Snowing and smells.

It´s a bit less cold outside and snow has started to fall. With the less cold air and snow came winds also. So most of the rime has fallen of the trees here outside the forest. But the rime and snow are still laying in heavy layers on the tress in the forest and it still feels like magic reigns there.

A weak scent of hyacinth is spreading inside my little cottage, for me that´s the smell of christmas. But they don´t smell as strong as they used too because to many peóple can´t take that strong smell so they have started to grow hyacinths with weaker smell. But to be honest, what´s the use if they don´t smell? I´m going to get at least one poinsettia and at least one Azalea too, But it´s so cold outside that a poinsettia most likely will get so damaged on the way home that it will die within a week. They really can´+t take our cold weather.

The male Bullfinch is much more bright colored than the female one. Nature only needs a few males but lots of females to survive. You can see the female in the upper right corner.

I won´t have a christmas tree because my cottage is to small🙂 But I think I´ll buy a Juniper in a pot instead so I can have it on my living room table. Or perhaps one of those we call Indoor spruces (Araucaria heterophylla). It would probably like that my living room is a bit cooler.

The sun broke finally though the clouds just before it went down below the horizon yesterday afternoon.

I just noticed that Hector has taken a roll in hog shit again!!! But he did actually follow me peaceful to the shower! No fight, no struggling, just with his tail between his legs and his head almost all the way down to the floor🙂🙂 Orvar had only put his forehead in it and for that I´m happy, because he would never have followed me so calmly🙂🙂🙂

It´s time to put some more logs in the stove and to make another pot of tea. I´ll drink a lot of blueberry soup too but I have to say I´m feeling much better now. Yesterday evening I ate some solid food and I´ve had no problems at all. So tomorrow I´m of to work again.       Have a great day now!

34 thoughts on “Snowing and smells.

  1. Lite blandade dofter som sprider sig i din lilla stuga <;-) Tillhör dem som har svårt för hyacint-doften fast jag vill ändå ha den till jul…. Så jag är tacksam att det kommit de med lite svagare doft. Lukterna efter Hectors bravader är jag glad att jag slipper😀
    Här har det börjat snöa igen… pyttesmått…. blir hårda drivor av sånt va? Bara -3,5 också… men blåser inte så mycket. Imorgon måste jag åka o handla o sen är det dags o komma igång o jobba även för mig….
    Ha´t himla gôrgôtt bland dofterna
    Nina

    • Tjänare Nina!
      Det är ju skönt att man kan få mixade dofter i alla fall🙂🙂
      Visst är det bra att det kommit de som har svagare doft, men numera verkar det som om det bara finns dem.

      Samma pyttesmåa här också. Vet inte om det blir hårdare, men troligen blir det så. De kan ju packa sig så mycket bättre än det andra.

      Ni har lite kallare än här då🙂 vinden dog dessutom ut nu så det var en riktigt trevlig promenad jag just kom hem från🙂
      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. Sunshine and sunset photos are fabulous! Oh dear about the unfortunate Hog Sh** rolling incident! We dont have bullfinches in my area, they look beautiful. Enjoy your blueberry soup!

    • Hi Robin!
      I better get used to hog smells I´m afraid. They are increasing in numbers every year now.

      Bullfinches is christmas to me, they are usually on christmas cards over here🙂

      Have a great day now! Fortunately for me I love blueberry soup🙂
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    Sunshine and Sunset, definitely! Especially after all the clouds and snow. I think I might have to save those two for future reference.
    Hog scat, never! It should have been too frozen to make a mess. 🙂 Dog, rabbit and deer scat is the worst that I have and that’s bad enough. My dog doesn’t roll in it but he does like to sample it occasionally. Needless to say, he has his own toothbrush which he hates because it makes his breath smell too good.🙂🙂
    I find that the wind is usually the killer when transporting houseplants in winter. If the plant is wrapped in paper/plastic in the store, it’s okay for the trip to and from the car in blasting cold. Of course, then the dryness of the house makes them drop their flowers anyway. Can’t win. But you’ve reminded me that I need a spruce-smelling candle for the inside of the house and a nice wreath for the front porch.
    Have a great day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      Sunshine is my favorite today.
      Unfortunately the hog must have been here recently, but it was fairly easy to wash away. I just don´t understand why they think it´s so nice to roll around it it.

      We kill thousands of poinsettias every year here🙂 People just don´t wrap them properly. But if I´m quick in to the shop and quick back I might have a chance to keep them alive🙂🙂 I also want some kind of christmas smell here even if I don´t decorate especially much.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

      • I think most of us who are not super gardeners kill our poinsettias anyway. Keep it for Christmas and when it gets messy, chuck it out. The whole business of carrying them over to the next season is too much work. Putting them in a black plastic bag in a dark closet for exactly 12 hours every day. Heaven help you if you let one second of extra daylight into the bag because the plant will refuse to turn it’s decorative color. Bah! And to think they are just weeds in Mexico.🙂

      • Hi Caryn!
        So true🙂 They are hard to please those poinsettias🙂🙂 But many get them to flower every year by their windows over here and I think it is because it is so dark here for so long time of the year. I have never managed it to be honest and I always kill them after a couple of weeks when I give either to little or to much water🙂🙂🙂

        Have a great day now!
        Christer.

  4. I always have to go back and look at your photos over and over and over again. I never get tired of looking at your beautiful pictures. At first I thought I liked the one with the sun shining through the trees best but now I think my favorite is the one following it with the tall trees that are bare on the bottom and look like white “poufs” on the top. Just gorgeous!🙂
    Glad you are feeling better!
    I laughed about the Hog shit! My little dogs like to run around and try to eat each others poop! My old fat Shih-tzu Griffin, can run pretty fast when he has a “turd”-treat in his mouth! Ick!
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I´m glad You like my photographs🙂
      My favorite the one where the sun shines through the trees🙂 It sort of made me warm inside to see the sun again, even if it isn´t warming at all now🙂🙂

      And still we want those animals around us🙂🙂🙂
      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    all my compliments for your photos….your country , your way of life, so different than mine here in Italy…and all my compliments for your dogs too…
    bye bye
    Adriana

    • Hi Adriana and welcome to my blog!
      Thank You🙂

      Yes I guess our lives are rather different. If You live in southern Italy Your climate is so much nicer than what I live in🙂🙂
      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

      • Hi Christer , I don’t live in south Italy but in Tuscany however my life is very different : today very good sun and blue sky and 4° too much cold for us.Anyway this fall it’s rather raining ,and we all are waiting for sun…we have no habit to rain .
        Take care
        Adri

      • Hi Adriana!
        Tuscany! One of the places I want to see before I die!

        The weather behaves strange now days. Winter started way to early here this year and rain or snow falls everywhere! I hope You´ll get sunshine and warmer weather soon!

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

  6. I love the pictures Christer. Especially the ones with the white coated trees & gray clouds behind them. I bet you would much rather smell the hycinth than the hog shit on your dogs🙂

    • Hi Barb!
      Even I have to admit that it is beautiful here now🙂🙂

      Yes if only the hyacinth had smelled stronger🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. Christer-your photos are always so striking but I particularly love your snow, sunshine and gray sky scenes from today!! We are still waiting for our first snow this year in my part of Western Massachusetts.

    • Hi Ann and welcome!
      I was a bit annoyed because I knew all photos would be blue like so many others and then the sun broke through🙂 Suddenly it was funny to take photos again🙂

      If You want snow I hope You´ll get it, if not I hold my thumbs (for good luck) so it doesn´t fall near You🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. Hi!
    Glad you’re better. I knew that this malaise was caused by a bug in the water.
    I just got back from a long beach walk. No sunscreen as I should so I’m here means red, brown, there is always ridiculous to get burned by half🙂
    View all this snow is refreshing. And it is so immensely beautiful🙂
    Everything is lovely … birds, their children smelling snow, the sun shining on snow is a sight worth so cold:)
    When I was scrolling through the screen and saw “Sunset” … wow!
    “Like a Christmas card” is also a show together … the two boys also like … ahhh I like them all🙂 I like!
    Hector this time was ashamed of being so stinky lol I hope he wins some sense🙂
    Have a good day at work tomorrow:)
    kisses for all
    Didi

    • Hi Didi!
      I´m not sure if what I have gotten is from the water, but there is a town further north where at least 8000 people got sick by the water. For some reason they have connected the drinking water with the rain water pipes🙂🙂🙂

      It si really beautiful here now, but I´m not sure if it is worth the cold weather🙂🙂🙂 Sunset is my favorite from today.

      He doesn´t learn anything I´m afraid🙂🙂🙂 Give him a couple of weeks and he will do it again🙂🙂🙂

      By the way, have You written anything in Your blog lately? The last blog is made last October? Just so I haven´t missed anything.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  9. Hej Christer!
    Tack för att du kikade in hos mig och att du blev en följare av min blogg!
    Gillar Sunset idag och de 2 sista bilderna med de röda husen, det är Sverige för mig…
    Thanks for leaving a comment in my blog,
    regards
    liz

    • Tjänare Liz!
      Borde klickat på att bli följare för längesedan. Det hade varit så mycket enklare att hitta dig igen då när mina favoriter råkades raderas på något konstigt sätt🙂

      Sunset är min favorit, kanske för att det var då solen tittade fram🙂
      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  10. Tänk att det ska vara så härligt för en hund att rulla sig i stinkande äckligheter:) Tur att inte vi har de vanorna haha. Skönt att han i alla fall lät sig duschas:) Julstjärnor köper jag aldrig längre för även om JAG packar in dem ordentligt så har jag sett på ett ställe när blombilen kom i minusgrader och körde ut vagn efter vagn från bilen och sedan lugnt körde in vagnarna i butiken, du kan ju tänka dig hur de såg ut efter en dag.
    Hyacinter däremot köper jag i parti o minut och jag hör mig noga för att de INTE är de doftlösa som jag råkade få ett år;)) Det SKA dofta i hela huset:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Hejsan Monne!
      Ja vad är det för idé🙂🙂 Ja tack och lov att vi passerat det stadiet i alla fall🙂🙂

      Tack och lov att min grossist var redigt snabb nmed att köra in julstjärnorna! De var i kylan högst tio sekunder. Han parkerade så nära dörren att ingen annan kunde komma in, men å andra sidan höll mina julstjärnor🙂

      Jag köpte min hyacint i mataffären i Gudhem och de vet nog inte hur de doftar. Men jag är som du, det skall nästanb stinka om dem🙂🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  11. hi christer….amazing photos once again. i just love ll of them. why do these crazy pups roll in this stuff/ teddy can’t wait to roll in the stinkiest things. i bought some cheeses for my daughter’s christmas party next week and one of them really stinks. my kids were totally grossed out and the smell was driving teddy crazy. it was driving me a bit crazy too. i love stinky cheese. the stinkier the better. my dad raised me eating limburger so i guess that’s where it came from! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I have no idea what drives them to do like that, it´s not especially nice🙂🙂🙂

      Stinky cheese are the best🙂 I love Havarti for example and now during winter I can have it in my cellar so it can smell as much as it wants🙂🙂🙂 We all love strong cheese in my family, but only my mother and I love the smelly ones🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  12. Hi again!
    I forgot to mention that the photo of the head of the blog is also beautiful🙂
    Christer lately I do not know what to say in my blog. They are 3 years of blogging and think it happens, is not it?
    I have posted photos only on Facebook, and sometimes I think of you. You might like to see photos of sun, sand, ocean and heat to vary its cold🙂
    Of course, my pictures do not have the same grace of his … I see the sunset so beautiful shot and when he leaves the picture …is silly. The sun is no fun.
    Of course, I’m not very good photographer and the machine is weak –
    I’ll play half the blame on the machine🙂
    If you wish to see, you know me at Face because you have my email.
    by now you and the boys should be sleeping so good night!

    • Hi Didi!
      That happens sometimes when we blog, we think we already had said all that we can think of🙂 That´s why I take every wednesday of and also have a short break in summer. I need to clear out my head and restart it sometimes🙂🙂🙂 Now I know that nothing is wrong with the address, it has happened before when a friend had written several weeks and it didn´t show when I looked there.

      I would love to see Your photos! I tried to search You on Fb via Your mail but got nothing. So I´ll mail You later today so I can get Your full name and find You on FB🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  13. Christer, you may not enjoy the cold weather and snow, but you sure do go out with the boys and get some terrific photos. I can almost feel the winter weather just by looking at them. It’s hard to pick out a favorite because I like too many. I enjoyed yesterday’s post where you talked about getting a new dog and your reasons for not getting some types.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      If these two gets bored they are just impossible to have indoors. So they sort of force me to tale all those walks🙂🙂

      I think it is important to really think through what kind of dog that fits best. Unfortunately that doesn´t mean that it will be right when that day comes anyway🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  14. Lol. Your pictures are beautiful. I got a hardy chuckle from the poor pups issue. My puppy will allow me to put her in the tub but she will run and hide if Im not careful. She is scared of water. I bet your dogs smelled pretty bad from that experience.

    I am not sure I will get a christmas tree either due to stuff. I don’t really have anyone to have it for but myself and the poochie. She would probably want to pull it down and investigate it fully. I can just see it now.

    Thanks for the wonderful snow pictures.

    Chelle

    • Hi Chelle!
      I can´t for my life understand my dogs fear of water. more than half of them are waterdogs🙂🙂🙂 They have no problems with snow or mud though🙂🙂🙂

      I would like to have a tree but my home is just to small and like You I can see what the dogs and cats would do to that poor tree🙂🙂🙂 But I will try to find a juniper to have instead.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  15. I’ve saved the 5th picture from the bottom for my desktop; I absolutely think it’s postcard-worthy.
    How are the cats doing? Staying warm, I hope. They must not go outside too often these days.
    When you speak of rime, what do you mean?

    • Hi Perovskia!
      I´m glad You like that photo🙂
      Teodor and Bertil is doing fine but they prefer to stay indoors when it´s so much snow outside. But like my dogs they get impossible when they don´t get out so Usually I toss them outside from time to time🙂🙂

      Rime seems to be the british english word for frost work.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

