenröra on a sandwich like I did today, but lots of people likes it with their hot dogs or in something I can´t find any translation to, but we call it sandwich cake. It´s like a cake but with layers of bread and lots of things in between the bred layers. I wish I could describe it better🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  4. Hello Christer,

    Curious … as with the Cary, my account differs in a crazy manner. I do not understand the changes because I live alone and have regular habits, or two fans have always connected🙂
    I do not know if I would find that their good mixture of mayonnaise and fish, but if you say it’s delicious, I believe.
    Here we are very saddened by the tragedy of the rains. More than 500 people dead in the Rio de Janeiro. A great tragedy.
    Have a nice end of day
    kisses
    Didi

    • Hi Didi!
      I´ve been hearing about Your tragedy on the news all day now! Have it stopped raining yet? It seems rain causes a lot of tragedy right now all over the world.

      I know lots of people pays electricity prices where the price can vary from day to day depending on how much electricity people uses. I have a fixed rate so I always have the same price/ kilowatt hours. That helps planning the cost rather much, but I did get surprised that I had used that much electricity last month🙂

      The good thing with Skagenröra is that it doesn´t taste that much mayo because I´m not a big fan of mayo. It does taste a lot of shrimp and crab instead🙂

      I do hope the rains stops so no more catastrophes happen!
      Christer.

      • Unfortunately we still have much rain. The biggest problem in Rio de Janeiro, an area of many hills. With the rains there slippage, much land, many stones on the path they took everything. The people had no way to escape, the cause of many deaths.
        In Sao Paulo too much rain, the city flooded, but not only that number of dead, much material losses.
        This season’s heavy strong rains and every year we have tragedies. In much the cause is the man who no respects nature and the excessive number of people in one place. They build homes in risky places. And of course the government does not inspect. Well .. nothing new under the sky, is always the same story.

        As for food I was born in Sao Paulo with a strong Italian influence.
        I love a good pasta filled with cheese and white sauce, or a nice pizza🙂 full of cheese of course🙂

      • Hi Didi!
        I saw the landslide´s effects on tv, terrible!
        They really had no chance when everything started to move. We tend to build our homes on the wrong places too, like beside rivers and when they flood, like they almost always does, people gets surprised when their homes gets destroyed! But it is very rare that anyone dies when it happens here.

        They say that Your rains and our cold winters are connected by the weather phenomenon “La Nina”. That´s why it rains all over the southern part of our planet.
        Anything with lots of cheese is delicious🙂🙂

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

  5. hi christer….what all is in the skagenrora? i sounds a bit like something i used to eat in prague which was a type of russian salad, the kind that has all the vegetables and potatoes in it. they would spread it on bread and put a layer of ham on it. we don’t have anything quite like it here. yours sounds like a seafood version of it. i am always interested in the food that other people eat. it teaches us so much about other cultures. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      Yes I would say that it is a seaside version of that. It´s not bad to have on crackers with perhaps some kind of caviar, a slice of lemon, dill and perhaps a little bit of roast beef or ham or something like that🙂 The best ones is of course those made by the fishermen down in Gothenburg! No crab-fish in that Skagenröra ony the real things and lots of it🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. I’m on a fixed bill, too, and it does make life so much more manageable! I don’t think I could handle a house as cold as 59F (just five degrees above the inside of a cave! brrrr) My old fingers would refuse to type anything! But, I can understand jaz because she is cooking so much. My kitchen stays warm just because of its location. Enjoy your snacks and have a great evening watching SciFi… I have cabin fever; I’m going to the movies.

    Come visit when you can…

    • Hi Sharlene!
      The stove in the kitchen does raise the temperature way over that when I´m home though🙂🙂 but it´s enough to have here while I´m at work.

      I´m so happy that I have a fixed rate on my electricity otherwise it would be four times higher than the bill I got! Our nuclear power plants has been shut down several times already so the price of electricity is sky hig now.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. Hi Christer, we don’t enjoy getting bills either and this week the oil bill came and was very high but then we have been using the furnace a lot more because of the cold temperatures in December. Our electric bill was also higher, but then we had holiday lights on so figure they added to the expense. We also keep our thermostat lower, but not quite as low as yours – ours is about 68F. Today’s ohotos in black and white worked very well, so much better than the blue in yesterday’s post. ENjoy your treats and the sci-fi channel tonight. Have a good weekend too!

    • Hi Beatrice!
      I remember the oil bills from when I had my gardencentre, they were a nightmare and what finally broke my economy. I payed around 7300 US dollars(that´s the price without most of the taxes, because I didn´t have to pay most of the taxes since I had a business) a warm winter in oil costs. The cold winters I don´t even want to think about🙂🙂🙂

      Thankfully my stove keeps my home much warmer when I´m at home. But there´s really no need to have it warmer here while I work. So last evening it was 75 degrees here on the bottom floor🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  8. I hate getting those high bills! I kinda knew what my electic/gas bill would be but I was surprised at my water bill! I thought it would be lower because I’m not outside watering my plants. But apparently I’ve been using the washing machine a lot! (All those doggies towels I guess!)
    Take care! – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      Even if one does know the bill will be higher it still surprises when it comes🙂🙂
      Thankfully I share a deep drilled well with a neighbor, so we split the cost for what´s needed for the water filter, so my water is almost for free.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  9. Gee, I didn’t think it sounded unhealthy at all…but then I am not good at deciding what is healthy and what is not all that healthy. Anything that sounds good to me is healthly. No wonder my kids loved me! They certainly grew up to be healthy people though. No health problems, dental problems or eye problems. Must have done something right.
    They did have lots of salads and fruits..so…there ya go!

    This AC is supposed to lower our utility bills to half. I hope it does. That would be nice.
    Enjoy your snack..(dinner?) and your tea. Leave your photo’s their naturaly shade of blue…they sound beautiful. Blue. What could be more Winter?
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!🙂🙂 Well I think it would be a lie to say that it´s healthy actually🙂🙂🙂 But once in a while the taste must go before all other things🙂🙂

      I guess new things always uses less electricity so I´m not surprised that You will save that much money. Ac´s isn´t especially common up here, but as Sharlene use to say, we only have one and a half our summer here🙂🙂🙂

      Sometimes I just gets so tired of that blue light and then I change it🙂 The snow makes it look worse on a photo than it is in reality to be honest.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

