Cold in many ways.

The temperature has dropped both in my body and outside. The grim reaper has left me and his cousin “The one that disturbs Your sleep in the night” has come in his place. To be honest, he is worse in many ways🙂🙂 I think I woke up at least ten times last night and I´m almost as tired now as I was when I went to bed last night. But the coughing stopped late night anyway so it could have been much worse.

It looks as if it is going to be a beautiful day today. The sun is shining and the temperature is below freezing point. To bad I can´t go out to enjoy it, but then again I wouldn´t even have noticed that it was a beautiful weather if I had been at work🙂 So instead I´ll continue on a book I started to read yesterday, Salem´s lot by Stephen King (1975). I´ve read it before but have forgotten most of it.  I was really looking for the short story called Jerusalem´s lot (1978) that is one of the most scaring stories I´ve ever read, but this one is not far behind it🙂🙂 I didn´t get that far yesterday so it wasn´t nightmares that woke me up all night anyway🙂 I have read that Stephen King writes about things that scares him, poor man he has the most horrifying things on his mind🙂🙂🙂

Some of You might think that I started to order seeds a bit early doing it already now, but that´s what we have to do that lives this far north (well anyone that has cold winters with temperatures below 0C (32F) for a longer time. Many of the trees, bushes and perennials that lives in such a climate needs colder temperatures to start germinate. The cold makes some chemicals in the seed, that stops germination to early, to break down so the seed can germinate at the right time. So if You have tried to sow some seeds and always failed with them when You´ve sown them inside or late in spring, try to sow them in the autumn instead.

It is rather easy to decide wether a seed needs heat or cold to germinate (mostly anyway). If the flower blooms in spring the seed most probably needs heat to germinate because it is ready to be sown already in the middle of summer. But if the seed is “ripe” in the autumn it most probably needs the cold to star germinate in the early spring instead. Annuals is a different thing though, some can be sown late in autumn, early winter so they germinate in early spring. Some seeds can take years until they start germinate, like many in the Viburnum family. Others like peony´s germinate the first year, but only grow their roots that first summer. It only starts showing above ground the year after that. Som seeds, like different nuts, might need some help to get water in to it so we need to sandpaper it a bit. Otherwise they may take several years to germinate or might never germinate at all.

I have a fire in the stove and I have already finished a pot of tea. Now I´ll get to bed and start reading about the horrors in the little town Jerusalem´s Lot🙂                                         Have a great day now!

19 thoughts on “Cold in many ways.

  1. Hello Christer!

    Despite the bad night I think his lungs were returned🙂
    You know I like all your photos forever. But today this picture of Hector amazes me in particular. I can feel the arrff arffff his breath to get close and I see a huge pink tongue hanging🙂🙂
    Stephen King? Are you sure that this reading is good for someone with fever? I would recommend something like Tintin, Asterix something like this🙂
    I hope you get well soon
    take care!
    Didi

    • Hi Didi!
      I´m not quite sure my lungs are back yet, but I hope they´ll come back soon🙂🙂🙂
      even though i didn´t see that much difference in Hectors behavior before he got his medicine I can see it now🙂 He is so happy running around again🙂

      Stephen king is great literature while being sick🙂 The dreams gets so interesting then🙂🙂🙂 and I only have one Tintin now days. I really have to buy some more!

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  2. Those pictures look COLD! It’s been nice here..in the 70’s. I have lived in California all my life..except for short bit of time…and now I freeze in lower temps.
    Yep..I am learning about hobbies. I just wasn’t expecting it to be so expensive. I ‘m sort of sorry I got started on it now. Too rich for my blood!
    Did you read Stephen King’s “Cujo” ? That one scared me to death. It was about a dog by that name. I don’t have it…but I scare rather easily so…I am careful what I read. I have a couple of his books that I still have not read. Too much of a coward!🙂
    Take care of that cough, Christer.
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      I can assure You that it was real cold too🙂🙂 It helped me getting the fever down for a short time🙂

      It´s strange with hobbies. Even if they can start out real cheap they rather fast gets really expensive. We want to much I´m afraid.

      I do like Cujo :-)But the fun thing is that I really don´t care about the dog, but the monster in the closet scare the …. out of me🙂🙂 I like to be scared as long as it´s from books. I hate scary movies!

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

    • Hi Robin!
      I´m so glad Hector is back to his normal self again🙂

      I have some book that Koontz written too, also great books to read on a stormy night or when one has a fever🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  3. hi christer…it is so good to see hector running and feeling better. your photos are awesome! you should put out a book of photos! i have only read a few of steven kings books. they are too scary for me. i read the one where a woman was chained to a bed and there was someone standing in the corner of the room watching her. i dressed like that character for halloween and i boiled chicken bones and put them in a box filled with jewelry. it scared the heck out of the kids in the neighborhood!!! it is cold and rainy here and i am chilled to my bones!!! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      Thank You🙂

      His books are really scary🙂 I just can´t understand why he thinks of these things🙂🙂 I would go crazy if I had thoughts like that🙂🙂🙂 But I think I´ve missed the book You talk about! Now I must get out on the net to see which one that is! I can imagine how scared those kids were🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  4. Hello from Oregon Christer. It isn’t snowy yet here where I live, in the Williamette valley, but it did rain last night very late.
    I am going to a local pumpkin and squash harvest party this Saturday at a local farm about 12 miles out of the city. We are picking for the local food banks , and then everyone who picks gets to take home a box of squash and some of these small but very tasty pumpkins. They are perfect for making pumpkin pie, for our Thanksgiving feast which is coming up soon. There will be 70 people at the harvest, so it should be fun!
    Take care of yourself Christer. I like Lee Childs books myself, which are scary in a different way.

    • Hi Terria!
      That squash and pumpkins harvest sounds like fun! and it is great that the harvest goes to the local food bank! Over here all squashes and eventual pumpkins frozen since long I´m afraid.
      I haven´t read anything from Lee Childs books, I´ll have to look him up!
      Have a great harvest day!
      Christer.

  5. Hello Christer, faintly walked for several reasons, but it’s always a pleasure to review your photos and read his blog, I still have to read more carefully.
    The photos are fantastic! And from what I read, you have a cold! I’ve also been so, I’m better now.
    I hope you get well quick!
    Andrea

    • Hi Andréa!
      I´m glad You like what I do and that You like to visit here🙂

      Yes I have a cold and sometimes I feel fine and sometimes like now I feel really sick🙂 But it´s going the right way anyway🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. Hi Christer,
    Another day of beautiful photos. Frosty and sunny and misty all together. Hard to pick a favorite today. Maybe the angelica but only because I recognized it and that made me feel like a bit of an know-it-all.🙂
    I don’t read a lot of Stephen King because he’s graphically creepy and the creepy things stay with me. Like the scene in Pet Semetary when the father finds the dead cat frosted onto the lawn. He picks it up and King writes that it made a sound like Velcro tape being separated. I have had occasion to pick up dead things that have been frosted onto the lawn and it does make that sound but still… eeewww. There’s a really creepy but kind of funny short story in Nightmares and Dreamscapes about a set of Chattery Teeth (the mechanical wind up toy teeth that chatter and hop about). I can’t look at chattery teeth toys without thinking about that story and getting a little creeped out.
    Hope you feel much better. A day off with lovely looking scenery and scary stories should put you in fine fettle, as they say.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I think I like the first photo best, but that´s perhaps only because I would love to go out in to space and see Venus from a shorter distance, but not land on the planet it´s a bit to hot there🙂🙂

      The funny thing is that I can read scary things like his books and sleep very well after. But I can´t see any scary movies, then I can´t sleep for days🙂🙂🙂 I wonder what makes us react in so different ways? It´s only when I read Cujo that I get a bit freaked out, the dog doesn´t bother me but the monster in the closet scares me to death🙂🙂🙂

      I´m feeling a bit better now, but I´m tired all the time yet.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. Christer, great photos and the last 3 are my favorites today. It’s so wonderful to look at your photos and figure out which ones I will enjoy the most. We had some ground fog yesterday morning and I should have gone walking earlier to post some photos, but sadly did not and stayed in bed longer. Stephen King is not an author who would put me to sleep after reading so I avoind his novels. When we visited Maine, we could have gone to see where he lives, but didn’t make the trip. We heard his house is quite unusual even from the exterior. Glad to read that you are feeling a little better and thanks for the information seed germination today. Take good care.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      I think it´s the top one I like most. I do like anything with the sky🙂
      I do like fog as long as I don´t have to drive in it🙂 Now is the period when the fog can stay for days here so it doesn´t matter when I get up🙂🙂

      The strange thing is that I have no problems at all reading his stories and then go to sleep. But I just can´t see any scary movie, then I´ll most probably stay awake for days🙂🙂

      Now I got curios about his house🙂 I have to see if I can find it on the internet🙂
      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  8. Hello dear Christer,

    brrrrrrrrrr, I’m cold, chilled to the bone just reading this and looking at the great photographs. I wish I could send you some California sunshine! It is supposed to get down in the low 30s here tonight, which doesn’t happen very often.

    Sending love to you,

    Sharon Lovejoy Writes from Sunflower House and a Little Green Island

    • Hi Sharon!
      I wish You could too🙂🙂🙂 -13,5F here at the moment and still dropping! I think we must have some kind of record in low temperatures now, this only happens in February otherwise.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

