What a surprise, it´s snowing again.

The photographs from work is taken through a not very clean window🙂

When i looked at the weather forecast yesterday it said “getting colder and no snow until next Saturday”, so I really should be surprised over the fact that it has snowed rather much today and will continue all night and almost all day tomorrow🙂🙂🙂 but I´m not. But I do wonder if they have drunken chimpanzees making those forecasts🙂🙂🙂

My job is on the other side of this big bog I live next to (the biggest in this county I´ve read. There were lots of facts I didn´t know about the bog and I´ll tell You about them another day). The snow had fallen at that side of the bog all day and when I drove home there was so much snow sometimes that I couldn´t see the road. But as soon as I came to the “home side” of the bog it stopped to snow. We have much less snow here than on the other side, so far🙂

I thought the chimney sweeper should come today so I didn´t start a fire in the stove before I went to work this morning. I had removed anything that might be in his way and left a note telling him things like “it´s ok if my cats goes in or out of the cottage while You are here. I had also left a note by the door telling him just to go in when he came. So guess if I got surprised when he hadn´t been here. I looked on the note and saw that it is tomorrow he´s supposed to be here🙂🙂🙂

I took some photographs with my mobile phone at work today and some here at home. By the way, did You know the mobile phone (cell phone) is a swedish invention? Ericsson and the swedish telephone company (we only had one back then) made it so it would be easier for those working out on the fields to contact the phone company if they had any problems. They thought this was a great idea and hoped that it would help others too. They never took any patent on it though🙂🙂🙂

Back then they weren´t especially small and handy. They looked much like an ordinary telephone and the battery was a car battery that they had to carry with them when they went away with it🙂🙂🙂 Mostly they stayed in the car until they needed it. But I can still remember the first “smaller! mobile phone I saw. The phone itself was huge with a big antenna and every one that had one always screamed in to the phone so they could be heard on the other side of the line🙂🙂🙂 The battery was still half the size of a car battery and had to be carried in a little bag🙂🙂🙂 I remember thinking that was the most stupid idea anyone ever had come up with🙂🙂🙂

Well it´s time for a big cup of hot milk now. I have been drinking way to much coffee at work today so I don´t dare to drink one single cup of tea now🙂🙂🙂                                     Have a great day now!

16 thoughts on “What a surprise, it´s snowing again.

  1. But for the one photo the others look like just a dusting of snow. When do you get the heavy stuff like last year when you were snowed in? That’s probably closer to Christmas. We are having rain today. My Tomatoe plants look very healthy.

    • Hi Z&M!
      I took the photographs at work rather early, so it was much more snow when I went home. But heavy snowfall can come any time really. 1997 November 17 we got one meter of snow (1 yard) in 24 hours🙂 I worked at Volvo then but had the day of thankfully. People weren´t allowed to leave Volvo until they had cleared the roads from snow and they had to wait a long time before that happened🙂🙂🙂

      Fantastic that Your tomato plant still is healthy!

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    Wow, two snow storms already! Nothing like that forecast for my area in the near future. It’s 51F here today but very cloudy so it doesn’t feel especially like 51F. And it feels like nightfall all day as well. You have pretty views from your office windows.
    I remember those big old phones. Only rich people had them or people with really good expense accounts. They looked like the hand held CB radios that I had back in the 70’s.
    Hope it doesn’t snow too much overnight.

    • Hi Caryn!
      It doesn´t look to bad when I look out my windows this morning, but I can just imagine how the roads are like now🙂

      I could never imagine that we all would get something like those phones back then🙂🙂🙂 Why carry around a phone when there was a phone both every hundred meters or so🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  3. Tradução de Português para Inglês
    Christer
    Good night!
    Only by your beautiful photos make me well, after one day beyond annoying and disgusting.
    Yesterday I had a wonderful Sunday, but today was terrible (with problems of poor functioning of my consulate and a news report of a local veterinarian who struck seven dogs already in the adoption process, one evil), but her pictures and I calmed down left happy again.
    and the lights are beautiful!
    where is it? in your house?
    good night

    • Hi Andréa!
      Sorry about things doesn´t work at the consulate and did the veterinarian kill seven dogs that already was adopted? Why? Were they sick in any way?

      The little lights are at my neighbors house and I think that it is all Christmas lights we have in the village🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  4. We are still having rather warm weather and it’s fun to look at your place with its 2nd snowfall. I’m sure your cup of tea made it all the more cozy. Imagine my surprise to get a handful of green beans from my garden, this morning! Quite the surprise… come visit when you can…

  5. hi christer! i remember a friend of my brother had a car phone in the 60’s. i remember my first cell phone looked like those phones they use in wars. times sure do change! more snow for you! we were in the 70’s here todayand in british columbia they had over 5 inches of snow. go figure! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      Today I really think those old phones are fantastic, in a nostalgic sort of way🙂 But I can´t say I accepted them as a smart thing until the late -90`s🙂
      It doesn´t look as if we got that much snow this night, maybe two inches.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. Hi Christer,

    Brrrrrrr, I had to pull on a pair of wool socks just from reading this and looking at the pics.

    Don’t drink too much coffee now!

    Sharon Lovejoy Writes from Sunflower House and a Little Green Island

    • Hi Sharon!
      I´ve been looking for my wool sock a couple of days now and just can´t find them! I wonder if it is my cats that has taken them again🙂🙂

      It was hot milk yesterday evening🙂
      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. Hi Christer, this afternoon we were outside wearing t-shirts because the temps were in the mid 60s here. Then I look at your snow photos and really wish we had some cooler weather so I could drink hot chocolate and tea and watch the snowfall – being retired has its benefits because of not having to get to work! Sorry you didn’t make it for the pecan pie, it was good everyone told me, but actually it’s not one of my favorites as I prefer pumpkin or blueberry. Stay warm!

    • Hi Beatrice!
      I wish I could send You some of our weather because we have a big snowstorm here right now🙂 I truly dislike this weather we have now🙂

      I have never eaten pumpkin pie either, but blueberry or cherry pie is nice too🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      CXhrister.

  8. Our weather has turned very cold! We were lucky to have a lovely, long fall. We are preparing for Thanksgiving this week — planning menus, baking pies (apple and pumpkin). Have a good day!

    Kristina

    • Hi Kristina!
      You just missed my post for today🙂
      We´re having a blizzard over here and I´m not sure I´ll make it to work tomorrow🙂🙂🙂

      We don´t have thanksgiving over here, so the next thing we celebrate here is Saint Lucia on December 13th.
      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

