Snow, wind and winter.

It would have been a nice morning if it wasn´t for the rather nasty wind we have. The thermometer just hit 0C (32F) and it snows. Not much just enough to cover the ground. But since it has been snowing like this all night there´s almost 2,5 cm(an inch) of snow on the ground. It gives me a sort of christmasy feeling when looking out the window, but walking in it and feeling the nasty wind just makes me wish that it was spring again🙂

I have seen my first Sea-eagle this morning! I had just packed down my camera in its bag when I heard crows or ravens make lots of noise. I looked up in the sky and saw how they were chasing this big eagle all over the sky. But when I finally had gotten up my camera out of the bag they had flown away to far to get a decent photo of them. I could hear surprisingly many smaller birds sing and I could see a lorry drive by on the big road some distance away. Nowdays they look like christmas decorations with all their lamps🙂🙂🙂

When we were almost back home I could hear some Trumpet swans that had decided it was time to leave the lake and head for more southern beaches. This time however I had the camera ready. Looking around in the village made me realize that I almost were the only one awake even if it wasn´t especially early in the morning. But snow and cold winds sort of invites to sleep longer on a Saturday. In fact, I will take a short nap after writing this and for the rest of the day I think I´ll watch some DVD:s. The only thing worth looking at on tv today is Eureka, the rest is garbage to be honest.

I bought new fire logs yesterday from the supermarket in Skara. I still have most of those I bought some time ago left, but they have already warned that there will be a shortage of them this winter so I might not get a chance to buy new ones later on if I use all now. The ones I bought yesterday burns much faster than the ones I already have. So if I put in more than one in the stove it can become to hot. The ones I already have here at home burns slower but doesn´t give that much heat at the same time either. Both have their qualities but they actually works best together. The new ones are great to start the fire with and the other are great to put in if one doesn´t want to check in the stove to often to see if one has to put in more logs.

Well it´s time for that nap now, so I´ll put in two of the older logs in the stove. Then I know that I don´t have to check the fire until I wake up again🙂 Teodor is sleeping in my orange bag that I always use when I travel, Bertil sleeps on my sofa in the living room and Hector and Orvar sleeps on my bed and now I´ll join them🙂                                                                  Have a great day now!

22 thoughts on “Snow, wind and winter.

  1. Jo du…. idag var det bitande kallt i vinden…. Var ute o flyttade det mesta av gårdagens snö från nerfarten…. har slarvat med lövkrattningen, så trots att snön var lätt blev det ändå besvärligt o skotta! Men nu går det väl lättare i morgon hoppas jag😉
    Låter skönt med en liten slummer ihop med alla djuren…. här finns det bara möss!
    Vet du att honung är jättebra o ladda fällan med?
    Ha´t himla gôrgôtt vid brasan
    Nina

    • Hejsan Nina!
      Svinkallt är det och då är jag snäll när jag säger så🙂
      Här är såpass lite snö att jag inte kan skotta bort den, då får jag använda kvast istället och borsta 🙂
      Visste inte att honung var bra, då skall jag testa det om de börjar gå in i bilen igen! Jordnötssmör skall visst också fungera bra har jag hört!

      Ha det gott! Den lilla tuppluren var inte dum alls🙂
      Christer.

  2. Our temps dropped to 51 degrees overnight and that is when Zoey climbs onto our bed and snuggles up to one of us. She stayed in the sack when we both got up and that is unusual. I don’t think cats have a sense of seasonal change. The adjust by staying put. I notice also how she wants tap water again. That’s usually an ordeal since someone has to be there to turn the faucet off when she’s finished. We obviously go to a lot of trouble for our two Himmies. But they are indoor cats who crave the outdoors. My feral family is doing OK with the temp changes although they now come to the porch much later than 6AM EST. Nice post today Christer and it looks like the one inch snow is just a warning shot over the bow. Enjoy your weekend.

    • Hi Z&M!
      I agree with You, I don´t think they have a sense of seasonal change. After all they were originally animals from northern Africa and it has only gone around 8-10 000 years since they were domesticated and much later brought north. That isn´t a long time really even if it sounds like that🙂

      I´m glad to read that Your feral cats are doing ok. But then again, I don´t think You would allow them to not having it good either🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. hi christer…..oh how i wish i had some snow! we might get some for thanksgiving but i am betting it will be rain. i wish teddy would sleep in my bed. she will jump on it and shake me to wake me up but no snuggling for her. she is not a snuggler! i love the picture of the evergreen. it looks like it should have little twinkling lights on it. stay warm! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      We have some kind of misty rain here now and the temperatures are dropping. Must be fun to drive later on then🙂🙂
      I have realized that the weather never is what one wishes for, so start wishing for rain and then You might get some snow🙂🙂

      I really got a christmasy feeling when I saw the snow on the spruces🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,
    2.5 cm? Round these parts we’d call that a “dusting” of snow and break out the broom to sweep it off the stairway.
    Lovely photos today. The first one is kind of Homecoming Christmasy in feeling with the snow, the dark and the lamplight.

    • Hi Caryn!
      We call it dusting here too🙂 Easy to sweep away with a brush and no idea to use a shovel.
      I like snow when it isn´t more than this and I always get that christmasy feeling then. When it´s more I just dislike it a lot🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. My fav photos today are the first and the last. I think it’s because even though they are showing the cottage with snow…they just look like it’s warm and toasty inside. When I woke up this morning everything was covered with frost. I wonder if I can still cut and save my catnip? I meant to do it earlier. I wanted to make cat toys…..
    I’m sick today, but I have a lot of projects to work on. I think I will run down to the library and get some DVD’s to watch while I work.
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I think I like the first photo best today, even though I am very fond of that little spruce on the ruin🙂
      I do like frost better then snow to be honest, everything looks so mush more crispy if You understand what i mean🙂

      Don´t over do it if You aren´t well! You´ll have to pay for it sooner or later I´m afraid. But it sounds like a great idea to lend some DVD´s at the library:-)

      Have a great day and take care!
      Christer.

  6. Hi Christer,
    I too like to look at winter out my window better that being outside in it most of the time. Sounds like you have a nice relaxing day planned. We stayed home from the farm this weekend so we can relax and try to get over our colds. It takes four hours to drive to the farm one way, so being at home will give us more time to sleep🙂
    Hope you are all better🙂
    Have a great weekend.
    Barb

    • Hi Barb!
      I like frost much better than I like snow, but it wasn´t that much snow falling today. But they say more is on its way.

      Good thing You stayed home this weekend. Four hours is a long time in the car if one doesn´t feel well. Much better to stay at home and get well!

      The fever is gone now, but I still feel rather tired all the time, but I guess that will be gone by tomorrow!
      Have a great day and take care!
      Christer.

  7. Don’t guess we’ll get snow this year. Usually only snows every 5 years or so here in Houston.

    I don’t mind, because I’m not too crazy about the snow anyhow!

    • Hi Jim!
      I guess the Houston climate would fit me perfect🙂 Snow is beautiful on a photo or a postcard but in real life it´s only nasty🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  8. Hi
    In fact there’s something about snow that can not be denied: it is very beautiful:)
    I love these shades of blue and beige that acquired in the winter landscape.
    The boys found many smells, no?🙂
    All these photos give excellent Christmas card, which is coming soon.!
    I was thinking about your post yesterday. If I had to plant my own food … I think it would be a disaster:) I do not have the patience to plant in Farmville hahaha But I have many trees there:) and animals too:)
    I see lots of hawks and birds of prey here in Salvador. I was impressed that they live here because it is a bustling city.
    I hope you have seen good movies, tv on the weekend is always boring:)
    kisses
    Didi

    • Hi Didi!
      Yes it is beautiful, as long as I don´t have to walk around in it🙂🙂🙂

      The brothers had found lots of scents to follow when we were out yesterday, they were all over the place🙂 But more and more birds of pray moves in to town, because they have much more food there. Just think of all birds, mice and rats they can find in a town and so much easier since there are less places to hide in a city.

      Anyone looses their patines when playing FarmVille🙂🙂🙂 I stopped playing that long ago🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  9. Christer, Yes, today’s photos DO make me thinkg of Christmas and most likely will will not have any snow here, so nice to see your snowfall. It’s so peaceful when no one has tracked through it. Enjoyed yesterday’s post and it really does make you wonder and think how will people manage and get around? Thankfully, I can walk to some places like the post office here. Being retired is good in that there’s no big rush to go anywhere. And you are right about nothing good on TV, which is why we don’t watch it. But we do enjoy DVD movies and are getting set to watch some Christmas ones.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      I do like to get out to see the first snow when there are no tracks in it, sort of feels clean (well that´s not the word but I just can´t get the right one out of my hed🙂🙂🙂 )

      We that lives in a house of our own will cope much better than those living in apartments if things would become as they think. We can grow our own vegetables and have chickens and rabbits. But I live 7 miles away from the closest grocery store so I would have to bike or have a horse in winter🙂

      It is amazing how much garbage they show on tv nowdays! If we could put together all good programs we still would have problems filling the day for only one tv channel🙂🙂🙂
      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  10. Christer…thank you for your very honest comment on my post. I realize folks don’t want to hear of anything but good things…but that would not be real…and I just HAVE to be real at least some of the time. Things happen!
    I always love your photo’s. Talk about looking COLD! To us it was cold all day in the 50’s. That must sound downright warm to you!
    We will probably be hearing news that the East Coast is getting snow soon. Our mountains will be covered with snow when the clouds life and that is always a special time for me. Such a different countryside than yours in Sweden!
    Our fireplace is gas…and at first I wanted to remove that feature and burn wood. Then I heard on the news that they are going to put a stop to burning wood due to the air polution. They have already done it in other parts of California…and are finally getting to us. It’s about time!
    Mele sleeps in our bed, or rather on it too. How I would miss her if she wasn’t there! Keeps my feet warm…but it upsets her when I disturb her…poor thing.
    Keep warm. Enjoy the beauty and have a great rest of the weekend.
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      Do You know what, I think it´s more like people don´t want to show that their life isn´t perfect rather than we don´t want to read about it. To be honest, misery and tragedy is what most people likes to read and hear about🙂🙂🙂 I can honestly say that my family is and has always been dysfunctional🙂🙂🙂 We are the happiest when we don´t have to see each other🙂

      In many of our cities it´s forbidden to burn wood in our fireplaces. But to be honest, most people doesn´t care about it. They have their wooden fires and so does their neighbors too🙂 Out here in the countryside the authorities can´t offer us any other kind of warming up our homes so almost all of us uses our different fireplaces.

      Yes we do have very different countryside! But I´m just reading about how it is where You live in the book I got from Joyce. For me that´s really interesting! But You are right, temperatures around 50´s is warm to me🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  11. Visst är havsörnarna helt otroligt magnifika. Vi såg ju en sittandes vid en sten ute på ett litet skär för något år sen och jisses vad jag blev imponerad. Speciellt när den sen lyfte! Wow – vilken jätte!!

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Ja inte kan man säga något annat! Men det var inte lika imponerande att se hur den stackaren jagades iväg av så mycket mindre fåglar🙂🙂
      Min granne är alltid orolig för att de skall slita åt sig deras lilla drever när han vill vara ute och med tanke på hur stor örnen är förstår jag dem.

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

