Snow, snow and then some snow.

We got hit by the snowstorm already this early morning or perhaps I should write this late night. I had over 5 cm (around two inches) already when I went away to work at 5:50 am. I drove earlier than normal because I thought it was better to drive slow and reach work than to hurry and not get there at all🙂

As You can see, no cats! They hate this weather🙂

Unfortunately not everyone thought the same so I could here on the county radio that lots of cars had slide of the road, but no bigger accidents happened around here anyway. The worst was the wind so even if there wasn´t that much snow on the ground the wind placed it on the road instead. They hadn´t even been to the first part of my way to work to get rid of the snow, so we were two cars that very slowly drove down to the highway.

Even if they had done their best to get rid of the snow on the highway it still was a mess due to the wind. But I have to say that I was alone to drive in my direction and I met only two other cars on the whole way🙂 It took me twice the time to get to work than it normally does, but I got there anyway🙂

So when I realized that I could go home earlier today I did. The wind was so strong that my bosses barn got damaged by it and I couldn´t stop thinking about that old crabapple tree beside the dog yard. Last time we had a storm here a big branch fell down into it and I don´t think it will last another big storm. So I drove home one hour earlier, I thought that it was better to get stuck in the snow when there is daylight than get stuck if it´s dark🙂

It seems (as usual) I worried about that old tree unnecessary, the wind wasn´t that strong here at home at all. The forest took most of it and I and the tree lives a bit lower than the surroundings so the snow fall was quite gentle here. But I think we already have gotten 15 cm (6 inches) and more is on the way. Now I´ll enjoy the evening with a fire in the stove and a hot pot of tea by my side, but tomorrow morning I´ll have to dig out my car from the snow and I hate that🙂🙂                                                                                                           Have a great day now!

34 thoughts on “Snow, snow and then some snow.

  1. You are careful and that is good! I am always one of the slowest on the road🙂 the snow is really pretty. Too bad we can’t all stay at home & watch it.

    • Hi Barb!
      I know that I´m not that good a driver to be honest, so I drive slow🙂
      Snow is beautiful on photographs but I could honestly live without it🙂🙂
      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

    • Hi Kristina!
      I do like snow, on photographs🙂🙂 But even I have to admit that it is beautiful otherwise too. I just hope that most of it is gone from the roads tomorrow!

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  2. Beautiful photos…I love how the snow seems to outline the trees.
    I’m glad that you drove slowly and got there. I am always angry when cars whiz by me on the road when it’s so bad out. I have a hard time feeling bad if they are sitting in the ditch later as I pass by. Kinda like the tortoise and the hare story.
    How long of a drive is it to work for you on a nice day?
    It takes me 20 – 25 minutes to drive through town, then across the river and through the next town. People at work who live father out (in the country) get here just as fast as I do because they travel on the Interstate and don’t have to constantly stop.
    Did your dogs enjoy they snow? MY terriers love to romp and roll in it but my little ones are like ” no way! I’m not going out there!” – yes, they are a bit spoiled!
    Take care! – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I can´t help but smiling when those that drives to fast ends up in a ditch🙂 , as long as they don´t injure themselves naturally.

      Normally it takes me 25 minutes to get to work because I do have rather good roads and only has to break twice to change direction.

      My dogs loves snow and could stay out all the time🙂🙂 They think this weather has just the right temperature too🙂 :-)But rain is another thing, that´s just awful for them🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

    • Tjänare Nina!
      Hörde om en hel del lastbilar som kört av vägen! Huvudsaken är ju att ingen skadar sig dock!

      Har det himla gott kan jag säga🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  3. Snow pictures!!! We havent had our first big snow here yet, but soon I am sure. Your dogs look like they are loving it. you are very wise to use caution on the snowy roads, plus the wind causes white-outs, where visibility is zero. the digging out is a royal pain, especially when the snow plow comes by and pushes all the snow back into the driveway! It is pretty to look at, from inside by a cozy fire. I am like your cats!….stay indoors at all costs.

    • Hi Robin!
      Already tomorrow it will start to melt away🙂 So the roads will be even worse then I´m afraid. I´ve just looked at the news and it has been chaos out on the roads today. Mostly it has been busses and lorries that has had huge problems. I don´t like snow and when the wind blows at the same time it´s terrible out on the roads.

      I too prefer to stay indoors days like this, but my dogs just loves it🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  4. Wow, snow already. It’s beautiful I admit, but I don’t like driving around in it much either. And, snow is a lot prettier when you’re looking out the window at a beautiful snowy scene while sitting by a warm fire drinking hot tea.

    • Hi Terria!
      I agree, it´s much prettier to look at it from a window with a fire in the stove🙂🙂🙂 The tea is a bonus too🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  5. hi christer..i just got my first taste of winter looking at your pics. beautiful! i saw on the weather channel this morning that you were getting a storm and that there are high winds with it. it is really socking scotand and northern ireland too. here it is sunny and warm. i want some snow but not the kind we had last year. it broke too many of my trees. hope your crab apple hangs in there! your kitties are smart. they don’t want their little paws to freeze! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      it is beautiful but I prefer looking at photos of it🙂🙂🙂
      Nasty strong winds here and lots of ferries stays in harbor today. Busses don´t go all over this part of our country too.
      I really don´t want a winter like last year!! That one was just awful and I remember the damaged on Your trees! I too hope the crabapple tree hangs in there, I don´t want it to fall over the dog yard and my garage🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. Hi!
    Incredible .. Can not even imagine that yesterday you had so much sun illuminating the green grass.
    Your boys look like they do not care about the change. Are running and playing with the same enthusiasm, really?
    Now it occurred to me … what cats and dogs do when you’re at work? You never found the house destroyed them with their games?🙂
    Christer, see the snow is beautiful, so beautiful! I am amazed with all the air is blue … very pretty.
    Take the car under the snow that must be boring!
    Take care & kiss
    Didi

    • Hi Didi!
      It can change fast this time of year, tomorrow it can all be gone again🙂 and my boys do love the snow🙂

      My cats are usually out hunting somewhere nd my dogs are in their dog yard when I´m at work. So the cottage is safe🙂 But they are never there when I´m at home, then they are with me🙂. I just hate shoveling snow!

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. Christer, isn’t that called a “dusting” of snow over there? I thought you had to have a foot of snow to start getting serious about travel etc. I do recall a huge branch which grew over the NE side of my roof line and the homeowner insurance inspector cited it and it had to be removed by June. Cost? $1200 US and boy did they take that sucker down to the trunk of the tree in my northern wooded area. My house is free of pending tree branches that could break off and act like spears, hurling through windows and doors if a Hurricane hit. Could do worse damage than that I fear. But it was worth taking it down. I hope your winter continues at a slow pace and you avoid those blizzards that your country is known for. Go get that tea and drink as much as you want!

    • Hi Z&M!
      No not really🙂🙂 Further north however this is nothing, we here a bit more south do get problems especially when they don´t clear the roads from the snow.

      Strangly enough insurance companies never argues about trees close to houses here, I guess they would have to cut down trees all over this country if they did🙂🙂🙂 But then again,Your bad weathers are so much worse than ours.

      I do hope that too🙂
      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

    • Hi Jim!
      That´s the best way to look at snow🙂 The problem is that sooner or later I must get out anyway🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  8. Christer, looking at that snow makes me wish for just a little here. We do miss getting at least one decent winter snowstorm like when we lived in NJ. We thought we would not miss it when we moved to this part of VA, but now we do. A couple of the photos today would make lovely holiday greetings. Take care and drive safely on your next drive to work. I much prefer to be indoors as well.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      I could accept a slight dusting of the trees, that would be great🙂 :-)I honestly don´t think I would miss the snow at all I´m afraid🙂🙂
      I´m just about to go out and dig out my car before driving to work now🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  9. Ja du, nu börjas det igen med en massa vitt ute, perfekt om det bara hade varit lite pudrat och ett par minusgrader men det ska naturligtvis vräka ner och SAMTIDIGT storma så det lägger sig som drivor men jag är inte den som är negativ:)))))))) Tur att du kom helskinad till och från jobbet, det här med att oroa sig i onödan är ett elände (är du och jag kanske släkt?) Igår väntade vi på sonen, halv sex på kvällen ringde jag honom på mobilen då var han i Kungälv. När klockan började närma sig halv åtta var jag i upplösningstillstånd, han svarade inte på mobilen heller så jag “såg” honom i bilen skadad och med ambulanser o poliser. Det visade sig att han var på gymmet och tränade haha. Snacka om missförstånd han trodde att jag visste det. Så kan det gå;) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Hejsan Monne!
      Hade det inte varit denna eländiga storm också så hade jag bara gnällt lite över denna vita skit som faller från himlen🙂🙂🙂 De här drivorna gör ju att det är omöjligt att köra!!! Risken att fastna i de där snöhögarna som blir är inget jag vill vara med om igen!

      Min mor utgår alltid från att jag ligger död någonstans om jag inte svarar i telefonen när hin ringer🙂🙂 Jag är liite lugnare än så trots allt🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  10. Hi Christer,
    Beautiful photos of nasty snow! The boys look like they are having a great time playing in it. I really like the 4th photo the best. The weirdly bent tree branch/root in the center makes it look fairy-world. The first photo is also my favorite.
    It’s been raining here for ever, it seems. Maybe 5 days. Everything is soggy and grey and cold. Very November weather, I think.
    Don’t think about shoveling out the car. Have some more tea and sit by the fire.

    • Hi Caryn!
      They love this weather, the worse the weather is the better they like it🙂🙂

      I do like that photo too (nr 4), but the eighth is another favorite of these photos I posted this time. Typical november weather here is when it rains one day and snows the other, those days I do long for spring even more than usual🙂🙂

      Today it´s julmust and gingerbreads🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

      • Okay. Google translated julmust as rootbeer which is so not what I was thinking.🙂 I had in mind something Christmasy with some alcohol in it. Rootbeer here is definitely not alcoholic.

      • 🙂🙂 But I don´t think it tastes anything like rootbeer but very christmasy and some mix in some alcohol too🙂 But I prefer it as it is. If I want anything with alcohol in winter I by some mulled, spiced wine🙂 That is something I love having in cold winters and especially around Christmas🙂
        Christer.

  11. Hi Christer,
    I looked up julmust on Wikipedia. It sounds like non-alcoholic beer but sweet and I might be able to get some here if the company is still in business. It sounds interesting.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I wouldn´t call it beer like, but still something towards it, mixed with Coca Cola and some juniper berry🙂 I love it, but only at Christmastime🙂

  12. What gorgeous photos! I love snow and could live with it year ’round… as long as I could stay holed up at home, that is. 🙂 Years ago, I got snowed it at work and since the plow didn’t do side streets, I was was stuck at work for 4 solid days… and no one else could get in either.
    Did it change my mind about living with snow? No siree! I eventually moved further up the mountain – and proceeded to get snowed in for 2 weeks – with helicopter deliveries of food and necessities! I was in heaven!!

    Take care with the driving… and contiue to do what you’re doing – because we want you to stay safe!!

    • Hi Tatersmama!🙂🙂🙂 I think I could like snow if I was snowed in at home🙂 But I don´t know about being it at work though🙂🙂🙂 I once got snowed in for four days at home when I lived in a cottage not far away from here, but my neighbors and I had food enough and I have to admit that I did like it🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  13. Christer…I have come now full circle with your blog and knowing you. It began during the snow storms..and here we are again. 🙂 I got to see it getting colder and colder..the frost and now the snow. It’s neat!
    For heavens sake, I do hope they check the road for drivers that may get stuck! What if you got stuck and another storm hit while you were on the road. We have had people here in the North of our state…have that happen with terrible results.
    I am sure they must check..and of course you probably have a cell phone. Everyone does now and I forget that! I am stuck in long ago I think.

    Enjoy your tea and your warm fire. We had our fireplace going all evening too!🙂
    Mona
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!🙂 Yes now the circle is complete and I hope You join me for many more🙂

      We´ve had accidents like that over here too, but they are very rare thankfully. I do have my phone with me just in case but if anything happens I bet that´s the day it doesn´t work🙂🙂🙂

      So You have it that cool now so You can use the fireplace🙂 I start a fire as soon as I come home now🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

