Frost and bread baking.

It´s never a good thing when it rains just before the temperatures falls below frost level and way down colder than that. I couldn´t get the ice from my car windows and I almost couldn´t open the car doors at all🙂🙂🙂 I had no problems unlocking the doors at all, but they had frozen towards the rubber strip on the inside🙂🙂🙂 So I had to let the motor work for several minutes before I could get some ice away from the front window, nothing I have had to do for several years.

After that I had to drive on a rather slippery road until I reached the highway to Skara. I´m not at work this week You see, I´m going yet another Union class. This time it´s about how the organization works and our rights and obligations. I almost didn´t make it in time but I felt it was better to come late than never come at all🙂🙂

Both cats are outside and will most probably stay there all night. There are to many exciting things too look at and perhaps catch to waist a night indoors. Orvar and hector are sleeping in my bed and I´m just about to make a pot of tea and a couple of sandwiches. I realized yesterday that I would have nothing to eat this morning so I baked a rosemary and basil bread yesterday evening. As You can see on the photographs it turned out quite well🙂

Now it´s time to say good bye for this time and I wish You all a very pleasant day!

22 thoughts on “Frost and bread baking.

  1. hi christer! i had horrible wifi on the trip so was not too good at communicating! your bread looks great! i love the photo of bertyl down under the roots. what a good hunter. we are rainy and warm here but it will be cooler in a few days! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I have the same problems here with the wifi sometimes. Some days it just doesn´t want to work properly or not at all. A bit annoying to be honest!

      Bertil is the best of hunters. It´s he that keeps most mice away from my cottage🙂 Teodor is more lazy and when he can he rather catches birds I´m afraid.

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Jasså ni hade både regn o frost, det kanske blir läge att använda hårfönen snart:)) Brödet se väldigt gott ut (fast jag inte äter bröd längre:)) Bra karl reder sig själv säger de ju:)) Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Om jag bara hade en fön så🙂🙂

      Bröd lärde jag mig tidigt att baka tack och lov🙂 Ingen annan lär ju baka det åt mig🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  3. What’s the recipe for that loaf of bread. It looks delicious and I love Rosemary. One of your photos that captured the rain drops is another award winning shot. Enjoy this fantastic looking bread you baked!

    • Hi Z&M!
      I never work after recipe when baking bread, but it´s something like this:
      I use a flour mix that has around 70% rye and 30% wheat flour.
      0,13 gallons of water
      50 grams (I think that is around 1,8 oz) yeast

      Rosemary and basil after taste and IU used some strong cheese I had in the fridge.

      Flour I take as much as it needs to make a nice dough.

      I let it ferment around 30 minutes, work the dough again and add more flour if needed and let it ferment for another 30 minutes.
      It´s hard to guess how hot it is in the owen, fire heated owens varies a lot in temperature🙂🙂 But I keep the bread in the owen until it gets the right color.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  4. Såg gott ut hördu…. jag har en bakande svåger men han har inte nåt exprimentstadiet ännu ;-( Men rostat med honung o ost är det himla gott🙂
    Om du visste vilka vackra bilder du tar numera…. jag har köpt en ny skärm till datorn!
    Ha´t himla gôrgôtt
    Nina

    • Hejsan Nina!
      Är gott också kan jag berätta🙂

      Visst blir det skillnad när man har en ny skärm🙂 Skärmen till min gamla dator var riktigt bra, men den jag har nu är än bättre🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  5. Great blog and pictures are exceptional I would like that bread I think but alas I am not much on bread making but go ahead and enjoy it with a bit of tea of course and Have a great day.

  6. Love the Bertil photo showing him exploring. The weather here was PERFECT Fall weather yesterday. I worked in the yard a bit and then I made a scary scarecrow!
    Overnight it rained really hard but the scarecrow is still there even though we are now experiencing 25 miles an hour winds with wind gusts 0f 45 miles an hour. I love windy weather. The only downside is that a bunch of my branches have fallen out of my weeping willow and of course the phone line runs through that tree so I worry about the Internet and phone going down.
    Take care! – Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      Those few days with perfect autumn weather is to few! I desperately need a couple of those now since I have rather many bulbs to plant and at the moment the ground is frozen. I think I´ll need some dynamite if I want to plant them now🙂🙂

      I do love windy weather too, but I always hope that there will be no damages and so far so good🙂

      Have a great windy day then🙂
      Christer.

  7. Mmmmmm! The bread looks delicious and I bet your kitchen smelled wonderful with it baking in the oven! The forest near your home always looks so mysterious and enchanting! Have a great day!
    Kristina

    • Hi Kristina!
      It did smell rather nice🙂
      In some parts the forest is just like You say, the other parts is seldom photographed🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

    • 0,13 gallons🙂🙂🙂 It isn´t always that easy to write right🙂🙂 That is 0,5 liters of water. I think it would be a bit to much water with 13 gallons🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  8. Christer
    It seems agreed, Monday photographed some birds here, just not got time, give it back today when the consulate office. This bread rosemary, is that of Joyce? I’ve tried the recipe there, but have not found!
    Last night, we saw a beautiful movie, “It’s called the dog Hachiko’s story” but take the scarfs, it cried too! heheheheh
    Post the movie we need time to see a comedy! hehehehehe
    The story has faithfully dog to its owner.
    Moving.
    Good morning!
    Andrea

    • Hi Didi!
      No it´s not Joyce´s bread🙂 I´ve been baking rosemary bread since long before I started to read her blog🙂 But her no knead bread is really tasty, try it if You can!

      I know about that story! My teacher read it to us when I went to school long ago. I remember we all cried when she read it🙂🙂 This is a true story from Japan.

      Have a great afternoon🙂
      Christer.

  9. Hi Christer…first of all, your bread looks fantastic! And secondly, your forest looks more and more spooky…but soon it will be gorgeous with white snow covering everything. Yes, I know I am pushing it, but Fall and Winter are my favorites…and I don’t mind the darker hours at all. Of course I don’t have to get out and drive to work anymore…and if I want to take a walk, it’s all on concrete sidewalks…with streetlights. Doesn’t that sound just TERRIBLE! Now you can see why I love the East Coast with the four seasons and your beautiful country.
    I miss my cat! She was wonderful..but never hunted in her entire life. Didn’t have to!🙂
    Take care…enjoy your bread and hot tea..

    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      The bread was rather good🙂 But I do hope we won´t have any snow for many days yet🙂🙂

      Many people do like concrete sidewalks and lightbulb light, but I´m not one of them🙂 But it would be nice to have some kind of nightvision up here during winter🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

