Climate change but the other way?!

The climate change! We all have heard that this little planet of ours are getting warmer and warmer. They have said that soon we up here in the north will get the same climate as they have around the mediterranean sea ( the climate they have now, later on their climate will be hot, hot, hot) and that is what I´ve been hoping for for a long time now 🙂 🙂 🙂

They have said that the winters up here will be short but perhaps more intensive and that our growing season will become really long. Last year they say was the warmest year since they started to write down temperatures all around the world. It´s warmer everywhere except in one region that even have gone colder. Guess where?? If You guess Scandinavia and northern Asia You´ve guessed right.

This doesn´t fit any of their predictions so now they guess that it will be warm everywhere but here. I feel cheated 🙂 🙂 🙂 I´ve dreamed of palm trees and mango trees in my garden for a long time now and now they guess it even might get colder here 🙂 🙂 🙂 Well I guess life just isn´t faire 🙂 🙂 🙂

But since they have guessed wrong before they might guess wrong this time too.  So in my dreams I´ll be resting under a mango tree listening to all new exotic birds that moved here remembering all those cold and nasty winters with a smile on my face. I can see myself telling incredible stories to little children about how some places got so much snow that they couldn´t get out of their houses and I could lie and say how much I loved the good old cold snowy days 🙂 🙂 🙂                                                                                                                   Have a great day now!

20 thoughts on “Climate change but the other way?!

  1. Ha! You are So funny! 🙂 🙂
    But wouldn’t you miss the snow just a “little” bit?
    I know that I grumble about it, but I also complain that it’s too darn hot in the summer! 🙂
    I’m glad that we don’t still have the snow that we did a couple of weeks ago (it got real warm and everything melted but now it’s just frozen ground) anyway….
    Is that the road you have to DRIVE on? The ones that your dogs are racing down?
    WOW! Yep, I understand why you are tired of it!
    But it’s real pretty! 🙂 🙂 🙂
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      Nope! I wouldn´t miss it a bit 🙂

      No that´s not the road to work. The road to work is much better kept than the big roads outside of the village. This road leads to the creek and the deep forest 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  2. LOL, Christer, mango trees and exotic birds!! Dream on!!! But I guess it cant hurt to daydream about it. Love the misty photos, and of course the boys racing around. Take care! Robin.

    • Hi Robin!
      But it sure would be nice with a mango tree 🙂 🙂 🙂

      I like those photos too and my boys really like this weather. Snow cold and to be able to run and life is wonderful 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christor!
    Your pictures are gorgeous, as always.
    Take it from some one who lives it – It’s alot easier to get warm in the snow than to cool off in 98 degree air temp, and 90% humidity. 🙂

  4. Chances are, in your lifetime, your summers will extend to TWO and a half hours! Keep the tea warm and fire burning, just in case… And, you can always test the predictive waters by putting up a hammock in the trees… just sayin’….

    • Hi Sharlene! I do hope so 🙂 🙂 🙂 But the risk is that it´ll only be half an hour in the future 🙂 🙂 🙂

      I think I´ll test that hammock idea 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  5. Hahaha ja jag har också undrat var det där medelhavsklimatet tagit vägen:)) Fast om det blir FÖR hett hade jag nog inte gillat det heller. Däremot en mycket längre sommarsäsong hade ju inte varit dumt, typ mars- november:)) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Hejsan Monne!
      Lång men inte allt för het sommar skulle vara perfekt! Men nu verkar det ju som om det blir en kortare och ganska kall istället 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  6. Hi Christer,
    Looks like you will have to shovel off the ladder before you can get up to shovel off the roof. 🙂
    Climate change doesn’t necessarily mean you will have warmer weather. It means that the weather cycles will be more extreme. 100F summers and -50F winters. You could have mangos but only in the summer.
    Most of the 18 inches of snow that we got last week melted away on New Year’s Day in the very warm 50F+ temps. I think New England will do very well in global warming. 🙂 🙂 🙂
    Lovely, sunny photos today. No blue except for the sky and the shadows. I gather that it was cold even though it does not look so.
    Have some warm tea and enjoy the day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      Wild horses can´t bring me up that ladder to the roof 🙂 🙂 🙂 I hate going up there and will only do it if it´s an emergency 🙂 🙂 🙂

      The thing is that their earlier predictions about the climate up here in the north showed short but very intensive winters and that our spring, summer and autumn would be long too. But the risk of much rain during summer. Now they say it is going to be long and cold winters and we barley have summer as it is 🙂 🙂 🙂 I´m disappointed 🙂

      So I guess I´ll have to move to New England then 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

      • Well come on over! Parts of here would look a lot like where you live so you would feel right at home. Except there would be more daylight in the winter and it would probably be a bit warmer. And Florida isn’t that far away so you could go there in the winter and have the best of both worlds. 🙂

      • Hi Caryn!
        It´s tempting but it´s the little thing about getting a job and be able to afford a new cottage that makes me a bit hesitant 🙂
        Have a great day now!
        Christer.

  7. My friend, what are you smoking today? I doubt you will be telling kids those stories in this life time but it’s a hoot to read about it. Very funny! Lovely SNOW photos today and one with the houses looks like a Hallmark Christmas Greeting. It says home is where the heart is. Lovely. Well keep dreaming and enjoy the snow!

    • Hi Z&M!
      I would love to be able to tell those lies to kids in the future 🙂 🙂 🙂 But now it seems I´ll have to tell them about our short and cold summers instead 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  8. Hi Christer, the sun is out in today’s photos and that’s a good sign – for you – because the snow will melt sooner! And given the choice between hot and cold, I would go for colder temps, but not freezing. And mangos are very delicious so I’m with you on growing those.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      Unfortunately those photos were a couple of days old. It´s still pitch black when I come home from work. I guess it will stay so for yet a couple of weeks. The sun doesn´t give any heat at all right now, it won´t start giving anything but light until early March I´m afraid. The angle towards earth makes the heat miss us up here in the north.

      Yes a mango tree in the garden would be great, I love that fruit. Those we can buy are rather small and rather expensive but delicious 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  9. Oh dear! I don’t think we are ever happy with what we have..or seldom. We who have warm weather want cold and snow…and the other way around with those that live where it is cold. We humans …just never satisfied.
    I really do think I prefer our weather here. I looke to the mountains and I can see them piled high with snow…and to the West there is the ocean less than 45 minutes away…if traffic is good. So we do have the best of both worlds.
    It’s been a long, time since I have been up in the mountains in the snow. I just look at it out my window. Good enough…and for an even closer look I can visit you or some of my other blogger friends and enjoy the beauty.

    Got a phone call from one of my best friends who lives in Las Vega, Nevada and she says it snowed there…they got two inches…and it last for an entire hour or so. Then it was gone. 🙂
    The dogs look like they are looking forward to getting into a warm little cottage. :)_
    I ALWAYS enjoy your pictures, Christer.
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      I think I would prefer You climate too and as You say, You can reach both the ocean and the mountains with snow rather fast if You like too. But it is the thing with earthquakes that I´m not that glad about 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Snow in Las Vegas! Well that can´t happen too often 🙂

      Those dogs doesn´t want to get in at all now 🙂 This is their weather and they could stay out all hours if I allowed them too 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

