The last day.

So it´s the last day of the year and tonight lots of people will celebrate that. I have never really understood why🙂 Yes I have been to new years parties and I have sent away fireworks up into the sky, but never really understood why🙂 For me this is just a day like all others with, perhaps, better programs on tv🙂🙂🙂

The day has started nice, no wind and I saw the sun a short while before it disappeared behind the clouds. But with a little bit of luck we will see it a lot today. The weather will change almost as soon as we have left this year behind us and greeted the new year in a big hug. Snowstorm is predicted in big parts of the country, in other parts only storm and the wind will be as fast as up to 30 m/s (around 30 yards/second).

The two last times we had real winter storms here were in 2005 and 2007. Well they were hurricanes to be honest and the devastation they brought was unbelievable. Both times 100 000 and more people were without electricity for up to several months. The village my mother lives in was cut of from the rest of the world for over three weeks. Nothing worked but they, like I, had a stove in the kitchen and could cook their food and coffee on that🙂

More trees fell than they cut down on an average year and some forest owners couldn´t take it and ended their lives (others died under trees that had fallen. Why on earth were they outdoors in weather like that at all?). I was amongst the lucky ones. The power only went away for two hours and most of the wind got stopped by the forest, so I could actually stay outdoors without the risk of blowing away🙂 But I only went outside to get more firewood to the stove to be honest.

Out looking for extra breakfast🙂

But Bertil, his brother, prefers to stay above the radiator🙂

There are no indications that it will be that tough this year though. But if it will I do have plenty of food to manage for a week or so🙂 So before it all starts I´ll bring in lots of fire logs so I don´t have to get out when the winds comes.                                                                   Have a good ending of this year and a good New year!

40 thoughts on “The last day.

  1. Underbara foton som vanligt:) Här snackas det om att det eventuellt ska bli regn i kväll/natt:( inte kul för då blir det väl rena isbanan ute. Ha ett gott slut och ETT GOTT NYTT ÅR! Hörs nästa år/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Tack🙂
      Blir kanske regn här med, blir inte roligt när sörjan fryser på senare då. Tänker sitta bredvid spisen hela tiden🙂

      Gott slut och Gott nytt till dig med🙂
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    I love sunrise and sunset photos! And cloud photos.
    Bertil has the right idea. Stay comfy and warm above the radiator and watch the frozen world go by.🙂
    Our weather is supposed to be warm for the last and first days. Tomorrow is supposed to be 50F. Whoo hooo! Beach day! Not really but at least there will be much melting of snow around here and that’s good.
    Happy New Year!

    • HI Caryn!
      It is something with the sky that I love🙂
      Bertil actually followed us on our walk today! He even jumped out into the deep snow, but now he´s back above the radiator🙂🙂

      It might even be rain instead of snow in the storm! Normally I would say jippi🙂 But it will all freeze just a couple of hours later so perhaps ice skates is the best ting to have🙂🙂🙂

      Have a God New Year!
      Christer.

  3. Happy New Year, Christer!

    May you be richly blessed in 2011.

    Thank you for your friendship…and support as I became a terrible blogger over the past year! 😉 I think I have finally got some rhythm back!!!

    Thank you also for sharing your talent of photography with us. Each day I get a little glimpse of heaven and a part of the world that I have yet to see in person.

    Love and peace,
    Valerie

    • Hi Valerie!
      It takes time to get back in rhythm when a new life has come to the home🙂🙂

      I wish the same to You🙂
      Have a good end of this year and a good new one🙂
      Christer.

  4. Hello Christer
    I think the festivals are to celebrate that we won our battles daily (from day to day, in health, work, love affairs, finance, etc. ……) and to recharge our batteries for hope, for the new year (day to day, in health, in
    work, love affairs, finance, etc. ……) …… either way it’s always good to celebrate the happiness or hope to get it) hehehehe
    particularly because I LOVE PARTY! HEHEHEHEEHEHEHEH
    GREAT 2011
    kisses

    …….. and even now that this storm does not materialize

    • Hi Andréa!
      That si good reasons to celebrate anyway🙂 But I think I recharging my batteries better staying home, because I´m not a party person🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great end of this year and a great start of the coming year🙂
      Christer.

  5. Yeah, While I agree that New Years Eve is a good time to celebrate the success of the past year and the hope for the New Year….I many times feel a kind of sadness. I always wonder how the days flew by so fast. But I have written up some goals this time so that I can look to the future with anticipation. I personally hate New Years Eve Parties…especially at midnight. (Unless I have someone special with me) but since I don’t now, I’ll hate it. Which is silly because I’m happy by myself… except for the last moment of every year!🙂

    AND I love how today as I scrolled down your photos this morning, I at first thought the clouds were SNOW! Wow! I love that sky!….I always scroll down your posts and quickly read your words and then go back and enlarge the post so that I can enjoy your photos!
    I wish You a good New Years Eve !-my sister is forcing me to go to her NYE party😦
    and HAPPY NEW YEARS!!! – filled with dogs, cats, flowers and breathtaking photos!🙂🙂 : ) Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I´m not a party person so I tru to avoid all New Years parties and have been successful for the ten last years that has passed by🙂🙂🙂

      It was such a beautiful morning (I love the clouds and when they get color they are even more beautiful🙂 ) and the sun showed itself for a while during the day. I´ll show photos tomorrow🙂

      I hope the party is great tonight, I´ll stay up to see if I can see any fireworks up on the mountine. I doubt it though because the sky is filled with clouds and the wind has started.

      Have a good end of this year and a great start of the new one🙂
      Christer.

  6. Happy New Years Christer. I hope that 2011 will bring you wonderful experiences and much joy.
    I actually work on this day, my place of work gives a party for from 7oo to 900 or so people, so we all must pitch in to see that everything goes smoothly. It’s fun though!

    • Hi Terria!
      I wish You the same🙂

      It sounds as if You´ll have a good day at work today🙂

      Have a good end of this year and a great start of the coming!
      Christer.

  7. A very special Happy New Year to you, Christer! I so look forward to your photos and the gentle story that unfolds to the end of the post. Especially, on my hectic days. I suspect there will be more, this year, once the oven is actually introduced to the world. But, please continue to fill our souls with your beautiful photos of a much gentler life and give your pets and your wild visitors some extra treats to welcome their new year. And, of course, your visits and comments are always welcome on both my blogs!

    • Hi Sharlene!
      Thank You🙂
      I´m looking forward to see that oven of Yours🙂

      Have a good ending of this year and a great start of the coming🙂
      Christer.

  8. Christer, you have ended the year on a beautiful note, with amazing photos of the sky!! You live in a harsh winter environment, but the vistas are glorious! Have a cozy night with your animal companions, and I hope the storm wont be too unsettling. Good Eve to you! Robin.

    • Hi Robin!
      I thought these sky photos would be a great ending of this year🙂

      Have a good ending of this year and a great start of the coming one🙂
      See You next year🙂
      Christer.

  9. Happy New Year my friend and I pray you have the best health and prosperity in 2011. Love the Photos today and am pleased to announce all feral family is accounted for in this cold snap we had that dropped overnight temps to 15 degrees. Weird for Florida. Today is 80 degrees and I’m sitting here in a short sleeve shirt with the air conditioning on. Looking at these cold winter pictures of Sweden makes me smile that I’m not over there. I really can’t take the cold much anymore. I’m so happy for my feral family who for the first time all showed up for breakfast this morning. I guess they had to defrost their furs. Today is like any other weekend day except I don’t have to work so I’m playing around with my blog. I will be watching all the year ender news shows later this afternoon and planning a chuck roast dinner for two with my wife. All the kids have parties and want to see the fireworks on the river tonight. Looks like my wife and I are really getting old. We used to love to do that stuff but tonight will be a quiet end to a crappy decade thanks to George W Bush! Enjoy your tea.

    • Hi Z&M!
      I wish You the same!

      I do wish I could sit down beside You today🙂 The winds has started, not especially strong yet though.
      Cheers for a new and better decade!

      Have a good ending of this year and a Great new one!
      Christer.

  10. I hope that you and your furry friends all stay safe and warm to bring in the new year!

    I really do like today’s pictures, especially those with the sun! Beautiful!

    Happy New Year, buddy!

  11. hi Christer
    Best wishes for new year rich in friends, animals, sun and photos ( like the last : your sky is fantastic), with no storm and no cold.
    For my family and I no stress parties : we are going to play cards and puzzle till midnight…..
    God bless you

    • Hi Adriana!
      I wish You the same!
      Cards and puzzles is a great way to spend new years eve🙂

      Have a good ending of this year and a great new one!
      Christer.

  12. Christer, Happy New Year to you and your friends. We too will spend a quiet evening visiting our grandson and his parents in Rhode Island (yes, we are on the road once again). Thanks for your wonderful blog posts and photos, which we have enjoyed this year and we thank you for commenting on our blog posts as well. Grenville and myself will look forward to seeing you online in 2011.

  13. hi christer…i am not a new years person at all. i hate it because of the noise outside and the fireworks. we had 60 degrees here today and are in for lots of rain tomorrow. ugh!!! i hope you are feeling better! are you eating all of our ham? joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      We reached 39F, had lots of rain tonight and now the temperature is dropping again. The roads will be funny today, like soap and the winds are quite strong too.
      I´m slowly , slowly eating the whole ham🙂🙂🙂

      Have a Good New Year!
      Christer.

  14. LOVE the picture of Bertil by the window. I might have to snag that for my desktop, too😉

    Hope your Christmas was good, Christer (do you ever do anything for the animals? I always give Babu extra treats) and Happy New Year🙂 *hugs*

    • Hi Perovskia!
      I can´t say my christmas was especially good, I had the stomach flu🙂🙂🙂

      No I dont really do anything special for my animals, they get their treats every now and again all year long🙂

      Have a Good New Year!
      Christer.

      • Ack! Sorry about the stomach flu😦

        LOL.. I give Babu treats every night anyways, so I guess I can’t say I do something extra special for him (though I did get him a new scratching post this year and he likes it).

        Stop by my blog when you can.. I want your ‘three things’🙂

      • Hi Perovskia!
        Well I have had food poisoning twice and that was actually worse🙂🙂🙂

        My cats don´t understand what a scratching pole is🙂🙂🙂
        I´ll pop over to You later today🙂

        Have a great day now!
        Christer.

  15. Happy New Year, Christer!
    You sort of answered yourself really by saying we greet the New Year with a big hug! I agree..I like the idea of new beginnings with great expectations. It’s really kind of nice. Another chance to do it right. Give love. Give kindess. You know? New dreams..I love it.
    Enjoy every minute if you can, Christer. I have such hopes for this brand new year..I really do.
    It’s an adventure.
    Your photo’s are wonderful…as usual. :):)
    Sending you a big hug and best wishes for this wonderful New Year!
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      I´ve decided not to have to big expectations now days🙂 Because it´s a bigger chance I will think the coming year will become great then🙂🙂🙂

      I see that You still have an hour or so before the changing of the year, so have a
      Good ending of this year and a Great New One!
      Hugs my friend!
      Christer.

  16. Happy New Year!

    You’re beginning to sound like a curmudgeon Christer…celebrate!

    Love,

    Sharon Lovejoy Writes from Sunflower House and a Little Green Island

    In one hour it will be 2011! I want to get the last word in to you.

    • Hi Sharon.🙂 But I actually don´t understand why one should celebrate a new year. I would have if it actually had meant that things did change just because we changed year. But it doesn´t, does it? I do celebrate when there´s a reason🙂

      Have a Good New Year!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

