Not the best of mornings :-)

The sky was clear and the air was cold this morning, -26C (-15F).

Once again I´m here writing on a Wednesday even though I´ve decided it is my day of from blogging. I woke up at 5 am and felt relaxed, didn´t care that the temperature outside had dropped to -26C (-15F) and thought the morning was quite nice. That was until I felt the huge amount of gases I had to let out. I didn´t make it in time to the bathroom🙂🙂🙂

It got difficult to see the neighbors and it´s not even 100 meters (about the same in yards) to them.

In between these attacks I feel rather fine to be honest, but I do not dare to drive to work or take any longer walks than to my mailbox to get my morning paper🙂🙂🙂

It´s not easy for the birds to keep warm now. I think I´ll take a big chunk of pork out of the freezer and put it in the oven so the birds can get the fat from it.

Even the spruces are covered in rime.

It was a clear sky when I went up and I looked at the stars for a long time, it was really beautiful. But then the fog came in and it got beautiful in another sort of way. Since there thankfully is no wind at all I thought the fog would stay all day, but now I can see the sun breaking through it. It will be a fantastic day but I´ll have to enjoy it looking through my windows. Even if I would have been able to take a walk I wouldn´t, it´s to bl…y cold outside.

I looked towards my neighbors when we went to the mailbox. It does look beautiful even if I do hate this weather!

We did however go to the mailbox to get the morning paper and during that walk (around 300m in total, the same in yards) the fur got white on my black dogs🙂 The cats simply refused to even come close to the door🙂🙂🙂 Bertil is at the moment sleeping by the kitchen window just over the radiator🙂🙂🙂

Smoke came out of my chimney as we were outside getting the morning paper, but it´s hard to see here in this photo.

There´s a fire in the stove and I´ll make lots of pots with tea. I guess I´ll read a lot since there´s mostly garbage on the tv.                                                                                                     Have a great day now!

 

26 thoughts on “Not the best of mornings :-)

  1. Hi!
    Christer … -26C? I think not even in my freezer not so cold. That’s really damn cold! At least it’s beautiful to see🙂 I know this should not comfort but … is really cute🙂
    You spoke of a malaise of winter … that’s what you have?
    I also woke up at 5 o’clock in the morning with the sun all in the house now … with lots of light and heat! Do not complain more the heat when i see you turning ice cream🙂
    Orvar and Hector do not seem to bother to turn ice cream🙂
    I always learn something new from you … pork fat for birds? I would never think about it🙂
    Have a nice day and wish you feel better.
    kisses!
    Didi

    • Hi Didi!
      My freezer is a bit warmer too actually🙂🙂 But this is a perfect day to defrost the freezer, I´ll just put all things in it outside in plastic bags for a couple of hours. But I do have to keep an eye on my dogs if they are outside at the same time🙂🙂

      I don´t have that disease I wrote about yesterday, I don´t feel sick but my stomach has died I think🙂🙂 The one I wrote about includes lots of throwing up too.

      Orvar and Hector loves this weather and they show that they think I´m boring that doesn´t take them for a long walk in this wonderful weather🙂🙂

      Pork fat is perfect for birds! Helps them to keep them warm these cold days and most birds loves it. I have a huge piece of pork defrosting at the moment but it will take hours before I can do something with it.

      Have a nice day too!
      Christer.

  2. Vackert…. ja, inte magflunsan då utan rimfrostbilderna….. Tror jag har ännu mer av den varan här…. Blir väl lite fukt från Vänern även hit upp kanske….
    Får masa mig ut o hämta tidningen o fylla på foderautomaterna åt fåglarna😉
    Krya på dig så du får´t himla gôrgôtt igen
    Nina

    • Tjänare Nina!
      Visst är det vackert! Bara synd att det måste bli så vansinnigt kallt alla redan!

      Har precis satt upp en tjock svål at fåglarna så de kan få lite extra energi till natten!

      Ha det gott, det har jag mellan varven här🙂
      Christer.

  3. Det är pest att få magsjuka, men det är ju tur att du inte är dassig hela tiden;)) Hundarna ser helt underbara ut med rimfrost i pälsen. Förstår att dina katter inte vill gå ut, mina sitter framför altandörren (altanen är innätad) och vill ut men när jag öppnar så ryggar de förskräckt tillbaka och tittar anklagande på mig haha. Ha det gott och krya på dig/Monne

    • Hejsan Monne!
      Just när magen börjar köra på är det inte så härligt🙂 Men mellan de varven mår jag rätt fint trots allt.

      Måste erkänna att jag just nu slängt ut katterna en stund, det är ju bara minus tretton just nu🙂
      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  4. OH MY! So sorry to hear about your “gases”! Have some tea and toast, maybe that will settle your tummy!🙂
    That first photo of the crescent moon is amazing!
    And of course I adore the dog photos.
    Try to stay warm and feel better soon!🙂 – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I´ll survive but thank You🙂
      Tea and toast is what I´ve been eating today, so now I´ll have to bake because I´m out of bread soon🙂🙂

      It was a beautiful but deadly cold this morning🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    Sorry to hear about your stomach trouble. You must have forgotten to knock on wood when you said you didn’t get the winter sickness so the house elves or whatever they are decided to remind you.😉 Or it could simply be that the drastic change in temperature has messed up your system. Happens to me sometimes.
    Beautiful photos today. Frost and rime always make everything look magical. Ice storms can be dangerous and destructive but they make everything so beautiful when the sun shines on the ice-covered world.
    Drink some tea, get some rest, enjoy the warmth of the house and get well quick.

    • Hi Caryn!
      No I forgot to knock on wood🙂, but this isn´t the thing I wrote about yesterday because that involves throwing up too. I´m so happy that I don´t have to do that anyway🙂🙂

      We almost never have the ice storms like the ones I´ve seen on photos from Your continent. I have to say that even if it looks beautiful after one of those I´m glad we don´t have it here🙂🙂

      I´ve had lots of tea all day and now I´ll have to bake a bread so I can have tea and toast tomorrow too🙂
      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Good grief, Christer, if it isnt one thing it’s another! Sorry to hear about your ailment, must be terrible. And so dreadfully cold! It was almost 60 degrees Fahrenheit this morning here! Really weird! But the wind is blowing, the rain is pouring and the temps are supposed to drop this afternoon. Get better quick, and act like a cat..curl up on the radiator and sleep!

    • Hi Robin!
      It´s always something going around here🙂 The strange thing is that in between I feel just fine, but I´ll stay close to the bathroom🙂🙂🙂

      I´m not sure about curling up on the radiator though🙂🙂🙂 But I have had a fire in the stove all day and I´ve enjoyed every second of it🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. The dogs live for that cold weather, can you tell. They look so happy and content. Cats, no. Our’s won’t go out on the porch when it drops overnight into the 50’s. Funny! They’d never make it over there. Enjoy your tea and thanks for posting today. That’s a rare treat for us.

    • HI Z&M!
      My boys loves this cold weather, they are a big part New Foundland and have that thick under coat like those dogs have. This is their temperature so they look a bit annoyed when I want to go inside🙂🙂

      Feral cats has big problems surviving a winter over here, most of them freeze to death unless they can´t get inside somewhere and hide during the coldest period.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  8. Wow it really gets cold over there I am so glad our winters are not like that. However I can see the beauty in your pictures. There is just something about a frosty morn that looks so nice especially when looking out the window or at a picture.

    • Hi Woody!
      This isn´t the common temperatures we usually have now, they stay closer to 32F than this. But this year it has started really early.

      Evan I must admit that it is beautiful outside now, just a shame it has to be so cold🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Olof.

  9. hi christer…..HA!!! you finally got the boys back by getting your own gases!!! wonder how they liked it coming in their direction? we had our first snow today and i am starting to decorate. take it easy and i hope you feel better! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!🙂🙂 Yes I really did🙂🙂 and they probably liked it🙂🙂

      I haven´t even put up the star of advent in my window yet nor the advent candlesticks. Must do that tonight or tomorrow morning.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  10. I’m so glad it’s you and your dogs enjoying the walk to the mailbox, instead of me! I’m getting cold just looking at those great pictures. Enjoying your hot tea and keep yourself warm…

    • Hi Sharlene!
      Well, the walk is short so the risk of freezing to death was low🙂🙂
      I´m drinking gallons of tea🙂
      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  11. Christer, hope you are feeling better and no further attacks – it’s odd how these can come on so fast and then you feel OK. The snow photos are wonderful (as always). I would have had to order holiday cards with so many of these – maybe you can save them for next year – just a thought. I finally did order some prints to use on my holiday cards and will hope for the best because I did this in a rush since I am so far behind because of our recent travelling. I considered not sending out any cards this year, but I do enjoy writing them. If you send your address, I would be glad to post one to you too.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      It comes and goes but I feel I have control over them now🙂
      Yes it is strange! I felt absolutely perfect until it hit. Not like a cold than one can feel sneaking up non you🙂

      There will be more photographs till next christmas, so there´s no use saving any now🙂 I didn´t send any cards for several years, but started again last christmas again.
      I´ll mail You my address later today and then You can mail me Yours so I can send You a card too!

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  12. Lovely pictures though I have to say I am not a cold weather person. Give me green grass, flowers, birds and sunshine anyday. Bertle sounds quite comfy. I pup is currently curled up on my rug right now thinking why won’t you pay attention to me. She never seems to get enough scratching and petting. Your black dog is very pretty. Keep warm!

    • Hi Chelle!
      I´m not a winter person either, I really dislike this weather. But even I have to admit that it gets beautiful when it gets this cold🙂

      All my pets are like that too, can never get enough, but I usually tells them that I only have two hands🙂🙂

      Have a great day my friend!
      Christer.

  13. Well, dear friend, I doubt you are alone in your “gas” and running to the bathroom. I have been hearing such things from other people I know. However…how the heck did it get to Sweden?!🙂
    Take an Imodiem (sp?) and see if that helps. It’s great stuff!
    Enjoy your tea and stay close to the potty…lol

    Love your photo’s…looks colder than…than…look COLD!
    Enjoy your tea…
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      You know how it is, if things gets popular over at Yours it´s bound to come here too🙂🙂🙂

      I have another kind of pill than Imodiem but it is a bit too good🙂 so I don´t dare taking that🙂🙂🙂

      Belive me, it was colder than ……🙂🙂 much warmer today though, 11F, almost summer temps in comparison🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

