It´s getting colder again.

This is how extravagant we are in this village when Christmas approaches 🙂 🙂 🙂 Someone might put lights in a spruce too but that´s it. Strange really since it is so dark here all the time we really should put up some more.

According to the weather forecast this is the last warm day for some time. By warm I mean around 0C (32F) , now temperatures will drop to at least -12C (10F). But I can always count on that it will be a bit colder than that around my cottage because I live in what we call a cold hole. For some reason it´s always colder here than anywhere else (they say it is because of the bog that chills down its neighborhood), but then again it is always warmer here during summer instead 🙂

When the light is right this rusty brown water becomes red like blood.

The roots of this birch has made a sort of lid on this well, but clear water comes out from the side of it all year long and goes down in to a ditch on its side.

Most of the snow we got yesterday melted away during the night but every now and again some snowflakes fall from the sky again. I doubt that it will be noticeable on the ground even if it keeps on like this all day 🙂

Wee had a long walk yesterday afternoon by the edge of the bog (and now Nature reserve) and down to the creek.

This little creek never freezes, not even during last winter when it was as coldest. I wonder why it is warmer than other creeks.

I filled the bird feeders just two hours ago and now they are empty again!! They eat like maniacs and I guess they can feel in some way that colder weather is on its way. Either I´ll have to get bigger feeders so I don´t have to go out to fill them all the time or I will have to buy some more. I´m the only one that have placed my feeders where there are lots of bushes and trees for the birds to hide in while eating so they are very popular 🙂 Yesterday another not to common bird showed up here, but I only got a photo of it from behind.

It is fun to sit and watch the bird feeders, or the birds visiting the feeders I mean 🙂 Most of the birds are the same that comes every day, but every now and then something special comes. Like the European Goldfinch

When we came out on the other side the drizzle had started, not nice at all!

Here You can see the Bullfinch and the back of the European Goldfinch. The goldfinch turned away its head with the bright red spot every time I tried to take a photo of it. That´s why I have a link to photos of it in the text.

Well, I´ve finished the first pot of tea and I think it´s time to make another one 🙂 The fire is burning in the stove and all animals are spread throughout the cottage, except for Bertil that just went out when I filled the feeders again. I think it´s time for a little nap 🙂              Have a great day now!

20 thoughts on “It´s getting colder again.

  1. Jag skrämde slaget på herr Fasan när jag drog upp rullgardinen i morse… Men några steglitser har inte dykt upp hos mig ännu! Hoppas dom kommer, 6-8 stycken brukar dyka upp då o då under vintrarna….. Jag ska köpa en matare till o sätta utanför fönstret där jag har datorn…. sitter ju här alldeles för mycket! Där finns inte så många buskar, men den jättestora björken brukar alltid vara full av fåglar 🙂
    Ha´t himla gôrgôtt vid spisen
    Nina

    • Hejsan Nina!
      Fasaner har jag inte sett här vid stugan på ett par år nu, men de finns i trakten i alla fall. Däremot höll orren på att skrämma slag på mig häromdagen när den flaxade ut ur ett buskage bara meter från mig 🙂 🙂

      Det verkar bli en dyr vinter med alla frön vi måste köpa 🙂 🙂

      Ha det gott själv!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer!
    These lights are the most beautiful thing in Christmas decoration! 🙂
    When I was a child I could not understand why pine trees decorated in honor of the birth of Jesus. You know that snow and stuff we haven’t here 🙂
    When I asked for the adults they do not know how to answer. From there I discovered that adults did not know what they did 🙂
    Hey where Teodor walks? Long time since I have seen!
    Have a great day and kisses to all
    Didi

    • Hi Didi!
      Yes those lights are beautiful! But I have no idea why we decorate the trees for Christmas, probably only because we like it 🙂

      Teodor doesn´t like to walk with us that much, Bertil is the one normally. So Teodor is mostly around the cottage or inside it sleeping 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  3. Hi again Christer,
    I’ve heard several versions to the habit of decorating the tree.
    What seems more likely has to do with heathen rituals that were incorporated into Christianity. Whatever the case, in all cultures, should trees is a symbol of life 🙂
    I understand the behavior of Teodor, Bertil is a cat that is very different. I think he even knows it’s a cat lol
    I love seeing all the snow … we’re here with 26C at night! From 6 hrs in the morning the sun is burning like pepper:)
    Didi

    • Hi again Didi!
      Yes up here in this part of Sweden they started having christmas trees in the yard outside the house and it was a fertility symbol 🙂 But why they brought it inside and decorated it I have no idea. But it is beautiful so why not 🙂

      No Bertil has no idea that he is a cat 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Take care!
      Christer.

  4. Beautiful photos Christer. I love feeding birds too, but haven’t got around to getting a bird feeder yet. It is 30 degrees here right now and we are expecting snowy-rain today. I guess that means very wet snow? Whatever it is I’m toasty warm at home and don’t have to go out in it unless I want to.

    • Hi Terria!
      I have a couple of feeders but it looks as if I´ll have to get one more 🙂

      Either it means wet snow or icy rain I guess 🙂

      It´s really warm here to now, there has been a fire in the stove since early morning 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    I think all cultures that are cold and dark in the winter probably have some festival of light around that time. We go a bit overboard here in the USA because that’s how we are. Very enthusiastic! 🙂 It’s okay with me. Having all the decorated tree lights shining in the evenings is very heartening to my spirit. Makes me feel that the dark can’t beat me and the light and warmth will come again. I love that some towns around me leave the colored lights up until February.
    Believe it or not, we occasionally get European Goldfinches around here. Back in the 19th century somebody thought they were pretty and let loose a bunch of them the way they did with Starlings. Some government type thought having Starlings in our cities would give city folk a pretty bird to look at. The Starlings had a different idea and moved out to the farmlands where the huge flocks are now major pests.
    It’s sunny and probably 40F here but I expect it will warm up some more as the day progresses. Enjoy your last “warm” day of the season. 🙂

    • Hi Caryn!
      We on the other hand is a bit to little enthusiastic 🙂 but there are more lights in the bigger villages and towns to be honest, but not that much anyway. Out here it´s almost completely dark 🙂 🙂

      I read an interesting story about those starlings and other birds and how they came to live on Your continent too 🙂 I´ll see if I can find it again.

      I enjoyed every second of the day 🙂
      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. Great photos today Christer. I never have my camera with me when I see something I’d love to capture to keep. I was signing up a contract at a canal home yesterday, close to the ocean but on an island that is a mix of fresh and salt water. Well I counted about 11 Manatees coming into the canal system seeking warmer water. They brought their calfs with them and so cute we forgot all about business and watched them for an hour. I do wish I had my camera with me but alas, I usually don’t have it in the car unless I am using it for business. All I can say is “darn”. Enjoy filling up the bird feeders.

    • Hi Z&M!
      I have started to bring my old camera with me when I drive somewhere, but since it´s so dark now I can´t take any photos anyway 🙂 🙂 🙂

      It must have been fantastic to see those Manatees! If the buyers had had problems deciding wether they wanted to buy the place before that sight would definately change their minds!

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  7. hi christer! i am still waiting for our first snow! i wish i could feed the birds but if i put bird feed out here in the city i would have tons of pigeons that would never leave. i love your trees!!! maybe some of our americana is rubbing off on you and we can get you to hang some really tacky christmas decorations on the outside of your house so your neighbors will think you have lost your mind!!! can you imagine if you put one of those big blow up snow globes that americans decorate with in front of your house? haha!!! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      Thankfully we don´t have pigeons here during winter 🙂 🙂 and I can see in my mind how Your garden would look like if they came 🙂 🙂 🙂

      I´m sorry to say that those trees aren´t mine, it´s my neighbors. When I went out to get a higher couple they were sold out. But I will continue to look after them this year too.

      🙂 🙂 It wold have been great to have one of those blown up snow globes in my garden 🙂 🙂 I can´t even imagine what my neighbors would think 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

      • Christer, I think you should put some Christmas lights in the old crabapple tree. 😀

      • Hi Caryn!
        I can see myself climbing around in that tree with great risk of loosing my life when it all falls down 🙂 🙂 🙂 Well, my story would be told for ages here in the village then 🙂 🙂 🙂

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

  8. Beautiful photos, Christer! I especially like the photo of the 2 little trees with lights, because they look so cheerful and hopeful!
    We’re warming up here in Australia, but your snow and ice sure look good to me!

  9. That’s so great how you feed the birds. I’ve thought of getting a bird feeder but I heard that once you start feeding them that they come to depend on you for food. Unfortunately there are times where my budget runs a little short and I couldn’t stand the thought of them coming to find an empty feeder. Someday though…when things aren’t so tight. …sigh.
    I had a little lighted snowman in my yard last year and posted him on my blog and each day he kept getting buried deeper in the snow….I’ll have to get him out of my basement and set him up before it gets very cold.
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      It´s not really true that they start to depend on the food they get from our feeders, but they tend to get fat 🙂 All birds fly around all day looking for different places to feed them selves, so even if one place runs out of food, they will have plenty other places to find it. But the only time when they really need a lot help is in the end of winter, beginning of spring. By then all food they can find in the forest and fields will have run out. So if You want to help them wait until then by starting to feed them.

      I have no decorations at all for christmas except for maybe a wreath I might do later and have on my door.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

