Calm before the storm?

It is as calm today as it was windy yesterday. The clouds that has rained on and of today flies away fast but it is absolutely still here on the ground. My neighbor thinks that it might be the calm before the storm, because the first snowfall is approaching us.

The remains of an old window on the ruin that used to be a barn 100 years ago. A spruce has started to grow in the old wooden parts that still is left.

The barn, that once also had place for four pigs, is mostly gone now. But the place has been cleaned up since last I was there.

The forest machines has given us new roads to take our walks on.

It will arrive at Thursday evening and it will be mixed with rain. But the fun thing is that Friday morning will star out with frost, so the roads to work will be icy like a skate rink I´m afraid. But things can still change, the weather men hasn´t had many right predicyions this year so it might not happen at all🙂🙂

The last remains of a once big lake. Deep holes that almost never dries out and there still grows water plants that once grew there en masse.

This one continues for a long time and is rather deep, but so thin that even I can jump over it in some places.

I call them Mosquito farms.

I thought I should show You the other book I got from Joyce last week, but I´m still cought up in the other book reading about stars and planets. I would have loved to be an astronaut flying around in the galaxy visiting other civilizations (because I´m sure there must be others out there, even if I´m not convinced that they have visited us yet). The only problem is that they most probably never would have had our diseases so I would most proably kill the whole galaxy with a common cold🙂🙂🙂

Most leafs fell in last nights storm, but some still hangs around in protected areas.

I can´t understand why these spruces once germinated here, this is the wettest place they could have found.

It´s pitch black outside and I have a fire in the stove and a cup of tea by my side. I´ll most probably fall asleep to the sound of rain today and also wake up to the same sound tomorrow. But I´m not complaining as long as it isn´t frost at the same time🙂                     Have a great day now!

20 thoughts on “Calm before the storm?

  1. And not only spread human diseases, Christer, but what about CATCHING alien diseases????? ugh. So best to fly around the galaxy from the comfort of your cottage, a good astronomy book, and your imagination!!

    • Hi Robin!’
      For some reason I´ve always thought of myself as immune towards their diseases🙂🙂🙂 So to be honest, I have always seen myself as the messenger of death🙂🙂🙂

      Imagination is always the best travel agency🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  2. Christer hi!
    Today I am in doubt … or you are a magnificent photographer, or you live in a place where even the most ordinary things are always beautiful. Maybe both:)
    Just kidding. Of course you have all feeling in his eyes, and know how to convey the beauty you see.
    I love them all. But today, two in particular delighted me. The window of the ruin grow the pine and Mosquito Farm, with all shades of blue and brown.
    Some of your photos thrill, like a visual poetry🙂
    kisses
    Didi

    • Hi Didi!
      Thank You🙂

      But I think there is beauty in all places, even in a big city with concrete skyscrapers. We only have too look around a bit more to find it.

      I do like that window of the old barn ruin. I think it´s amazing that the little spruce survives there. I wonder what happens when it gets bigger?

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer!

    Always interesting to see how the earth reclaims old structures.

    It sounds like you are always well prepared for your winters. We get such little true winter weather here that most are ill prepared for it. You should see what it is like here at the grocery stores just before a big storm. Pure chaos! People go crazy. Shelves are bare. You would think the world was about to end.

    I’m so excited about the possibility of seeing your pictures of the first snow!

    Peace,
    Chris…..

    • Hi Chris!
      I do wonder what happens when the spruce gets bigger? Will it send its roots down and grow over the old wall or will the wall fall of its weight?

      We are rather prepared for winter here since we always get it in some way or the other. But the first snow and slippery roads always surprises us for some reason🙂🙂 But its never caos in our stores before a storm, not even when we should prepare a bit more. But most of us have enough food to share if it´s needed.

      I´m sorry to say that I´m not that excited to see the snow as You are🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  4. Sounds like you are set for winter. Now comes the snow and Christmas and a New Year and oh my God, Spring, five minutes of Spring in Sweden. You are sooo lucky. I think the swampie photos are the best ones today. I like those eerie shots especially with Halloween coming up in our country. We also have scary elections in case you are following the craziness here. I might vote early to avoid the crowds. Enjoy your first soft rain.

    • Hi Z&M!
      I´m afraid that we are, but it feels a bit early yet even though I know it can start any minute now.

      I do follow Your elections and those are scary🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  5. A nice fire in our fireplace…candies in every bowl…fresh banana nut bread that I just baked…and now RAIN! It has been raining on and off all morning…and it is overcast outside. I LOVE IT!
    Yep…snow is on it’s way for you…and for our East Coast I imagine. I wonder who will get it first.
    Those woods are so dark…and spooky AND beautiful! What a great place to spend Halloween. You DO have fun with it in Sweden? No?
    I imagine you are used to driving on snowy and icy roads. In California…when a bit of rain hits us…we run into one another on the freeway..and hydroplane all over the place. NOT a clue how to drive in weather…unless they are recently from the Eastern states!
    Keep that fire hot!
    Every time you show those “bogs” I get nervous. I must have blundered into one in a former life or something!🙂
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      I can understand that You love the rain🙂

      No, Halloween is a very small thing over here. Some have parties but no one seems to know what date it is, so they have parties from early October till late November. Most of us here has no idea why Halloween is celebrated at all🙂🙂

      The first real snowfall always creates chaos on the roads for some reason. It´s not like we never have seen snow before🙂🙂🙂 But after that we do know how to handle it🙂

      Many feels just like You when seeing the bog, on photos or for real🙂 It is a place where one has to know what to do and where to walk or else one will get problems🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. Hi Christer,
    Love the Deep Holes photos. It reminds me a bit of the vernal pools we get around here in the spring. What has cut off the birches at such an odd height from the ground? I can tell it wasn’t beavers.

    The spruce in the window might end up with an open space under its root flare as the wall settles or it may just grow out and around the walls. I’ve seen trees growing out of the top of a boulder and their roots have just grown around the rock and down into the soil underneath it.

    Be careful driving in the snow and rain.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I think the trees already were dead when storms broke them in half. We had two really nasty hurricanes here 5-6 years ago. Whole forest were broken just like that after those hurricanes. Half of Sweden were out of power for weeks then.

      I will follow that spruce in the future because I´m really curios on how this will develop🙂

      I rather arrive late to work than not at all🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. Hi Christer,
    I was off cape yesterday and didn’t get time to visit, but I’m glad I made it today. The pictures are both beautiful and a desolate. The scenes speak of the coming storm.

    Enjoy the warm fire and the tea. Life is grand even at its simplest.

    • Hi Kat!
      Even though I´m not happy about all trees gone I do like the new roads I can walk on🙂 I´ve been here before but this part has been filled with thistles and nettles so I have avoided it for a long time🙂 Perhaps I should have saved these photos for Halloween🙂

      Always nice when You visit here🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

    • Hi Terria!
      It would have been fun🙂 But I wonder how far in to the future we have to go to have space travels outside our solar system?

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  8. Hello Christer, Hope the rain was not too bad. Right now, I would almost welcome a nice rain and a comfortable chair and cup of tea – of course, it would be nice to be at home enjoying all of this. But, our Maine road trip continues, and soon enough we will be home and get a chance to enjoy some fall weather there. So glad you have been enjoying the posts too. We actually work much harder when traveling because we are out all day and then posting and reading blogs in the evenings. The TV sits here except for when we watch the weather channel. but since we don’t watch it when at home it really doesn’t matter to us. The wi-fi internet connection is “iffy” at this motel, especially at night when more people are probably using it, so it goes on and off – very frustrating! Ao I fall a little behind at times😦

    • Hi Beatrice!
      It wasn´t bad at all actually. Just a light drizzle during the rest of the night.
      I have liked Your posts a lot during Your road trip! I learn so much that I never even heard of before🙂 But I do have a hard time following all blogs I like, so my visits may be somewhat sporadic from time to time. I almost never watch tv any longer, I write and read blogs instead🙂🙂

      Have a great continuing of Your road trip!
      Christer.

  9. I LOVE that the spruce is growing in the ruins. Love that. Reminds you that if we really wanted to, we can adapt and grow in any situation. Even if it initially seems like we weren’t meant to be there.

    • Hi Perovskia!
      So true! But this time I´m afraid that it won´t get its roots down to the ground so it can get water and nutricions.
      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

