There´s already a fire in the stove.

It´s funny really, but I can tell if it is a cold morning outside if it is rather warm inside the cottage when I wake up. If it´s frost outside the heat from yesterday firing in the stove will stay better than if it is a couple of degrees warmer than frost all night. I´m not sure why it is like that, but I´m almost never wrong about that.

So I wasn´t surprised when it showed that it was only -7,9C (18F) when I got up this morning around 6:30 am. There was no wind we we got out and the sun had started to slowly show that it was about to rise above the horizon. Orvar and Hector was as eager to search all tracks as they always are but to our surprise it wasn´t Bertil that followed us today on our walk, it was Teodor instead.

Teodor isn´t a cat that likes cold weather at all and I don´t think he likes to walk around much either but this morning he looked as if he really enjoyed it. Well to be honest, he did try to climb up my back to sit on my shoulders several times🙂 But the cat is rather heavy so I had to force him down to the ground again.

I´m always looking forward to SciFi night at channel six on fridays, but this time they had put in a program called Spartacus, a series of programs about a gladiator. I can´t see any connection at all between science fiction and gladiators, can You? The next scifi program, Star gate Universe, came so late that I decided to go to bed and read in the two books I got from Joyce at Octoberfarm.

One book is called “The Walkers Companion” and shows different kinds of nature and animals You can meet when walking on the american continent. I love these kinds of books! It´s fun to see how different, yet similar our two worlds is. With this book I´ll also learn what many of Your animals is called so I know what You write about in Your blogs!

The other book is called “Skywatching” and I haven´t had much time looking through that one yet. But amongst other things it shows the different start constellations and their names. Those of You that has followed me some time knows that I would love to be able to travel in space to meet civilizations that lives out there (I´m sure that there must be others out there You see), so this book is something I will read and re-read many times:-) I´ll show You more photos from both books tomorrow. Many thanks to You Joyce!

 

These are the books I got from Joyce!

 

 

These also followed with the books. The beautiful pumpkin card, the autumn-colored and green leafs and the brown card with the witch hat. I got a bit surprised because as soon as I opened the package I felt the scent of gingerbread🙂 (well it can be cinnamon, but my nose is rather stuffed at the moment). It´s the witch hat card that has that wonderful smell🙂

 

It seems the temperature has some troubles rising since a huge cloud is blocking the sun. So I´ll keep on putting logs in the fire and make pots of tea to keep me warm🙂

Have a great day now!

34 thoughts on “There´s already a fire in the stove.

  1. Underbara foton från en skön promenad… När bytte du till WorldPress? O tog bort din FEEDJIT? Jag som just upptäckt att man kan länka till den😉
    Hoppas dagen fortsätter lika fint som den börjat
    Nina

    • Tjänare Nina!
      Det är väl en vecka sedan jag bytte hit. Jag hade så stora problem med att ladda ned bilder om det ens gick alls, så då var det bättre att börja om här. Jag fattar inte riktigt hur jagg skall lägga till alla sidoelement än🙂 Fattar faktiskt inte hur jag skall få dit något alls🙂🙂🙂 Men jag har en kompis som har blogg här också, så jag skall maila henne och fråga hur jag skall göra.

      Jo solen skiner för fullt och det är lika vidrigt kallt ute. Må så vara att temperaturen stigit, men svinkallt är det ändå🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  2. What amazing photos!
    I just LOVE coming here and seeing your beautifuls photos. It’s such a nice way for me to start off my morning before going to work, to see what you see on your walks.
    The one with Teodor following is adorable!
    And that Joyce, What a sweetheart to send you those books! She’s a special person for sure. I love her blog! She blows me away with her fabulous cooking and fantastic gardening. And of course her Teddy!
    Take care! Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I´m glad that You like what I do here🙂 It was a wonderful, but a bit to cold morning today🙂
      I was a bit surprised that he wanted to follow us, he´s more of a comfortable, sleeping on the kitchen couch kind of cat🙂

      Yes Joyce is very special and she´s spoiling me and I like it🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  3. Hello!
    The light in your photos today is so beautiful, like a dream:)
    Teodor is a really funny cat, but he wants to ride on your lap:)
    Ahh Joyce is very cool, and hit their gifts.
    kisses and good reading

    • Hi Didi!
      The morning light is so special, I think that´s why I love being out that early🙂

      Teodor is really lazy, so if he can hitchhike on my shoulders he will🙂🙂

      Yes, Joyce is really cool!

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,
    Well, you did find a way to put the word “frost” in that photo.🙂 I have so many favorites today that I can’t pick one. Maybe the Open Portal edges out slightly but just because it is a romantic idea.
    Those books are quite nice. I love old books even though I am now a dedicated Kindle reader and don’t buy “real” books much anymore. Why an ebook isn’t a real book escapes me.
    May I suggest ‶A Walk in the Woods″ by Bill Bryson. It will show you the more humorous side of hiking in the American back country.
    It’s sunny, very windy and a little chilly. The south porch will be warm later on as the sun rises so that’s where the dog and I will be. Have a great day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      I think my favorite photo today is either the leafs or the frozen spider web.

      I´m very old fashioned when it comes to books. I like changing pages and the smell books has🙂

      I´ll keep an eye open for that book!
      I´ll make some research to see if they have translated it to swedish too, it´s not that easy to find books in english sometimes.

      I wish I had a porch where I could sit on chilly days🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

      • The spider web was one of my favorites, too, and the frozen photographer and so many more.

        I tried to see if A Walk in the Woods was published in Swedish but came up with nothing on a google search. Well, I came up with lots of things about walks in the wood and Swedish folk crafts and Swedish language books but not that book. My google skills are lacking, I guess.

        My neighbors say I should take all the glass off the porch and make it a more fashionable “Farmer’s Porch”. I like that it’s 90F out there on a sunny winter day so it will remain unfashionably glassy.

      • Hi Caryn!
        It´s amazing how many things can turn up when searching on something and lots of it has nothing to do with anything near the words one is searching on🙂🙂 I´ll try to find it too.

        Please stay unfashionable! There´s nothing better than a porch like the one You have! This cottage had such an porch but they made it a part of the hallway instead.

        Have a great day!
        Christer.

  5. hi christer..don’t those tags smell wonderful? i made them using gingerbread oil. you soak the tags and then bake them in a low oven. glad you like the books. i can’t believe how cold it is there already. we are south of lake placid where we are right now but lake placid had quite a snow last night and people are skiing today.

    • Hi Joyce!
      They really do! So You make them Yourself! Now I have to look after gingerbread oil🙂

      I don´t get surprised any longer when it comes to cold weather🙂 But I think it was a bit to cold this morning. We just came in from our evening walk and it is already freezing outside. Tonight will be cold!

      But I sure hope we won´t get any snow for long🙂🙂

      Have a great and safe trip!
      Christer.

  6. Christer,
    The frost pictures are absolutely beautiful, but I just can’t abide the idea of frost coming so early. Fern sleeps on my hip. I wake up and knock her off then she waits a bit and gets back on. She’s a bit too bulky for hip riding.

    Up north had snow already: 5-10 inches in some places. Winter isn’t just knocking on the door anymore.

    • Hi Kat!
      I think all of Sweden had frost this morning, even the coast line had. They have predicted a cold winter (by they I mean the Polish weathermen), but I do hope they are wrong and I promise not to hold it against them in the future🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. Christer, is that the portal I see opening? Must be the leaves dropped all at once or you didn’t notice it was starting to shed. What a great photo. Also I think #7 is eerie and perfect for a Halloween night. It’s a keeper for your Coffee Table Book of nature photos that Joyce will likely finance soon. The gold kitty photo is a great shot too and I love the ones that have a zoom focus almost like looking at a plant under a magnifying glass. Cool! I bet you are much happier over here at WordPress. I like it a lot. Enjoy your new books.

    • Hi Z&M!
      i think all leafs dropped during three days! It was the cold nights that finally made them fall. I am really happy here at Word Press, but I still don´t understand how I can put things on side bars here. I´ll have to ask Kat how to do. I changed the language to swedish but I still don´t understand a thing🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  8. Hi Christer,
    I’ve been following your blog to see your beautiful, woodland photos for a little while now. They are beautiful but I love that you enjoy and appreciate nature so much as I am a kindred spirit, in that sense. We even have the same name…sort of! Some of your photos reminds me of my state of Washington. It is very beautiful here too, lots of mountains, water and evergreen filled forests.
    Do you have any photos of your cottage? I have a collection of old cottage and cabin prints from the 30’s and 40’s but had to stop collecting them along time ago…I ran out of room on my walls to hang them!🙂

    Love your blog,
    Chris

    • Hi Chris!
      yes we do share a lot, even the names🙂 When I grew up my best friends name was Christina and Christian🙂 Not easy to cal those namnes after each other🙂🙂

      The fourth photo from the bottom is my cottage🙂 I´ll try to remember to take a photo from the front tomorrow morning too.

      The state of Washington is rather similar in look, I´ve seen many photos from there. I grew up by the ocean but I have to say I love the forest just as much🙂

      I´m glad You like what I do here🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  9. PS. I love your little, red cottage!! It looks so cozy! You must post a photo of the fire crackling in your fireplace!🙂

    • I have a kitchen stove so it´s a bit hard to get a good photo of the fire I´m afraid. I´ve tried but no one could see what it was🙂🙂🙂

      It´s a cosy and rather small cottage, next year it is one hundred years old (but renovated in between thankfully🙂🙂🙂 )
      Christer.

  10. Good Christer
    One question, when you speak of stove, fireplace do you mean? Here is the same as fire? Or stove to cook?
    The photos are amazing !!!!! Lindas
    And as I like to see Teodor!
    The red house is your photo?
    Very beautiful!
    have a good night
    Ah then you step recipe caldo verde (green soup)
    Andréa

    • Hi Andréa!
      I mean to kook on.
      I really like that I can make the photos so big already in the blog and the little red house is mine🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  11. Your photo’s of the sunrise are just beautiful, Christer. I remember you saying that Tovar wanted to climb up on you during another of your walks. He probably gets tired..not to mention..”cold feet”🙂
    It is so warm here today, in the 70’s…which is much cooler than it has been.

    Your books from Joyce look very interesting. She has the most interesting things at here home. Those Witch tags for example! She is an Fall person like I am and anything to do with Fall and Halloween interests us. Amazing things that Joyce has.

    Yes, there are other beings out there…somewhere…there are “others.” Makes total sense…They could even be us…from earlier times. Are we an experiment? 🙂 I’m teasing…but one thing…I DO hope we are not someones dream and he suddenly wakes up!🙂
    Ok…enough silliness…

    Have a wonderful day, Christer!!
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      Yes Teodor does like to sit on my shoulders so he doesn´t have to walk, but I think it only has to do with laziness🙂🙂🙂

      I love those kind of books that i got from Joyce! I´ll show You more from them today. I still haven´t seen one uninteresting thing that she have shown in her blog and I think there are even more interesting things she haven´t shown yet🙂

      I would be surprised if there amongst all zillion stars wouldn´t be more life! But I´m not sure they have visited us yet, but thinking back on some neighbors and friends I have had they might actually be here already🙂🙂🙂

      Have a wonderful day too!
      Christer.

  12. Oh my Gosh, I have to say today’s photos are so beautiful. I loved the frost covered leaves and spiderweb. Wonderful! You could make a book of those photos! And how nice the gifts from Joyce are, what a thoughtful person. I know you will enjoy reading those! Thanks for such a good posting, Christer.

    • Hi Robin!
      I do like when everything is covered in frost, but I wish it could be much warmer when it happened🙂🙂
      Joyce is spoiling me and I like it a lot🙂 She always knows what some one likes even without having to ask!
      Don´t thank me, thank the weather🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  13. Hello Christer
    I posted in my blog, the recipe soup (caldo verde) for you!
    If the translator to help you understand well, it’s easy!
    Good night
    Andrea

    • Thank You! Google has behaved strangely when translating lately, but I´ll try some other translating programs I´ve found!
      Take care!
      Christer.

  14. Christer, the portal photos were simply beautiful and the morning sunlight showed it off so well. I really enjoyed seeing your red cottage which looks lovely in the morning sun. How nice of Joyce to send surprises that will be such fun to read. While the weather on our road trip in Maine is getting chilly in the evenings, there has not been any frost, thankfully. Enjoy the weekend!

    • Hi Beatrice!
      I have another photo of the Portal that I think You all might like. I´ll put in a link in todays blog to that photo.
      Almost all cottages here on the countryside in southern sweden looks much like my cottage, we swedes loves our red cottages🙂

      Joyce is so generous! Just look on those giveaways she have every week! And she always knows what I likes too🙂
      I hope the frost will stay away from You yet some time!

      Have a great and safe trip!
      Christer.

  15. Härliga bilder från en kylig morgon. Det var kallt här med igår, -3,5 grad och precis kritvitt – det hade regnat i fredags kväll – tyvärr blev jag så chockad av den första frosten att jag glömde kameran. Som tur var hade jag dock gått ett var dagen innan och fotat det som blommade. Idag är det plusgrader igen och solen skiner och det var riktigt skönt ute, fast Penny vill inte gå så långt på morron. Hon vill helst tillbaka så snabbt som möjligt för att ligga och dra sig hos husse i sängen.
    Kul att du gillar SF (och Fantasy?), det gör jag med. Förr var jag t.o.m. med i en SF-bokklubb, men nu för tiden är det nästan bara thrillers som gäller. Och det är klart att det finns andra varelser där ute – vi kan väl inte vara dom enda!?

    • Hejsan Susie!
      Kan tänka mig att du blev förvånad av att ha frost redan, här i lilla sibirien kommer den ju tyvärr ganska tidigt. Men sådan tur att du tog dig en runda med kameran innan! Här orkar bara höstastrarna med kylan nu. Fortfarande minus här, men ändå lite varmare än igår.

      Mina älskar ju kylan, så det är bara jag som vill tillbaka till värmen i stugan🙂🙂🙂

      Oh ja, både SF och fantasy! Det skulle ju vara skamligt om vi trots allt var skapelsens krona🙂🙂 Någonstans måste ju det ha lyckats bättre tycker jag🙂🙂🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

