Washing.

I think it´ll be a day with more DVd watching. The rain is gone however and it´s 5,3C (41,7F) outside. The sun has shown its face but the winds are anything but nice. I think´that I´m finally mentally prepared to wear winter clothes🙂 But I realized that both my winter jackets were so dirty that I had to wash them before I could use them again🙂 So now one of them is hanging beside the stove to dry so I can wear it tomorrow.

Normally washing is no problem, just throw it in the washing machine. But my washing machine broke down some time ago and I sort of never gets away to buy a new one. So I wash all clothes by hand, something I´m grateful that my mother once learned me how to do. It´s not easy when it comes to things like jackets (bigger things like blankets I go to friends and wash them in their machines🙂 ), but I have an old washboard that I use and it works great. I look upon it as exercise🙂🙂🙂

I´ve just ordered my Christmascards and now I realize that I could have taken a great photo that would have been real fun! Well maybe next year🙂 I couldn´t find a fun/bad/strange photo to make a card of this year either so it´s just one I like a lot instead. Some of You that I have the addresses to will get one in the mail, hopefully in time for Christmas too🙂

It´s time for a pot of tea and some breakfast. The fire is already burning in the stove and my dogs are sleeping upstairs in my bed, probably filling it with sand that I couldn´t remove with a towel when we got home after our walk. It´s amazing how much sand they can hide in their fur🙂                                                                                                                         Have a great day now!

22 thoughts on “Washing.

  1. Hi Christer,
    Beautiful photos today. I can’t pick a favorite this time. The first one grabbed my attention immediately and I thought that would be my favorite but then there was the glowing water and into the forest and more and more.
    If I had to use a washboard to clean clothes, I would definitely get myself to the shops for a new machine. Laundry is another task that I do not care to do until I absolutely have to. But then again washing your clothes on the washboard is better than going down to the creek and banging them on the rocks to get them clean.🙂
    Have a great day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I love the sky in the top one, but the Bertil one is my favorite for today.

      Yes it´s definitely better to use the washboard🙂🙂 The strange thing is that I have gotten used to it now, so it doesn´t bother me to not having a washing machine any longer🙂🙂🙂 I think I´ll get out there looking for a new one at the “after Christmas sales”.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  2. First, I love all the photos! the first one is so amazing but of course my fav is the one of Bertil looking like a bobcat!
    Second, OMG! You must get a washing machine if at all possible! About ten years ago, my machine broke and I was too short on cash to get a new one. It was a NIGHTMARE! I was able to get a used one but I always had to do tiny loads. Finally I was able to get a nice big front loader…I told the salesman I wanted something heavy duty that could easily handle comforters! ( I wash blankets and towels daily because of my dogs.) I have scrimped and saved all my life but I vow to never be without a good washing machine again! (Can you call and get one delivered? I highly reccomend a front loader!) Good Luck and enjoy your DVD watching day🙂 – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I think the Bertil photo is my favorite from today too, but I love the color the sky had this morning.

      It´s a bit funny because I´ve gotten used to hand wash now so it doesn´t bother me especially much. I have the money so that´s not the problem, I just sort of never get away to buy the machine🙂🙂🙂 But I think I´m going to buy one after Christmas when the sales starts. My bathroom is so small that I want a top loader. Otherwise I´ll get problems getting to the shower🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  3. Hi!
    The first picture took my breath away🙂
    The photo shows Bertil thoughtfully with all that a cat can have.
    The photo of Christmas trees (pine?) Has the power to cool me down more than a fan:)
    Christer Ohh you’re a brave housewife! Live without a washing machine is terrible.
    Well .. if I had to choose between hand-washing and ironing. I choose to wash. Skip the clothes in this heat is definitely something that I do not like doing.
    You do well to await the settlement after Christmas. Prices are impossible at this time.
    I wish a good Sunday for you and the boys
    kiss
    Didi

    • Hi Didi!
      I do like that first photo, but the Bertil photo is my favorite🙂

      Christmas trees are called Spruce and it took me a long time until I found that out🙂🙂🙂

      Ironing is actually the only sure I like doing🙂 Washing clothes isn´t exactly fun, with or without a machine🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  4. I have to post my vote for the picture “old snow” I have it now on my desktop and I keep watching for the next drop to fall.

  5. wow, handwashing your clothes with a washboard. I always have trouble getting things wrung out whenever I have handwashed. But if you enjoy the exercise, more power to you! Love the old snow dripping from the branch!

    • Hi Robin!
      Well I can´t say I enjoy it🙂🙂 I guess I´m just to lazy get to the store to buy a new one🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. hi christer….my grandfather always used a wash board to wash his clothes. i have one in my garage which i have never used. today’s pics are incredible! i love the one of the evergreens! wonderful. it is raining here today and quite chilly. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I used this washboard when I was living in a cottage where the only luxury was that I had cold water indoors🙂🙂 So until now it has been hanging on the wall as a painting🙂

      I like the evergreens too, it´s a place I often visit on my walks.
      Rain is on its way they say. I hope it´s very little because all creeks are flooding now.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. Christer! My late husband, Patrick, and most likely most men, would love to live your lifestyle. Doggies, sand, long cold walks and doing just exactly as you please..other than going to work of course.
    A man’s life… many would envy you! Enjoy your tea!
    Mona

    • Hi Jim!
      It took a while until I stopped hurting my hands🙂🙂🙂 At least I know I can have clean clothes even if I have no electricity.

      Have a great day too!
      Christer.

  8. I do not know washboard. At least not live.
    Here in Brazil we usually beyond the washing machine a large sink with slots that is used to scrub the clothes.
    Well .. I have no tank. My apartment is small, the washing machine is in the bathroom too.
    I’ve seen a video on Youtube where the musician was using the board to make music!
    I can not remember the name now. Me and my bad memory … Maybe one of your readers from U.S. can I help 🙂 It’s a really beautiful song.
    Didi

    • Hi Didi!
      Perhaps that´s the way washing boards are most known now, as music instruments🙂🙂 We can sometimes see it here too when they use it for music🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  9. Hi Christer, Bertril is a handsome fellow and I liked his portrait today, but the first photo and the one with the spruce trees are my favorites from this collection. I read about your doing the cothes washing with a washboard and I was wondering how you can drain them and then where you put them to dry, especially since some things take awhile and it is so cold in winter where you are living. I do like the convenience of a wahing machine and dryer, but my favorite appliance is a vacuum cleaner!

    • Hi Beatrice!
      It was a good morning to take photos🙂

      The smaller things dries in my bathroom and the bigger things I usually hang outdoors even if it might be cold and rain/snow. I hang them on my patio so the worst will drop of and then I bring them indoors again. Then they will get that nice smell they get outdoors. During winter I hang some things close top the stove and then they´ll dry fast🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

