An early weekend.

It was way to dark to take any photos today, so I´ll show older ones I´ve never shown before instead.

The weekend starts early for me because I´ll take Hector to the vet tomorrow so I´ll have the day of from work. Last time as was at the vet it was Orvar that had dislocated his shoulder. He and his brother are both rather big and heavy, so when they are playing it can become rough🙂🙂 They never mean to harm each other, it just happens🙂 This time it´s Hectors turn to limp around. He has some troubles with his left front leg when walking and it looks as something might be wrong with his left  hind leg too. I can´t put my finger on it, but it´s something that isn´t right anyway.

Last time Hector and i were visiting the vet he had been eating a toad. All toads are more or less toxic and it can actually become dangerous if something tries to eat them. I noticed that something wasn´t right when Hector started to drool. It started out as if he was waiting for something real tasty, but soon he started to drool heavily🙂 I can honestly say that I have never seen any animal drool that much, it was like someone had opened a tap in his mouth🙂🙂🙂

So we went to the vet and all the way he drooled all over the car. Soon the back part of the car was covered in dog saliva so I had to let him sit in the front seat and have his head outside the window (something he loves). It takes around 30 minutes to the vet and during that time the right side of the car was smeared by his saliva and it also hit cars that drove behind us🙂🙂🙂

When we came to the vet people outside started to laugh when they saw him. I don´t think I have to describe how he looked, just use Your imagination a bit🙂🙂🙂 After he got a shot of cortisone (I think it was that anyway) the drooling slowly stopped and we went home again in my not so nice car🙂🙂 I think we had been home for about ten minutes when I realized that he had thrown up the toad just before we went away to the vet. I realized that when I saw him eat it once again. Guess what happened next🙂🙂🙂

If the weathermen are right we will get a sunny and a bit chilly weekend. But there is a big risk of fog too. But I don´t care about the fog as long as it doesn´t rain I´m happy. Now it´s time to make a pot of tea and then perhaps look at tv. But if they don´t show anything interesting today I might look at Ice Age 3 on DVD instead🙂                                                     Have a great day now!

16 thoughts on “An early weekend.

    • Hi Robin!
      I do hope it´s just something like a dislocated shoulder on him too, so it isn´t something like arthritis. I know he can get medicines helping with the ache but dislocated shoulders are easier to fix🙂

      You should have seen him🙂🙂🙂 and I don´t think he has learned a thing from that experience🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  1. hi christer! i remember when he ate the toad but i never knew he ate it twice. the photo of the leaves is fabulous! it is cold and rainy here. bone chilling weather for sure! a good soup day! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      Perhaps I forgot to write that the last time, but he started to drool like mad again🙂🙂🙂

      It´s going towards colder weather here agin and this time I don´t mind really. As long as it doesn´t rain again🙂🙂 I ate the most delicious spinach soup when I had my class the other week, unfortunately I forgot to ask for the recipe!!!

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  2. Hoppas att det går bra hos veterinären.
    Paddor är allt annat än trevliga, än så länge har Pelle inte ätit någon. Fast han hittar en del annat som är allt annat är trevligt, katternas lämningar.
    Eftersom jag inte har varken läst eller skrivit på ett tag blev jag lite skraj när jag upptäckte att det var ditt sista blogginlägg, det hade varit synd om du lagt av. Tur att jag läste hela så jag kan hitta hit.
    Trevlig kväll!!!!

    • Tjänare Vittran!
      Kul att se dig här🙂 Jag hoppas att det bara är en axel som gått ur led som på hans bror. Men det finns en risk att det är reumatism också. Fast då får han gå på samma medicin som hans mor gick och hon hängde ju med i över tretton år. Kattskit är annat han sätter i sig också tyvärr, luktar inte direkt parfym efteråt🙂🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  3. hi christer…..wild rice is not really rice but rather it is a grain. it is a bit chewy and nutty tasting very unlike anything else i can think of but it is wonderful! joyce

  4. Christer,

    One of these photos, the one below the cat picture, looks like a painting. I wonder how you had that setting on the camera. Don’t you agree? Sorry Mr Drooly Man had such a bad day but ya know, it’s always their own fault. The eat what is not for dogs. Some get killed doing it. I lost a Great Dane to poison cherries on a tree we all knew was not safe for human consumption. By the time we got her to the vet it was too late, even though they tried to pump her stomach, she lost her kidney function and it went downhill from there. It was a long time, after her death, and two growing kids for me to give in and have a dog again. We got a hunting Beagle and she lived with us all her life, 17 years. It was still sad when she died but she was really too old to even walk. We had to put her down to avoid her living in constant pain.

    • Hi Z&M!
      The bog is so beautiful and the autumn colors gives it a painting like shine. I´m jot sure how I had the settings on my camera, but I usually adjust it to ISO 200 and I think the time was around 1/ 500 second. The light came from the left, almost directly towards the camera I think.

      Thankfully we have almost no toxic berries around here, because I´m pretty sure my boys would eat them🙂
      My vet and I agreed that as long our pets are happy, likes to go out and comes to meet when someone comes they can stay, but when that isn´t the fact I let them go, no matter how hard it feels. It is so easy to become egoistic when it comes to old friends.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  5. Hi Christer,
    Lovely leaf photo to start off. The day is very dark, dreary, cold and rainy so the leaves were bright to look at.
    The mysterious lamenesses that animals get are troublesome especially if they come and go. Then they can be something serious.
    The toad story was funny. My old Jack Russell Terrier bit into a toad once. I dragged her away before she killed and ate it but she foamed at the mouth and shook her head for some time afterwards. The poor toad had a big chunk out of his back. I tried to find him so I could put him out of his misery but he managed to disappear although I don’t know how he could have done so. When we walked by that spot the silly dog went looking for the toad so she could bite it again. Jack Russells may be the brightest of the terriers but terriers are not the brightest of all dogs.😀
    Have a good visit with the veterinarian and a great day off.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I hope it´s just a dislocation of the shoulder, but it could be anything to be honest. Arthritis isn´t uncommon on big dogs, but I don´t think it´s lime disease. The aching tends to move around then.

      Hector that is a big part Bordercollie should know better and he is the bright one of the two brothers🙂🙂🙂 But dogs will be dogs so to speak🙂🙂
      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. awwww, the poor dog!
    Don’t tell me he ate the toad again and what did you do then? did you have to take him back to the vet again or did you have something you could give him?!!
    and they eat cat poo too? oh my…
    enjoy your weekend, I am so looking forward to mine already and it’s only Thursday night!
    hälsningar
    liz

    • Hi Liz!
      Nice To see You here🙂
      Yes he ate the toad once again and there´s nothing that I can give him to stop drooling🙂🙂🙂
      Most dogs seems to think cat shit is like the best thing they ever have eaten🙂

      I started to enjoy my weekend already last night🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. Hello Christer,
    I hope that Hector does not have anything serious. The story with the frog is very funny, but only after passing is not it? At the time I can imagine their concern.
    Jung these days left me worried. He has a mania. moreover, every cat has a particular mania. He loves wire line when he sees a thread hanging from the clothes he pulls his leg and is biting. It seems he is using dental floss🙂 And I saw he was having difficulty in going to the bathroom … and then I saw. A yarn!
    You can imagine that was not nice to help you get rid of the wire🙂
    Good luck at the vet
    Didi

    • Hi Didi!
      I do hope so too!
      It was actually quite funny when it happened too🙂 I´ve never seen anything like it before and he didn´t seem to care much himself either🙂🙂🙂

      Cats sure do have their mania🙂🙂🙂 I can imagine that getting rid of that wire was anything but fun🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

