Fog on the fields.

I´m sitting here in my kitchen having a cup of coffee and looking out the window at a milky white landscape.  No it´s not snow but fog that colors the world today. Geese flying low can be heard and it seems like many of them are lost. One flew  just above our heads when we were out walking and when it finally decided to land it saw us and lifted again. Unfortunately my camera has big problems focusing in the fog so it refused to take a photo of the goose.

I like these foggy mornings, normally they give me the feeling of being totally alone in the world, but now they day light comes so late that the little traffic there is on a Saturday morning already has started.

Hector is back to normal again, but yesterday evening it looked as if death was tapping him on his shoulders. Normally it´s to warm for him to stay in my bed when I go to sleep, but yesterday evening he stayed and complained loudly about his situation🙂🙂 I´ll have to tell the vet that if he has to go through surgery to remove that little growth of bone, they have to change to something else when they will sedate him. What ever he got now wasn´t especially good for him.

I heard a shot when we were almost at home and thought that it was really irresponsible to hunt on a foggy day like this, people like me can be walking out there without knowing a hunting party is out there. But then I heard several more shots and realized that they most probably were shooting at Jackdaws on their chimneys.

For those of You that doesn´t know what a Jackdaw is I can tell You that it is a smaller cousin to the crow. They love to nest in chimneys and really don´t care if anyone is using the stove in the house. They just keep on filling the chimney with sticks and smaller branches until they can build a nest on the pile🙂🙂🙂 The Jackdaw is a favorite bird of mine, not because it´s beautiful, it´s grey and black, but because it is a really smart bird. I once had a tame one and he (or she) learned how to talk. They are also the most viscously evil bird You can find🙂🙂🙂

Mine was called Robert and he loved to jump to my dogs and cats (he couldn´t fly because of a broken wing) and pull their whiskers or poke on their noses. He also tore all wall paper of from the wall when he could🙂🙂 I know my cays back then several times tried to take him but he was always faster than they were. I´m glad he didn´t poke their eyes out to be honest🙂🙂🙂 There is one thing with them that is awful, they smell strong and really nasty🙂🙂🙂

Well it´s time for another cup of coffee. I have almost no tea and I have no desire to go to the store this weekend. They say that the sun will show today, that is if the fog isn´t to thick. The heat from the sun gets weaker every day now so it might not have the strength to burn away the fog at all.                                                                                                                 Have a great day now!

28 thoughts on “Fog on the fields.

  1. hi christer…poor hector. it sounds like he needs the alternative for the sedation reversal the same as teddy does. your pics are beautiful and so peaceful. i think i am glad we don’t have jackdaws here. they sound nasty! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      Yes I agree, what ever he got was bad for him.

      Jackdaws are funny though, both wild and tame🙂🙂 but they are quite annoying when they clog the chimney🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hello Christer,
    Poor Hector! He must have felt very bad. Unfortunately this reaction is unpredictable.
    I love your pics fog🙂 I can even feel the cold air🙂 What is very refreshing for me🙂
    I did not know the crows learned to speak! Well … I do not know much about them ever saw one. I’ve only seen in cartoon and there they were talking but I do not think it was serious🙂
    Have a great day, kisses to all especially to Hector
    Didi

    • Hi Didi!
      Now at least I know that he feels bad to what ever he got this time. Then we can avoid it if he has to go through surgery.

      The fog makes everything feel cold, even if it was warmer than I thought it would be🙂🙂

      Crows are as intelligent as parrots actually, but not even close when it comes to beauty🙂 Grey, black and brown is the colors they have🙂

      I´ll kiss Hector from You🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer, I am a little late in catching up on blog reading, but sorry to read about Hector’s health issues. Hope the vet can help out, so he will be back to the morning walks. The fog photos are so eerie and I have never tried to photograph in it, but then we don’t get very much. It will be getting dark earlier when we set the clocks back this weekend.
    Enjoy the weekend

    • Hi Beatrice!
      It´s just impossible to read all blogs every day! It´s the weekend that I know I have time to come and visit You all again.

      This vet didn´t seem to concerned so I think eventual surgery will be quick and easy.

      It´s impossible to fail when photographing in fog🙂 Thankfully I like fog otherwise it would have been awful living here, this is fog country🙂🙂

      Have a great weekend too!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer…I hope Hector starts feeling better today & his surgery goes well. I love how you describe what you see around you. Makes me smile as I read your posts. It is a frosty morning here in Wisconsin with the roosters crowing at Eli & Lizzie’s. Hope you have a great weekend!
    Barb

    • Hi Barb!
      He is much better, but I´ll have to tell them to change what ever they used to sedate him this time if they decide to do surgery on him.

      I wish I had the time to have a rooster and some hen, ´but that will have to wait until I retire (about 19 years from now🙂🙂 )

      Have a great weekend too!
      Christer.

  5. Loved the foggy walk… And, definitely learned something new! Didn’t know crows were that high on the IQ scale! But, wouldn’t want a stinky, evil (evil? really? as in diabolical?) bird around my house, especially the chimney… Hope Hector gets better and the surgery takes care of the problem… Enjoy your coffee and come visit when you can…

    • Hi Sharlene!
      Yes they are really smart those birds and diabolical too🙂🙂 Robert loved to annoy my other pets🙂 Everyone, including him, knew that they weren´t allowed to do something to him and he took advantage of that fact🙂🙂🙂 But they are really fun birds, the smell however is nasty. He had a room of his own and the window was always open there, no matter how cold it was outside.

      I hope that they will remove this little growth he has. I know sometimes they don´t want to do that because it might grow back as fast as they removed it. I´ll know on monday I hope.

      Have a great day now! You know I´ll come and visit🙂

  6. Sending Hector some hugs..we are sorry he was feeling poorly after his sedation. Your new header is perfect, a foggy deer. We dont get fog here very often, which is a shame because I think it is beautiful and mysterious. Thanks for the great fog photos!

    • Hi Robin!
      I have seen how sedation can make humans sick, but this was the first time I´ve seen it happen to an animal. But now he´s back to normal again🙂
      You are the first one that noticed the new header🙂 I thought it was time to change it and why not to a photo with fog in it🙂 I´m glad the deer showed so well.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. Hello Christer.
    I was thinking, Hector has already received much anesthesia? Could be it!
    The last time Pantufa received anesthesia, was quite weird for a long time. I think this is already having used a lot of anesthesia, as long as it is here at home has already received six anesthesia, and how she was spayed before coming here, including me 7, Maybe that’s what made her feel sick the last time .
    I hope he get well soon!
    My machine, though the night is too wet, the picture is bad because it only appears the droplets in the air! Then the fog, not thinking Heheheheheheh
    Good morning!
    Andréa

    • Hi Andréa!
      No he has only gotten it once before, six years ago. Otherwise I think that would have been my first guess.

      No there´s nothing wrong with your machine🙂🙂🙂
      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  8. Hi Christer,
    Glad to see that Hector is back to normal today. It’s good that you know how that particular drug acts on him and can avoid it in the future.

    I think crows and ravens are beautiful birds but noisy, of course. I just got back from a visit to Texas where I saw Great Boat Tailed Grackles. Another mostly black bird. They are like regular grackles but form huge flocks and are extremely and loudly vocal. They sound like some tropical birds. Very impressive to someone from Massachusetts where we do not have loud birds. We do have Swifts that live in our chimneys but they are small and do not gum up the works with sticks and things. We also have bats and raccoons that live in chimneys. Bats are marginally acceptable but raccoons are never welcomed.
    Have a great day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      At least that´s something good coming out of this. He really felt bad yesterday so if surgery is required I´ll tell the vet.

      I have never heard about the Great Boat Tailed Grackles before (to be honest, I´ve never heard about any kind of grackle🙂 ) so I had to look it up. What a beautiful bird! I think Crows and ravens are beautiful too, but it wouldn´t hurt if they had more colors, over here the crow is brown/grey and black. Same bird different colors.

      I think we only have the Jackdaw that builds nests in chimneys. I would definitely don´t like to have a raccoon in my chimney🙂🙂🙂
      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

      • American Crows and Fish Crows are the species I have in my area. They are both iridescent blue-black and very shiny and differ only in size and song. In the sunlight their feathers have a rainbow sheen like oil on a puddle so I guess you could say that they have all the colors. 🙂
        Brown crows would be interesting to see.

      • They are really beautiful when the sun hits them from the right direction!
        We have a couple of crow relatives over here´:
        The crow I have put in a link to photos of all birds I name here in the name.

        Råka
        Kaja or Jackdaw
        Nötkråka and
        Nötskrika
        Skata or Magpie

        the raven to of course but that one You already know. I guess there might be some more too but these are the ones I know that are quite common here.
        Christer.

  9. Mystery photo day in Sweden. They look like they could be in a horror movie. The dogs look like they are guarding Dracula’s Castle. Remember that movie with the wolves out in front? I like the new banner you put up. The last Deer to survive this years hunt. What are all those white tubs on the fence line, wheat? I see only one in a single picture then stacks of them in the last few. Enjoy your empty tea container. Oh boy, here we go again with you and no tea.

    • Hi Z&M!
      I haven´t been thinking about that movie in a long time🙂 I love those old movies when vampires still couldn´t stand the sun🙂🙂

      Thankfully most of the hunters hopes no one shoots any deers🙂 So my neighbor feeds them on his property and tells his hunting friends that his wife doesn´t allow deer hunting on their property🙂🙂🙂

      Those big white balls contains silage. They wrap the plastic around the hay while it still is rather moist. Then it sort of ferments in a place where there is very little oxygen and gets more nutritious, like when we make sauerkraut.

      I have enough tea to make one pot, so I´ll make one tomorrow🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  10. Christer,
    That’s great you have put links to the crows!
    In my opinion they are all beautiful and I would not care to have them around, even though the smell was not pleasant. Birds are beautiful, are the symbol of the spirit. Even a playful spirit and trickster.
    I have already created a bird that fell from the nest. His name was Francisco and was a “Chupim”. He loved that scratched his head, was very sweet.
    Ahhh tell me that Hector responded to the kiss I sent it to him? He wished me a great day? :))
    Kisses and have a great night all of you
    Didi

    • Hi Didi!
      Yes they are beautiful, but not especially colorful. Brown, grey, white and black🙂 It´s only Nötskrikan that is a bit colorful🙂
      The Chupim is also beautiful! I found Robert on the street with a broken wing so he couldn´t fly away. He would have been an easy pray for rats, cats and dogs.

      Hector responded very well to the kiss and he says Obrigado🙂 Naturally he wished You a fantastic day🙂

      Take care!
      Christer.

  11. Vilken fantastisk vacker header! Verkligen tjusig – och väldigt mycket DU!!
    Hade också tänkt ta en ny headerbild under morgonprommisen med Penny idag. Det var så vackert med all den vita frosten och solen som sken så allt glittrade, så kameran åkte med men…det fanns inga bilder kvar!
    Kan bero på att i går kväll var jag ute i mörkret för att fota alla ljus jag ställt ut och lära mig kameran mer (efter 5 år). Och då blev det MÅNGA bilder tagna!
    Stackars Hector! Vad jobbigt det är när dom är dåliga, man blir ju nästan sjuk själv. Penny mår bra, men hon skriker fortfarande väldans mycket runt middagstid. Ska bli spännande att se hur det går när vi ska bo på hotell 2 nätter. Vi har egen utgång så man får väkl vara ute och promenera hela kvällarna. *ha, ha*

    • Tjänare Susie!
      Du missade precis mitt nya inlägg idag🙂
      Tack skall du ha🙂 Rådjuret vägrade ställa sig så att jag kunde få en sådan bild på den, men till slut samarbetade den riktigt bra🙂🙂
      Visst är det väl typiskt att man inga bilder har kvar i kameran🙂🙂 Jag tänkte undvika det denna gången så jag köpte ett minneskort som antagligen räcker för ett par veckors fotograferande🙂🙂 Men det kommer ju fler mornar med frost🙂

      Visst är det jobbigt när de blir sjuka! Jag visste ju vart det barkade med gamla Etna så min mage var ju i olag hela sommaren. Men Hector var tillbaka i sitt gamla jag i morse, nästan ingen haltning alls och han sket fullständigt i var jag var🙂🙂 Han snackar ju rätt mycket nu och högt dessutom. Så du kan ju tänka dig hur det blir när han blir gammal och döv🙂🙂🙂 Lycka till på hotellet🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  12. Christer…what is laying in the road? Did something get hit by a car. You didn’t mention what it was and it doesn’t look like one of your cats resting…I am curious.
    I do remember the story of your Jackdaw. I remember it well.
    They were shooting the birds, right on top of their roofs? Can they not just put a thick wire cover over the chimney to keep the birds out? Silly birds. Smart or no smart…the rifle will win! 🙂
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!🙂🙂 No it´s just Teodor that rolls around on the ground🙂🙂 He has the habit of running some yards just to fall down to the gravel road and roll around on it🙂 He must be the dirtiest cat in the world🙂🙂

      At the moment they shoot blanks, just to scare them away. It´s in late winter when they start building their nests that they might use bullets on them. Even if the bird isn´t much bigger than a pigeon it´s really strong (I know I´ve been bitten🙂🙂🙂 ) so they often gets things down our chimneys anyway.

      But come to think about it, I haven´t had a Jackdaw here in months?! I wonder where they have moved now, perhaps they´ll return when spring arrives.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  13. Hi Christer!
    Good morning🙂
    I think all birds are beautiful, no matter the color.
    I found the Nötkråka especially beautiful. Wow that plumage is different!
    Chupim? You know Chupim! I used the name here because I could not translate.
    Ohhh now I have another reason to like Hector!
    Besides being a cute puppy is educated and knows how to speak Portuguese!🙂
    Very charming he is🙂
    Now I read your post today:)
    A great day for all of you and a kiss
    Didi

    • Hi Didi!
      I agree, all birds are beautiful. But some of Your parrots are spectacular!

      No I don´t know Chupim but I found it on the internet🙂 I guessed that it was a brazilian name for that bird and I found lots of photos of it🙂

      You should only know what Hector can🙂🙂 If he wants something he will give You his paw, he always does that when he thinks he deserves a treat🙂

      Have a great day too!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

