Yulebord and vacation.

I managed to take some photographs when i came home today. I understand my camera better and better now🙂

They warned us that we would get over 8 inches of snow today and strong winds, so perhaps it would be best to stay at home from work. But I have to say that we weren´t even close to that in my area🙂 The wind was fairly strong but we didn´t get more than perhaps one inch. But I´m not complaining, we have more than enough snow as it is.

I managed to take a photo of all the stars in the sky too. Every little bright dot is a star or a galaxy way out there in the universe. I can see even more but this is what the camera managed to take. Perhaps this photo is best seen in a dark room!

We will have a Yulebord (much like smorgasbord but with only christmas food) at work tomorrow. The factory owner gives us that every Christmas, so we stop working already at lunch and after that we´ll have a small meeting and then eat a lot🙂 Typical things on a Yulebord are swedish meatballs, prince sausages, salmon, baked brown beans (very typical for this region), pickled herring (something I just can´t stand), cheese of many different varieties and lots of other things. But the most important food of them all is the christmas ham!

Christmas ham is ham put in brine for a couple of days. After that it has to be boiled or put in the owen so most of the salt boils away. After that we cover the ham with a mix of eggs, mustard ( the only time I eat mustard), some sugar and sometimes other spices too. After that we put it in the owen again and let it stay there until the mix gets a nice dark golden(depending on how dark the mustard is) crispy surface. We usually buys a too big one and eats christmas ham forever after christmas🙂🙂🙂

Next week will be short when it comes to working. Some only works three days and some four, Yet others will take the whole week of. I will work four days and after that I´ll be home for ten days taking a winter vacation🙂🙂🙂

The fox has walked along the creek on the ice.

But I´ll make lots of pots with tea and eat lots of christmas food until my vacation arrives🙂 Later on I´ll tell You about swedish Christmas traditions or I should really say Yule traditions because Yule is what we call christmas over here. I´ll try to find something new to write about for You that read my blog last year.                                                                       Have a great day now!

22 thoughts on “Yulebord and vacation.

  1. Va, gillar du inte inlagd sill och senap!? Och bruna bönor, äter folk det till jul där du bor?
    Det är rätt kul det här med lokala specialiteér. Här på Gotland äts det ju rätt mycket kroppkakor – vilket jag trodde var en öländsk specialité – och så saffranspannkaka förstås. Dessutom så finns det nått som heter “glödhoppa” som trots sitt namn är riktgit gott. Det är rimmade lammspjäll som kokas i buljong, sen tas köttet bort från benen och så smetar man in köttbitarna med senap och ströbröd och så grillar man bitarna. Jag brukar göra en fuskvariant på resterna av skinkan (för vi har också en stor en som jag kokar på det gamla hederliga sättet) och sen äter vi det till potatismos.
    Men…..sen finns det ju annat här som jag absolut inte ens vill smaka för det ser så äckligt ut; lammskalle t.ex.!

    • Tjänare Susie!
      Nä, jag kan inte med något av dem🙂🙂 Men bruna bönor vill jag inte vara utan🙂🙂 det är något som är speciellt för Västergötland har jag hört. Kroppkakor är ju populärt även i Blekinge som min släkt kommer från.

      Vissa regionala rätter vill man helst inte veta on, som lammskalle🙂🙂 Men resten lät gott om man bortser fråm senapen🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. Christer-your photos today are just so incredible-especially the first one-the lighting is spectacular-love all the shadows and silhouetts-and the night scene with the red building-just can’t stop looking at them-your winter scenes are very special!!!! Hope you have a happy holiday-Angie

    • Hi Angie!
      I´m glad You like my photos🙂 I do like the first one too🙂
      But I wish I only had too see all this snow on photos and not in the real🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  3. Simply beautiful, Christer. What would I do without my friends to share their snow with me?! I have looked forward to winter remember your photo’s from last winter.
    Thank you once again for sharing them with us. I always call my husband in to share them with him. He is from Maine though and all he says is “Very pretty, but I’m glad I am not living in it!” Silly man! 🙂
    Enjoy your tea and all that wonderful food at work..
    Mona
    p.s. where was Bertril??

    • Hi Mona!
      I really wish I could send over all this snow to You🙂🙂🙂 I can so understand your husband🙂🙂🙂

      I will enjoy all that food🙂

      Bertil prefers to stay indoors most of the time now. He is not a big fan of deep snow. He is so small that he disappears in it🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,
    You need to put the words “Don’t Panic” in large comforting letters on that photograph.🙂
    It’s funny but the Life Giver photo almost looks like the sun over the pyramids in the desert.

    Over here I watch a show called New Scandinavian Cooking and I noticed that the host seems to use a lot of mustard, rapeseed oil and apple cider vinegar. Is this a personal quirk of his or is it common custom there? Your description of the mustard-baked ham reminded me of this.
    We finally had a tiny bit of snow late last night. It stuck to the pavement for a little bit but it was all gone by morning. It was the merest dusting. I can handle that just fine.
    I bet you are looking forward to your vacation. Winter vacations are the best especially when it’s cold and snowy and you know you don’t have to go anywhere.
    Have a good day.

    • Hi Caryn!🙂🙂🙂

      Mustard is very popular over here so I don´t think it is a personal quirk. But since I don´t like it I never pay attention to food with mustard🙂🙂 One rather popuöar thing si to cover sausage in much the same mix and cook it in the oven, even I eat it then🙂

      I do look forward to my vacation! The darkness and winter is taking its toll on my now, so I think I´ll sleep through most of it🙂🙂 I wish we only hade some dusting of snow here too🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  5. Lovely photos of snow. It makes me wish I had snow here. So far only rain, although we did have a tornado,( of all things!), only a few miles away from where I live. It was scary and bizarre. We are not very used to tornados here.
    Happy Christmas feast, the food sounds delicious! I would like to taste it all, including the pickled herring. I might just like it as I love fish, and I love pickled foods too.

    • Hi Terria!
      I think snow is beautiful on photos too, but I really don´t like it in real life🙂🙂

      A tornado!! Now!! It actually happens that we get real small ones over here too, but they are usually harmless thankfully.

      TRhe food was delicious and we all ate to much as usual so now I won´t have anything this evening🙂🙂🙂 I just can´t stand pickled herring, it´s like eating raw fish.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. Hi,
    What a beautiful thing to see their stars🙂 I love to see your world, so different from mine. You always exceed themselves🙂
    I tried to take a picture of the moon yesterday at one o’clock in the midst of coconut trees but I fear it was not good. Later I put in the Face.
    I think it’s funny we celebrate every event with great food🙂
    Roast turkey, ham, nuts, crumbs with food prunes … somewhat heavy for our climate. I think these foods are perfect for you who are all in this weather🙂
    Enjoy your fellowship tomorrow:)
    kisses
    Didi

    • Hi Didi!
      I hoped that I could take a new photo of the stars tonight, but the sky is filled with clouds. I think that if I take ten photos of the moon one might be good, it is really hard!

      You are so right, all holidays we eat great and much food🙂🙂 But turkey isn´t that common over here, we swedes just don´t know how to cook it right I´m afraid.

      It was a great yulebord🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. Beautiful photos. I love the star one!
    But of course my favorites are the ones of the tree lined road and your dogs.
    We just had a little bit of snow on the ground yesterday but then blizzard warnings for overnight. I just don’t believe the weather people anymore and ignored it.
    I woke up to 5 plus inches of snow. Darn it. My neighbor had been out with his snowblower and cleared his driveway and his walk. Last year he used to go 6 feet more and do the end of my driveway….well, NOT this year!
    So I just shoveled 2 paths, one each in front of my tires and stepped on the gas and got out of my driveway. Thank God I traded in my VW Beetle and got this van!
    On the way to work, I saw 2 car accidents. One was REALLY bad and had airbags sticking out of all the windows! I hope everyone was OK. I kept moving along, they don’t need onlookers getting in the way of the firemen. I drove very SLOW!
    Take care! – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I didn´t think it was possible to take any photos of the stars and this was my first try! The second try didn´t work at all🙂🙂🙂

      No one over here believes the weathermen either🙂 I´m not sure when they were right the last time🙂🙂🙂
      I hate to shovel snow but my garage is so close to the road that I just drive as fast as I dare to get out of the garage🙂🙂

      I´ve been lucky enough not to see any car accidents for many years now and I do hope I don´t have to in the future either.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  8. Later on put up some more of those gorgeous Swedish girls singing carols. The photos today are like WOW. But I notice the creek hasn’t frozen over. So it’s not cold enough for the water to freeze there. Interesting. I can’t help but love to see the dogs in the snow. They were born in snow. So it looks. And glad you have a party then some time off. By the way, I’m glad that Union dispute was resolved. So many are buy outs, too long to pursue so the management throws a few dollars on the table and it’s done. I had to delay my closing shop early because new deals came alive. I will now close on the 20th and be off till January 3. We will be off at the same time. Enjoy your snow, the party at work, and your tea.

    • Hi Z&M!
      I´ll try to find some more girls singing for You🙂
      The photos are a couple of weeks old now, it´s pitch black when I come home from work so I can´t take any day light photos then.

      You will have a bit longer vacation than I do, but I´m glad for the time I can take🙂
      If my boys were allowed to decide they would choose to stay outdoors all the time🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  9. BRUNA BÖNOR????? Har jag aldrig sett på ett julbord:) Där ser man vad olika vanor vi har i vårt land. Vad härligt att se fram emot en sådan lång julledighet, hoppas att vädret blir fint så att du och vovvarna kan njuta ordentligt. Fast dina vovvar gillar nog vilket väder som helst har jag förstått utom heta sommardagar eller? Här drar det snart ihop sig till stora julbordet:) med barn,barnbarn och släkt och det är alltid trevligt men lika skönt när det är över:)) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Jajjamensan🙂 Fast vi hade inga idag tyvärr. Fast med tanke på hur mycket vi åt ändå så var det nog bara bra🙂🙂🙂

      Det kan vara vilket väder det vill när jag är ledig, bara jag är ledig🙂🙂 Jag njuter bäst inna i närheten av spisen🙂🙂

      Ha det gott du med!
      Christer.

  10. Hi Christer, Guess WHAT we had some snow of our own today here on the VA eastern shore. Predictions called for 2-4 inches which is such a small amount compared to your area, but a very big deal here. They cancel school even at the mention of possible snow – no kidding! And earlier this week, school was cancelled because of some black ice, which is dangerous to be sure, but it was gone within a couple of hours. We used to live in NJ where schools would close AFTER snow arrived or after a big snowstorm so this is very odd for us. Back to the snow, Grenville will be doing a post soon so you can read more about it later. I did enjoy the photos today with the “boys” in the woods and the snow-covered trees. Our little snowfall was not nearly enough to look like those scenes.

    TheYule lunch at work sounds wonderful, especially the mustard-crusted ham!

    • Hi Beatrice!
      Congratulations to Your snow🙂 Before last winter I had never heard that they ever had closed any schools here because of snow🙂 But they have already don it twice this year, mostly because the school busses won´t go in snow storms.

      The Yulebord was delicious and we all ate to much as we always do🙂🙂🙂 and we got a christmas present too🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  11. Olá Christer
    It’s simply delightful to see their photos and read their stories, especially with regard to their customs and religion, or. I find it very interesting.
    I thoroughly enjoyed the story and four candles of Advent. Next year I think of light in my house, I found uam beautiful tradition and a sensibility incredible.
    Have a Great Day
    Andréa
    P.S:And already now, thanks for the vote of Pantufa

    • Hi Andréa!
      Yes it is strange that we celebrate a catholic saint here, but we do love our Lucia🙂

      I like our tradition with the four candles too and I think there is a story to every candle too but I can´t remember it. But I never lit them, I´m to afraid of a fire. My cottage is 99 years old and made of wood🙂

      I like that photo a lot🙂🙂 I do hope You will win!
      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

