Starving hares and a world in black and white (and sienna :-) )

It´s -8C ( 18F) outside and a northern arctic wind is blowing. It´s not really strong but it´s not really nice either🙂 We´ve just come home after our morning walk, a promenade that normally would take around 30 minutes but now took over one and a half our🙂🙂

I got tired of the blue light we have here in the morning, so I changed them a bit today (and also some from yesterday). So today You´ll see mostly black and white photographs.

I almost never edit my photos normally, except for making them smaller. But if one is tired of blue light and a bit bored it´s rather fun changing them🙂

The snow crust is so hard now that even I could walk on it in some places! But where it didn´t carry my weight I sank down so I had snow up to my knees and in some places up to my waist🙂🙂🙂 But I guess that an average hight of the snow cover now is around 40 cm (16 inches), it sank down rather much the day we had over 0C (32F) otherwise it would have been much higher.

Last winter was especially hard for all hares we had here. In the end they just stopped to eat even if we did try to feed them. They just looked for a calm place and then died. A couple on my neighbors porch and one just beside my trash can outside the garage. This winter seems to be even harder on them. They have already eaten my next door neighbors hedge, there isn´t much left on it any longer. He tried to protect it by spraying garlic all over the hedge but the hares just thanked him for spicing it up🙂🙂

There was so much snow on the roads that I decided to walk in the forest instead. So much easier when the snow doesn´t reach up to the knees all the time.

So now we´ll most probably have to start feeding them too, do You think they´ll eat carrots? I would give them lots of artichoke if I just could dig up them from my garden, but the ground is frozen solid and I don´t have any dynamite🙂🙂🙂 This winter it won´t be the electricity bill that breaks our economies, it will be the bill for all food for the wild life🙂🙂🙂

Today will be a day in front of the tv or computer I´m afraid. The weather isn´t especially inviting and I have a new DVd I can watch, The prince of Egypt. I´m catching up on all those animated films I´ve missed during the years away from the big city and its cinemas🙂                                                                                                                                                            Have a great day now!

32 thoughts on “Starving hares and a world in black and white (and sienna :-) )

  1. Hi Christer,
    Ahhh I love black & white photos. It has a charm!
    Well I also like your blue light. Your world always seems something like a dream🙂
    As I understand you have a bill that requires the citizen to feed wild animals? Is that it?
    Snow in the waist? Wow this must not be easy! It takes strength for a walk :0
    Ahh I love the sequence of the boys running!
    Bertil is fantastically beautiful🙂
    take care
    Didi

    • Hi Didi!
      No, no🙂 I mean that we will all buy so much food for the wild life that the grocery bill will be enormous🙂🙂 just because we don´t want them all to die🙂

      I got a bit surprised when I sank down in al that snow, I couldn´t see that there was a big hole under all that snow🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  2. Nä fy katten… idag vill jag inte gå ut mer…. Jobbade i natt o när jag kom hem fick jag skotta mig in i både carport o hus. Småfåglarna hade flyttat in i växtlusthuset o när jag kom flög de mot bilen som för o säga, `Är det dags o komma nu….´ Men det fanns frön kvar i alla automaterna så det var inte det! Har snart gjort slut på två Säckar solrosfrön o en säck vete… men det verkar som om de tyckte mer om havren jag köpte förra året.
    Ha´t himla gôrgôtt framför spisen
    Nina

    • Tjänare Nina!
      Nä det är ingen höjdare att vara ute nu, är frukrtansvärt trött på det och än har vi flera månader kvar av vintern. jippi

      Fåglarna verkar ha väldigt olika smak. Jag hade ett paket gröna torkade linser i skafferiet som vissa av dem riktigt slukade🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  3. Dina hundar verkar dock trivas alldeles utmärkt i snön!
    Penny vägrar att gå ut på mornarna nu, hon går bara några steg utanför dörren innan hon kissar och sen springer hon hem och lägger sig i korgen igen. Min gubbe har skottat upp en liten slinga åt henne på tomten, men varje morgon är det snö i den – och det blir alldeles för kallt för tofsen tydligen.
    Ha en skön – och varm – 4:e advent framför datan eller TV´n.
    Susie

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Ja de två bägge älskar det här vädret, livet är bara toppen när det kommit såhär mycket snö🙂 Synd att inte jag också tycker det bara🙂🙂

      Förstår Penny så väl! Hade också hållit mig inne om det inte var för Orvar och Hector.

      Ha en trevlig 4:e advent du med!
      Christer.

  4. The black and white photos give off such a nostalgic feeling. Very nice, I like both, those and your usual blue ones. The ones of the dogs is Great! And I adore the last one of Bertil.
    That’s so kind of you to feed the poor bunnies. I get mad at them when they come into my garden in the summer but then yell and cry if one of my dogs tries to get them, Sigh…..
    I noticed that I have A LOT of different tracks in my side yard but I’ve seen nothing. I live in the middle of town but I think one set is of deer. I know some are rabbits and I’m afraid some might be a feral cat😦 The only one that concerned me was the shoe print by my fence gate! ?
    Stay warm and enjoy your animated DVD’s! Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      It was so sad last winter when I found the dead hare by my garage. It looked as it only was resting. So I guess carrots is on my grocery list now🙂

      Sometimes I think there lives more wild animals in the middle of a town than it does here in the countryside🙂🙂 I would also be concerned by a shoe print by my fence gate if i lived in a town. But then again, You have Blue🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  5. Ja här har varit ett riktigt busväder idag med yrsnö och piskande kall vind. Tur att man kan gå in i stallet och mysa sig med lite sticklingar:) Denna vintern har det hittills gått åt mycket mat till fåglarna, harar och andra fyrbenta djur har jag inte börjat att utfodra ännu. Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Det har yrt snö hela dagen, men ändå är det inte mycket nytt på marken. Har inte en stickling i år🙂

      Rådjuren har ju fått mat en längre tid nu, men snart blir det dags för hararna med tror jag. Fåglarna äter mig ur huset🙂🙂

      Ha det gott i stallet🙂
      Christer.

  6. I’m assuming these are arctic hares, that don’t hibernate during the winter? Here’s what I found for food, so if you don’t mind foraging for some of the plants, you could a penny or two on your grocery bill😎

    Arctic hares eat woody plants, such as willow twigs, also can eat roots, mosses, etc. While being vegetarians, according to Ukaliq [2] these hares are known to occasionally eat meat. Arctic hares can smell willows under the snow and the the arctic hare start to dig. If the snow is to deep the arctic hares first thump on it with their powerful feet. Arctic hares gnaw ( chew ) at the icy crust with their sharp teeth. Arctic hares are also reported to eat mosses, lichens, buds, berries, blooms, leaves, saxifrages, cinquefoils, campoins, sedges, seaweed, bark, willow twigs and roots, crowberry, and the meat from the traps of hunters. Arctic hares in the winter usually feed in areas where snow is shallow or plants are exposed by wind. When their food is buried under snow, Arctic hares rely on their sense of smell to locate it. They dig through snow with a rapid beating movement of their forefeet. In order to break a tough icy crust on top of the snow, they stamp sharply with their forefeet or chew at the crust with their teeth.

    I just tried something with HTML. Hope it works! Love the B&W photos — well, I love all your photos and these truly are nostalgic. Bertil is telling you that going outside in this kind of weather is only for man and dogs! Enjoy your tea and movie!

    • Hi Sharlene!
      No it´s not the arctic hare we have here. We have probably only the European hare (or brown hare) that was taken here from the continent and adjusted great to our climate too, except for winters like this. We also have the Mountain hare here but I think the brown hare has driven it further north. The brown hare is brown all year around but the mountain hare is white during winter. The Mountain hare have no problems what so ever with winters like this. So I´m afraid I have to feed the poor hares after all🙂🙂🙂

      But no hares hibernate, but I think they would join me if I tried to do it🙂🙂🙂
      I think Bertil has a point there🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. Underbara snö som ger lyst och fägring stor *ler*, här uppe leker vi alla i snön. KJ kutar runt med snöslunga, Mira o Simson med varann, det är för underbart idylliskt. Tänk att få slippa snöslask, gråsörja och hällregn, vi bara njuter. Mer snö till folket, hahahaha.
    God Jul på dig och dina grabbar.
    Kram Lotta i Ljusne & Co

    • Tjänare Lotta!
      Här leks då inte i snön kan jag säga, här gnälls det bara🙂🙂🙂

      Jag längtar efter mina grå slaskiga vintrar från min uppväxt🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Jag ringer vid juletid🙂
      Christer.

    • Hi Joyce!
      I do like those photos too🙂 I think it is really hard to take good photographs in black and white and can´t do it with my camera. But these turned out fine with the help of some editing🙂

      I´ll try to stay warm even if the weather is wrong🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  8. The photos are a nice mix today. The last one of the cat looks vintage, was it taken years ago of someone’s cat? I love the first photo image too. Very inviting. Show it to Joyce and I’m sure she’ll fly over and cook Christmas dinner for you. Sorry it’s so arctic cold there. I’m complaining about the rain here. Wanted to do some last minute shopping in five different stores and gave up after three plus you have to park a mile from the Mall. To hell wit it. I came home to make a Taco dinner for the brood. 8 are coming to dinner and I hope someone remembers to bring the wine. Enjoy your DvD.

    • Hi Z&M!
      I changed the one with Bertil to sienna instead of black and white so that it should look old🙂

      Let us all just hope that we will get a nice and beautiful christmas without snow or rainfall🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  9. I get the cats all mixed up…but then I mix everything up..🙂
    Yep..I would think they would eat carrots..and anything else you happen to put out. Left overs from meals…whatever.
    It would break my heart to see animals frozen to death and starved to death. I think you are wonderful to try and help them.
    The animals probably live closer in to populated area’s because of the food supply. Trash? That happens here.
    Even small animals are not safe sometimes…actually often time…and it is frightening.

    All of you photo’s are great…of course the animals one…the dogs and the cats are probably my favorites..especially when Bertil follows you on your walks. 🙂
    Did I spell the name right? As I say, I get confused.
    Take care and stay warm.
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      Like You I really don´t like to find an animal that has frozen to death just because it didn´t find anything to eat, so we do what we can to help them too.

      I think You are right that they live closer in a populated area. There´s so much more food to be found than out here in nowhereland🙂🙂

      Bertil (You did spell it right🙂 ) Rather stays at home now when we have all this snow. But my dogs just loves this weather🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  10. hi Christer!

    yes, i’m still alive! and boy am i glad to have found your new blog! thanks again for the beautiful winter photos! winter is truly wonderful! how nice to see your cat and dogs again! been away and real busy for quite a long time, so i was not able to get into my blogspot…i’ll catch up with you again…have a very Blessed Christmas!

    weena

    • Hi Weena!
      I´m so glad to see You again!
      Just this morning I was wondering if You had been unlucky in one of those storms Yo´ve had.

      Have a very blessed Christmas You too!
      Christer.

  11. Hi Christer,
    So now you are doing black and white photography, too.🙂. I love black and white but I don’t do it anymore since I no longer have a darkroom and no one around here develops film. I think I will play with my photo programs and see what I can come up with.
    I don’t know what hares eat but I would definitely throw out something for them. Maybe veggies and some good quality hay or rabbit food pellets. In my yard, however, that would most likely get eaten by squirrels and deer.
    Solstice is coming! It will be light again soon.

    • Hi Caryn!
      No not really, I just got so tired of the blue one we get here in the morning🙂🙂 I guess there will turn up more from time to time🙂🙂

      I never even thought of rabbit pellets!!!! Thanks! That and some carrots must be great for them!

      Yes only two days and solstice is here🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

      • Thought you’d like to know that the weather has finally produced some measurable snow here. Only a couple of inches so far but I guess I am not going to go unscathed through the winter after all. Oh well.

      • Hi Caryn!
        So the snow reached You too🙂 They say it will stay calm without any more snow for a day or two here now, but what do they know🙂🙂

        Have a great day now!
        Christer.

  12. Hi Christer, we tried to leave carrots and rabbit pellets for the wild rabbits that are often in our yard and garden and they would not eat either of these foods. They preferred to munch on the clover and grass. Hope you are more successful in feeding the ones at your place. ENjoyed the changeover to B&W in these photos. Glad you made it home OK in the snow. Ours is nearly gone now.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      My neighbors put out hay anf silage for the deers but it doesn´t seem like our hares likes that. I will buy some pellets and carrots when I get the time.

      I got so tired of the blkue photos I get when there´s not enough light! These photos looked so much better in B&W!

      We only get more and more snow over here😦

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

    • It´s funny really. Everyone that see Bertil loves him but he is anything but easy to love🙂🙂🙂 He isn´t cuddly for two seconds and when he is he´s still jot especially nice🙂🙂

      Take care!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

