A chilly evening.

 

It’s a chilly evening and once again we might get frost if the sky stays clear all night. We always get frost the next morning (if the sky is clear) if the temperature is 6 C (42,8 F) at ten pm and it has already sunken to 7 C (44,6 F). I wouldn’t mind because the frost would take most of the few mosquitoes we still have and perhaps a couple of tics as well. I had a tic on my stomach the other day, I didn’t realize that until I tore it of by mistake.

 

 

 

 

 

It itches like crazy sometimes where the tic had placed itself but it’s just a tiny red mark. But I’ll keep my eyes on it so it doesn’t grow. I really don’t need Lyme disease at the moment :-) At work we all fear that we soon will get another cold again, one person has gone home with a cold and he has most probably already given us it too. He got it from his kids, the usual way all our colds comes to us :-)

 

 

 

 

 

We have lots and lots to do at work now so they are actually hiring people and that’s a good thing of course but we’re still to few :-) I’m very much needed at the neighboring factory as well but can’t leave my job at my own work place because very few knows how to paint and that’s kind of nice as well :-) so we’re having a problem. I can’t split myself in two yet, I’ve tried with my thumb and we all know that didn’t go especially well :-) :-) :-)

 

We may not go to the bog tonight but we were there yesterday evening instead.

 

 

 

 

I wish I could get a photograph from the field outside my cottage at the moment, the fog is slowly slithering in and it looks so cool :-) I guess the Bog ladies are cold and have started several fires out there, to bad it’s getting dark now otherwise I would take  a walk with my dogs to the bog right now :-)

 

 

 

Is it just an old rotten tree stump way back there or is it a Bog lady?

 

 

I better put more logs in the fire and put the kettle on as well. I think this is a quark evening, quark with raspberry taste most probably :-)

 

 

 

 

 

Have a great day!

12 thoughts on “A chilly evening.

  1. Christer,
    We had fog last night but this morning had none, just the rain. It is still really damp, and my kitchen floor is covered in dirty paw prints. Tomorrow is supposed to be really warm then it will go as low as the 40’s that night. I guess the first frost isn’t that far away. They are predicting a snowy winter this year, but we all know how unreliable they can be!

    • Hi Kat!

      We’ve had unusually little fog so far, sometimes we have it for a week or so and so far we’ve had it two or three mornings. I like it when I don’t have to drive around in the dark in it.

      They have predicted both an unusually warm winter as well as an unusually cold one here :-) :-) :-)

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  2. Hi Christer,
    I love the photo of Theodor. Orange cat next to orange tree reflections. :)

    Watch that tick bite. I was wondering if you had Lyme Disease over in that part of the world yet. It’s probably everywhere by now. Nasty stuff. It’s even nastier than they say it is. It can be dormant in your body even after taking the medicines and testing negative for it. Then it reactivates and causes all kinds of inconvenient things.
    It hasn’t been a bad year for ticks here. Probably it was too dry.

    It’s raining here, still, but it’s also mild temperatures so not too bad. Rocky is sleeping off his day playing with all his doggy friends and burning off a ton of energy. He such a good dog when he’s asleep. :) Actually, he’s a good dog when he’s awake, too. Most of the time.

    Enjoy your tea. Watch out for Bog Ladies.

    • Hi Caryn!

      Yes I’ll keep an eye on that bite! We’ve read about many cases when it has stayed dormant for years just to break out again. There’s even a young man dying from it not a year ago. I didn’t know one could die from it before I read about it.

      We thought we would get many more tics this year than we got, but those we had was bad enough :-) Meningitis spreads all over now because of the tics!

      But our dogs are never as cute and innocent as when they are asleep :-) :-) :-)

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  3. Usch vad trist det är att hösten och gråvädret är över oss! Även här har halva dagen varit riktigt ruggig och just nu så vräker det ner – inte kul!! :-(
    Men…Santos operationssår börjar se riktigt bra ut och nu har han inte blött på “hela” 3 dagar, vilket känns mycket bra. Så livet är rätt bra ändå! :-) :-)

    I morgon ska vi till Visby för vår gamla vän som vi inte sett på 40 år ska åka hem efter 3 intensiva dagar – ska faktiskt bli riktigt skönt. Det blev VÄLDIGT mycket ungdomssnack mellan honom och min gubbe. Dom har frossat i minnen så jag har ägnat mig åt TV-tittande vilket jag kanske inte riktigt hade räknat med. Den senare tiden när vi och hans dåvarade – nu avlidna – fru umgicks intensivt ett antal år har han knappt berört med ett ord! Konstigt!? :-( :-(

    Men det tristade är att han är TOTALT ointresserad av naturen. Vi har trots det åkt runt i två dagar och visat honom raukar, “afrikanska savanner”, imponerande havsområden m.m. m.m. – det finns ju inte direkt något annat att göra den här årstiden. Vi fick t.o.m. nästan tvinga honom ur bilen för att ta lite foton på raukar!! :-(
    Han tittade sig inte omkring ens, utan satt bara där i framsätet och snackade om flygplan, traktorer och annat tekniskt. Nu är vi ju ganska tekniska personer båda två, men det får ju vara någon måtta på sånt. :-( :-

    Den enda gången han piggnade till lite och verkade intresserad var när vi kom till några intressanta byggnader. OK, vi kan ju inte alla gilla samma saker men herregud – naturen här på Gotland är ju väldans speciell och vi har haft kanonväder så ön visade sig från allra bästa sidan tills idag. Vi kunde t.o.m. ha sitta ute och ha picknic – men fick välja ett stenbrott för att han skulle bli nöjd! :-( :-( :-(

    Usch vad sur jag låter, men det blev inte riktigt som jag tänkt mig!

    Susie

    • Hejsan Susie!

      Ja vilket skitväder vi har haft! Men det är ju inte mycket vi kan göra åt det :-)

      Så skönt att det är så mycket bättre med Santos:-) Hoppas nu att han aldrig mer får några problem med dessa eländiga stenar!

      Tyvärr är det ju så att man hinner förändras mycket på 40 år, jag tror faktiskt att jag själv skulle undvika en sådan träff. Man blir bara besviken egentligen. Kanske var det så att det var hans fru som gjorde att han blev den trevliga människan du minns? Inte helt sällan det är så och dessutom hinner man ju försköna gamla minnen rättt rejält under så många år :-)

      Kan väl bara gratulera till att det är över nu då :-) :-) :-)

      Ha det gott!
      Christer.

  4. Those toadstools or mushrooms amaze me. I have never seen real ones with the tops like that.
    Yikes on the tick bite. I am sure you washed it well….not the tick…..you. You can have the tick tested. Someone we knew got bit by one and sent it off and sure enough it was positive. They live in the Hamptons in NY and many of the same family have had this. It is really bad there.

    • Hi Debbie!

      Your post had ended up in the trash bing for some reason, sometimes it’s lucky that I actually look through all posts ending up there :-)

      Tic bites are nasty and I really don’t like it when something is feeding of me :-) :-) :-) It still itches a bit but there’s no red mark anywhere on my body, it doesn’t have to turn up where the tic bit me I learned that from a friend that has gotten Lyme disease several times. I’ve heard that one can get the tic tested but I accidentally tore this one off and I have no idea where it ended up. Thankfully it most likely suffocated in the powder paint at work :-) :-) :-)

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  5. take lots of Vitamin C and wash your hands constantly and MAYBE you won’t get sick.
    It’s good that you are in high demand and the only one that knows how to do that job. Good job security! :)
    That’s one of the reasons that I sometimes help up front in the reception area and also in back in the lab area. Makes me more valuable.
    That and of course, to help the animals.
    Love the photo of Teodor. :)

    • Hi Cindi!
      I can’t eat too much vitamin C I’m afraid, I get nose bleed then :-) It’s like a fountain :-) :-) :-)
      But garlic usually works great as long as one eats it all the time, I don’t though :-)

      I’ve actually tried the boss to give me an apprentice but I guess he only see the extra cost of someone getting more competence :-) But He knows I’m worth much more than he pays me, I’ve saved lots of money by adjusting the paint machine so it uses less powder paint :-)

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

  6. Somehow your post ended up way down on my blog list, and I missed it today. So here I am late tonight catching up. Teodor looks very cool and comfortable sitting on the muddy road. I hate to hear about the tick bite. Hopefully you got it off quickly enough. I wonder if a Lyme disease vaccination could be developed for humans, since they have one for dogs.
    Have a restful weekend, building up your energy for busy days at work.

    • Hi Robin!

      I have an old Blogger blog that never became anything, except for a list on what blogs I read. I can never really trust that it shows updates every time :-) But it’s a sort of guide anyway :-)

      I can’t have had that tic there for more than 30 minutes, I know it wasn’t there before that. The itching has calmed down and no huge red marks anywhere on my body thankfully :-)

      I didn’t know they had tic vaccines for dogs! I must ask my vet to get that for my dogs! But if they have develloped one for dogs it can’t take that long until they can for us humans :-)

      Have a great day!
      Christer.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

