It´s getting darker.

Soon it will be dark before I get home in the afternoon. The sun goes down earlier and earlier for every day, but we will also change to normal time again after summer (this weekend). Mornings will get lighter, but afternoons will be darker. For me that drives away from home around six am it really doesn´t matter if the morning gets lighter, I won´t notice that anyway. But I will notice how dark it will get in the afternoon instead.

I really don´t understand why we way up in the north should have to change the clock at all during summer.It´s light already around 3am anyway and it won´t be dark until after 11pm either. Further north it doesn´t get dark at all🙂 We gain nothing from this and the heart attack rate increases by 5-10% those days the clocks are changed. It actually doesn´t matter if the day gets shorter or longer. If You are at risk to get an heart attack those are the days You´ll have to take it easy.

The school I´m doing my class at is an old army camp and it is quite noticeable if one looks at the class rooms, not very suited at all to be honest🙂 The ventilation is crap and if we open the windows now it´s a risk to get pneumonia🙂🙂 But we have a break, leg stretcher, every 45 minutes and we move around some in the building to have team works. If we´re lucky we will see the Michael Moore film “Sicko”. I´ve never seen it before but I have heard a lot about it.´I´ll tell You what I think about it if we get the chance to see it.

It´s slowly getting dark outside now. The sun goes down 5:32 pm and up 8:04 am. Next week it´ll change to one hour earlier, I´m not happy🙂🙂 But there will be many fires in my stove until then and many pots of tea have been drunk.

Have a great day now!

28 thoughts on “It´s getting darker.

  1. Beautiful pictures, as always Christer. I don’t like the time change either. But it does give us more chance to rest & re-charge our energy. We are having a huge wind storm in Wisconsin now. I think if I went outside, I would blow away🙂
    Barb

    • Hi Barb!
      I guess that, since You live so much more south than I do, You do get something out from this change. Up here it´s just stupid🙂🙂

      Take it easy in the wind now!
      Christer.

  2. Frosted fungi! How cool is that? Obviously very! Wonderful photographs, as always.

    I can’t say that I ‘enjoyed’ the movie Sicko, because it made me rather angry at how corrupt our health care system really is. But as always, take any Michael Moore movie with a grain of salt.

    Peace,
    Chris…………..

    • Hi Chris!
      Really cool🙂🙂
      Yes I know one has to be a bit critical to his movies, He has his agenda to follow. But there´s a risk that our government wants to change towards Your system! They don´r dare saying it loud so they change the system in silence. I would never be allowed a health insurance (or it would be ridiculously expensive) since I have a rheumatic disease that might cost lots of money for an insurance company in the future.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  3. While I wouldn’t want the shorter days, you do seem to have the perfect spot for some truly beautiful mushrooms! I don’t like the daylight change, either, and I don’t think there’s a farm animal that gives a rat’s patootie!… Just looking for regular feed… It’s good that your school gives you movement every hour, or so… Love today’s pix… Enjoy your tea and fire, and come visit when you can…

    • Hi Sharlene!
      We do have lots of mushrooms here, but I know a place closer to Gothenburg where there are even more different kinds🙂

      At least up here there´s absolutely no use in changing the clock like that. Either it´s light all the time or dark🙂 One hour either way doesn´t make any difference at all🙂🙂🙂

      You know I´ll come to visit🙂
      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  4. hi christer..i love the frost on the mushroom pics. sounds like a good name for a blog! i hate daylight savings time. it is so unnatural. there is a huge cyclone heading our way. i’ve never heard of a cyclone around here. they say it will be the worst storm in 70 years…gulp!!! i love storms but not flat line winds. they can do sooo much damage. i am just about to go out in the yard and make sure everything is as safe as possible. it is almost 80 degrees here now and when the storm moves through it will drop 45 degrees. it is spooky and scary here. perfect for halloween! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      It does sound like a good blog name🙂
      I´ve heard about that cyclone warning in other blogs, so stay safe during its passing by! It´s very rare with that kind of winds over here, but we had two devastating cyclones just a couple of years ago. I was lucky, both my gardencentre and cottage was covered by the winds from other buildings and the forest here at home. But as You say, perfect Halloween feeling🙂🙂

      Take care!
      Christer.

  5. Second the last photo, is that a duck blind? I thought you said no one could shoot on Crane anytime during the year. So is it used to flank deer or moose? That would mean the shooter shoots downwind which is cumbersome. Looks funny too, odd way to make it without camouflage tenting. Nice falls shots today. I guess we are awaiting the first photos of snow. Enjoy the clock change.

    • I´m not exactly sure what a duck blind is. Google translated it to blind duck🙂🙂 But it is a moos/deer hunting tower. One could of course use it to ducks also but I know of no one that hunts ducks here. Most people think duck and goose is to fat. None of those towers has any kind of camouflage, they work anyway as long as one sits still in them. But i think the ground was a bit to soft this year with all the raining we´ve had. So it probably sank down when someone entered it🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. Beautiful photos of the creek, brook? Lined with tall dark trees, looks very mysterious. I liked the frosted fruit (apples?) too. I dont mind daylight savings time that much, I just hate how out of kilter everything is for days, after the clocks change. And the sun and the moon dont pay heed to us humans anyway!! Did your cat eat that weird looking fungus? Did he shrink or grow tall??? Enjoy your tea!

    • Hi Robin!
      I think this is to small to call brook, even if the people around here uses the swedish name for brook on this creek🙂
      Yes it is small apples I took from an apple tree I sowed for over eight years ago. They are delicious but very, very tiny🙂

      I have problems for months after the change! My body and brain tells me I´m up one hour to early. I really dislike it!

      No he prefers freshly cought meat🙂 But that strangly looking mushroom is actually one of the most delicious we can find here🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. Hello Christer,
    Beautiful pictures as always. Looks like your boys are more comfortable and you have achieved beautiful close ups of them. I love to see them:)
    I love the water drop. I love macro photography.
    Change the clock because “summer hour” makes a lot confusion. Aqui in Brazil is half and half not. I’m in the middle that do not have it. After Salvador is summer all year long🙂
    kisses for you and the boys
    Didi

    • Hi Didi!
      Thank You🙂
      They do love to walk around down by the creek and so do I and Bertil🙂

      I´ve never liked summer time and I can understand the confusion in Your country🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  8. Hi Christer,
    I love the photo of the frosted, partially eaten wreath and the frosted mushroom. The mushroom looks like a group of rock crystals that grew there.
    The time change doesn’t bother me but it bothered my horse and the other horses that I worked around. When the time went forward they got upset because their hay was an hour late. Trust me, they knew exactly when hay time was even if they didn’t have a number name for it. They were very vocal in their displeasure. The funniest thing was in the fall when the time went back an hour. By then the horses had become used to the new time and the look of surprise on their faces when the hay came an hour early was priceless. They probably thought they were getting an extra treat.
    Have a great day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      That is my favorite photo too!

      Horses (and other farm animals) are creatures of habit🙂 I would have loved to see their faces when the clock was turned back that hour🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  9. Synd att du missar dagsljuset… blir inte så många av dina vackra bilder o se fram emot nu😦 Hoppas vi klarar omställningen utan hjärtkrångel…. Men det är verkligen en pest var gång! Fast jag har det värst på våren när vi tappar en timme😉
    Ha´t himla gôrgôtt
    Nina

    • Tjänare Nina!
      Har aldrig gillat tidsomställningen, men denna våren märkte jag ju inte av det på samma sätt eftersom jag var sjukskriven efter operationen🙂

      Jag har en hel mängd med fotografier sparade i ett par mappar so jag skall använda nu under mörka årstiden🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  10. Hi Christer, catching up on a couple of days now that we are at home and have a reliable connection. The past 2 places we stayed while traveling had their internet connections up and down and it became very time consuming to both post and read blogs. The photos really are setting the mood for darkness to be coming soon. We are having very warm weather here at home – upper 70s daytime. The rosemary-basil bread looked delicious- what are the ingredients besides herbs?

    • Hi Beatrice!
      Good that You got home without any problems🙂 Internet connections can be really lousy sometimes, it´s so annoying but there are worse problems in life to be honest🙂🙂🙂

      There´s some salt and sugar (honey for the yeast to eat while fermenting) and the flour is a mix of rye (around 70%) and wheat (around 30%). Sometimes I put in some cheese too if I have some🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

    • Hi Chelle!
      Thank You🙂
      It seems many places here reminds of many places in the US🙂 I can see many places looking familiar to me when visiting Us blogs🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  11. I really like your blogging style, it’s very,, fluid and entertaining. If you get a chanse to see Sicko, tell us what you thought. Michael Moore is a genius if you ask me. His documentaries are very angled, but also amusing and… engagerande ^^
    Take care!

    • Hi my systerson🙂
      Thank you🙂 I do the best I can.
      We´ll probably see it tomorrow so I´ll tell You what I thought about it! Yes they are very angled but that doesn´t make them less true.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  12. Cool photos!
    I’m trying to catch up on the blogs today. I finally have wireless and I’m using the new laptop. I am learning like an old dog learns new tricks!
    I hate to see it get colder and darker here too. But I must admit, it forces me to stay inside and out of the garden, so I actually get things accomplished inside!🙂
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I know the feeling of have to learn all over again🙂🙂 It´s not the same with our new computers like it was with our old ones🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

