To the vet we went.

The morning showed no signs of what had been said to be a beautiful day. The sky was  filled with dark grey clouds, but the closer we came to the vet appointment, the better the weather got. Now the sun is shining and the sky is clear blue. I have to say thatr this is a perfect autumn day.

I got a bit surprised but glad when I saw it was the old vet that was there today. I thought he had retired years ago and he must be around two hundred years old or so🙂🙂🙂 But he is great and can always figure out what might be wrong with our animals. He pushed and pulled Hectors left front leg, said hmmmm and asked me for how long he had been limping and then he said lets x-ray him.

We stopped at the bathing place in Tråvad on our way home. You have seen photos from here before, but I think it is so beautiful that You´ll have to see it again :-)

We stopped at the bathing place in Tråvad on our way home. You have seen photos from here before, but I think it is so beautiful that You´ll have to see it again🙂

I did wonder why he wanted to x-ray Hectors elbow since I was quite certain that it was his shoulder that was aching in some way. After have gone through this with Orvar I told him that it was best to drug him before doing anything else. Not that any of them are aggressive in any way, but 40 kg (around 90 pound) panicky dog is hard to stop🙂🙂🙂 He must have hit a vein because Hector was gone within one minute and he actually stopped breathing for a short while. But I pressed his chest hard a couple of times and then he started to breath with a loud snore🙂

The tracks used to go here over the river Lidan. Every now and again someone threw out their apple and now lots of apple trees grows along the road. All are edible and some are truly delicious. There grows a lot of cherries too.

Orvar didn´t care the least about Hector. He put his paw over Hectors nose or his whole head so Hector had troubles breathing🙂 So I had to push him away and after that Orvar looked as if I had totally destroyed his life  :-)🙂🙂 We x-rayed Hector and after that he got the wake up shot. That didn´t go as fast I can say🙂

The x-rays showed that Hector has problems in his elbow. It looks as if there grows a little bone just were the joint should be smooth and clean. My ordinary vet will be back on Monday and when he has taken a look at this he´ll call me and tell me what to do. Most probably he will remove that little growth as soon as possible. By the way, there was nothing wrong with Hectors shoulder at all🙂🙂

Hector isn´t his usual self after being to the vet.

Now we´re home after taking a short walk in the forest. Hector went directly to my bed and is sleeping heavily. He didn´t take the sleeping drug he got especially well at all. He did however except some treats in the car on our way home🙂 After writing this I´ll go up to him to give him some more treats🙂

Orvar on the other hand has all energy he wants, and then some🙂🙂

Have a great day now!

28 thoughts on “To the vet we went.

  1. Så skönt att få reda på vad det var för “fel” på Hector:) Nu kanske han kan bli fri från det onda. Det är alltid obehagligt att söva sina djurvänner, speciellt Birma är lite “luriga” att söva och jag är alltid livrädd att de inte ska vakna mer. Kommer ihåg en gång Bobo hade sövts och fått en uppvakningsspruta precis innan jag kom och hämtade honom. Han vaknar nog inom en halvtimma sa veterinaren JOJO !! 6 Timmar senare vaknade han:) Ditt foto av Lidan var otroligt vacker:) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Ja, det är skönt att man vet vad det handlar om. Det lät inte på veterinären som om det var någon stor sak. utväxten sitter dessutom lätt åtkomligt. Jag blev nog lite extra uppmärksam eftersom han somnade så fort, men jag hann inte ens bli orolig🙂 Däremot hade jag nog stressats sönder om han fortsatt sova i sex timmar🙂🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. I’m sending positive energy and good thoughts for Hector! I asked my friend the vet tech about that type of surgery…she said that could be a Major surgery but when I told her that Hector isn’t a puppy, she said that it might not be what she was thinking of.
    So, I’m hoping that it’s something simple and not major- for Hector (and you!)
    I bet you were worried when he stopped breathing for a few moments! my old dog Griffin did that during a teethcleaning/extraction and scared me to death!
    Take care, I’ll hope for the best for your boy Hector!
    – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      The vet didn´t sound especially concerned about this. I guess this is something that happens if they get an injury earlier (like when I had a surgery in my fist, grid started to grow after that but it was easy to remove). The little growth is placed so it easily can be reached to thankfully. They´ll phone me on monday to tell if they want to do something about it.

      Actually, I never had the time to be scared🙂🙂 I payed a bit more attention than I usually would do since he fell asleep so fast. When I noticed he didn´t breath I just pressed his chest hard a couple of times and he started to breath again. But I didn´t stop looking at him after that🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  3. Hang in there Hector we are all cheering for you. And Hi olof what great pictures today as always you should print and frame the dog photos they are exceptional.

    • Hi Woody!
      I can tell You that he is complaining every time I come close🙂🙂🙂 But we have just come in after a walk and now he seems happier again.
      Thank You, I have a couple similar photos of them that I actually might make real photographs of🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Olof.

  4. Glad you know what is actually the cause of the problem now! Looks like the Winter tim is ready to settle in at your place!

    Glad to see the dogs are still able to enjoy the out doors! Best wishes for your furry friends!

    • Hi Jim!
      Yes it´s always best to know what´s causing the problems. It seems it will be easy to remove too🙂

      Winter is lurking around the corner I´m afraid. This coming night is said to be real cold, but I´m happy as long as it doesn´t snow🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  5. Hello Christer!
    I think we were all anxious for news:)
    Good to know that something is easy to solve.
    It’s nice to know that Orvar is so loving … despite all this love is not appropriate at that exact time🙂
    Glad to know you are all well
    kisses
    Didi

    • Hi Didi!
      The vet didn´t sound to concerned so I do hope it is easy to remove. But I looked on the x-rays and the bone piece was in the front, just beneath the skin. But Orvar was a bit to loving this time🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. hi christer! poor hector. it takes teddy 2 days to come back to herself after she gets sedated. chows are very sensitive to drugs and must be given special types. i hope things will go well for hector. keep giving him treats! we have snow here today! this is the earliest it has snowed in years. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      It looks as Hector will take some time to come back to normal too. He is anything but happy at the moment. He is very “verbal” normally , but now he is even worse the poor dog.
      He (and Orvar naturally) will get lots of treat now🙂

      Snow already!! It feels like it was yesterday You had summer temps🙂 But I guess You like it🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. They both look healthy enough. I love that walking bridge. How quaint. And these are photos of Fall not winter. The one by the river is wonderful. It must be absolutely beautiful over there today. Enjoy all that beauty this weekend.

    • Hi Z&M!
      Hector is anything but happy right now and complains as soon as I´m near. But I do hope he will feel better tomorrow. I know the cold air that we will have is something he really likes anyway🙂

      Arctic winds are blowing down right now, so it will be rather cold tonight. But You are right, it has been nice and warm autumn weather here lately🙂
      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  8. It’s always hard to go to the vet… I will keep my fingers crossed that Hector’s surgery is minor and Orvar will be very attentive… Love the trestle and the shot with one of the dogs in it… Very symmetrical and soothing… Have a great day and enjoy your tea!

    • Hi Sharlene!
      I was hoping for a dislocated shoulder but I think this isn´t that bad after all. The vet didn´t think he needed any pain killers yet either.

      Trestle is a new word for me, google translated it too buck🙂

      Have a great day too!
      Christer.

  9. I hope that it all comes well, and that it will be a simple procedure for Hector, and things can get back to normal very soon! And I agree… some of those photos are exceptional and deserve to be framed!!

    Sorry thatI haven’t been around much lately – but with a boy to contend with, my life doesn’t seem to be my own anymore. 😦

    • Hi Tatersmama!
      I´m glad that You like my photos🙂

      I have been wondering what is happening down south🙂 But I can understand that he does take up much of Your time.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  10. Hello Christer
    I was saddened to learn of the frog and the shoulder of Hector, but happy to know that now is fine.
    My Pantufa can not eat after the anesthesia, because she vomits a lot.
    The affection of Orvar is exciting.
    Moreover, animals (all of them) are amazing!
    They are enlightened beings, I love dogs, they just miss talking!
    Pampered pro Hector! Give him a hug for me!
    Andrea

    • Hi Andrea!
      It looks as if it will be rather easy to remove that little growth anyway. Poor Pantufa! Hector complained about everything yesterday and stayed in my bed most of the time, but he was first out this morning🙂 Yes all ani,mals are amazing, even horses that I am a bit afraid of🙂🙂🙂
      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  11. Hi Christer,
    Trestle; an open cross-braced framework used to support an elevated structure such as a bridge. Possibly many Americans refer to any railroad bridge as a railroad trestle whether it is or not. I know I do.😉
    Glad to hear that Hector’s lameness seems to be one that is easily fixed. He was probably more bothered by the vet visit than by the elbow pain.
    The River Lidan is my favorite photo today. Beautiful. The little riffle in the water on the right side looks like a fish has come up to feed.
    Hector does not look very happy in that photo but Orvar appears to be making up for it.
    Have a great day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      Thank for the info! I did wonder where that buck was in any photo🙂🙂🙂

      You should see him walk around after the visit to the vet. It looked as if we almost had ripped of that leg of his🙂🙂 He, like most animals, hates going to the vet🙂

      I do like that photo too, the water level is about 1 meter (the same in yard) so Lidan looks so big now.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  12. Christer,
    I find that Gracie’s mood is most decidedly lifted by a treat or two. She heads to her crate and sticks her head out the open door. In this house, that is the universal code for treats, but she is happy with a piece or two.

    Ass the vet is hardly traumatizing she never seems to mind her visits.

  13. Hello Christer.
    Speaking of horses as a child my grandmother had a summer home for holidays and weekends. There was a wild horse that no one could mount even get close, it was very skittish, but loves my grandmother who always gave her crusty bread to eat. He (Thunder) was running when he heard the voice of my grandmother stopped at the gate of the house and hoped for her to give him food. And he could spend his hand. Even the horses are amazing!
    Kisses
    Andrea

    • Hi Andréa!
      I liked my neighbors two horses he had a year ago. But otherwise I´m a bit afraid of them🙂 I would definitely not have tried to give Thunder something to eat🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

