More Saint Lucia music.

 

Someone said that they had warned us on radio that we shouldn´t go to work on Thursday since the weather will be rather nasty. But when I look at the weather forecast it shows nothing extraordinary at all. We will get 10 cm (4 inches) with snow and the wind won´t even reach gale force. But to be honest, it seems we all guess the weather as good or bad as our weathermen so we won´t know until Thursday morning🙂🙂🙂

Now has the time of year come when most homes are burning down, over half of those fires happens this month and that because we forget to put out the lights in our advent candle sticks. Since they are decorated with (now) dry moss and plastic mushrooms and God knows what the fire gets an easy start. That´s why I never burns the candles in my candlestick. I live the light from candles but I´m not willing to loose my home because of that.

I have put another video down below with some more music we sing at Saint Lucia´s day (not the best quality I´m afraid). This video is filmed at Globen (normally an ice hockey arena) and almost 10 000 people are there listening to the music. The fifteen or so first second they sing a song I was forced to sing every Lucia in front of the whole school (it ends with it too), Staffan var en stalledräng (Staffan is Saint Stefanus). I hated this but back then we did what the teachers told us. I had to sing all verses though so it took a bit longer time.

The always wanted me to sing at Lucia since I was offered to sing in Gothenburg Boys Choir. But I refused because I wasn´t allowed to stand behind a pillar while singing🙂🙂 I was and has always been very shy even if few people believes that. But I learned from early age that it is better to talk like a maniac in the beginning and later on proof that I wasn´t🙂🙂 Because if I don´t start directly I don´t start to talk at all🙂🙂

Well it´s time for another cup of tea and a sandwich or two before looking at the news. They will keep on talking about that bomber for a long time I´m afraid.                                   Have a great day now!

 

20 thoughts on “More Saint Lucia music.

  1. Stunning winter photos Christer, especially the frost covered trees slightly illuminated in the weak sunlight! Loved looking at them while listening to the music! They are starting to use a lot of battery powered candles here and some even flicker light real candle light! Hopefully they will prevent alot of fires!
    I have a winter poem for you that I think you might like…I love it!

    I heard a bird sing in the dark of December, so magical and sweet to remember. We are nearer to spring than we were in September. I heard a bird sing in the dark of December.

    • Hi Chris!
      Little children use those battery powered light here too. They are great and as You say, lots of fires can be prevented!

      Beautiful poem!

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer.

    I loved the St. Lucia videos you posted…especially the one from yesterday. I think my flaxen-haired, blue-eyed beauty of a child would make the perfect Lucia…don’t you? 🙂 She is part Danish! LOL

    Hope all is going well. Your snow shots are amazing. We had blizzard like winds on Saturday night, but not enough moisture to cause too much precipitation. Only about 2 inches of snow. But it blew around making white-out conditions.

    Haven’t been able to post lately…stomach flu hit our household. First Mary Catherine last week. Now Benjamin this week. Praying the baby doesn’t get it, but the pediatrician said the best and only thing I can really do is to keep nursing him. So far he’s been healthy, but he’s sleeping a lot today…not normal for him at this age. Hmmm….

    Again, the videos were wonderful! Thanks for sharing.

    Val

    • Hi Valerie!
      She would most certainly fit as Saint lucia! Why don´t You have Your own little Saint Lucia´s day next year? I think Mary Catherine would love it and her brother Benjamin could be either a star boy or an elf or perhaps Saint Stefanus? I´ll try to find more videos of our Saint Lucia´s day and post later.

      I just heard on the weather forecast that we might get up to 8 inches of snow on Thursday and really strong winds too. So we might not be able to drive to work then🙂

      I had stomach flu two weeks ago so I understand how it must be over at Yours! I do hope the baby doesn´t get it!

      Take care now!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    Nice to see so many tributes to my beloved Santa Luzia. Even though different is beautiful. I would like to understand the lyrics of the songs.
    Today, I came home a little boring. The problems, the heat, the shoe that shook … so I sit here I read your stories, I see your photos … and ready,
    I’m a happy person again!🙂🙂
    I also learned to use this trick done talking crazy. Or run the risk of not getting out one word at my mouth :)) I turned red like a red pepper. I fought hard against shyness. It’s a tough battle …
    The pictures today are all beautiful. Can you overcome every day🙂
    Hmmm I guess I’ll let you shy talking about it🙂
    Your photos give me the feeling that the air is absolutely clean, no smell in the air. Here I am feeling the strong smell of the sea and seaweed, which at this time to fill sand.
    a great day and kisses
    Didi

    • Hi Didi!
      We love our Lucia so I just can´t understand why it isn´t a holiday!

      It is a good trick talking like mad in the beginning🙂🙂 If I don´t I just get quiet and feels uneasy.

      It´s almost right that there are no smells at all outside when it is this cold. But the pines and spruces do smell a little when coming close to them. Snow also smells something, but the best way I can describe it is that it smells dry🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  4. The music was very nice, photos much better, I stole one for my Christmas presentation I’ll do closer to Christmas Day. I’m sure you will recognize the ones I sniped. It’s now all winter days up there and here we are huddled together because our temps are 40 and the wind is blowing. We have wind chill warnings for the orange farmers who have to set out fire bugs tonight and have a crew watch them so they don’t catch fire to the orange groves. It’s time to pick oranges here, now through January so this is the profit time of the year and thanks to Global Warming we’re now having winter weather but not low enough to have snow. The Panhandle across the state had snow flurries. So your hip is fine and you work when you can, that’s good. Whatever happened to the old Union Complaint you turned over to the head union guy? I was interested in hearing more about the issue. Enjoy your tea!

    • Hi Z&M!
      Looking forward to see what photo You nicked then🙂

      Good that the orange farmers are prepared so we still can get our juice🙂 I learned that almost all orange juice comes from Florida!

      Yes my hips are great and I work full time, it´s only when I get a cold or my stomach syas good bye that I have to stay at home.

      I can tell You this much about that case that it got solved. I’m sworn to secrecy and may not speak a word of it anymore.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    Lovely photos today. I like the shelf mushroom one, too and also the 5th one from the top. Low sun, trees covered with frost and golden sunlight. Beautiful.
    I used to sing in the choir in church and at school when I was a teenager. I also sang in local coffee houses. (I was underage but no one cared.) I was also very shy but, for some reason, singing on the stage and public speaking never bothered me. Trying to be personable in small groups bothered me more.🙂
    Hope your Thursday weather does not live up to its promised forecast.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I like the mushroom but also number one. It´s something with rime I just can´t help loving🙂🙂

      I too sang in choirs, but never in any coffee shop🙂 Normally I never got shy or scared when singing solos but I remember one time when I got so nervous that muý voice jumped up one octave🙂🙂🙂 It sounded really strange🙂🙂🙂

      I´m going to watch ever weather forecast this evening, but I´m afraid it won´t start until I´m already at work.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. Christer, as always, the winter photos continue to impress me with the simple beauty you show in them – the first one and the 5th one were my favorites from today’s post. Thanks for explaining a bit more about St Lucia. Not only do fires start from candles buring but also from tree lights that can get too hot on dry indoor trees. We have a live tree with small lights and a timer to turn it on and off. And we also love candles but burn them in glass jars for safety. Like you we would not want to burn down our home.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      It is easy to take good photos when nature helps so much🙂 and I do like the first one too.

      I know that we had lots of fires because to hot bulbs in the christmas tree, but now days it seems most people have those LED lights instead so it is still our advent candles that are the biggest fire hazards here. But more should have a timer attached to their christmas lights anyway.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. How beautiful — the pix and the music. Love the golden sunlit one the best… I would guess you’re shy because so much of you comes out in your pictures… Enjoy your tea… Gotta go back to being an elf!…

    • Hi Sharlene!
      So You are an Elf🙂 It´s many years since I was that and it was then I realized children could be really nasty🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  8. Well, this morning I typed out a long comment to you and then it disappeared!?
    So, now I’m at work and I will try again.
    This time I’ll be more brief.
    Love the photos. I think that #6 is my favorite today.
    I hardly ever burn candles and only do when I put the cats downstairs and then I still place it on the stove.
    I used to be painfully shy when I was a kid. Probably because a teacher picked on me and ridiculed me and made the kids laugh at me.
    Now, I’m not at all. I could really care less. I guess that’s one of the few good things about getting older….just not caring what stupid people think.
    The weather was much better here yesterday and today it’s supposed to get warmer but then snow early this evening with 3-5 inches of snow!
    Well, I gotta get to work now!
    Take care! – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      It´s strange when comments just disappear! It happens from time to time but I just can´t understand why.

      I remember most of our teachers being just the opposite from Yours, that must have been terrible to go through as a child!
      But I´m still very shy but I always starts to talk like crazy🙂🙂🙂

      They say we´ll get up to 8 inches of snow tomorrow but I really hope they are wrong🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  9. Christer, I loved all the films. I watched several of them a couple of times because they were so beautiful. I play Santa Lucia on the piano…it’s one of my favorites.

    Your snow photo’s are just spectacular! Thanks so much for taking the time to get such good shots and share them with us..especially those of us who are wanting of snow and no chance of getting any.
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      We do love our Saint Lucia´s over here🙂 That´s the day christmas starts for us.

      It is easy to take beautiful photographs when nature helps so much🙂 We are getting more snow right now actually and I wish I could send it to You🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

