A walk in a winter wonderland.

My cats refuses to go out and my dogs didn´t want to get in after our walk. It was -10C (15F) when I got up this morning and it isn´t much warmer now. We walked in to the forest and bof because the arctic winds are worse than nasty at the moment and the only place to stay out of it outside is in the forest.

The winds have spread the snow very unevenly so in some places it´s just an inch or so (two centimeters or so) but in other places it´s up to half a meter ( half a yard). But I would guess that we´ve gotten around 20 cm (8 inches) in average. To go out on the bog now would be suicide more or less, but even in places one could think it was fairly safe one can be surprised.

It was here that I just sunk down into the ground🙂🙂

We were walking along a creek where the forest machines had sunken down rather deep when they were here some weeks ago and I walked so far from those places that I could. But suddenly my left leg sank down through half a meter (half a yard) of snow and then continued down in to slippery mud🙂 I´m glad that my other leg got stuck on the frozen ground just beside🙂🙂🙂

Hector came too see why I made all that noise🙂

It took some time to get my foot up out of that muddy mess and I´m so happy that my new rubber boots is rather tight around my ankle, if not I´m pretty sure it would have stayed in the mud🙂🙂🙂 Well, now I know where I won´t walk next time anyway🙂🙂

I forgot to buy more sunflower seeds yesterday so I can´t fill the feeders more than once today and one time tomorrow. But there´s still lots of apples in my apple trees and my neighbors feeds them too so they´ll survive until Monday afternoon without problems. But I do feel sort of guilty not remembering that🙂

The forest machines made new roads to walk on so now it´s rather easy to walk around in the forest.

But I did buy a DVD yesterday, Toy story 3. I thought it just got out to the cinemas so I was a bit surprised to see it already in the supermarket. But that´s usually a sign that it´s not that good🙂 But it´s to cold to stay out any longer period of time and there´s nothing good on Tv except for Eureka today.

To the right You can see my neighbors cottage and if You look in to the middle of the photograph You can see the roof of my cottage.

It´s time to make a second pot of tea and to keep the fire burning in the stove and I think I´ll take a nap just like all the animals are doing right now🙂                                                        Have a great day now!

14 thoughts on “A walk in a winter wonderland.

  1. I am feeling the cold just LOOKING at those photos!
    I love the one of Hector coming back to find you. Please be careful! Maybe you could tie a really long lead around your waist and attach to your dogs so that if you get “stuck” your dogs can yank you out of it!
    Yesterday was “Black Friday” here in the States. I had to work but I won’t have gone out and fought those crowds anyway. I went out after supper and pick up a couple of things (that were left). I can’t believe that Chirstmas is coming so fast. I need to start making some homemade things!!! I always wait until the last minute😦
    So…stay warm and safe and enjoy your DVD!🙂 – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      It´s nasty cold right now because of the northern arctic winds we´re having. But the sun has almost shined through the clouds a couple of times now🙂

      I was a bit clumsy but I won´t go that close to those tracks again.

      I have no idea what Black Friday is, but I guess it´s some kind of sales day? Nothing like that over here until Christmas. We don´t give each other any presents at christmas any longer🙂 We just eat a lot of good food🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  2. hi christer….you got those new boots just in time! we are having our first snow. just a dusting though. i love the look on hector’s face. it’s like….what are you doing now? stay warm and i hope you enjoy toy story 3. those movie are great! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I wish we just has a dust of snow here too🙂🙂
      Yes I was really happy about my rubber boots this morning🙂 and really happy that I got that one up still on my foot🙂🙂

      He did look a bit confused seeing me on the ground trying to get up🙂🙂 I´ll just look at Eureka and then I´ll watch Toy story 3.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. The pictures are really very nice! That’s as close to the snow and ice as I want to get!

    I’m sure the dogs think this was all for them. Cats are smart enough to know they want to stay inside!

    You be careful out in the bog!

    • Hi Jim!
      I wish I wasn´t closer than a photo either🙂🙂 I´m not a winter person at all🙂
      So true! Cats really knows when to stay indoors!
      I promise to stay at safe distance to the bog!
      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer. I hope you enjoy your new movie! I like to find movies that I haven”t seen yet on eBay. I’ve discovered many treasures that way, and saved myself a ton of money too. Just last week I bought a movie for 99 cents plus postage that I’d been looking for in stores for a couple of years.
    We still haven’t had any snow that lasts here yet this year, but it has been pretty cold for a few days.
    Today is a rare day off so I’m drinking coffee and making a list of projects I need to do. Even if I don’t manage to complete my list, at least I will have started.

    • Hi Terria!
      I did enjoy it, but it was a bit sad to be honest. The supermarket usually has a lot of DVD´s at sale so I can get a lot for a rather cheap prize, but not even close to 99 cents🙂🙂

      I´ve become so lazy that I refuse to do anything on my days off🙂🙂 So all other days can be a bit hectic🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    Those dogs are part Newfoundland. They are supposed to rescue you not sit and watch you flounder around.🙂
    I love the way snow looks on the trees. I don’t love that it has to be cold to get that effect, though. My feet were cold just looking at your pictures. Time to knit more nice warm socks.
    The sun is shining brightly here and the temperature is high 40’s F so not too bad at all. My porch is warm and sunny and the dog is sleeping out there on his favorite chair. Too bad I have to disturb him to go do errands.
    Enjoy your DVD and the warm cottage.

    • Hi Caryn!
      They also should love to take a swim now and again, but they´d rather die🙂🙂🙂 I really don´t know what´s wrong with them🙂🙂🙂

      Yes it is beautiful with all snow on the tress, but I just hate the cold winds or cold weather totally🙂
      The film was good, but a bit sad in the end.
      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. I feel like reaching for my winter coat only it would never help me survive the kind of cold you have in Sweden. I think I can live without the snow and cold temperatures. I was an avid outdoor person especially during the snow season up north. Since moving to Florida, I can tell you for sure, I don’t miss it one bit. Time to move Christer. Get a VISA and I’ll look for a country home here among the sea cows and peacocks, and lots, and lots, of Pelicans. Enjoy your movies today.

    • Hi Z&M!
      I would love to have a home so I could see sea cows and peacocks and all other fantastic things You have, it´s just the little problem of paying for it too🙂🙂🙂 Do You have a big job market for painters🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. Hi!
    As I have no real experience of seeing and feeling snow … when I look at your photos I think ice cream🙂 And if I’m looking very even think all this will melt your snow … it’s too hot here believe me.
    Well I do not need to tell you be careful in their walks. Hector with this funny face does not seem to be a very good helper in the situation🙂 I love this picture🙂🙂
    kisses!
    Didi

    • Hi Didi!
      If it only was ice cream🙂🙂🙂 All this snow would melt down within one day if it fell where You live🙂🙂🙂

      No my dogs isn´t any great help in a situation like this🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

