Memories.

I got a memory flashback a couple of days ago and that rarely happens to me 🙂 I was working as usual when a smell that didn´t belong at my work place suddenly threw me back around 40 years. In my head I could see myself in our old pale yellow VolksWagen Beetle looking out the window towards the harbor.

My mother were driving either to my grandmother or to our little summer house and I remember that exact smell. It was from an old Coffee roastery but it wasn´t smelling coffee at all. I think it must have been something they burned to get the heat to roast the coffee. I remember the ships (rather small since this was as far as the harbor went in to Gothenburg) and wondering if perhaps my father worked in one of those ships.

There was a rather big, dirty building on top of a small hill, but I can´t remember wether we passed it on the right or left side. But I was told it was an old women’s prison. I thought the place looked creepy, but I think it must have been much worse for those having to spend time there.

When we had passed the old building we had to go beneath a bridge leading to the island Hissingen and soon after we passed the huge liquid gas holders that provided all homes in Gothenburg with gas to their . They were grey and brown and for many years suggestions how to make them a bit more beautiful were discussed, but nothing ever happened 🙂

Now almost no of these places exists any more. There´s an opera house where the old roastery was, the hill with the prison is gone and bigger street goes there now. There´s only a small liquid gas holder left but the bridge still stands.

It was kind of fun remembering all these things 🙂 I tried to find any photos from that time  and place but couldn´t find any. Much of the old Gothenburg is gone, for better or worse, but as long as someone remembers it will still sort of exsist.

Now there´s a fire in my stove and soon I´ll make a pot of tea. Britt has her name day today and if this day is warm it usually stays that way for a week or so. It was really nice and warm today so I do hope 🙂 We call it Brittsommar and it´s much the same thing as You english speaking calls Indian summer.

Have a great day now!

24 thoughts on “Memories.

  1. OH! This is great. The pictures are fantastic!! YES! And thank you for understanding what I saw in that little sewing kit. It was NOT the kit…it was what is represented. However, Christer, I must tell you that when my daughter Mary came for a visit…she wanted to take my lovely little scissors, etc. I stood firm… but…will it last. I don’t know. I am very not very strong against my daughters. They win me over all the time.
    So far…I have stood firm but I don’t think I can last long!
    I am not taking a chance of losing your blog so it is on my favorites. I wish I were more computer savy!

    I am…delighted with the photos! :):)
    Mona

    • Hi Mona!
      I just came from Your blog now 🙂
      Stand firm and hide the kit for a while 🙂 🙂 🙂

      I´ll try to remember how I did when I put a word press blog in blogs I follow and then I´ll tell You how I did 🙂 It wasn´t that hard actually, but I just don´t remember how at the moment.

      I could really make the photos big here 🙂
      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  2. Hello,
    Wow! The photos here are larger!
    Oh, if you want to know that your new blog is much more beautiful:)
    This attack of involuntary memory is delicious! I love it when that happens to me. Smells evoke memories. Never happened to me as in Proust eating cookies:)
    Have a good night … and I’ll take an ice cold Coca Cola stupidly:)
    Here is very hot!
    kiss
    Didi

    • Hi Didi!
      I like that I could make the photos so big 🙂

      It doesn´t happen that often that memories just hits me in the head like this did 🙂 But when it does it´s always something with smells and scents that brings the memories back. I wish I could say that it was so hot here that I wanted a Coca Cola 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  3. wordpress sure has a better look christer! these photos are wonderful! we are having indian summer here again! i am sure over the weekend the stink bugs will be out and now i will be ready for them. joyce

    • Hi Joyce!
      I could make my photos really big anyway 🙂 🙂
      But did You ever really leave summer at all 🙂 🙂

      Just soak those bugs in the soap and they should be taking their last breath 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  4. Det händer mig också ibland att en doft kan få mig att minnas de mest underligaste saker från barndomen:) Det värsta är nog när man känner igen en doft och inte kan “placera” den rätt i minnesfacket:) Idag har det verkligen varit ett helt underbart väder , det trodde jag inte i morse när jag vaknade och det var regnigt och grått. Ha det gott/Monne

    • Tjänare Monne!
      Visst är det lustigt när det händer. Men denna gången slog bara minnet till direkt. Jag hatar när jag känner en doft och man bara nästan får fram ett minne, då irriterar jag mig på det hela dagen 🙂 🙂

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  5. I agree with your other commenters Great pictures and a fine looking blog.Funny I have those kinda flashbacks too. Thought it was my age.
    Have a cup of tea for me.
    woody

    • Hi Woody!
      It´s fun that I can make them this big already when showing them in the blog!
      I so seldom have these flashbacks, but I love when they come. Mostly it has to do with a scent or smell. So no, it has nothing to do with age except for that we must have some memories to get flashbacks from 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Next cup will be for You 🙂

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Hello Christer
    The photos are fantastic !!!!!!!!
    Beautiful! I love it!
    As the memories, I had the same feeling Tuesday night, but was related to lack of light. I even posted about it!
    I had the sweet moments of childhood memories with his family, was very good!!
    Good night.
    Andrea

    • Hi Andrea!
      Thank You 🙂
      It´s fun to get these flashbacks 🙂 Well at least if it is nice ones 🙂

      I´ll read Your memory tonight!
      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  7. It’s the tallest gas building that still stands. It is empty and they don’t know what to do with it. They once thought of painting it like a giant can of Coca-Cola as they sponsored some sports event.

    • Hi Stefan!
      I thought it was the large one that was gone 🙂 But I had a slight feeling of panic when I passed it last time I was in Gothenburg. I got stuck in the rush hour traffic and couldn´t get to where I wanted 🙂 🙂 Up here in rush hour traffic is so much easier, that means that I can see around ten cars on the road at the same time 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  8. I really like the new look, Christer… And the photos are gorgeous… We are enjoying an Indian Summer and it’s glorious… Were you able to transfer all your old postings? I love the way certain smells can just slam you back in time and everything is so clear… Enjoy your tea…

    • Hi Sharlene!
      I have to admit that I haven´t looked through how this place works 🙂 I need to change the language back to swedish again so I can understand better what to do here 🙂 🙂 But now I can´t find the place to change language again 🙂 🙂 🙂
      But I do like what I have found out so far anyway.

      It happens so seldom to me so when it does it´s like an explosion in my head 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  9. Hi Christer, I agree that this new look is much better than on blogger – larger photos and easier to read comments. future. Makes me wonder if maybe we should consider a switch. Enjoyed the looking back as well. Seems so many of us do that from time to time. Shroom photo was wonderful, as always.

    • Hi notme!
      it feels much bigger here in all ways and it´s so easy to change header and background if that´s what one wants to do. I do wonder how I could remember that so clearly, but we did take that way quite often when we went to grandmas home. So maybe it actually is many memories put in to one?

      The red toadstool is so beautiful! It´s a fairy tale mushroom to me 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

  10. WHOA! Absolutely Beautiful!!!
    I am really loving it over here! Those photos are so great and SO big!

    I can’t remember alot of my younger years, my sister says that I have selective memory. I’m not trying to be a complainer but a lot of my growing up years weren’t that happy, so I guess I just choose not to remember it. Oh well! I do have Happy memories of years after that.
    Take care, Cindi

    • Hi Cindi!
      I think the size of the photographs makes this place so much better! Instead of having to click on them to enlarge them they are big enough from the start. But I have realized that it is wayb to easy to make things change here just by coming to close with the mouse 🙂 🙂

      I have just the same reasons not to remember to much from those days, but sometimes something just pops up in the head 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day now!

  11. Hi Christer,
    As everyone else has said, your photos look even better over here. Lots more detail.

    Smell is a very strong sense. It can bring back memories that have been long buried. Whenever I smell dusty, sun-warmed wood it makes me think of school because that’s what the old building always smelled like.

    Have a great day.

    • Hi Caryn!
      The size makes a huge difference in this blog! I´m glad that we can skip the step of clicking on the photos to make them bigger now 🙂

      I always remember school when I feel the smell of that thing they throw on the floor so the dust would stay there when sweeping. I love that smell, perhaps because I loved school 🙂

      Have a great day too!
      Christer.

  12. Christer,
    I love the pictures and I love the new site.

    When I first got shut down from Blogger, I was really upset, but I now love WordPress and was glad I was forced to move. I think you’ll feel the same way once you learn all the tricks.

    • Hi Kat!
      I like this place already! But I do have to find the place where I can change back to swedish so I can understand how to use this place the best way. But I can´t remember where it is here 🙂 🙂 🙂

      Have a great day now!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

