I think they might have guessed right.

I was planning on walking down to the creek this morning, it´s usually quite beautiful there when the snow has been falling for some time. It was slightly less cold and it looked like the wind had calmed down some too. But I did put on double socks and found my old wool scarf too just in case.

We had barely left the cottage when the snow started to fall and I noticed that the wind wasn´t gone at all, on the contrary it was even stronger than before but came from the right direction so I couldn´t feel it around my home. So we went in to the closest part of the forest instead where the winds couldn´t reach us. In there I realized that we´ve gotten around 30 cm (12 inches) of snow and the winter just seems to continue to fill my neighborhood with more and more of this white garbage.

Earlier this year some polish weathermen predicted that this winter most probably would become the coldest one in a thousand years and at the moment it looks as if they were right. But it has happened before that the winter started this early, just to die totally a couple of days before Christmas and that´s what I´m hoping for🙂🙂🙂

Today is the first of Advent and that´s kind of big here in Sweden. Our Christmas stars are hanging in our windows spreading their gentle light and so does the Advent candlesticks too. I haven´t done that yet but this year I´ll have the star in my kitchen window and maybe one advent candlestick in my living room window. I will also put one advent candlestick in the garage window, I think that´ll look nice.

Most of us also have candlesticks decorated with moss and perhaps some small toadstools in plastic and with four stearin candles in it. Today the first candle is lit and only one candle will be lit all this week, next sunday the next candle will be lit together with the first one and so on until Christmas (I forgot to decorate mine and now it is a bit hard to find moss under all snow, but I might get out to collect some lichens instead so I can show You how it looks tomorrow). This is also the day when most people goes to church because today they sing most of our favorite hymns.

I however will stay at home, I´m not getting out in to the traffic in a snowstorm if I really don´t have to. I´ll stay at home, make lots of pots with tea, put lots of fire logs in the stove, have some breakfast that I have forgotten to eat, take a nap, take a couple of walks with my dogs and watch tv I think🙂                                                                                                       Have a great day now!

16 thoughts on “I think they might have guessed right.

  1. Idag yr snön runt knutarna men det är inte mycket snö vi har fått här hos oss ännu:)) Det som kommer ovanifrån idag är inte mycket till snö heller men det är ju så pass kallt att det lägger sig:( Det verkar som om vi här har klarat oss bra från snökaoset som det rapporterats om lite överallt, men vi kommer nog inte undan så länge till. Ha en fin 1:a advent/Monne

    • Hejsan Monne!
      Det ser nog värre ut med snöfallet än det är, vinden hjälper till med det🙂 Men det är skit att det skall hålla på så här redan!

      Ha en trevlig advent du också!
      Christer.

  2. Brrrrr! The snow pix with Orvar and Hector really made me get the full coldness of your weather! For a moment, I could smell it! Thanks for sharing. Your day sounds so inspiring, I may follow suit… Enjoy your tea and the warmth of the fire, and come visit when you can… Oh! Today, would be a good day for a nice thick stew, too!

    • Hi Sharlene!
      It´s nasty out there now because the snowfall has increased in strength. I don´t think we´ll take any more walks today.

      I will enjoy my day but I was more in the line for some soup🙂 I´ll have to check what I might have in the freezer🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  3. hi christer…..Brrrrr…it sure looks cold there. we always had advent wreathes when i was young. somewhere buried in all of my xmas decorations i have some swedish advent candles too. your day sounds like the perfect day to me. stay warm and enjoy your breakfast! it is 20 degrees here! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      So the temperature is dropping over at Yours to now. I can take low temperatures but I really don´t want all this snow and the wind makes it just awful outside now. So for the rest of the day I´ll do nothing🙂🙂

      I was thinking of making a wreath today, but the snow makes it impossible to get any spruce branches. Since they have cut down so much forest I would easily get how much of that as I wanted otherwise.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,
    Now, if I weren’t a regular reader of your blog, I would be surprised at your surprise that you have so much snow. The general perception is that Sweden is covered with snow and populated with reindeer.🙂
    We used to do an Advent Wreath in my old church. It was a nice tradition although now I think it would remind me that I didn’t have much time left to get ready for Christmas.
    Anyway, I would come over to see what is behind the magic tree but I don’t like the snow either. Fortunately I have a short-legged dog who was born in Puerto Rico so, while he likes snow, he’s too little to make much headway in it🙂🙂
    Hole up inside the cottage with lots of hot tea, a warm fire and a good book or movie.
    The snow will go away, I hope.

    • Hi Caryn!
      It is a bit early with this much snow already and before last year we had ten warm winters, here in southern Sweden that is. Further north they always have real winters. I have actually see reindeers once🙂🙂 but that was almost as north as one can come here🙂🙂

      It snows even worse now so I won´t get out until I have to! If the weather is as bad as it is now tomorrow morning I won´t go to work at all!

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  5. The photos are beautiful to look at but I’m glad we don’t have all that snow!
    I realize that it will come eventually and I have to say that I’m dreading it. I hate shoveling (I actaully have a friend who says she enjoys it! and I tell her to drive over here but she never does!) anyway…
    Have some tea and soup, stay warm and be careful of those candles! (I don’t burn candles when my cats are prowling around the house!- sometimes I put them downstairs so that I can enjoy the fragrance but they get mad and “bang” on the door!)
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      Anyone who says they like snow shoveling lies🙂🙂🙂 I honestly can say that I hate it🙂🙂
      I never burn candles any longer, not with two cats, two dogs and a 99 year old cottage made of wood🙂🙂 :-)But I have the same ritual every year replacing the moss in the candlestick🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. Your trees are wonderfully snow-covered, and I am glad your two boys have so much to explore in the woods. I think we will all keep your magic place a secret, since we would hate to see your forest ruined by the onslaught!! Cold here too, in the Syracuse, New York area, but still no snow! Thank you for your well-wishes on my blog. My illness is steadily going away! Enjoy your day!

    • Hi Robin!
      Congratulations to winning the giveaway over at Octoberfarm!
      Yes lets keep it a secret, We have way to many crazy people here during spring when they watch cranes🙂🙂🙂

      I´m glad that You are getting better!
      Christer.

  7. Glad advent på dig Christer!
    Du bjuder på härliga naturbilder som vanligt.
    Här på Västkusten kan vi inte minnas att vintern skulle ha börjat så här tidigt som det är i år. Visst har vi haft vintern på gästbesök någon gång tidigare om åren, men den har som regel stannat max en vecka för att sedan återgå till det “normala”.
    Utsikterna för mildare väder tycks dock ligga långt borta den här gången. Det känns riktigt jobbigt att tänka sig att detta håller kanske i sig till april – typ…:(!
    Vilken tur att vi har varandra i bloggvärlden då!? :))!/Anja

    • Hejsan Anja!
      Det var tyvärr inte speciellt härligt att ta bilderna i det vädret🙂🙂 och idag kom den verkliga kylan😦 Redan minus elva här och det är ju inte ens kväll än!

      Det är ju ett helt annat klimat här än vid kusten, så detta har jag varit med om förr. Ibland går vintern ut hårt bara för att totalt dö ut runt jul. Jag hoppas verkligen det blir så denna gången!! Men jag får väl välkomna dig till min klimat verklighet då🙂🙂🙂

      HJavisst är det tur att vi har varandra🙂
      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

