The basket :-)

Sorry about yesterday! I sat here in my kitchen writing in my blog when everything started to behave strangely on the internet. First things got slow and I tried to download a photo, it worked after the fifth attempt but then it was impossible to put it in here 🙂 Nothing I did worked as it should so I tried explorer instead (now days I use Safari all the time) but that was even worse 🙂 🙂 🙂

Suddenly everything worked again, but only for a couple of minutes and then the internet dies totally. It was a server in my district that broke down and I think every one from here called the help centre at the same time because I had to wait for over half an hour to get some explanations 🙂 But hopefully everything will work without any problems tonight.

We stop working at 3 pm on fridays but I could stop half an hour earlier than that, so I actually got some photographs in almost daylight today 🙂 It´s cold outside and it will probably get really cold tonight because there´s not a single cloud in the sky. But who cares, it´s weekend 🙂

I almost forgot to take a photo of what that was in the basket I got from Joyce (Octoberfarm) 🙂 🙂 There were lots of yummy things in there 🙂 Two kinds of tea, Wild Cherry (of which I have a cup of by my side) and Roobios. The cherry tea brought back lots of memories, but not of tea but a special ice cream I used to but when I was a kid. It was a plastic cone filled with vanilla ice cream and in the bottom of that cone there was a big chewing gum with the taste of cherries 🙂 🙂 🙂

There were three glass jars with Holiday Jam, Wild Main Blueberry Jam and raw Tupelo honey! There was a bottle with Maple syrup (which I have become a huge fan of 🙂 🙂 ) and  bottle of Strawberry honey. I´ve never tried Strawberry honey before so I´m really curious of its taste! There were three chocolate bars, they were delicious all three 🙂 and my first ever Christmas Stocking! It is filled with one of my favorite kinds of toffee.

Bertil decided he wanted to follow us on our walk today instead of sitting indoors all the time.

There was a package of swedish gingerbreads 🙂 🙂 🙂 and a package of Dare Maple leaf creme cookies and those I´ll try on Saturday 🙂 There were some bells, we call those for Bjällror,  and that sound always makes me think of a horse and carriage during winter and there was also a glass Christmas tree decoration, but I have no idea what it might be called in english. All things is on that photo so You can understand what I mean 🙂 🙂 🙂

There was also a package wrapped in golden paper and I think I´ll save that one for Christmas, unless Joyce says it must be opened now. You see we don´t give each other Christmas presents any longer so this will be the one I have this Christmas eve. I almost forgot! There was a seed catalogue too! Seeds from Italy. I´ve looked through it and have already decided I´ll order some seeds from it later. I´ll let You know what I order later.

So now I´ll make that cup of tea and continue to put fire logs in the stove all evening 🙂 SciFi night at channel  six later on too 🙂

Have a great day now!

28 thoughts on “The basket :-)

  1. hi christer! glad you like your stuff and save the other one for christmas eve. the next package should be there by then but it isn’t wrapped inside of the package so don’t open it if you want to save it. i threw it quickly in a mailer when i realized i forgot to send it and didn’t think to wrap it. the glass christmas tree is called stained glass. i thought you would enjoy the tupelo honey. there is nothing else quite like it. so now you can enjoy your treats up to christmas. i am glad i gave you your first stocking! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      Oh yes I really like them 🙂 🙂
      Stained glass! I knew I should know the name on it 🙂 It´s hanging in my window towards the road outside now 🙂

      I´m really curios about the two different honeys, so I´ll try the Tupelo honey first!

      I´ll save the package to Christmas eve and the coming one too 🙂
      Thank You Joyce!
      Christer.

  2. Moon photos are soft and mysterious, as is the photo to the forbidden forest. Love them all, though. Lucky you to have all the great goodies from Joyce. I love to dunk maple cookies in a cup of tea! Enjoy your sci-fi Friday!

    • Hi Robin!
      I´ve just tried those maple cookies (I know I wrote tomorrow but I just couldn´t wait 🙂 ) They are delicious!

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  3. hi again…..i meant to mention the seed catalog. i have ordered from that company many times and i love their stuff. the catalog came the day i was packaging your gift so i thought i would throw it in for you to look at! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I really like that catalog! I have especially looked through the tomato and the zucchini/ winters quash part 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. Wow vilken start på helgen att kunna sluta tidigare och denna fantastiska korg från Joyce :)) Massa gotti gottgott som du kan njuta av i helgen och fram över.) Ha det gott/Monne

  5. Christer, I just read your comment on my dwarf alberta spruce, and had to come and laugh with you. Very funny mix-up!!! I am picturing my little dwarf, Alberta, running around in the snow.!!! LOL! We have five of these little trees, and they are always so nice looking, but especially in the snow! I hope they will stay put for the rest of the winter! LOL! Thanks for a great chuckle!! Robin.

    • Hi Robin!
      I´m still laughing about that 🙂 🙂 My first thought was, doesn´t we call them little people now days and what is she doing 🙂 🙂 🙂 I mean, I write about spruces all the time here but I just couldn´t figure out what it meant. So I was wondering if there was a word like sprucing and if that might be something like running 🙂 🙂 🙂 So when I realised what You had written I just couldn´t stop laughing 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. I think Joyce ought to fly over there and cook you a fine Christmas dinner. Gosh these photos make it look below zero. Like north pole weather we see on TV. I’m still caught up in the Ancient Astronauts series on the History Channel. I find some of this stuff absolutely amazing and could only have been created by people with technology know how 9000 years ago. Look around your neighborhood for some secret signs. I couldn’t sleep last night after watching it. Enjoy Joyce’s goodies and get her over there for dinner before it’s too late.

    • Hi Z&M!

      It wasn´t that cold last night actually and today it´s over 33F. It will stay this warm for a day or two they say, with more snow coming too I´m afraid.

      I hope I can buy that series on DVD later on, it sounds real interesting for a SciFi nut like me 🙂 🙂
      I do enjoy those goodies 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. Hi Christer,
    Glad that the connection issue is resolved.
    The basket was Joyce’s well-sorted 🙂 I do not know even half. But if Joyce sent it to you I’m sure everything is good.
    I love the contrast pictures in blue and yellow. The moon through the trees … I especially like to see and Bertil straight face that he does 🙂
    Enjoy their goodies!
    Didi

    • Hi Didi!
      Yes everything is good 🙂 Those maple cookies are to die for 🙂 🙂

      Bertil always looks a bit grumpy 🙂 🙂 and he never likes to cuddle except for some times around 1 am 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  8. I think you’ve been officially adopted by Joyce! What a lovely basket of goodies to make your holidays happy… The pictures are absolutely captivating…. Thanks for sharing… Enjoy your tea…

    • Hi Sharlene!
      I´ve just tried the strawberry honey, because my throat is a bit sour ( I think it is the same old cold I had a couple of weeks ago that sort of never left me) and it had a sort of even sweeter taste than other honey. It´s perfect in the cherry tea!

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  9. OH MY! You certainly did have an early Christmas! Everything looks delicious and beautiful! Very Christmas! Yep..you have been adopted! We all envy you! 🙂 You are a hard working and deserving guy…and Joyce knows it. She knew exactly what to send on such a long journey and it was obviously packaged very well!
    Merry Christmas, Christer..and enjoy your goodies!
    (I KNEW Joyce would be familiar with that spice. I learn from her all the time!)

    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      Yes I have had an early Christmas 🙂 🙂 and I still haven´t opened the wrapped present 🙂

      It was very well packaged so I don´t think anything could have been broken even if they had dropped the package from a great hight.

      I would have been surprised if Joyce wouldn´t have known that spice, she´s an expert on food and spices.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

    • We have it mostly in pastry and things like that over here, but more and more people eats asian food where they have cardamum in lots of food 🙂

      Take care!
      Christer.

  10. Hi Christer, just catching up on a couple of days of not reading blogs and not even posting on our own. The holiday treats from Joyce looked wonderful and from what you said tasted even better. What a wonderful treat for Christmas. These last couple of weeks we have been catching up on some yard work and Grenville put a new rook on the small shed we were storing our bikes in and other things. Also he decorated the outside of our house and this weekend we will decorate our indoors tree – a non-artificial one (always). This week I baked some cookies and will post those recipes soon. Enjoyed the snow photos as always – none here yet, just lots of rain this weekend so being indoors will be a good place to be. Enjoy your weekend.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      That basket was a great start of this christmas season 🙂

      I wish I could have a tree but my place is just to small. But I can bring in some spruce branches from the forest that already are cut down so I at least gets the smell 🙂

      Enjoy Your weekend too!
      Christer.

  11. I’m sorry I haven’t been around much lately, but it’s been a real busy time for me – with one thing or the other keeping me from spending time on the computer… I have missed you though…

    Your gift basket looks just lovely, and I know you will throughly enjoy everything in it!!

    • Hi Kate!
      Sometimes we just don´t have the time 🙂 and to be honest, I think it´s good if we don´t sit in front of our computers to much 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

