So how much does a horse and carriage cost?

The photographs are from yesterday. We could see a little black spot running towards us from a distance when we started our walk yesterday afternoon. It was Bertil that had noticed that we were going out to the bog.

I saw a really interesting program on tv the other day about what happens when the oil gets more and more expensive to get out of the ground and when it gets harder and harder to find more coal in the ground. All of us knows that we will run out of these things sooner or later and what happens then? The first thing I was thinking of was naturally that cars now are made to go on electricity and the nuclear power will continue to make sure we have electricity for a long time and in the south they can use solar energy, like my friend Sharlene (Solar Cooking for Mainstream Cooks) already does with her Solar Owens. But do we really understand how this will effect us?

With oil and coal more or less gone prices at any other kind of energy will be sky high. So most of us may not afford it at all. Still they haven´t invented an airplane that can fly on electricity and at the same time bring anything heavier with it. So all import of things from the south may have to be shipped by sailbots. A beautiful thought but by, by bananas for me. Since we sooner or later will be out of phosphorous which is the main ingredient for making fertilizers, the size of the harvests will become much smaller. We are six billion people on this little planet of ours, we can´t afford smaller harvests, on the contrary!

Those with power might think it is a good idea to start a war towards those that have something left, but still that wouldn´t help much. But there´s always a risk of civil war if the governments can´t help the people in their countries (thinking of these things I´m glad I live in a country far away from most things 🙂 🙂  ).  But how will we all manage our daily life’s?  Well I´m not sure we all can have a car any longer, so a horse and perhaps a carriage could be wise to purchase. That´s easy for me living in the country side. I was thinking that my garage could be a great stable for one horse and perhaps a cow too.

Because how will the grocery stores get milk and butter enough if no one can get it to them in time 🙂 For those living in the big city it could be wise to get some land in the countryside or hire an allotment within the city limits so they can grow the vegetables they need during the year. Well since freezers isn´t available if You don´t have power, they simply must learn the old ways to conserve food in jars. For us living in the countryside it would be great to have a root cellar too. There are lots of them out here that isn´t used, but I have understood that they aren´t that hard to build either.

A tree that falls in a nature reserve stay where it has landed. Now it´s time for funguses and larvaes to make soil of it again.

I usually uses the zoom on the camera when I take photographs, but here I haven´t. I wanted You to see how big the bog really is and what You can see is just a tiny part of it here.

The scientist had estimated that we sooner or later had to start living like they did 170 years ago, before they realized how they could use the oil, so lots of people would have to move to the countryside again.  This wouldn´t happen over night naturally, but it could go faster than we might think too. So how much does a horse and carriage cost 🙂 🙂                  Have a great day now!

25 thoughts on “So how much does a horse and carriage cost?

    • Tjänare Nina!
      Tror nog du kan bygga om garaget 🙂 Men cykling är ju nyttigt för hälsan det med 🙂 Själv är jag ju lite rädd för hästar 🙂 🙂 Men ett potatisland kan ag ju alltid fixa till 🙂
      Ha det gott själv!
      Christer.

  1. hi christer…..i could easily go back to the old way of doing things. i love your pictures today and i especially liked seeing the blog. we are having very mild weather again. i even saw 2 more stink bugs…ugh!!! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I wouldn´t have any problems going back either, except for the horse thing 🙂 🙂 I would have to work on my fear of horses a lot 🙂 🙂
      So it is so warm that the stink bugs are back! I think You would love our weather better then, it´s getting colder by the hour now and the snow has start to fall.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  2. well…I would like to say that I could easily adapt but….I’d be lying. Every other day I think about moving to the country but I think it’s just a fantasy. And then every other opposite day I think about moving into a brick Tudor home on a cul de sac. I am always changing my mind! and would that mean no computers or TV’s and etc.?! I don’t even like the idea of camping, of “roughing it”…for many years I had to do without a lot of “things” and I gotta tell you, “things” make life SO much nicer. For me anyways. I do like the idea of home grown/ya know where it came from food but….
    Oh and I would ADORE the idea of a horse (or several) and some lambs and some ducks and…darn it, now I’m back to wanting to live in the country!
    Take care! Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!

      🙂 The best thing I ever done is to move out here in the middle of nowhere. But I guess that if this is going to happen it probably is enough to have a property of ones own. Everyone else in the neighborhood would have to get those things too so You could still have all that, living where You are now! It´s the ones living in apartments that would have a difficult time. I guess that computers and tv and all those things will be gone in most homes if this happens, but I guess we that are around the middle age now doesn´t notice too much of the going back. It´s those being born now that will have to adapt to older times again.

      Yes a lamb or two would be great too so one could make clothes from the wool! It´s the knitting thing I would have huge problems with though 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    Driving a horse and buggy is great fun except when you have no choice and then it is work. Also, with 6 billion people on the planet and the scenario you describe, horses and most other mega fauna on land or sea will be luxuries that we will not be able to afford. They eat food that people can eat and require too much territory that could produce food that people can eat. Possibly even pets would be gone for the same reasons.
    I can drive and ride a horse. I can prepare wool and spin it into fiber. I can knit and crochet that fiber into useful items and I enjoy doing all of it. However, if I had to do it to survive, I would not enjoy it at all. I guess we better get on the ball and do something so we don’t come to that situation.
    By the way, the horse is probably the least expensive part of horse and buggy. It’s all the things you have to put on the horse, attach to the horse or feed to the horse that will cost you. 🙂
    Have a great day and stay warm.

    • Hi Caryn!

      So true, when it becomes an every day sore it will be just boring 🙂 Pets will most probably be a luxury that most people couldn´t afford, but dogs that protect homes and cats that catch mice and rats would most probably still be there. Horses must be used in farming, tractors would not be possible to use any longer. But how many can actually put all things together with the horse even if they had all things 🙂 🙂 🙂 Thankfully this area is filled with horses (there is no county in this country that has as many horses as we do) and my neighbors drives a carriage so I could learn from them 🙂

      I´m useless in knitting, we were all forced to learn that in school but I do know how to milk a cow, make butter and cheese too 🙂 So if You could knit for me I´ll send over some butter and cheese to You 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

      • That’s a deal except that we wouldn’t be able to get the stuff across the Atlantic unless we had a sail boat. Better brush up on our Viking skills as well. 🙂

      • Hi Caryn!
        No big problems 🙂 I have had a sailboat so I´ll just have to find a cheap sailboat and then I´m off 🙂 🙂 🙂

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

  4. Hello
    great reflection.
    I always dreamed of having a house in the country, but my idea was to have had a house where a water source (because I think that this is the most precious fuel)
    But I need to learn how to maintain things as urban as it always was, never had that experience, but love to try.
    I also think that if humans were not so greedy could have “a bit of everything.” Trouble “he wants too much of everything! wastage is very bad.
    good night
    andrea

    • Hi Andréa!
      Yes the trouble is that we wants to much of everything!

      We are a bit lucky in this country because we have plenty of water. Actually, we get over half of what we use in electricity from water power plants here. We also have plenty of water to drink too because of all lakes and rivers we have here.

      But I think we all lack in many skills that we would need to survive if we went back, but we might manage some skills and then we can trade things with others 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  5. This is a complex issue. Complex but the reality is simple. If mankind does not revise its concepts and radically change the way they are living … in a very short time we will have the chaos. It is impossible to continue the way it is. I do not know how to change. But it is an absolute necessity.
    I love the picture of the boys:)
    Have a good night’s sleep!
    Didi

    • Hi Didi!
      yes, sooner or later something will happen! We can all think of what we can do to slow this scenario down, but all the worlds leaders must do so much more.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. Like me and I think you, there are people who would thrive living in the countryside and having a horse as the only transportation. Mostly I think it would usher in a come back plan for the planet. Global Warming would be a thing of the past. We would watch talented people live on stage for our entertainment, maybe at a local town square. And people would help people as it was 200 years ago. We are spoiled and the next generation moreso. I don’t think I’ll live to see it but if reincarnated I wouldn’t mind one bit. Enjoy your horse and carriage!

    • Hi Z&M!
      I would most probably love it 🙂 If I only could get rid of my horse fear 🙂 🙂 maybe I could use an ox instead 🙂 🙂

      You and I are lucky to live in countries that has lots of space, so we would most probably get back to those times when everybody helped each other. China and India however are crowded and already short of things like food, how will it be there?
      But I would like if we went back to those “good old days” again 🙂

      I guess it is the ones being born now that will experience the change, but I think we will se the beginning of it anyway.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. Interesting blog post Christer. Some could afford the horse, but a lot of people would just have to walk if things really do go back to the way things were 170 years ago. I grew up in the country so I’d survive but it is a lot of work to grow your own food and provide your own energy. Solar and wind and hydro power will work for some things and some places, but we all need to get busy right now at preparing for the end of oil dependency, and our current lifestyles. No more wasteful throw-away living. There are no easy answers for what’s going to be happening soon.

    • Hi Terria!
      If things would start to change already now I would live in a perfect place. We have lots of horses here and I think I would be able to buy the horse, the rest however would be some troubles. But I could learn how to ride without a saddle 🙂 🙂

      Growing vegetables and have chicken/rabbits wouldn´t be any troubles for me so I think I would have a rather good life. We do need to change our lifestyles already now, but I´m afraid that we might be to late already.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  8. You’re so right, Christer! (Oh, thanks for the mention.) I’ve had the 16-acre farm and animals and garden, and it’s a lot of work, which means almost everything else would not be a part of one’s life. Animals need to be fed every day, so there’s no leaving on vacations (neighbors will do just so much, if you’re sick, but not if you’re on vacation!). But, every ‘pet’ you had would have its own job to do and we’d probably go back to the bartering system, as you said. I’m appalled at just how many people today do not know basic survival skills. I live very nicely and always have, but that doesn’t mean I don’t want to know how to take care of myself in emergencies or when money dries up.

    It’s funny, but a lot of folks think that my using a solar oven whenever possible means I’m poor or that I don’t have any idea what real mainstream life is like — nothing could be further from the truth. I just feel that it’s important to start the journey back from over-dependence on fossil fuels and use what nature does to keep things on an even keel.

    I saw a program tonight of Prince Charles and his Harmony Project. They believe in following nature’s way — which has never broken, will never expire, and brought true balance… I really have to look into that, further… Very thoughtful post, today. Thanks. Come visit when you can…

    • Hi Sharlene!
      Having animals means one will miss a lot of other things like vacations in other places. It´s really enough to have pets to notice that 🙂 🙂 Pets like we know it would most probably be gone except for some in richer families. I wouldn´t mind living like that (even if I am afraid of horses 🙂 🙂 🙂 ) But come to think of it, most of my family would be dependent on my knowledge on how to grow food, I don´t think any one of them would have a clue to grow anything 🙂 🙂 🙂

      I think anyone living in a climate like Yours should have a solar owen!! I think it is a great thing to have, but we simply has too little sun here most of the year. But I have started to plan making one myself. It would be fun to be able to use it some times during summer anyway 🙂 But people doesn´t think longer than their noses stretches I´m afraid, but if I tried it here my neighbors would only think I did those strange things I do 🙂 🙂 Like planting trees and flowers 🙂 🙂

      I´ve read some about Prince Charles Harmony project and it sounds so right! But to few follows his example I´m afraid. But I would be happy if people just started to grow things themselves. Allotments are fairly cheap to rent so they would save lots of money growing foods themselves too. But people are lazy I´m afraid. Mostly it is our immigrants that has allotments and You should see how much they can get out of a place that only is 10 x 10 yards!!!

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

      • So true. The Japanese have small lot farming worked out to perfection because they have so little available land. That’s where my ‘postage stamp gardening’ come from, a book I read way back in the 60’s. Vertical is the way to go. And, I loved my animals and all that meant for our counter-dependence. Soon, I will start telling the tales of my ‘farming’ life.

        If you’re going to build your own solar oven, make sure that edges meet and it’s very tight when you close the lid, and that should keep your temperaturers high enough for great meals! I know it would be only in the 1-1/2 hours of summer you get — but, that would be a fantastic meal! I’m sure your neighbors have figured you out as a Thoreau-type man and don’t understand the beauty that lies within and that you share in all your photos and prose… and they’re the poorer for it!

        Haven’t had a chance, yet, to go indepth with HRH’s project, but that’s definitely on my calendar for research in the quiet months of Jan and Feb.

        Have a great day, now, and a nice cuppa tea!

      • Hi Sharlene!
        Yes the japanese are great at using the space they have! I have seen allotment farming in Russia too (on tv and in magazines) and they too seems to know how to get most out of their allotments. We Swedes use our allotments to grow flowers 🙂 Well sooner or later they will have to change to something more edible and nutritious 🙂 🙂

        I have been thinking of how to make sure how to keep the heat in the solar oven. What kind of insolation to have on the walls and the edges. I will have to do a good sketch on it before I start either late this winter or early next spring. I think we´ll have enough summer to make one good meal here 🙂 🙂 🙂

        I´ll be looking forward to the stories of Your farming life!
        Christer.

  9. I have a funny horse story. Well, I have many funny horse stories but this one is apropos to doing things the old way in a modern world. I once rode my horse to the drive-through window at the bank so I could make a deposit. The bank teller in the window never noticed.

Leave a Reply

