This and that.

The sun doesn´t go much higher in the sky now.

It seems the weather has problems deciding what to do. On one side of my cottage the sun shines but on the other it snows 🙂 At first I thought it was the weak wind that blew the rime from the surrounding trees, but it is actually snowing 🙂 It looks like all weather forecast sites has problems deciding the weather right now. Yesterday none of them said we were getting more snow for some time now, but now some of them predict that we´ll have more snow later today 🙂

Twitter is big everywhere now and most of the time nothing special happens, but sometimes things just goes wrong 🙂 Like yesterday. People that follows Twitter on the Norwegian bank Sparebank 1 could yesterday read that the bank wished the streetcar services in Oslo would die. The message said: “Die streetcar service in Oslo, DIIIIE”

Well the bank has no wish like that at all but one employe that had had some troubles with the streetcars that morning had updated his Facebook status, which is connected to the banks Twitter account (his job is also to put info on the twitter account too) and he had forgotten to shut down the Twitter part 🙂 🙂 So when he updated his status on Facebook it automatically got out on the banks Twitter account too 🙂 🙂 🙂 (after what I read in the newspaper this is common to have it like that).

But instead of trying to cover up everything many bank employes spread it on their blogs and also put in an excuse to the streetcar service in Oslo. By being open with it the bank seems to have gotten a lot of goodwill´:-) 🙂 Another bank story where the bank didn´t get any goodwill is about my bank.

A young man got his bank card stolen and lost some money and did what he must do when this happens. Here the story could have ended because this happens all the time, but it continued. The thief gambled on a gambling site with his money and won 33 000 swedish kronor (around 4500 US dollars) and gave 30 000 swedish kronor to the man he stole the card from by making a deposit into his account!!!

The young man asked the bank if he could keep the money and they said it was ok but they would take 7000 Swedish kronor (1000 US dollars) for some reason I don´t understand. When six months had gone they suddenly had changed their minds, so they deposited 7000 S. kronor in the mans account and took the rest from him!!!! The bank (Swedbank, unfortunately my bank) had realized that they could do so according to the deal they have. AFTER SIX MONTHS!!!! I have always felt that banks are legalized organized crime and now they are bold enough to show it in public!

The wind is getting stronger now and the rime is falling of the trees. I´ll take a little walk later today and I do hope some rime will be left on the trees because they look so beautiful then. But first I´ll have a pot of tea and then a small nap besides my dogs in my bed 🙂       Have a great day!

28 thoughts on “This and that.

    • Tjänare Tyra!
      Ibland skulle jag dock vilja få bort lite av det blå, men det går inte vid den tiden på morgonen har jag märkt, snön får helt enkelt allt att bli blått innan det blir riktigt ljust 🙂

      Ja den norska banken gjorde ju på rätt sätt. Jag undrar bara hur han som postade det hela känner sig nu 🙂 🙂 🙂
      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  1. Hi!
    Christer Good morning, his world of Narnia is still a wonderful show 🙂
    The photos of the boys is great! They are beautiful, cheerful, and energetic 🙂
    Banks? Ahhhh I get the feeling that it is better to keep the money under the mattress 🙂
    kisses
    Didi

    • Hi Didi!
      Yes Narnia is still here 🙂 and I´m afraid it will stay all winter too 🙂 🙂

      Orvar and Hector really loves this weather and I almost have to force them inside 🙂 🙂
      Banks can´t be trusted, they have shown that so many times now, so I guess Your right. I´ll have to get a bigger mattress 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  2. 🙂 🙂 🙂 🙂
    I LOVE LOVE LOVE that last photo of the dogs romping in the snow!!!!!
    I also adore the very last one too. Looks like a Christmas card!
    I agree about banks! I used to work at one years ago and I hated every moment of it. It went totally against everything I am. I hated how they treated people who were struggling and yet catered to the rich and powerful. That job sucked the joy out of my life. I now have my pennies at a credit union and if I ever had any real cash, I agree with Ana, I’d probably hide it. But I’d maybe hide it under Blue’s mattress instead! Ha! Ha! 🙂 Stay warm! I’m getting ready to leave for work and the weather guy is saying that it’s supposed to be very cold and start snowing this afternoon up to 6 inches. Grrrrrrr! I’m not looking forward to that! I HATE shoveling!
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      My boys just loves this weather and they had so much fun 🙂 🙂 In some places the snow was so high that they almost disappeared in it 🙂 🙂 🙂
      I think it´s the next to last photo I like best today, I see my own cottage to much I think 🙂 🙂

      I can understand how You feel about banks! Over here there´s an Oligopoly. Very few banks that doesn´t have to compete with each other!!! They can be how nasty as they like because the other banks are that too! So we have no other choice but to stay in the ones we already have I´m afraid.

      6 inches! A bit to much to get at the same time. Drive carefully and take care out there!
      Christer.

  3. Interesting bank stories. Sometimes true stories are indeed stranger than fiction. As always the snow and frost photos are stunning. And great pix of the dog race. your boys are such fun guys!

    • Hi Robin!
      The Norwegian story is a bit fun though 🙂 🙂 Poor guy, I wonder how he feels right now. But I´m sad to say that I´m not surprised about how my bank behaved! To be honest, I think my bank is scum and totally incompetent!

      My boys had so much fun in the deep snow 🙂 🙂 Some places had so much snow that they almost disappeared in it 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  4. Här snöade det lite i natt o nu ligger det snö på grenarna…. men rimfrosten har ramlat av….. Men det har slutat blåsa o är -7,8, dimman är tät över Kinneviken o världen ser väldigt grå ut……
    Betydligt vackrare på dina bilder 😉
    Ha´t himla gôrgôtt
    Nina

    • Tjänare Nina!
      Kom lite snö här också, men bara precis så mycket att det täckte de gamla spåren som redan fanns där.
      Dimman kommer och går här, men just nu ser jag solen sakta gå ned 🙂

      Ha det gott du med!
      Christer.

  5. dear Christer,
    the first photo is gorgeous
    i would make it my Christmas card cover if i hadn’t bought cards already
    it is so beautiful
    thank you so much for sharing so much of your life with all of us!
    i appreciate everything you share with us all
    enjoy your day!

    xoxoxoxoxox

    • Hi Splendid!
      I like that photo too, but I think the next to last is my favorite for today.

      I´m having fun doing this, so no need to thank me 🙂
      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. Dina bilder är så otroligt vackra! Bilden när hundarna springer mot dig är ljuvlig:) Håller med dig om att träd och buskar blir så vackra med rimfrost här är det dock inte så mycket kvar. Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      De hade det så roligt där ute i snön, själv tyckte jag mest det var jobbigt 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Visst blir träden så otroligt vackra med rimfrost på! Vinden lugnade sig här så det mesta är kvar trots allt 🙂

      Ha det gott du med!
      Christer.

  7. Hi Christer,
    Hard to pick a favorite photo today! The first one, definitely. The next to the last one definitely. The ones of the boys running joyously down the snowy lane, definitely. As I said, hard to pick. 🙂 Narnia may be cold but it sure is beautiful.
    Enjoy the rest of your day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I´ve noticed that we both have much the same taste when it comes to photographs 🙂

      Yes it is really beautiful here now, but I always have to keep my eyes open if the White Witch should arrive 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  8. hi christer! what exactly is rime? i’ve never heard that word before. i love seeing the boys running in the snow. sometime could you take a video of them in the snow. i would love to hear them too. i bet they get really tired after all that running! who snores louder? you or the boys? joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I had to check with google for other worths than rime and google came up with Frostwork, hoarfrost, frost and rime. So it´s the white thick frost You can see on all trees in my photos. I guess rime is the british english word since that was what I learned in school.

      I´ll charge the batteries in my old camera so I can make a video with them, my new camera can´t make videos. They are usually quiet when I´m around but Hector does talk a lot when he is waiting on me to get all clothes on so we can go out 🙂 🙂 I´m the loud snorer here 🙂 But I was real quiet compared to old Erna, she snored really loud 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  9. Your pictures get better and better the winter scenes today are just stunning and your blog is always a pleasure to read. Enjoy your tea and stay by the stove and soon spring will come.

    • Hi Woody and thank You 🙂
      I´m just about to make another pot of tea and the stove is making my little cottage warm and nice 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  10. The doggy photos beat the bank stories but they are interesting. I don’t understand how a bank can attach their grubbie hands to anything won at a gambling table. But alas, I’m at a loss to explain why our banks now have to take back a Trillion in bad paper, loans they made in 2005. The Germans want it and apparantly are due it. 2011 will have us all watching the banking crisis here. Well then we have the new Barbarians who are now inside the Congressional fence. To watch that will also be interesting but probably same old gridlock for our bank bought representatives. It’s going to be a bad year here in the States. I can feel it. Colder than these pictures show but they are all really good shots. Enjoy the doggie nap.

    • Hi Z&M!
      Those dog photos came out rather good and I could have posted all of them but that would have taken up way to much space I´m afraid 🙂

      I can´t understand how banks can behave like they do at all! But I guess the huge crisis that is going on here in many countries in Europe forces them to behave like they do. Lots of countries over here are more or less bankrupt now! Unfortunately this will affect You too and that´s not good since the US is the engine of the worlds economies. Things will get bad, more than it is now I´m afraid. But those responsible for it will probably get rewarded in one way or the other.

      But until then, have a great day!
      Christer.

  11. Christer, that makes me SO mad. Bank of America here in the States has jerked my poor children around with their home…until they realized what was happening…that they could sell everything they owned, borrow from relatives thinking they would sell their home and pay them back..when in fact the bank had NO idea of rewriting the loan at all.
    I hate banks~!! Especially of late.
    That man that the bank screwed…wish he could sue them…or something!!
    Take care, Christer!

    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      We have very much the same thoughts about banks 🙂 Unfortunately it´s very little use to sue over here. The worst the bank would be hit with would be a slap in the face. It´s nothing like what can happen in the US I´m afraid. So they can carry on like they want to.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  12. hi christer…today’s photos are so wonderful that i had to come home for a second look! interesting to learn rime as a new word. they say the eskimos have hundred’s of words for snow. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I´m glad You like them 🙂
      I wouldn´t be surprised if that´s right about the eskimos. There are so many different types of snow to be honest 🙂
      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  13. Christer, I have so many favorite photos in today’s post and kept thinking how wonderful many would look on a holiday card or just a seasonal greeting. We don’t see snowstorms like that here on the VA eastern shore. When we get snow it’s never a lot and melts very quickly afterwards. We do miss the snow we used to get when living in New Jersey. But there you had to shovel and here we can just wait until it melts, but we never do and go out a shovel the back porch and front porch anyway. Glad to see Orvar and Hector having such fun. Enjoy your weekend!

    • Hi Beatrice!
      I think I would like a climate like You have. I think I even would enjoy shoveling snow too then 🙂 🙂

      Those two just loves this weather and would probably have stayed outdoors if it was up to them 🙂 They are not happy when I force them to go inside again 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

