Rain and sunshine.

When the storm started yesterday I heard some strange knocking sounds toward the wall and windows by my entrance and after a while I remembered that I had hung out a sheet on a hanger to dry in the cold winter weather.

Those snowmobile tracks were great to walk on🙂

There´s no snow or frost left on the trees after the storm.

Yes it does dry even when it´s way below freezing point, but it does take longer time to do so. I thought it was best to bring it in since it was stiff frozen and the winds had become rather hard and there was a slight risk that it would hit one of the old windows and break it.

We had some sunshine yesterday afternoon so we walked down to the creek.

Bertil decided to follow us on our walk.

So I let the dogs out and walked around the cottage to fetch it (I use the kitchen entrance mostly now during winter). Just when I was about to remove the hanger I looked straight at a beautiful little doe🙂 She had decided to sleep by my cottage out of reach for the winds and just didn´t care that I was only one meter (one yard) from her🙂🙂 I don´t think my dogs even noticed her at all🙂🙂

Just before I fell asleep last night I heard the sound of poring rain and I hoped that the little doe had found a better place to sleep. But I didn´t sleep especially well to be honest. Most of the time is didn´t notice the wind more than from the roaring sound, but every now and again the wind changed direction and hit my little cottage so it started to shake and tremble🙂🙂🙂

I don´t know why, but this creek never freeze.

I don´t know where they found them, but suddenly we had two new snowmobiles driving around in the village yesterday evening🙂🙂🙂 I could see how much fun they had and those tracks they left helped me when we had our morning walk today. They had driven where the snow has been to deep for me to walk these last days and with the rain falling the ground got rather steady to walk on. It would probably have been even better if I had waited an hour or two more before I walked there so the colder weather we´re getting back now could have made that surface hard as concrete.

There´s to much snow in the forest right now, so we turned back home again.

But Bertil seemed to like it a lot🙂

Perhaps he thought he would get one or two of these for dinner when we came home🙂

Well it´s time for me to have a pot of tea and then I think I´ll have a nap🙂 We might get some sunshine today so if the wind calms down as they say it already has (which by the way it hasn´t) this could be a really pleasant day🙂                                                                     Have a great continuing of the new year!

26 thoughts on “Rain and sunshine.

  1. As you can see, I am not sleeping though I think all the party goers have finally given up setting off fireworks and decided to go to sleep. I’m happy for them..but now I am wide awake.🙂
    I’ve played cards, read blogs..(thought I’d peek back at yours because you are so far away and already into the new year. And…I was right. You are up and about taking walks I think.
    I am finally off to try and gets some sleep. Tomorrow some of the family is gathering at the bakery for a big New Years Day dinner. I am looking forward to it.

    Bertil…is such an interesting cat. Cat’s don’t usually like anything cold or wet..and he doesn’t seem to mind one bit. Interesting.
    Take care and enjoy your hot tea. I thought of brewing some but best sleep instead.
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      New Years eve parties usually dies rather quickly after twelve o clock🙂
      It´s really annoying when it feels impossible to sleep, a cup of warm milk usually helps me. Yes I´m up walking because I´m nine hours ahead of You🙂

      Bertil just don´t understand that he is a cat🙂🙂 But usually to deep snow is something he avoids.

      Have a great dinner at the bakery!
      Christer.

  2. Vi hade också en lugn nyårsafton, i alla fall inomhus:) ute blåste det rätt häftigt och småregnade. Vi hade fått den stora äran att passa vårt lilla barnbarn när hans mamma o pappa skulle på nyårsfest till sonen uppe på berget;) Göran jobbade visserligen till 22.00 men han han ju hem lagom till tolvslaget och då tyckte även Nicholas att det var lagom att vakna:)) Är lite “sleten” idag när natten har bestått av att putta in napp och ge välling. God fortsättning/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Ja vilket ruskväder vi hade, men nu skiner solen så fint🙂 Vinden drar i rätt bra än dock, skulle inte den tagit slut redan i natt🙂🙂

      Kan tänka mig att du känner dig trött efter putta in napp och ge välling🙂 Minns mycket väl hur det var när jag passade mina syskonbarn när de var små🙂🙂

      God fortsättning!
      Christer.

  3. Happy New Year, Christer!
    I saw the comment about the snowmobiles last night but couldn’t figure out what you meant. Joy riding! Nice that they broke some trails for you.
    Bertil looks like he is have a wonderful time in the snow. What is it about cold snow that makes the animals all frisky? My dog, who was born in Puerto Rico and never saw snow before last year, loves the stuff. He gets out there and plays with it, leaps around, doesn’t want to come inside. When my horse was still alive he would get all playful and leap about in the snow and he was 36 years old!
    Beautiful sunny, snowy photos today. I especially like the road to the deep forest and the young crabapple but I’m partial to low sunshine on snowy trees. It makes them look warm.🙂
    Have a great day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      Good continuing on the new year!
      I really don´t know what it is with snow and our pets🙂🙂🙂 The only one I know that really doesn´t like snow is Teodor the cat, he dislikes it even more than I do🙂🙂🙂

      My favorite today is either the crabapple tree or the place with a view.

      Have a great day You too!
      Christer.

  4. Hi!
    Good morning🙂 I’m here all muddled by sleep late. I was watching the fireworks on the beach, since the noise would not let me sleep. Jung found good idea to wake me, he thought I had slept enough. We do not agree often🙂
    Bertil thought it is a good New Year’s resolution to walk more🙂 despite the snow.
    Cats are funny … I think they have trouble on their feet.
    Once I changed the sand box Jung by a full of marbles.
    He hated that. I have never seen a cat shaking paws like him.
    My favorite picture is “Towards the deep forest. ” The sunshine in the snow is a spectacular effect.
    Sure, I love seeing Bertil running, with their looks so serious🙂
    I think I need more coffee but it’s time for lunch, this is very confusing for me.
    Have a great day, no winds shook his house.

    • Hi Didi!
      I always get headaches when I sleep to long and then I need lots of coffee🙂🙂🙂 My cats doesn´t care for how long I sleep though, but my dogs gets crazy if I don´t get up the second I wake up🙂🙂

      I wish Teodor cared about the litter box at all. He hates it and if he can´t get out in time he sits down in my shower. Well it´s better than when he got the idea that the stairs were ok🙂🙂🙂 Bertil always looks so serious🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  5. Here we are in a new year, Christer, and we have all made it through 2010. We actually stayed awake for the New Year – first time in many years. Then we slept soundly through until this morning – perfect way to “celebrate.” It was fun seeing Bertril in the snow having such fun or was he just hurring to get back to his warm window seat in the cottage? Glad you are feeling better too, my friend. All the best.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      Yes we all made it🙂
      I actually think he had fun, he didn´t really want to return home agin but he knows better than to stay where the fox lives by himself🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. SO when are you getting a snow mobile????? Such a graet place for one. By us the best we get is a few 4wheel ATV’s pulling sleds, and me on our tractor. Maybe i will build a sleigh (on wheels of course) for wintery days. BUT sleigh rides and hot cocoa in the South are not a big deal. OH WELL!!!! It is nice to be up here in New England for the New Year. Be well my friend (and maybe you could get poor Bertil some booties).

    • Hi Grenville!
      I was actually thinking that if we´re going to have winters like this I better get me one🙂🙂🙂 They really are having fun driving around in them, but unfortunately they scare the poor deers into panic.

      One of my neighbors has started to use a sled behind his horses🙂 It´s the old kind of working horses he has and that looks so fun too🙂 That and a cup of cocoa would be great🙂
      I think Bertil would try to kill me if I even thought of that🙂🙂🙂 He is anything but nice and cuddly most of the time🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. happy new year christer! i can’t get over how cute bertyl is. does he think he is a little dog? i’ve never seen a cat act quite like that. maybe someone got snowmobiles for xmas! joyce

    • Hi Joyce and I wish You a good continuing of this year!

      I actually believes that he think he is some kind of dog🙂🙂🙂 An odd little unsocial dog🙂

      Snowmobiles are usually a thing we can´t use that much here during winters to be honest. These two last winters has been unusual in that way and I hope it will stay unusual🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  8. This has to be one of my most favorite posts!
    What a great way to start the new year🙂 seeing little Bertil romping in the snow!
    I look forward to the year full of your wonderful photos!
    I off to start working on all my new “goals”🙂🙂🙂
    Stay warm! Cindi

  9. Happy New Year, Christer. I love the morning sky picture, looks almost like early spring. We all love Bertil in the snow. He is quite the rascal. Glad your cottage is still standing after all that wind. Take care, and enjoy the rest of your holiday. Robin.

    • Hi Robin and a happy New Year to You too!
      If it only was early spring, but that´ll have to wait at least three more months I´m afraid.

      I´m glad that the wind more or less came from the right direction so the forest took most of it🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  10. Well, Happy New Year to you, Christer!
    Bertil is simply greeting the first day of the new year and being a part of the group… nice kitty. Love the bird photo!

    One of my favorite things to do in the winter is hang my clothes on the line and let them get frozen. Bring them in and let them thaw just a touch — they clothes iron beautifully! (In summers, for the clothes that need ironing, I sprinkle, roll them up, and put them on the bottom shelf of the refrigerator. What a difference!) It’s great for crisp shirts. Although, most of the folks I know, today, go for softer silhouettes and less formal clothing.

    Maybe the creek is too deep and fast-running to freeze? That was what kept our little brook going in the winters. Just wonderin’…

    Have a warm cup of tea, sit by the fire, and find a good book to read… it’s far too cold to be doing much else…

    • Hi Sharlene!
      Actually he greeted the last day of the year🙂
      The frost also make white clothes whiter! Unless they are colored white of course. But I love the small it has when I bring it in again🙂

      Shirts should be crisp! I became rather good in ironing my clothes🙂 It´s the only household shore I like🙂

      No that little creek isn´t bigger than it looks, it isn´t especially fast running either. That´s why I can´t figure out why it doesn´t freeze. We don´t have any hot springs in this country either. I like mysteries🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  11. I went to bed before midnight. I couldn’t wait for 2010 to leave our lives. Not that 2011 will bring the promise this country needs but it make shake some fruit loose in the Congress. Let us hope so. Thank you Christer for all the wonderful photos you post and your friendship now, over the years, it’s always a treat to stop by your blog.

    Happy New Year!

    • Hi Z&M!
      Yes 2010 wasn´t the best of years, so lets hope the new one will be better!
      Thank for coming here🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

