The first real snowfall has fallen in northern Sweden now, but I do hope it will take a long time before we get any down here in the south. I´m not a winter person even if I do think it is beautiful when it falls. It´s all the rest I don´t like about it. The cold air, the shoveling of snow and how the car feels like an ice cube when driving to work🙂

According to the weather sites I look at here on the internet we´ll have one more night with frost and then it will become a bit warmer. The only thing I do like about winter is to have a fire in my stove and freshly baked rosemary bread with cheese and a cup of tea/coffee/ chocolate made on and in the stove🙂 I like to sit here in the kitchen looking out the window and complaining about how cold it is outside🙂🙂🙂

I managed to get all fire logs in to the wood shed rather fast yesterday evening, so now I´m prepared for the coldest winter in a thousand years. Well if that happens those fire logs won´t last very long I´m afraid. But I´m more prepared than most here anyway. I also made it a bit more comfortable for my dogs in their doghouse. I placed a pallet on the floor and a thick mattress over the pallet. Now it doesn´t matter if the mattress gets a bit wet because it´s placed 10 cm (4 inches) above the floor with air coming in beneath it so it dries up faster.

I know they will ignore it because they do love to lie on the cold ground, especially if it is snow outside. They are a big part New Foundland and have that thick double fur they have, so all temperatures above 15C (59F) is to hot for them🙂🙂

Can You see all the insects hovering by the crab apple tree?

I think the moose hunting season in the village is over now. The different license they can have covers different time spans and they have the shorter and cheaper license here. That means that i can start walking inn the forest again. At least in my neighbors forest, I think they will continue to hunt Red deer and Fallow deer if they find any. They don´t need license to hunt them I think.

I started a fire in the stove before we went on our afternoon walk today, so the heat is now spreading all over my cottage. Soon I´ll make a pot of tea and make a couple of sandwiches from rosemary bread with cheese🙂

Have a great day now!

16 thoughts on “

  1. Such beautiful photos, Christer…and geez, hmmmm, I am wondering where you might have possibly gotten a recipe for rosemary bread!!! I think possibly an October Farm-ish kind of recipe. Sounds very cozy in your cottage.

    • Hi Robin!
      I made rosemary bread long before ever reading anything from Octoberfarm🙂🙂 But I had never made her fantastic noknead rosemary bread before🙂 My bread is made wiuth mostly rye flour. But I do like making food after her recipes, they are truly fantastic!

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  2. Vilka underbara höstbilder. Det ÄR vackert när höstens alla färger blandar sig och solen strålar från en klarblå himmel. Det är bara det att man VET att det snart blir svinkallt och det gillar jag inte. Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Men n u faller bladen fort här i tyrakten. Alla dessa nätter med frost skyndar på det hela rätt mycket. Ja, bara att veta att det närmar sig gör det hela mycket värre🙂 annars är hösten fin tycker jag.
      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  3. Hi Christer,
    I have bugs like that too. They hang around under the black walnut trees. Sometimes they move out over the open lawn and then the dragonflies come in and have a feeding frenzy.
    Love the picture of the curious cow. The pictures look like a sunny, warm autumn day. Hope the snow stays away from you for awhile. One of the best things about retirement is that I don’t have to go out in the snow anymore, if I don’t want to.🙂
    It’s partly cloudy and a bit cool here today but my dog and I went down to the lake anyway. Lots of geese stopping by. Small fish were jumping out of the water to get birch seeds (?) that had fallen onto the surface. The cormorants are still hanging around, too. It was quite busy down there today.
    Have a great day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      These flies are relatives to the dragonfly, but much worse flyers. But they are safe towards their relatives the dragon flies because they are all gone now.
      It was anything but warm here today, but the rest was right🙂

      I have around 19 years left to retirement, so I´ll have to get out wether I like it or not🙂🙂
      I don´t think we have any cormorants by this lake, but where ever they are they are hated here.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

      • Because they eat the fish?
        Hardly anyone notices the cormorants here. It’s a tiny suburban lake (technically called a Great Pond). They sit on the yacht club’s race course marker buoys and dry out their wings. There are some very big fish in that tiny pond but few people fish in it so the cormorants are unopposed.

      • Hi Caryn!
        That and that the guano is so strong that it kills all vegetation around their nests. People don´t need much to hate it seems.
        Christer.

  4. Christer, the photos look so much like a nice warmish autumn day that it’s hard to think of snow coming. We heard that the temp was in the high 80s the past couple of days, but in Maine we have had temps in the 60s during the day making it very mice to be outside. Rain is forecast for Thurs-Fri so we will find some indoor things to see. Too bad you have so many years for retirement as Grenville and I can agree with Caryn’s comments that if the weather is bad we just stay indoors. We also like to bake our own bread and look forward to doing it again when we return home. Travel is nice, but eating out is not as much fun as doing our own cooking.

    • Hi Beatrice!
      Photographs can lie🙂 The temps hasn´t reached over 48F here during the day and at night it falls just below 27. But as long as the sun shines I don´t mind🙂 But as it is now I only have 1-1,5 hours of daylight left when I come home after work, soon I´ll have none.

      There´s no place like home🙂
      Have a great trip!
      Christer.

  5. Christer Good morning!
    Indeed, changing the blog was the best thing you did!
    Your photos are ever more fantastic! With a colorful, we can almost breathe the fresh air seeing your photos!
    And the fall colors? Spectacular!
    Congratulations
    Andrea

    • Hi Andrea!
      I´m glad that You like the change as much as I do🙂
      It´s perfect that I can show the photographs this big so no one needs to click on them to make them bigger🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. Yep..I could see those little buggies hovering near the crabapple tree!
    The coldest winter in…a thousand years? Christer! I thought your Winter last year was…well..shall we say..OVER THE TOP!
    I know, I know….being from California, what do I know!! 🙂
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      We think our last winter was way to cold and snowy too🙂🙂🙂
      But polish weather men has predicted that this winter will be even worse. We all hope that they are very wrong because we all hope for a short and warm winter🙂🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

