Reading while being tired.

Sometimes it can be really fun when reading a blog in another language while being really tired. I read the blog Wiccan Writes yesterday and didn´t get very far before I sort of got stuck. It wasn´t anything difficult to understand really. It said “Our dwarf alberta spruces in front of the house …”

My first thought was don´t we call them little people now days and what on earth is she doing in front of the house. Now one could think I should know what spruces are, since I´m writing about them all the time here in my blog 🙂 🙂 🙂 But my brain just didn´t work 🙂 🙂 🙂 for a while I wondered if spruces was another word for running or something like that. ” I spruces a couple of miles every day” 🙂 So in my mind I saw this little dwarf running around in front of a house 🙂

I really couldn´t continue reading with that in my head when I suddenly remembered what a spruce is 🙂 I just couldn´t stop laughing, tears flowed out of my eyes and I still laughed when I went to bed 🙂 🙂 🙂 and i still do thinking of it 🙂 🙂 🙂 and it gets even more fun if You continue to read the following words “look like little gnomes guarding our home” 🙂 That poor little dwarf  alberta 🙂 🙂 🙂                                                                   I like that blog and if You are interested in the Wiccan ways I think this is a good blog to follow!

It´s over 0C (32F) and the snow is melting rather fast with the help of a drizzle we have had all morning. If this would continue for a longer period I wouldn´t mind at all. But it will get really cold already tonight they say, so this weather is a deer killer. Already this evening the melted snow will freeze to a hard cover so that the smaller deers won´t be able to reach the grass on the ground. They are not strong enough to kick through that icy barrier.

“Our” deers will manage since they feed them all through the winter, but for those not able to get any extra food from humans the winter will be really tough. But that will help foxes to survive instead.

Since the weather behaves like it does I´ll stay indoors as much as possible. But I have to animated DVD´s to watch. One is Bolt and the other one is Up. I´ll also make lots of tea and eat those maple cookies 🙂 I think I´ll have a rather nice day despite of the weather 🙂                                                                                                                                                       Have a great day!

24 thoughts on “Reading while being tired.

  1. Jag måste nog erkänna att jag inte riktigt fattade historien:) Någonting med dvärggran eller? De båda filmerna Bolt och Up är båda bra, jag är ju en stor älskare av animerat:)) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Ja jag kunde inte komma på vad spruces är för något, utan jag läser att dvärgen alberta gör något utanför huset. Ett tag funderade jag på om det var ett annat ord för att springa eller jogga 🙂 🙂 Men sedan fattade jaf ju att det handlade om dvärggranar av sorten alberta 🙂 🙂

      Jag är också en stor älskare av animerat, så det blir en trevlig dag det här 🙂
      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. OMG! YOU are so funny! Now I am thinking about little dwarfs pretending to be gnomes, running around guarding that home! LOL! Sounds like something from the Wizard of OZ!
    Yesterday I had horrible problems with my computer here at home! It kept saying “Stack Overflow at line 0” and won’t let me do ANYTHING! I had to wait until I got to work to catch up on my fav blogs (on my BREAK of course!…tee hee) so I feel your pain about server problems. Hopefully everything will be OK today.
    I hope you enjoy your DVD’s, a friend of mine told me NOT to watch “UP” because it would make me cry. She said it was very good…but sad. Today I might watch Ironman II, I can handle stuff happening to “people” just not animals or animated old people. 🙂 🙂 : )
    Take care – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      That picture of little alberta running around like a gnome 🙂 🙂 is stuck in my head too 🙂 🙂 I still laugh when thinking of this. Life can be so funny when one is tired 🙂
      Information like the one You got really doesn´t help much either 🙂 🙂 I do hope Your computer problems goes away fast too!

      As long as it´s an animated film it doesn´t matter, except when it comes to Bambi 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    I started laughing as soon as I read the sentence because I was able to see it the same way you probably had. Actually we do use “spruce” to mean cleaning up something or doing cosmetic changes to make something look newer or better. Like applying a coat of paint to the house to spruce it up. So the Dwarf Alberta could have been fixing her make-up in front of the house. 😀
    A similar thing happened to me once when I was reading the directions on a bottle of something. I kept thinking that the writer was using very strange syntax and English obviously wasn’t his/her first language. After about 5 sentences I realized I was reading the French directions as if I were reading English. The two may be close as languages go but they are not that close. Sometimes I astonish myself. :-0 🙂
    Sorry about the deer killer weather. Freezing rain over snow cover is treacherous. You will let the deer eat your old apples, I expect, and not chase him away so quickly. Have a warm and dry day today.

    • Hi Caryn!
      🙂 🙂 🙂 fixing her make up at the same time she protects the house like a gnome 🙂 🙂 🙂 It is fantastic how fun something can become by just reading with the brain shut down 🙂 🙂 🙂
      not strange the directions were a bit odd 🙂 🙂 🙂 If I remember I´ll tell You about another thing happening to me when I was really tired long ago 🙂

      I have actually gotten some old apples from the grocery store in Gudhem (and some kiwi´s too) that I have thrown out to the deers. I´ll show some photos tomorrow.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  4. Besides reading things oddly when tired, I sometimes hear things strangely when I’m tired. Like the time someone was calling my name, Terria, but it just didn’t sound that way to my foggy brain, and I kept wondering and worrying about why they weren’t answering. Suddenly it dawned on me that it was my name they were calling. Whew! I giggled for a few moments about that one.

  5. Yes, stay with the tea, I think the blueberry soup is making you be a little funny in the head. We made up bunks for the feral family and it took one cold night for them to get the message. Now Smokie has claimed his by the bench and sleeps there all day. I wonder what we’ve done now if this continues through Summer. These are soft blankets we bought to keep the kitties warm when the temps drop into the 40’s. Oh well, guess we have to find a way for the humans to take back the porch in the summer. That’s a place where we love to gather, under cover of rain, and watch activity in the woods especially our chosen crows and squirrels. My squirrels even chansed the birds out of the bird feeder this morning when I left hardened corn bread there. Must be that they are Southern. Part of the Confederacy. Not sure I like Tea Party Squirrels. Enjoy your snow.

    • Hi Z&M!
      I´m drinking both blueberry soup and tea today 🙂
      Great that they understood so fast! But I think You can claim the porch as Yours again when summer temps comes back 🙂

      Tea Party squirrels are the worst ones 🙂 I think that´s what lives close to Kat 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. Christer, cant help it, still chuckling about the dwarf. I posted about it today, as well. Funny how the brain works at times! I am sorry to think of the deer killer weather, but I do understand the facts of nature, and survival…brutal, but still sad. We loved the movie “Up”, you will love the way the dogs act in that movie. Very funny!! Enjoy those maple cookies, maybe try to save a couple for Christmas!

    • Hi Robin!
      I´m still laughing loudly when I thin of it 🙂 🙂 If I would write that sentence in a swedish way I would write “dwarfspruces alberta” and since I was tired I was thinking only how we write in swedish, not english 🙂

      Yes, nature is brutal in most ways. It´s only we in the top of the food chain that have a tendency to believe it´s the opposite way.

      To late to save any maple cookies 🙂 🙂 🙂
      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. Happy Saturday dear Christer,

    I hooted (no I am NOT an owl) and giggled as I read through your dwarf Alberta spruce story. I loved it and am still smiling!

    My favorite photo is of the twiggy branch with stars and diamonds. Lovely!

    Sending a warm hug,

    Sharon Lovejoy Writes from Sunflower House and a Little Green Island

  8. Hi , Christer,
    I agree with you : read and write on some blog in foreign language can be tired , we that speak a language not so common in the world ( like you and me in swedish and italian ) !
    But It’ s also amusing and interesting: I discover some traditions, some countries, some people in a closer way. And the recipe why not……How can you tell me about your maple cookies ?
    Great photos today too…You are spoiling us…
    Take care
    Adriana

    • Hi Adriana!
      I was so tired when I read that blog so my brain didn´t work at all 🙂 🙂 Normally I´m rather good in english but not when I´m tired 🙂
      The internet and all our blogs are really fantastic! I would know nothing about all these people and places otherwise. But I can´t describe the maple cookies to be honest. They did taste maple syrup and there was a cream in it too but that´s it I´m afraid 🙂 🙂 I think I ate them to fast 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  9. hi christer…oh the funny misinterpretations i have had over the years with german and czech! i think that is what makes languages fun though. we are having 40 degrees here today and stink bugs are out again. what creepy bugs they are. tomorrow a huge storm comes rolling in and we will be in minus temperatures. i hope it freezes lots of bugs. glad you are enjoying the maple cookies. we used to only be able to get them in canada but now i get them here. joyce

    • Hi Loyce!
      I think You might be right there. I do these mistakes all the time when I read french and german 🙂 I´m not good in any of those languages 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Stink bugs now! But with a bit of luck these new ones won´t have the time to lay eggs before the minus degrees comes and then there will probably be less next year, lets hope so anyway 🙂 They seems to be especially nasty bugs!

      I really liked those maple cookies! I can honestly say that we have noting similar over here!

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  10. Too funny! Yes, I imagine that would be quite the picture, little dwarfs guarding one’s house! Stay inside, 32F ISN’T warm — that’s an illusion… Enjoy your soup and tea, because I know you’re going to love Up! It’s a wonderful movie and will have you smiling throughout!… Gonna check out that Wiccan site. Keep warm.

    • Hi Sharlene!
      It was really nice and warm today 🙂 🙂 But it is dropping again I´m afraid.

      I did wonder about that dwarf for a long time 🙂 🙂 The problem is that we in swedish put different words together to one, but You don´t. So it would be dwarfspruce if I wrote it in a swedish way 🙂

      I looked at Bolt today and had some problems but I´ll tell You about that tomorrow.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  11. You know, Christer, it never occurred to me that folks who speak and read in more than their own native tongue, would run into such a thing as you did with words such a “dwarf” and “spruce.” To us Spruce is a tree..or..it is used to “fix” perhaps? As in “I spuced up before company arrived”..in other words, I fixed myself up. Never mind.
    Perhaps the word “sprint” such as in running “he sprinted across the finish line”…like that? As I said, it never occurred to me that one would run into trouble with such a thing. The English language has so many different meanings for one word all depending on how it is used. Even for though it is our native language…it can get confusing for us.

    I am always reading things written in English and have NO clue what on earth they are talking about.
    I had to laugh at the little person in the front yard running around! THAT’s funny!
    Stay warm, Christer!
    Mona
    p.s. I also admire Wicca. My daughter is one. She worships (and you can call it that, but I call it paying deep homage, to the season of Earth, appreciating her for nurturing , etc. I don’t know a lot about it…but I would like to. Very much.

    • Hi Mona!
      I was thinking of english in a swedish way, that was why I didn´t get it with my tired brain 🙂 We do have dwarf spruces here too, but we put those two words together to one word. So instead of writing like You would, dwarf alberta spruces, we write dwarfspruces alberta. So that´s why I believed I read about a dwarf by the name alberta and I just couldn´t figure out what she was doing 🙂 🙂 🙂

      And poor alberta wasn´t just running around in front of the house, she was guarding it like a gnome 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

