Birds and groceries.

Even though it is a bit warmer this morning, the winds make it feel as it is much much colder. We went out to fetch my morning paper around 7:30 am and as You can see on the photographs it was quite dark outside. The two first photographs I actually had to edit some so it was possible to at least imagine what they show🙂🙂 The sun goes up at 7:58 am and goes down at 3:41 pm now so we really don´t have much daylight here now (and on cloudy days like this we get even less). But it will continue to get darker for yet a month until it finally turns again. It isn´t so strange that we always gets a lot of colds here this much north.

One can find lots of these old root cellars when being out walking. Most of them are forgotten since long by their owners. A shame really because they are perfect to store food in for long periods of time.

I had to go to the grocery store this morning too. I really like that place! They have everything I need to a reasonable price and the service is great in every way and they always wants to have a chat before one leaves. Today we talked about the football (soccer) game yesterday between Sweden and Germany. They had gone to see the game at the stadium and told me it had been a really boring match. No goals and no action to speak of so they were a bit disappointed. If it had been a interesting game I would most probably sit there still drinking several cups of coffee while that would have told me every minute of the game🙂🙂

As soon as I had gotten home I filled the bird feeders with sunflower seeds. “My” birds are getting spoiled by now and won´t eat anything else🙂 It didn´t take one minute before I had several Bullfinches there and all the other birds that usually comes to my feeders. It is a bit worrying that the Bullfinches comes this early in the winter, they normally never comes until all food are gone in the forest. Is it that bad already out there? If so it´s going to be a tough winter for all smaller birds. Yesterday I also had a couple of Chaffinches Fringilla coelebs) here. They usually moves south during the winter but more and more of them stays here all year round now.

There´s a childrens song that starts "In a house by the end of the forest" (rough translation) and I always think of that song when I see the little cottage in the background of this photo🙂 This morning the lights were on but You can barely see that here.

Right now I have a flock of Waxwings (Bombycilla garruluin) my apple tree🙂 We call them Silktails. They are actually birds that comes down here during winter because they nest even more north during summer🙂🙂 They fly around here and eats all apples and rowan berries they can find. The berries are usually fermented now and full if alcohol so they can actually die of getting to drunk. It is not uncommon to find them dead on the ground. Even though it isn´t especially colorful I think it is one of the most beautiful birds we have here.

The Bullfinches. Beside them You can also see Great tit, Greenfinch and Blue tit.

The Nuthatch can be found all over the northern part of this little planet of ours.

(The photo will get bigger if You click on it)The Waxwings ( Sidensvansar in swedish, meaning Silktails) moves south to us during the winter. I think they are so beautiful. Unfortunately I had to take this photo through the kitchen window.

Well it´s time for a pot of tea and to keep the fire in the stove burning. I´ll watch some birds from my windows and then it´s of to bed to read some more of Salem´s lot🙂 Tomorrow I´ll be back to work again.                                                                                               Have a great day now!

28 thoughts on “Birds and groceries.

  1. Hi Christer,

    Birds! I love everything about them🙂 The way they walk, the peep, as funny as the way they sleep on one foot with his head under his wing, and the variety of colors. And these are his very colorful🙂
    Outside my window has a coconut tree, which serves as a nest for several of them.
    I can hear their party but unfortunately I can not see them amid the leaves. I love the party making the evening when everyone returns home and are talking and telling the news before go bed :))
    I put a feeder in the garden of the building. And what happened was that ants carried all the food!
    I wanted to put a feeder for them in my window but do not want to feed ants!
    Neither want to comment on football. Brazil has lost yesterday!
    a great day and kisses
    Didi

    • Hi Didi!
      Yes it is something special with birds🙂
      But I can gladly say that we don´t have that kind of ant problem🙂🙂🙂 But will the ants find the bird food if You have it on the building? Well You do have a lot more different ants than we do so I´m not surprised.

      What has happened with Brazilian football? They have lost a lot these last years, but when Your guys play great football it is truly fun to watch they play!

      Have a great day too!
      Christer.

  2. Christer yes, we have many ants.
    It is an urban pest!
    Inside the house are very small ants, called ant baker. The ants took seeds are much larger. They are very annoying! It’s hard to end them, using poison and I just do not like it.
    Ants are bad because they bring diseases, since they eat rotten things and dog poop. In hospitals they can make a disaster causing infections from one place to another. Well .. better be ants than having cheaps. Here I’m not cheap … horrible beasts!
    I read a blog that Sweden is not cheap, right? (well I do know the name correctly for the insect…”cheap” is the literal translation )
    Brazilian football today is another disaster:) I think playing football and all the money involved makes players much convinced, full of poise and … lazy! It is no longer the football gear, that beautiful game to watch.
    kiss
    didi

    • We have a new kind of ant over here called the !”Faro ant”. They live in very small communities ands love to live in our homes. But because the community is so small they are hard to find. Naturally all other kinds of ants comes inside too, but they stay calm during winter, the Faro ant doesn´t :-)Sweden isn´t especially cheap the the moment because our krona is highly valued, but compared to Norway we really are very, very cheap🙂 People with a low pension in Norway moves tio sweden and suddenly they have lots of money because everything is cheaper here🙂

      I think You are right about Your football players, we can see it in ours too. They have their money no matter what happens. To sad!

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  3. Christer!
    It’s been so long.. I started to miss you so I had to pop by🙂 I looked back on all your entries.. right to the snow! Your pictures of the birds and cats are my favourite. Oh, and the frost-covered-everything in the mornings🙂 Then the stories about cleaning off the dogs paws.. then them sitting in mud again made me laugh🙂 Yeah, animals are like that. Babu does things to drive me nuts all the time🙂
    Anyways, just wanted to say hi. Hope this finds you well and you’re staying warm. Our weather here isn’t too bad – single digits, but still quite nice.

    • Hi Perovskia!
      I´ve been bad visiting You too lately, sorry about that!
      Every day passes by with problems and joys of their own🙂 Dogs will be dogs so I will continue to try to make them clean before getting inside🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  4. Christer … sorry … I did not think the translation for our word that describes the insect “cheap”, in portuguese “barata” lol I was talking about roach🙂 A very nasty bug!
    Interesting you should comment on the value of the Swedish money … is another thing I do not understand. Our one real (R $ 1.00) is equivalent to almost half of Swedish money?! Sweden is a country of economic solid and stable for so long, Brazil is a country that has not solidified its economy … Anyway … I know nothing about the economy itself🙂 among many other things I do not understand🙂
    kisses
    Didi

    • Hi Didi!
      I did think it was about some kind of insect, but I just couldn´t find any with a name even close to cheap🙂🙂🙂 So i figured I was wrong🙂🙂🙂

      Unfortunately we do have roaches here too. They come along with us when we travel to warmer climates, in our bags. We also have gotten back the Bed bug Cimex lectularius). An animal we haven´t had here for almost 70 years. They too come with our luggage when we have travelled in warmer climates.

      The value of money is nothing I really understand🙂 It can change dramatically from one week to another. But at the moment it´s very cheap for us Swedes to travel.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    Your Picnic rock doesn’t look so welcoming today.🙂 Too cold and grey.

    Your Great Tit looks a lot like our Chickadee except the Chickadee doesn’t have the yellow patch. The White Breasted Nuthatch is common here as well. Sometimes we also get Cedar Waxwings. They are one of my favorites. I always think of them as being much larger than they actually are. It’s probably because they have big attitudes. If they are nesting up with northern predators, I expect they would have to be strong-willed. And they are elegantly feathered as well.

    I sympathize with your lack of daylight. I have a bit more sun here and I’m home all day so I can go out and see what there is of it whenever I want to. Still, it’s a bit of a downer when it has been cloudy all day and then completely dark by 5PM. I have put full spectrum light bulbs in all my fixtures so I can pretend that there is some sun. It doesn’t really work that well but I can fool myself a bit.🙂
    Have a great day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      It was way to cold and dark to have a picnic by the big stone today🙂 The winds came from the wrong direction also so it would have been nasty to sit there🙂🙂

      I think the Chickadee and our Great tit is very closely related, also the blue tit is a cosine of theirs🙂 We only see the Wax wing here during winters, they nest north of Sweden and i think they are so beautiful! But they tend to scare all other smaller birds away when they come in their big flocks🙂 so they are tough birds🙂🙂

      I really dislike the winter mostly because I almost never see the daylight then. But even further north they have almost no daylight at all already now, an hour or two. They will have complete darkness soon, so I guess I´m lucky to see it on the weekends🙂🙂🙂 Pretending is almost as good as the real thing🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. charming post today, love all the wild birds…we are huge birdfeeders here too. It is wonderful to watch all of them feed, and argue. Great dark photos of your home and surrounds! Looks cold.

    • Hi Robin!
      It is dark and cold here now and it won´t change until late february.
      The birds are fantastic and really fun to watch. The most aggressive birds of them all is almost the smallest, the Blue tit. It isn´t afraid to even attack a Magpie🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. These pictures today make me go Brrrrr. I feel cold looking at them. But love the little birdies who get drunk and probably sing Irish songs all the way to death’s door. We have a cold front coming in this weekend so it’s cover the plants, I have a few Tomato plants which are thriving green but no buds so far. My herbs seem to be spreading OK. I think they like the full sun. I Hope you’re feeling better and I guess a return to work means you’re ready. Enjoy that pot of tea. Or is it “spot” of tea over there?

    • Hi Z&M!
      I feel just the same when looking out of the windows🙂🙂
      But I think they will sing Russian songs when the fly around drunk here, because that´s where they come from🙂

      I actually have a couple of tomato plants outside my kitchen door, but they are completely frozen at the moment🙂🙂 I don´t think they´ll give any more tomatos this year or ever again🙂🙂🙂

      It´s a pot of tea but a spot of breakfast🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  8. hi christer…i have heard that the reason birds fly into windows is that they eat the fermented berries and get drunk and then mistake their reflection for other birds and fly to it. i had a bird that kept flying at one of my windows over and over again. it would get stunned but still kept flying into the window. go figure! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      Mostly it´s because they think they can fly straight ahead, they have problems seeing the window. Other times they think they can see a competitor in the reflexion of the glass, so they attack. But this time of year and if it is a Waxwing, yes then it is because they are drunk🙂🙂🙂 It can help a lot if one puts up a silhouette of a falcon on the window, that usually scares the little bird away.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  9. Så skönt att du nu är såpass bra att du kan börja att jobba igen:) Jag gillar också “vår” affär här hemma, det är så himla skönt och trevligt att känna de flesta vid namn och kunna prata och skratta en stund;) Det verkar som vi har ungefär samma sorts fåglar vid fågelautomaterna, sidensvansar har jag dock bara sett vid ett enda tillfälle men det beror säkert på att vi inte har några fruktträd. Jag skulle bli överlycklig om domherrarna hittade hit men det verkar inte som om de vill vara här:( såg ett par för ett par år sedan men inte sen. Förra året var det en ny fågel som jag aldrig sett förut nämligen en nötskrika DET var en vacker fågel. Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Visst är det bra med en sådan affär! När de hojtar “Hej Christer” trots att de står i andra änden av affären🙂

      Domherrar och Bofinkar brukar kika hit på sommaren lustigt nog, men nu har de kommit även på vintern de senaste åren. Kanske beror det på att många gamla trän nu huggits ned och att det är ont om mat? Nötskrikan flyger inte till mig, men min granne har jättemånga hos sig. Jag funderar på om jag borde plocka ekollon i mämgder och lägga på ett stort fat här så att de kommer till mig med🙂🙂 För jag håller med dig, de är otroligt vackra! Tänk att de är släktingar till kråkan🙂

      Ha det gott du med!
      Christer.

  10. Hello Christer
    the birds are beautiful and colorful as they are.
    And his “small house” seems so very cozy!
    Our home is always a castle, regardless of size, what matters are the emotions we feel when the shelter is as if our home in the embrace, and take care of us!
    Have a great day today
    Andrea

    • Hi Andréa!
      Yes all birds are so beautiful even if not all have strong colors. My little cottage is very cosy and I couldn´t have a better home🙂

      Have a great day too!
      Christer.

  11. Love the pictures and the birds… How did you get so close, your new camera? We just threw out a half bag of last year’s pecans for the squirrels and I still have some seed left over for the birds but we get little snow, here, and they can usually forage. Just like to have some on hand for that occasional storm… Take care and enjoy your tea… I’m back to holiday presents, now…

    • Hi Sharlene!
      I´m not close at all to be honest, I was inside taking the photo through my window. The photos are really big originally, so I just cut out the piece I wanted of the photo🙂

      I can imagine it became holiday for the squirrels over at Yours now🙂🙂
      It´s not always we get snow here either, but here they nbeed the energy to cope with the cold weather. It´s not unusual that the temperature drops to -20F for a week or so.
      I hope You enjoy making holiday presents🙂
      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  12. Birds of any kind pull at my heart, and here in Australia we’re just coming through spring… so the birds are all returning. I’ve even seen a few parrots that we haven’t had around in years – due to the drought – but now that the weather’s returning to a more normal pattern, they seem to be coming back to their old feeding grounds.

    I would imagine that a nice pot of tea would really hit the spot, especially after being out in that cold wind! Keep warm, drink plenty of liquids, and keep those darn colds at bay!

    • Hi Tatersmama!
      The world would be really poor without our birds! Great that the parrots are coming back🙂 I wish we had some up here too🙂

      Hot tea after a walk in the cold is perfect🙂 and I´ll try to keep all colds away, they are rather tiresome.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  13. Hi Christer, glad to know you are feeling better. The birds at our feeders prefer the sunflower seeds as well and they are getting rather spoiled too. Today there were over a dozen finches on one of the seed feeders. Unfortunately, I didn’t get out for a photo in time – maybe later this week. They keep returning as long as food is available! The photos today do look very dreary and would make me want to go inside and have a cup of tea too!

    • Hi Beatrice!
      I almost never buys anything else than sunflower seeds any longer, even though there are a few birds that actually doesn´t eat them. Perhaps I should get an extra feeder just for them, I wouldn´t have to fill it up so often🙂🙂
      I can´t get close enough to take any photos of them if I am outside, so I have to stand indoors by the window to get any photos🙂🙂

      This is how we will have it for some time now, whe the clouds stay here it gets rather depressing.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  14. I saw a bright yellow wild canary today…just beautiful. They drink at my fountain on the front porch.
    I could see that tiny house on the edge of the forest…🙂
    You should find that poem and post it. 🙂

    It got up to 85 degree’s here today..and almost too hot for our half hour walk. Poor Mele was dragging with all that fur on her by the time we rounded that last corner. I thought I might have to pick her up and carry her..but she made it.
    Pulled out of her collar twice by not wanting to keep up with us. She will stay home tomorrow until the weather gets cooler for her. Her coat is probably two inches thick this time of year.
    Your birds are much more colorful than ours. The East Coast birds…make me jealous. Usually just little brown house Wrens here…
    Have a good weekend, Christer..
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      Oh canary birds are so beautiful! I guess Your climate is perfect for them. I wonder if they keep on singing that beautiful when they go wild? We once had one that was mute🙂🙂 When he tried to sing it sounded more like a burp than anything else🙂🙂 It was my brothers canary and he called him Devil🙂🙂🙂

      I guess Meles fur is perfect for our climate🙂 It must be difficult to have that long hair when it is so warm in winter. I hope You´ll get a bit cooler weather soon for her sake.

      Most of our birds are brownish or grayish, the ones that You can see here is the most colorful ones. But I´m jealous too, those east coast birds in the US are so beautiful!

      I can that children’s song by heart but it would be really hard to translate it so it doesn´t sound strange🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

