Cold in many ways.

The first thing I did this morning was to start a fire in the stove. All I needed to convince myself that that was a good idea was too look out the window and to take a look at the thermometer. -2,9 C (27F) and thick fog makes one cold inside by just knowing it.

Dark photographs once again, but I do hope You all can see them!

The second thing I did was to realize that I have caught a cold again! My throat is slightly sour and my nose is stuffed. I´m getting a bit bored by this now🙂 It wasn´t that long ago I got rid of the last one I had.

I´m not mentally ready to put on winter clothes yet, so I had one thick sweater and a thick fleece jacket on me when we went out on our morning walk. It felt much colder than it really was but since there were no wind the walk turned out to be real pleasant. But I did wish that I had brought my fleece gloves with me. My fingers didn´t really work as I wanted them to when I tried to take some photographs🙂

Thick fog gives my camera problems on focusing at what I want it to focus on🙂 It seems it has to have some more sharp contours to work properly, but since nothing is really clear when we have fog that doesn´t really matter🙂  But I still haven´t noticed that it has other problems when it´s cold outside. Some cameras just don´t work when it gets really cold and some uses much more power to work those days.

I drove to the little village where we had our summer house when I was a child. I was meaning to take a walk with my dogs to take some more photos of the place. But Hector showed signs of getting insane if he had to get out amongst all people that was walking around in the village so I drove to the lake instead. Hector isn´t a people dog in any way🙂

Everything went well with Hector until we had to pass beneath the rail road. Concrete enlarges sounds ridiculously much and three screaming kids and one passing train got to much for him. But we got to the lake and stayed a few minutes. He wasn´t happy at all when we had to go back the same way again. He lives in a world with almost no strong sounds at all,maybe a tractor or two passes by but nothing more. So when loud sounds is all around him he gets really stressed the poor dog.

I have to fill the bird feeder every day now, even twice. Those little birds actually eats more now than they have done any winter so far and the winter hasn´t even begun yet. I´m not the one that trims the hedge to often and I rarely trims the lilacs where the feeder hangs, my neighbors however does, so I think I have a lot more birds here now days. They can hide for predators all over my garden so I think they have decided my place is the safest. I´m going to have to pay a fortune to keep them all fed this winter🙂🙂🙂

lake Aspen.

The road to the bathing place, now days called "The bumble bee bath" is quite beautiful.

My kitchen stove keeps my little cottage warm and cosy, so there´s no need to start the radiators for many more days. Since I´ve learned how to kook food on it and in the owen the season for my electric stove is over now. The electricity company doesn´t make lots of money on me, that´s for sure🙂🙂 Now it´s time to make a pot of tea and then I think I´ll find a book to read.

Jonsered manor. A nice little place with a view over the lake.

The floating bridges is gone for the season it seems. There was a young couple right beside me when I took this photo. He was taking lots of photographs at her by the lake, or so she thought anyway :-) I could see that he was aiming his camera just so that she wouldn´t stuck on the photo :-) :-) He was more interested in taking photos of the scenery instead

The floating bridges is gone for the season it seems. There was a young couple right beside me when I took this photo. He was taking lots of photographs at her by the lake, or so she thought anyway🙂 I could see that he was aiming his camera just so that she wouldn´t stuck on the photo🙂🙂 He was more interested in taking photos of the scenery instead🙂

There were two men fishing by the lake, one of them You can see here to the far right. I think they were hoping to catch some salmon, but there´s lots of other tasty fish in the lake too.

Have a great day now, I will!

33 thoughts on “Cold in many ways.

  1. Hello again,
    It’s so refreshing to see your photos cold🙂
    Now we have 32 degrees which is a lot to me …
    I love these pictures even in dark colors is spectacular.
    And for me the colors of autumn are so much fun, we do not have that here.
    See your boys in the photos makes it even more beautiful.
    Sorry for the cold. I think you’re needing a delicious tea of witch🙂 Let me explain … winter in São Paulo when I was taking a cold this whole tea with lemon, garlic, ginger and cinnamon. It may seem strange but it tastes delicious! And it’s great for curing colds, I rarely took medication.
    kisses and improvements
    Didi

    • Hi Didi!
      It was so cold this morning🙂 But still, the walk was really pleasant🙂
      32!!! That´s a temperature we some summers never come close to up here🙂🙂

      I actually have a tea containing all those things, except for garlic. I know garlic is a great help against colds so I´ll buy some tomorrow in the grocery store.

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  2. Love the foggy pictures… So many folks would not take them because of the fog but they conjure up a whole different feeling… Not crazy about the temperature but delighted you have mastered the stove!… Enjoy your tea and book, and I hope you don’t really have a cold… come visit when you can…

    • Hi Sharlene!
      I love the fog and it sort of gives me a false sense of security🙂 Most people feels the other way I think. Since they can´t see everything clearly they see potential dangers everywhere🙂

      It took some destroyed food until I got it right🙂🙂 It´s perfect to bake bread in that owen!! Completely different bread compared to the electrical owen. I guess You get much the same bread in Your solar owen as I do in my fire heated stove. None of them lets out the humidity from the owen and so the bread gets so moist and tasty🙂

      You know I´ll visit🙂
      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  3. hi christer! i love those dark pics. they are right up my alley! that lake is gorgeous! it looks very fall like there. poor hector is not a city dog. teddy is so used to sirens and airplanes and buses. nothing bothers her! did you ever make my no knead rosemary bread recipe? i bet it would be really good in your wood stove. i made some for a friend this morning and my house sure smells good! joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      No he´s really not a city dog🙂 Tractors and a few cars doesn´t bother him, but screaming children and trains is terrifying for him especially in a concrete tunnel🙂

      I like these dark photpos best too, but not all can see them unfortunately.

      Yes I have made it here in my fire heated owen and as all Your recipes it came out delicious!
      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  4. Hi Christer,
    The foggy pics are great. I can see them now! The road doesn’t look so inviting today but the dogs seem to be having fun.
    Lake Aspen is beautiful. It reminds me of lakes in New England, especially with the fall colors coming in.
    It’s sunny and cool here this morning but will probably get a bit warmer as the day goes on. Leaf raking weather, or in my case, picking black walnuts off the lawn weather.🙂
    Have a great day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      My dogs love this kind of weather. They are a big part New Foundland and have that kind of thick fur even if it isn´t that long.

      It is a beautiful lake and lots of the lakes in that area looks much the same with mountains just by the edge of it. We have very few lakes here where i live and those we have are rather small and shallow.

      I wish I could say that I had “pick up black walnuts” weather here🙂 But I´ll try to sow some this winter too🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  5. As always, my friend, you took some beautiful pictures and the Fall colors are indeed colorful!

    Poor Hector! I can certainly understand his aversion to loud noises! My cat reacts the same way to lawn mower sounds!

    • Hi Jim!
      Thank You🙂
      Hector has always had problem with strong sounds, Not strange since he has lived here where there almost never comes any strong sounds. Strangly enough he has no problems with the sound of rifle shots or fire works🙂 But the lawn mower is scary🙂🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  6. Foggy and frosty photos are beautiful. Those wild birds are lucky to have a great place to come to feed. Thanks for your comment on my blog. I am glad for your visits whenever you have the time.

    • Hi Robin!
      I´m happy that all those birds comes to my place, but if they already eats more every day than they did last winter!!!🙂🙂🙂

      I´ll try to visit more often!
      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. Hi there, Christer- on your new blog!! Let´s see if I can manage this- I mean how to become a member etc!;-) Or whatever one need to get in contact with you now?!….;-)
    Yes- now “foggy time” have started! We went home through “milk” after been to a late concert last night!! It´s a bit scarry- I think….. huh….
    I think I have something that might interest you on my blog! Come & have a look!;-)

    • Hi Nina!
      I´m not sure about that part either. I can´t find anything looking like a followers list or something like that🙂

      I like the fog, as long as I don´t have to drive in it!
      I´ll pop over to You later today🙂
      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  8. Christer…what a great post! I loved every single minute of reading it. I totally understand Hector! As I have gotten older I have become more and more that way. The maddening crowds, closed in places, lots of people…are not for me. Home is where I stay. I am an arm chair traveler.

    • Hi Mona!
      I´m very much like that too now days. Or perhaps I´ve been like that all the time to be honest. It just took some years for me to understand it🙂

      Take care now!
      Christer.

  9. oh wow…so you made the bread? i did not know that you tried it! i wanted to tell you that i have renamed myself. my new name is tawanda…the stink bug warrior goddess!!!! i mixed up your recipe and i have been killing those suckers by the hundreds. i make my husband clean up the dead bodies. your bug killing recipe is the best ever!!!!

    • HI Tawanda!🙂🙂 I´m glad that it works🙂 The good thing is that no insect can become resistant against suffocation, so You can use this all the time🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  10. I didn’t say it…but I came back to look more closely at your photo’s and they are fantastic, Christer! I, of course, especially like the one with Bertil in it… what a personality!
    I really like the dark ones…they are very realistic. I ‘ve said it before, it is what you see and it is conveyed to us.
    Bug killer?? WHAT bug killer? Hmmmmm?🙂
    I need BUG KILLER!!

    • Hi Mona!
      Yes Bertil has a fun personality🙂

      Do You know the thing Joyce is writing about? Easy one to make too. Mix 1 part of soap with 9-10 parts of water and add one cap of methylated alcohol. Well any kind of alcohol will do. The alcohol is there so that the soap spreads evenly over the insect so it suffocates. Insects can become immune towards all poisons but trhey can´t become immune towards suffocation🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  11. Bilden med dom lila “blommorna” var superb! Dom andra var också jättefina, men som trädgårdsfanatiker så är det ju blomgrejorna som slår an mest.
    Penny har alltid varit extremt ljudkänslig och jag tror att det beror på att hon kanske alltid haft lite hörselproblem. Fast gräsklipparen bryr hon sig inte om – matte har ju kört med den var 3-4:e dag jämt så hon har väl vant sig.
    Numera hör hon inte heller någonting, man måste blåsa i visselpipa eller busvissla (och det senare kan inte jag) för att hon ska reagera. Men vi har ju alltid kört med handsignaler så det är inga större problem.
    Däremot så har hon börjat “prata” väldigt mycket. Faktiskt nästan hela tiden när hon är vaken. Antingen beror det på att hon inte hör det själv, eller – kanske troligare – för att hon blivit lite åderförkalkad. Hon är ju snart 16!

    • Tjänare Susie!
      Äntligen någon mer än jag som gillar den bilden🙂 Jag tycker nog att höstastrar är som vackrast i knopp med frost på🙂

      Pebnny påminner om gamla Erna på många sätt🙂 Gräsklipparen sket hon fullständigt i, såg närmast förnärmad ut när hon var tvungen att flytta på sig. Hon var ju nästan helt döv det sista, men precis som ni har jag alltid använt handsignaler så det gick bra tills starren satte in. Men hon gjorde inga dumheter för det mesta🙂🙂 16 år! Inte illa🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  12. Christer,
    I love the fog, and your pictures are beautiful. Here by the ocean, we get fog a lot as the water and air are such different temperatures at times during the year.

    Your trees and bridge could be in northern New England. It is that time of year here too when the leaves turn.

    I understand your dog’s reaction. Kids do that to me too!

    • Hi Kat!
      I have always loved fog too, but this morning it would have been nice if it hadn´t been here. Frost on the windows of the car thick and hard like never before and ice on the roads. But I live nowhere near a lake so I can´t understand why we so often have so thick fog here. One time it was so thick that I missed to turn in to the road that leads to work🙂🙂🙂

      I was actually thinking that when I saw the bridge🙂 But it isn´t strange, the whole village looks as an english village since it was englishmen that once built it.

      I´ll fight the cold today and my back that seems to be broken somewhere, it´s aching like mad when I sit still to long.
      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  13. tawanda is not such a brave warrior after all. she was just standing on her front porch squirting stink bugs when one landed on her foot. she screamed like a little girl!

Leave a Reply

